We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive, Cabo San Lucas” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Rio Medina, Tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Resort Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive, Cabo San Lucas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Resort was rated a 4 1/2 star. Not even close. Our group (5 couples) had a hard time giving this resort a 3 star. Rooms and hotel facility needs to be updated. Service and food was really poor and some amenities we did not get. Talked to several other couples/groups from the US and Canada and they expressed the same. The only good thing I can say was the pool area and ocean view was very pretty. However, for the price we paid would not recommend this place to anybody...... Someone needs to look at the rating for this resort.

Room Tip: The five couples all had different areas of the hotel. All rooms were the same, view was good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Boehme K


We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations. We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as food and beverages and some of our services were concerned.

If you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.

Mario Gaona

Guest Experience Manager.
mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    773
    342
    158
    96
See reviews for
625
804
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey NL
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Everything was ok in this hotel, pretty grounds, good service, room was clean an comfortable, and food was just average.
Room is ok but It wouldn´t hurt to be updated, old TV and furniture, but it was clean and comfortable, we had a view of the golf court on the side of the hotel and the walk from the room to the pool / reception was pretty since hotel has pretty grounds, the bathroom was pretty.
Food was just average, We didn´t ate at the restaurants because reservations were hard to get and very limited, so we were stuck with the buffet and snack, the food was just ok, nothing extraordinary, we ate well, something that I did not like on the buffet restaurant was that half of the restaurant had nice seatings and the other half had plastic chairs and tables, kind of the ones you use on your patio, not suitable for a nice restaurant in a "luxury" hotel, Did like the view it was very pretty, one day we even got to see whales near the shore of the hotel.
Pool was nice and good size but it was hard to geat seating near the pool, not imposible, but hard, found that all the people looks for a spot on the pool, not on the beach, the beach seatings were lonely and the beach bar was closed.
The beach is pretty but you find the palapas close to the hotel but faaaar from the water, guess this is because of the Tide because all hotels were like this.
Drinks were good, nice variety and they use good quality brands, but like in other All Inclusive hotels, they give you a small drink in a small cup and you have to make several visits to the bar, we didn´t see waiters serving the pool area or beach, maybe there were a few but we didn´t see them and they didn´t provided service to us.
Overall it was a nice vacation, we had a good time, could have been better, but it was ok!
What I do fully recomend is the Whale Watching tour, what a great experience, this is not provided by the hotel but they recomend you where to go or who to call for this experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff were all friendly and they helped any way they could. We got upgraded for free- we asked if that's possible just cause and hey what you know - no problem.
Food was good always something to eat even for a picky eater like me. Also our 2 year old son was never hungry.
A'lacarte restaurants had amazing food and you could book it as much as you liked.
Rooms were nice and clean. Yes beds are harder, but no issue to us.

Weather was great, didn't rain once.

Took public transportation few time and no issues what so ever.

We will defiantly go back!
We

Room Tip: If hotel is not too busy they will be able to upgrade you for free. Just ask front desk personnel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: PitchCalgary

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our 1st visit. Stayed 1-27-2-1. The staff bends over backwards for you and are super friendly. Breakfast is the best meal of the day! The staff at the buffet is awesome. We are planning on going back next year for sure! We had read many reviews about the terrible beds and pillows. Not as bad as I was expecting, but yes, a much firmer bed and pillow than I am use to, but tolerable. Our room was clean, had a beautiful view, and could sit in the hot tub and see the whales in the ocean!

Room Tip: Our room was a garden view, facing the pool. What a value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: PattyG

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 1st stay at Melia Cabo Real, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

It would be our pleasure to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first visit to the Melia Cabo Real, Jan. 12 - 19, 2013. We will definitely be back. The staff were all incredibly friendly & constantly doing everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We had our two daughters with us, aged 6 & 3, and found this resort to be very child friendly. We did not take advantage of the Kids Club but found the pools great for our kids as they are not too deep and also the beach front this hotel has is an awesome little spot for kids to swim. The jetty provided a bonus snorkeling spot for our 6 year old. Our stay at the Melia was great. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. There was also a huge variety of food available and not once were we at a loss of "what to feed the kids". The rooms were always very clean and the only complaint I would make would be the beds!!!!! A "bit" too hard!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: KimG

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 1st stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.




Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 3rd visit,Jan 6-13th, and had a great time.The staff is amazing - always bending over backwards with a sincere desire to please.A special shout out to Oskar in reservations,he always replied to my emails quickly,Jose Luis and Arndolfo in the restaurants,outstanding service.It was great to see Fernando still working at the restaurant,he keeps things running smoothly.We enjoyed the al la carte restaurants,the food was great.The beef filets and shrimp dishes were fantastic.The buffet for breakfast and lunch was good,always different choices daily all with an amazing view of the beach and ocean.The snack bar changed daily too,the hamburgers and tacos were always good.Always had my fair share of guacamole! You can get premium liquor in the lobby bar at night.

The resort is very clean,the staff works hard at this.Our room was very clean too.Turn down service with chocolate mints on the pillow.Ask for mattress topper.The water pressure in the shower was great!

Cons: No free wifi....many people grumbled about this.They charge $20 per day ouch.When people are traveling away from home,especially out of the country,you want to know that friends and family can quickly get ahold of you.
Loud music at the pool area ......I think every resort is guilty of this.I wish that management would take a look around the pool to see what people are doing.Many people are reading,many are dozing,just trying to relax.Loud music makes it difficult to converse when chatting with people in the pool and swim up bar.If i want to listen to music I will whip out my Ipod and listen to music of MY choosing.Sorry,not into techno music.

Please enforce your spa rules.The sign by the spa cleary states that children under 12 are not allowed,even with an adult.The part where it says even with an adult was underlined in red,but not the part where it states children under 12 not allowed. It was a big problem,usually kids with no adults.We went into the spa one day,beautiful setting overlooking the ocean.We were quickly joined with kids who were jumping and splashing.Water in my face,in my drink........you get the picture.Then a man with an infant came in...gross.We left and I noticed that we weren't the only ones.Back at our chairs one day we had kids complaining to their parents about being kicked out of the spa by the "waiter" Hats off to him!!!! Sadly, it was the only time I saw something being done But it should not be the drink service staff who has to take care of this.I saw managers walk by the spa several times but they always seemed to turn their heads away from the spa.I guess if you don't see the problem,you don't have to deal with it.

Overall the resort is a great value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Monique18

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 3rd stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

your comments to all the staff you mention in your post have been transmitted, and they will be congratulated for their effort, since they are responsible of creating unforgettable moments.

We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as WiFi connection and some of our services were concerned.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real for a 4th time and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels, please contact us prior arrival.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Melia Cabo Real. It continues to be our best value for our travel dollar.
The buffet is very good and both a la Cartes are very good as well. The staff are all very attentive and polite. The housekeeping staff are all very good and will adapt to your needs if you ask. The other facilities are more than adequate for our use and we recommend it to friends travelling to Los Cabos.
The drier climate is a big draw for us for the Los Cabos area and we always look for the Melia when heading there.

Room Tip: Ocean view or front allows for whale watching from your balcony, bring your binoculars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: CathieH753

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had awesome experiences during your 3rd stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real for a 4th time and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.