We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Escondido, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 3rd visit,Jan 6-13th, and had a great time.The staff is amazing - always bending over backwards with a sincere desire to please.A special shout out to Oskar in reservations,he always replied to my emails quickly,Jose Luis and Arndolfo in the restaurants,outstanding service.It was great to see Fernando still working at the restaurant,he keeps things running smoothly.We enjoyed the al la carte restaurants,the food was great.The beef filets and shrimp dishes were fantastic.The buffet for breakfast and lunch was good,always different choices daily all with an amazing view of the beach and ocean.The snack bar changed daily too,the hamburgers and tacos were always good.Always had my fair share of guacamole! You can get premium liquor in the lobby bar at night.

The resort is very clean,the staff works hard at this.Our room was very clean too.Turn down service with chocolate mints on the pillow.Ask for mattress topper.The water pressure in the shower was great!

Cons: No free wifi....many people grumbled about this.They charge $20 per day ouch.When people are traveling away from home,especially out of the country,you want to know that friends and family can quickly get ahold of you.
Loud music at the pool area ......I think every resort is guilty of this.I wish that management would take a look around the pool to see what people are doing.Many people are reading,many are dozing,just trying to relax.Loud music makes it difficult to converse when chatting with people in the pool and swim up bar.If i want to listen to music I will whip out my Ipod and listen to music of MY choosing.Sorry,not into techno music.

Please enforce your spa rules.The sign by the spa cleary states that children under 12 are not allowed,even with an adult.The part where it says even with an adult was underlined in red,but not the part where it states children under 12 not allowed. It was a big problem,usually kids with no adults.We went into the spa one day,beautiful setting overlooking the ocean.We were quickly joined with kids who were jumping and splashing.Water in my face,in my drink........you get the picture.Then a man with an infant came in...gross.We left and I noticed that we weren't the only ones.Back at our chairs one day we had kids complaining to their parents about being kicked out of the spa by the "waiter" Hats off to him!!!! Sadly, it was the only time I saw something being done But it should not be the drink service staff who has to take care of this.I saw managers walk by the spa several times but they always seemed to turn their heads away from the spa.I guess if you don't see the problem,you don't have to deal with it.

Overall the resort is a great value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Monique18

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your 3rd stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

your comments to all the staff you mention in your post have been transmitted, and they will be congratulated for their effort, since they are responsible of creating unforgettable moments.

We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as WiFi connection and some of our services were concerned.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real for a 4th time and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels, please contact us prior arrival.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    657
    297
    146
    83
See reviews for
502
663
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Melia Cabo Real. It continues to be our best value for our travel dollar.
The buffet is very good and both a la Cartes are very good as well. The staff are all very attentive and polite. The housekeeping staff are all very good and will adapt to your needs if you ask. The other facilities are more than adequate for our use and we recommend it to friends travelling to Los Cabos.
The drier climate is a big draw for us for the Los Cabos area and we always look for the Melia when heading there.

Room Tip: Ocean view or front allows for whale watching from your balcony, bring your binoculars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: CathieH753

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had awesome experiences during your 3rd stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real for a 4th time and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am writing this from a RCI exchange viewpoint. Yes the grounds, staff, location were ok. The beds are terrible, 1/3 of time spent there so upgrade them. Someone threw up on the walk and it took over 1 1/2 days to wash it down. Bad garden room locations because of the echo of karaoke, etc. and sidewalks where people like to converse at 1-3 am. Kitchens are very basic and no frill rooms.
We have exchanged several locations in / around cabo - keep looking for a better exchange.

Room Tip: Stay away from garden view if you want to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: branttravels

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations. We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as room accommodations and some of our services were concerned.

If you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.



Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 10 day trip to melia and loved it. Our party of 10 was well looked after at every turn.
The buffet restaurant was definitely above average and breakfast was excellent everyday. Have to commend hotel for the beautiful location they chose for the buffet restaurant ...one of the best I've seen. Both ala cartes were very good with exceptional service. The Mexican buffet and the Brazilian BBQ theme nights were standouts and done very well from the tequila sampling on Mexican night to the poolside BBQ location on Brazilian night.
Special thank you to bartender Lorenzo at the pool bar and waiter Joel in the Mexican and buffet restaurant ...thnx for the happy hour specials Joel. Service however was outstanding throughout the resort from our check-in which was a breeze with our room requirements being met to a tee, maid service, and general staff attitude was excellent.
Having stayed in Cabo previously, we were concerned with having a swimmable beach and from what I've seen, the melia probably has one of the best. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definetely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Carla M

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.


your comments to all the staff you mention in your post have been transmitted, and they will be congratulated for their effort, since they are responsible of creating unforgettable moments.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It's a beautiful resort, however some management issues made it less than it could be.
1. For 14 days we had 6 huge ( mouse size) cockroaches in our room and when we killed them at night, the next morning nothing was to be found- guess who got them?!
2. No beer in the fridge.
3.Couple of morning we had to chase the housekeepers to get coffee for our room.
4.The food at the buffet wasn't good.
5.At breakfast we had to ask to get some bacon ....which they hide!!!
6. Japanese restaurant- very good food but don't look around- you might see a little cockroach coming from the wood-work.
7. Hot tub- if want to relax there, just forget it- full of kids, having fun, splashing, spilling their drinks in the water.( There is a big sign next to the tub saying no kids under 12).
8. Internet- between 18 and 23 bucks per day - depends who you will talking to. Or $4 for 15 min.

Except all the above it was really good: amazing beach, Cabo San Lukas has tones of fun and its very safe, you could watch the wales breach right from the resort's beach, the staff is friendly too.

Have fun :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: VaselaS


We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations. We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, we can assure you that we have an strict pest control program unfortunately there are many endemic flying insects from the desert surroundings that end up in the hotel. On the other hand , as you mention in your post , yes, we have several signs with the Jacuzzi rules , unfortunately the adults (parents) do not follow making it difficult for other guests, as your self .

Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

If you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.



Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just returned from the Melia Cabo Real. It's not a great hotel, but it's fine. Agree with the other reviews about the hard beds -- and hard pillows. Rooms are definitely clean but dated (better than modern and gross!) but our room was on floor "0", building 3, which means we had A LOT of stairs to climb with and without luggage and it was quite a trek to get anywhere. The beach has been "reclaimed" so if you want to sit and look at the ocean, you need to either stay by the pool & get a lounge chair early (or rent -- for an extra fee -- a canopy) or sit by the ocean on the sand because the hotel's beach area is quite a ways back from the water. The beach is great and this time of year we saw lots of whales. Most of the hotel staff is quite friendly (especially restaurant) and the place is very nice & neat. Food's okay, especially breakfast and lunch. Dinner not so much, at least not at the palapa/buffet part. It was fine place to stay, especially with children, but if it were just my hubby and I, we would probably stay at another hotel (with less stairs, closer to the beach)...

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room with a "0" as the second digit or you'll be in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Karen3boys


Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations. We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as room comfort and some of our services were concerned.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

If you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Took our small family of 3 here last week. Hotel is in a great quiet location and on some beautiful grounds. It really could use some changes though.

Pros:
-Family friendly, didn't ever really run into any crazy drunk groups of people and wasn't kept up at night by anyone loud.
-We could see whales from our ocean front room as well as from the jacuzzi
-Staff was very friendly
-Pool was always clean and not very crowded, temp was good as well.
-Rooms were very clean
-Had plenty of events for kids to do during the day and at night
-Could book exersions from the hotel very easily
-No free wi fi. This is a plus to me. We went on vaca to get away not to stay connected.
-Sunsets were awesome!
-Pool snack bar is decent if you get the food right away otherwise as everything else it gets cold. A good option for kids though with pizza, hot dogs, burgers, fries etc.
-We needed something for our room and it was sent over immediately
-The 2 restuarants you can make reservations in are pretty good, at least the food was hot. The Japanese restaurant is way smaller than the photos show and is a completely different layout.
-Good option for families since kids are free.

Cons
-Worst beds I've ever slept in and even worse pillows
-Towels were super scratchy, ridiculously scratchy
-Buffet style restaurant really needs some improvement in the temp of food. We never had anything hot here during our 5 day stay.
-Gym is NOT OUTSIDE as the photos show. It's in the corner of the hotel and literally 8 out of 10 machines don't work. They have old school bikes that aren't even computerized and NO treadmills. A big bummer. I ended up running around the hotel and doing my own excersises in my room
-As expected the drinks were weak, beer and wine was decent although not a big selection at all.
-TV shows are all in Spanish, yes I know we were in Mexico but a channel in English would have been nice without having to rent a $14 movie.
-Same beer and same wine gets old.
-Didn't see a spa anywhere, I know you could get a massage but there wasn't a designated indoor spa that I saw.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear User: Heather C

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations. We regret that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as room comfort and some of our services were concerned.

If you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.



Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real
Melia Cabo
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach Golf Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo
Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Melia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Amex, Venere, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.