We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for MeliáRewards
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Redlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

At our son's suggestion we spent the Christmas holiday with he and his family at this resort.
All in all the experience was very pleasant.The food was good,rooms clean and grounds lovely.
We also found the help to be pleasant and helpful.

We never left the resort and found the pool a great place to relax and watch our grandchildren have a great time in the pool or at the beach.The beach not to our liking(coarse sand); however our six year old grandson enjoyed chasing the waves!!
.

There are two A le carte restaurants and we especially enjoyed Terraza meanwhile at Kujira
the service was slow and food not great. We also do not understand their reservation policy
since found empty tables while dining there when unable to make a reservation at a certain time.

Room Tip: Attempt to get a room on the 5th floor. Although the same as rooms lower because of high ceilings it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear User:puttsancar

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Thank you . we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    776
    343
    157
    95
See reviews for
628
805
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Reminds me of the Kapalua in Maui... at a point so you get a panoramic view. Found out that the whale watching tour boats from Cabo actually go to the Melia Real for good whale watching. Good snorkeling is down the road at Santa Maria and Chileno Beach. The rooms are clean and spacious...

Melia Real really works... and when it is all said and done it's the staff that makes the vacation pleasant.Every night was a different theme from Mexican to Brazilian to Italian. Our waiters were great... Sergio especially. It was just a no-hassle time. After doing trips that seemed like we were in a different place every night it was fun to just relax and enjoy the inclusiveness of the hotel. Not a five star... but we really did have a great experience. As I wrote... it's the smiles and competence of the staff that makes the difference. Think about it they were working through Christmas yet had smiles. And, the hotel went all out for the holidays... Santa, games, nice decor.

Room Tip: Near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear User:Sustan

Thank you . we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

Your comments in regards to our staff have been shared and we have congratulate them for their effort.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Dec. 22-29, 2012. We found the resort to be very relaxing. It's not the fanciest resort in the area but seemed to be well maintained and the grounds were manicured. There was always someone out watering the lawn or raking the sand into intricate patterns. Our room was very quiet. Our bed was hard but we asked for a mattress topper and it was fine after that. Our room was spartan but clean. We always had plenty of nice large bath towels. The water pressure in the shower was quite powerful so be aware the first time you turn it on. We loved lounging by the pool and the hot tub was a bonus. However, the rules concerning adults only and a maximum of 10 people in the hot tub at a time were not enforced. Neither was the rule about not saving lounge chairs. If you were not out by 6:00 a.m., you did not get a chair. I enjoyed the water aerobics classes led by Raul. He made the activity fun and a good icebreaker among the resort guests. I enjoyed walking on the beach but the stairs and distance from the resort made it hard for my husband who had a knee injury. I did not expect the sand to be so coarse so be sure to wear shoes. The food was good in all of the restaurants but especially at Kujira, the Japanese restaurant. Excellent sushi and salmon in mango sauce. The resort could use one more specialty restaurant as it did get old alternating between just two. We received exceptional service from Marco in La Palapa and Jacqueline in Agavero. Be careful of leaving unattended food on your table at La Palapa as little birds will occasionally fly in and eat off your plate. Also, there should be more than one waffle maker as the line was quite long and there were some very impatient guests. We found the alcohol selection to be quite limited although we liked having Corona Extra on tap. They did not have Baileys, Captain Morgan, or Southern Comfort just to name a few. We would recommend having more live entertainment. Not much to do in the evening if you do not go into Cabo. We thought there would be more of a celebration on Christmas Eve but other than Santa handing out some t-shirts to the kids, there was nothing going on. The best night was when the live band played and lots of people were dancing. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the Melia. It's hard to complain too much when the sun is shining, you have a cold drink in one hand, a good book in the other, and your biggest decision is which swimsuit to wear.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear User: jr2153

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you have pointed out many details.

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations.

On the other hand your comments in regards to our staff have been shared and we have congratulate them for their effort.

Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'm a member of Melia Vacation Club and was not impressed with MCR...rooms need to be refurbished to be on same level as Grand Melia Cancun. Wi-Fi quality a disappointment and the fact they want to charge for it is unacceptable specially for MVC members.
Quality of food was so so even though at La Terraza it was fine, with manager (captain Victor) very accommodating and polite. Another thing there is no elevators...make sure your knees are in good shape.
Overall rate is average at best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear User: JoseD

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us take corrective measures where we can improve. Our goal is meeting and hopefully surpassing your service and comfort expectations.

We sincerely regret not being able to be more accommodating with your room and connectivity requests.

On the other hand your comments in regards to our staff have been shared and we have congratulate them for their effort.

Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Melia December 17 - 24th. We booked with Transat Holidays & got a really good price for 10 of us. This was our first trip to Cabo and we were not sure what to expect as we usually travel to the Playa Del Carmen area. We really enjoyed the Melia!
The rooms were very nice. Spacious and clean (thanks to Pilar). The beds were typical for Mexico...very hard. We requested the bed toppers as suggested in previous reviews and they really made a difference.
The resort itself is laid out very well with perfectly manicured grounds. The pool is large with plenty of comfy sun beds around it. A big bonus is the hot tub. Perfect late in the day to enjoy a cocktail looking over the water & beach. The pool bar and snack bar staff are very friendly & provided us with great snacks & delicious drinks every day. Try the mango daiquiri's.
The best part, by far at this resort was the food. Every buffet was delicious with lots of variety. Both a la cartes exceeded our expectations!
Getting around the area was easy. We just walked out to the road & hopped on the local bus for $2 per person. Cabo San Lucas and San Jose Del Cabo are both worth a visit. Mango Deck made for a really fun afternoon. Had a great authentic Mexican lunch in Cabo at Pobleno's. We also did a fishing trip through Transat & had great success..2 marlins & 7 dorado in just a few hours.
Overall a great experience. We would recommend the Melia and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear User: themama1

Thank you . we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services and the variety of the buffet and a la carte restaurants helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Gintas & Margarita
Had an amazing time with my love for 3 wonderfulnights. Reccommend the ocean front suites. Great service. Spectacular weather. Very hlepfull staff. We enjoyed the beach and the privacy of the room. Great car rental options in the lobby. Many toys to chose on the beach to play with.Awesome bartenders, all inclusive drinks and foood. Somewhat average by LA standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear User: Rita1000

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your honeymoon at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

Thank you . we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Arrived here Dec 3rd with my wife and 2yo son. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The fitness center doesn't have any treadmills or much in the way of cardo machines. Just some basic dumbells and 5 spin bikes that were squeaky when you rode them. Wifi in the room was $60 for 5 days. The more days you buy, the cheaper. The restaurants were never packed. We always got seated right away. Food is OK. Some days better than others but we stuffed ourselves nevertheless. Desserts were lacking. Pool area is nice and clean and the pool was very warm. Seating was plenty. The pool side snack bar hit the spot in between the meals. They can make you a hamburger, you just have to ask them. French fries, pizza, chips and salsa, ceviche and fruit is what they have daily. At the bar, they can make you pretty much whatever you want. No top shelf liquor though if that's what you drink. Coronas on tap.

We will come back to this place. My wife and kid had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear User :Marvin C

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had good experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Thank you for trusting us, we sincerely regret not being able to be more accommodating regarding the exercise room.

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank You.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.