We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 45% off
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a short (5 night) stay at the Melia Cabo Real. On the whole we were pleased with the resort. The food was very good. Both of the a la carte restaurants were quite good. The buffet restaurant has great ocen views and we frequently saw whales at breakfast or lunch.

Our room was very nice and clean. The bed was definitely firm but not so much as to make sleeping difficult. The tv was not a flat screen, but we were not there to watch tv in any event. Staff were friendly and accommodating and the grounds and pool area are very nice (the pool is large but shallow - the drowning risk for anyone over three feet tall is negligible). The hot tub was nice and overlooked the beach and the ocean. The pool and hot tub do however close at 8:00 pm which we found early - especially for the hot tub.

Although this is supposedly one of the only swimmable beachs in the area, the hotel does not seem to be using the beach area to any great extent and there are no ocean activities offered by the hotel. The beach is large and the water is a fair distance from the actual hotel property. If you want a kayak or stand up paddle board you have to rent from local vendors on the beach. I was the only person we saw swimming in the ocean at the hotel area while we were there. The cove did not seem to have any significant currents but swimming is quite limited and is definitely not encouraged.. A crowd gathered while I was swimming either to watch the whales or to see if I was swept out to sea - we are not sure which.

For water activities such as snorkeling there are two nearby beachs (a short drive or bus ride) that are beautiful and good for snorkeling - these are Santa Maria beach (no facilities and probably around 400 meters from the highway) and Chileno beach, which has to be the nicest public beach (in terms of cleanliness and faclities) that we have been to in Mexico (and is quite close to the highway).

Driving in the area is very easy. Also as others have mentioned the bus stops right out front and is easy to use. 20 pesos or two dollars will take you to either Cabo San Lucas or San Jose Del Cabo. If you tell the driver where you want to get off, he will give you a shout on arriving.

The downsides to the resort (other than my comments on the beach area) are the nightlife - the resort is very quiet in the evening. This was fine for my wife and I or if you are travelling with young children, however if you are travelling with older teens or are looking to party, this is not the place for you, Cabo San Lucas is a $25 cab ride and that is where the nightlife is. Also, I can accept paying for the internet - but once you pay it should not be per device. My wife was unable to log on while I was working which was irritating. Finally, we took our tennis rackets, but the roof top tennis courts were mostly sand covered and essentially unplayable. We were quite disappointed.

All in all we enjoyed our stay. It was a great place for a quick rest and recharge.

Room Tip: I would go for an Ocean view. The rooms on the west side were very quiet and overlook the golf cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear User: shaun786

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you have pointed out many details . also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    770
    339
    158
    95
See reviews for
624
798
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The resort was beautiful, very, very clean. The staff were amazing and so helpful, they would go above and beyond every time to make sure you were looked after! Everywhere we looked there was someone cleaning something.

The food was great and wide variety. My husband has a lot of allergies but had no problems finding food he enjoyed that he didn't react to. My personal favourite was the Mexican night that happens once a week. There a la cartes that were both amazing! The Mediterranean a la carte had live music which fit the atmosphere and was really great.

The rooms were clean and easy to control the temperature. We had no issues with the mattress or pillows they were comfortable. We both slept great! We were staying in a standard garden view room with a king bed.

It was easy to get to both Cabo San Lucas and San Jose with public transit. It was safe, clean, and easy to navigate. The bus stop is right outside the resort and cost $2 Canadian one way; there is no need to spend money on a taxi.

The only thing I would have changed is the hours of the bar and restaurants. Food was only available until 2300hrs and alcohol until 0100. That being said the hours that they opened in the morning were great, 0700 for breakfast buffet and pool bar at 1000.

Overall this was an amazing place to stay, it was clean, the staff were amazing, the food great. We would definitely go back .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4205. It was quiet but within a short distance from all the amenities of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear User: SienadH

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Medina, Tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Resort was rated a 4 1/2 star. Not even close. Our group (5 couples) had a hard time giving this resort a 3 star. Rooms and hotel facility needs to be updated. Service and food was really poor and some amenities we did not get. Talked to several other couples/groups from the US and Canada and they expressed the same. The only good thing I can say was the pool area and ocean view was very pretty. However, for the price we paid would not recommend this place to anybody...... Someone needs to look at the rating for this resort.

Room Tip: The five couples all had different areas of the hotel. All rooms were the same, view was good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Boehme K


We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations. We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as food and beverages and some of our services were concerned.

If you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.

Mario Gaona

Guest Experience Manager.
mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey NL
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Everything was ok in this hotel, pretty grounds, good service, room was clean an comfortable, and food was just average.
Room is ok but It wouldn´t hurt to be updated, old TV and furniture, but it was clean and comfortable, we had a view of the golf court on the side of the hotel and the walk from the room to the pool / reception was pretty since hotel has pretty grounds, the bathroom was pretty.
Food was just average, We didn´t ate at the restaurants because reservations were hard to get and very limited, so we were stuck with the buffet and snack, the food was just ok, nothing extraordinary, we ate well, something that I did not like on the buffet restaurant was that half of the restaurant had nice seatings and the other half had plastic chairs and tables, kind of the ones you use on your patio, not suitable for a nice restaurant in a "luxury" hotel, Did like the view it was very pretty, one day we even got to see whales near the shore of the hotel.
Pool was nice and good size but it was hard to geat seating near the pool, not imposible, but hard, found that all the people looks for a spot on the pool, not on the beach, the beach seatings were lonely and the beach bar was closed.
The beach is pretty but you find the palapas close to the hotel but faaaar from the water, guess this is because of the Tide because all hotels were like this.
Drinks were good, nice variety and they use good quality brands, but like in other All Inclusive hotels, they give you a small drink in a small cup and you have to make several visits to the bar, we didn´t see waiters serving the pool area or beach, maybe there were a few but we didn´t see them and they didn´t provided service to us.
Overall it was a nice vacation, we had a good time, could have been better, but it was ok!
What I do fully recomend is the Whale Watching tour, what a great experience, this is not provided by the hotel but they recomend you where to go or who to call for this experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff were all friendly and they helped any way they could. We got upgraded for free- we asked if that's possible just cause and hey what you know - no problem.
Food was good always something to eat even for a picky eater like me. Also our 2 year old son was never hungry.
A'lacarte restaurants had amazing food and you could book it as much as you liked.
Rooms were nice and clean. Yes beds are harder, but no issue to us.

Weather was great, didn't rain once.

Took public transportation few time and no issues what so ever.

We will defiantly go back!
We

Room Tip: If hotel is not too busy they will be able to upgrade you for free. Just ask front desk personnel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: PitchCalgary

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our 1st visit. Stayed 1-27-2-1. The staff bends over backwards for you and are super friendly. Breakfast is the best meal of the day! The staff at the buffet is awesome. We are planning on going back next year for sure! We had read many reviews about the terrible beds and pillows. Not as bad as I was expecting, but yes, a much firmer bed and pillow than I am use to, but tolerable. Our room was clean, had a beautiful view, and could sit in the hot tub and see the whales in the ocean!

Room Tip: Our room was a garden view, facing the pool. What a value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: PattyG

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 1st stay at Melia Cabo Real, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

It would be our pleasure to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first visit to the Melia Cabo Real, Jan. 12 - 19, 2013. We will definitely be back. The staff were all incredibly friendly & constantly doing everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We had our two daughters with us, aged 6 & 3, and found this resort to be very child friendly. We did not take advantage of the Kids Club but found the pools great for our kids as they are not too deep and also the beach front this hotel has is an awesome little spot for kids to swim. The jetty provided a bonus snorkeling spot for our 6 year old. Our stay at the Melia was great. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. There was also a huge variety of food available and not once were we at a loss of "what to feed the kids". The rooms were always very clean and the only complaint I would make would be the beds!!!!! A "bit" too hard!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: KimG

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 1st stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.




Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.