We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an awesome time there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 13 more sites!
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor, Vermont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had an awesome time there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is an older hotel...so in need of some updates but... The rooms are very clean, spacious, wonderful shower. The staff are so welcoming and friendly. How can you beat three (or more lol) meals a day and all the poolside drinks for one low price! The beach and pool are amazing and the local makes a nice long walk along the beach easy and fun. Would most definitely go back for a return visit!

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear User: syds

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.Thank you for trusting and especially for your visit to the hotel and for your insights. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real , and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    582
    664
    298
    147
    83
See reviews for
508
669
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent Christmas at this fabulous place with 11 of my family members. The staff was very helpful, attentive & efficient. The beds are hard so I ordered another mattress pad that was provided the same day & then slept very well. Had a very nice room close to the beach & facing the golf course so very quiet, quick walk to the pool.Grounds are beautiful with native plants & maintained very well. Since we had 6 rooms 4 were together & 2 were in another area, The 4 rooms were quite close to the lobby (away from beach) & were quite noisy at night as the disco is rather close. Rooms are decorated nicely with fridge, patio, & nice bathroom with deep soaking tub. The pool is large but not very deep so great for children. Hot tub was a little small & always busy. Rented 2 cabanas on the bluff overlooking the beach, reservation was mixed up but all worked out in the end. Were given coolers full of beer in cans & good service. The swim up bar was great, efficient bartenders who aimed to please. Suggest taking your own "Bubba Keg" or similar container for drinks as bartenders will make the beverage to fill your cup! Lots of lounge chairs but beware of being close to the speaker as loud music played all day. We were up early to reserve chairs every morning, some days impossible to get 12 chairs together ! Lots of sports & entertainment poolside with great staff especially "ChickenLittle" who kept us entertained! We painted ceramics poolside one afternoon & each created a Mexican masterpiece for about $10 a person. The snack bar poolside had good snack food all day ! The buffets were good also but with most buffets got a little repetitive. Had a nice turkey dinner on Christmas day ! The sushi restaurant was very good, great ahi tuna, spicy tuna & rolls. Fave restaurant ! Wait staff excellent providing great service at all venues. Had entertainment nightly Christmas show, international, latin shows all very entertaining for all.Has a lovely outdoor fire pit also. Disco with live band on weekends, DJ, music was a little dated. Nice lounge area to relax & socialize after dinner. Beach is a short walk away as hotel in built up on a bluff. We swam at the beach till staff informed us it was too dangerous! Unable to snorkel due to undertows & high surf. A tourist from the Hilton had drowned some weeks before.Went for sunset horseback ride on beach with "Amigos Horseback & ATV's" $ 30 an hour.Horses in good shape & treated very well. Very enjoyable. Took the bus into San Jose & Cabo San Lucas for $2 each way. Tour host did not encourage us to bus as you have to cross 4 lane highway to bus stop. Extreme caution was used crossing highway as 2 tourists had been severely injured previously. Lots to see & do in both destinations.Felt safe. Were given a hospitality suite last day as we had the red eye flight home.Overall was a great vacation, it`s Mexico !! Would highly recommend it for a family vacay !

Room Tip: rooms close to beach on outside ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear User: ShellyH

Thank you for trusting and especially for your visit to the hotel and for your insights. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations. We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media with such a detail.

On the other hand your comments in regards to our staff have been shared and we have congratulate them for their effort, since they are responsible of creating memorable experiences.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real , and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our 7th stay at the Melia Cabo Real and we still absolutely love this place! Already planning our next visit back. The staff are wonderful, so nice & we always have a pleasant experience with all of them. We love the smallest of the resort and that everything is relatively close to walk to, the pool, the restaurants, the front desk, lobby, bar/entertainment room. The free form pool provides lots of loungers with umbrellas. The grounds are always clean, tidy and beautiful landscaping is throughout. It's definately a quieter resort, it doesn't provide flashy entertainment shows at night, however for us, following dinner, the lobby bar/lounge area suits our needs to stop in and have a few drinks, play some pool, listen to the dj, etc. Other than that we always venture into Cabo San Lucas or San Jose if we need to let loose and party. The variety of food is endless and you can always find something to eat. This particular visit, we met some friends who were snorkelers and with a few helpful tips to bring some bread & water in a water bottle down to the beach, who knew we would be in snorkeling heaven with an array of colourful fish swimming around us to eat the bread from our bottles, amazing. The views are amazing whether sitting around the pool, eating at the outdoor buffet or down on the beach. A perfect spot to whale watch, listen for the bells they occassionally ring around the pool by the snack bar or in the outdoor buffet restaurants, if you hear the bells, it's because the staff are ringing them because the whales are visible swimming by. Room service is simple food, but fine if you don't end up going out one night or come back late from offsite, $10 room charge. The top reasons we return time after time hands down is the STAFF, size & layout and the fact that we are always satisfied with our meals/snacks. Shout outs to: Maria Elena & Eduardo (pool drink service), Lorenzo (bartendar), Daniel (pool service/towels & loungers), Anna (lounge server), Jorge (buffet/Terraza) and the wonderful doormen/bellman - Alberto, Portofino, Raul, & younger gentleman under their wing - all of you always make our stay so special, thank you :-)

Room Tip: Building 1 - Closet to the lobby & lounge bar/entertainment. Garden View & Golf View Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear User: sunshineSoaker

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

Thank you for trusting us again in your 7th visit to the hotel and for your insights. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations.

On the other hand your comments in regards to our staff have been shared and we have congratulate them for their effort, since they are responsible of creating memorable experiences.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real for your 8th time , and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The food here was Far TOO good. fresh shrimp, scallops, fish. beef was okay, lamb stew beautiful, chicken good. Our room was in the first section "1000"- ear plugs needed on Thursday & Friday nights, but you arrive early Sunday morning...don't notice the bar until later in the week. The pool was gorgeous, nice temperature. beach was good on lower wind days. otherwise the undertow is too much. The grounds were meticulously maintained and the staff very good. beds were hard but not as bad as Cuba, bearable.. but this is the difference between the four and five star ratings. I took the city bus into cabo from outside the hotel-great for $1.50. great location half way down the corridor. We walked to the marina and took a glass bottom boat for $10 each. it was two hours and just two of us on board-couldn't say no. Later in the week, I found a whale watching boat with a last minute spot for cash. another very enjoyable few hours. we saw about a dozen whales and about five tails.- humpbacks. nice size of resort, not too much walking in between the beach, pool, buffets and rooms. The Internet was terrible, they say the lobby is free, but doesn't stay connected. we enjoyed the Latin night show, other nights not great. we were a group of 20 family members from across Canada with two young children, wonderful Christmas! yes, most of our rooms had two double beds, not a king.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear User:Catherinej62

Thank you . we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

At our son's suggestion we spent the Christmas holiday with he and his family at this resort.
All in all the experience was very pleasant.The food was good,rooms clean and grounds lovely.
We also found the help to be pleasant and helpful.

We never left the resort and found the pool a great place to relax and watch our grandchildren have a great time in the pool or at the beach.The beach not to our liking(coarse sand); however our six year old grandson enjoyed chasing the waves!!
.

There are two A le carte restaurants and we especially enjoyed Terraza meanwhile at Kujira
the service was slow and food not great. We also do not understand their reservation policy
since found empty tables while dining there when unable to make a reservation at a certain time.

Room Tip: Attempt to get a room on the 5th floor. Although the same as rooms lower because of high ceilings it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear User:puttsancar

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Thank you . we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Reminds me of the Kapalua in Maui... at a point so you get a panoramic view. Found out that the whale watching tour boats from Cabo actually go to the Melia Real for good whale watching. Good snorkeling is down the road at Santa Maria and Chileno Beach. The rooms are clean and spacious...

Melia Real really works... and when it is all said and done it's the staff that makes the vacation pleasant.Every night was a different theme from Mexican to Brazilian to Italian. Our waiters were great... Sergio especially. It was just a no-hassle time. After doing trips that seemed like we were in a different place every night it was fun to just relax and enjoy the inclusiveness of the hotel. Not a five star... but we really did have a great experience. As I wrote... it's the smiles and competence of the staff that makes the difference. Think about it they were working through Christmas yet had smiles. And, the hotel went all out for the holidays... Santa, games, nice decor.

Room Tip: Near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear User:Sustan

Thank you . we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

Your comments in regards to our staff have been shared and we have congratulate them for their effort.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Dec. 22-29, 2012. We found the resort to be very relaxing. It's not the fanciest resort in the area but seemed to be well maintained and the grounds were manicured. There was always someone out watering the lawn or raking the sand into intricate patterns. Our room was very quiet. Our bed was hard but we asked for a mattress topper and it was fine after that. Our room was spartan but clean. We always had plenty of nice large bath towels. The water pressure in the shower was quite powerful so be aware the first time you turn it on. We loved lounging by the pool and the hot tub was a bonus. However, the rules concerning adults only and a maximum of 10 people in the hot tub at a time were not enforced. Neither was the rule about not saving lounge chairs. If you were not out by 6:00 a.m., you did not get a chair. I enjoyed the water aerobics classes led by Raul. He made the activity fun and a good icebreaker among the resort guests. I enjoyed walking on the beach but the stairs and distance from the resort made it hard for my husband who had a knee injury. I did not expect the sand to be so coarse so be sure to wear shoes. The food was good in all of the restaurants but especially at Kujira, the Japanese restaurant. Excellent sushi and salmon in mango sauce. The resort could use one more specialty restaurant as it did get old alternating between just two. We received exceptional service from Marco in La Palapa and Jacqueline in Agavero. Be careful of leaving unattended food on your table at La Palapa as little birds will occasionally fly in and eat off your plate. Also, there should be more than one waffle maker as the line was quite long and there were some very impatient guests. We found the alcohol selection to be quite limited although we liked having Corona Extra on tap. They did not have Baileys, Captain Morgan, or Southern Comfort just to name a few. We would recommend having more live entertainment. Not much to do in the evening if you do not go into Cabo. We thought there would be more of a celebration on Christmas Eve but other than Santa handing out some t-shirts to the kids, there was nothing going on. The best night was when the live band played and lots of people were dancing. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the Melia. It's hard to complain too much when the sun is shining, you have a cold drink in one hand, a good book in the other, and your biggest decision is which swimsuit to wear.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear User: jr2153

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you have pointed out many details.

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations.

On the other hand your comments in regards to our staff have been shared and we have congratulate them for their effort.

Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real
Melia Cabo
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach Golf Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo
Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Melia, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, Venere, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.