We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff were all friendly and they helped any way they could. We got upgraded for free- we asked if that's possible just cause and hey what you know - no problem.
Food was good always something to eat even for a picky eater like me. Also our 2 year old son was never hungry.
A'lacarte restaurants had amazing food and you could book it as much as you liked.
Rooms were nice and clean. Yes beds are harder, but no issue to us.

Weather was great, didn't rain once.

Took public transportation few time and no issues what so ever.

We will defiantly go back!
We

Room Tip: If hotel is not too busy they will be able to upgrade you for free. Just ask front desk personnel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: PitchCalgary

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    699
    748
    334
    157
    93
See reviews for
602
772
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crescent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our 1st visit. Stayed 1-27-2-1. The staff bends over backwards for you and are super friendly. Breakfast is the best meal of the day! The staff at the buffet is awesome. We are planning on going back next year for sure! We had read many reviews about the terrible beds and pillows. Not as bad as I was expecting, but yes, a much firmer bed and pillow than I am use to, but tolerable. Our room was clean, had a beautiful view, and could sit in the hot tub and see the whales in the ocean!

Room Tip: Our room was a garden view, facing the pool. What a value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: PattyG

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 1st stay at Melia Cabo Real, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

It would be our pleasure to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first visit to the Melia Cabo Real, Jan. 12 - 19, 2013. We will definitely be back. The staff were all incredibly friendly & constantly doing everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We had our two daughters with us, aged 6 & 3, and found this resort to be very child friendly. We did not take advantage of the Kids Club but found the pools great for our kids as they are not too deep and also the beach front this hotel has is an awesome little spot for kids to swim. The jetty provided a bonus snorkeling spot for our 6 year old. Our stay at the Melia was great. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. There was also a huge variety of food available and not once were we at a loss of "what to feed the kids". The rooms were always very clean and the only complaint I would make would be the beds!!!!! A "bit" too hard!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: KimG

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 1st stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.




Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 3rd visit,Jan 6-13th, and had a great time.The staff is amazing - always bending over backwards with a sincere desire to please.A special shout out to Oskar in reservations,he always replied to my emails quickly,Jose Luis and Arndolfo in the restaurants,outstanding service.It was great to see Fernando still working at the restaurant,he keeps things running smoothly.We enjoyed the al la carte restaurants,the food was great.The beef filets and shrimp dishes were fantastic.The buffet for breakfast and lunch was good,always different choices daily all with an amazing view of the beach and ocean.The snack bar changed daily too,the hamburgers and tacos were always good.Always had my fair share of guacamole! You can get premium liquor in the lobby bar at night.

The resort is very clean,the staff works hard at this.Our room was very clean too.Turn down service with chocolate mints on the pillow.Ask for mattress topper.The water pressure in the shower was great!

Cons: No free wifi....many people grumbled about this.They charge $20 per day ouch.When people are traveling away from home,especially out of the country,you want to know that friends and family can quickly get ahold of you.
Loud music at the pool area ......I think every resort is guilty of this.I wish that management would take a look around the pool to see what people are doing.Many people are reading,many are dozing,just trying to relax.Loud music makes it difficult to converse when chatting with people in the pool and swim up bar.If i want to listen to music I will whip out my Ipod and listen to music of MY choosing.Sorry,not into techno music.

Please enforce your spa rules.The sign by the spa cleary states that children under 12 are not allowed,even with an adult.The part where it says even with an adult was underlined in red,but not the part where it states children under 12 not allowed. It was a big problem,usually kids with no adults.We went into the spa one day,beautiful setting overlooking the ocean.We were quickly joined with kids who were jumping and splashing.Water in my face,in my drink........you get the picture.Then a man with an infant came in...gross.We left and I noticed that we weren't the only ones.Back at our chairs one day we had kids complaining to their parents about being kicked out of the spa by the "waiter" Hats off to him!!!! Sadly, it was the only time I saw something being done But it should not be the drink service staff who has to take care of this.I saw managers walk by the spa several times but they always seemed to turn their heads away from the spa.I guess if you don't see the problem,you don't have to deal with it.

Overall the resort is a great value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Monique18

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 3rd stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

your comments to all the staff you mention in your post have been transmitted, and they will be congratulated for their effort, since they are responsible of creating unforgettable moments.

We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as WiFi connection and some of our services were concerned.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real for a 4th time and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels, please contact us prior arrival.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Melia Cabo Real. It continues to be our best value for our travel dollar.
The buffet is very good and both a la Cartes are very good as well. The staff are all very attentive and polite. The housekeeping staff are all very good and will adapt to your needs if you ask. The other facilities are more than adequate for our use and we recommend it to friends travelling to Los Cabos.
The drier climate is a big draw for us for the Los Cabos area and we always look for the Melia when heading there.

Room Tip: Ocean view or front allows for whale watching from your balcony, bring your binoculars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: CathieH753

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had awesome experiences during your 3rd stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real for a 4th time and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am writing this from a RCI exchange viewpoint. Yes the grounds, staff, location were ok. The beds are terrible, 1/3 of time spent there so upgrade them. Someone threw up on the walk and it took over 1 1/2 days to wash it down. Bad garden room locations because of the echo of karaoke, etc. and sidewalks where people like to converse at 1-3 am. Kitchens are very basic and no frill rooms.
We have exchanged several locations in / around cabo - keep looking for a better exchange.

Room Tip: Stay away from garden view if you want to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: branttravels

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations. We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as room accommodations and some of our services were concerned.

If you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.



Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 10 day trip to melia and loved it. Our party of 10 was well looked after at every turn.
The buffet restaurant was definitely above average and breakfast was excellent everyday. Have to commend hotel for the beautiful location they chose for the buffet restaurant ...one of the best I've seen. Both ala cartes were very good with exceptional service. The Mexican buffet and the Brazilian BBQ theme nights were standouts and done very well from the tequila sampling on Mexican night to the poolside BBQ location on Brazilian night.
Special thank you to bartender Lorenzo at the pool bar and waiter Joel in the Mexican and buffet restaurant ...thnx for the happy hour specials Joel. Service however was outstanding throughout the resort from our check-in which was a breeze with our room requirements being met to a tee, maid service, and general staff attitude was excellent.
Having stayed in Cabo previously, we were concerned with having a swimmable beach and from what I've seen, the melia probably has one of the best. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definetely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Carla M

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.


your comments to all the staff you mention in your post have been transmitted, and they will be congratulated for their effort, since they are responsible of creating unforgettable moments.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Melia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.