We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Vacation and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vacation and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited the Melia for a destination wedding event for our daughter. From the moment we arrived the staff, the service, the food and the accommodations were impeccable. I would go back without hesitation as the area as well the activities offered so much to do. Would not think of staying anywhere else! Families or a romantic getaway this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Get an ocenafront view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear User :FamilyTraveler62

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay celebrating your daughters wedding at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank You.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    777
    343
    157
    94
See reviews for
628
806
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medical Lake, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Mexico and we decided to book the Melia Cabo Real because of the location in the corridor as well as the ability to swim on the beach. We didn't want to be in the city as we are not "partiers", but thought the corridor would be a great place to stay for relaxation and revitalization. As far as location goes, it was very nice. Beach was accessible and the convenience between San Jose and Los Cabos was very convenient. It is also right on the bus route if you decide to venture out by that means.

When you first get to the facility, you are greeted warmly by the staff. The cobble stones for the driveway are very bumpy, but since it is not a long ways, it was OK. The main lobby is expansive and very nice. Nothing awe-inspiring, but was pleasant. Around the lobby there are 4 stations for various activities, the tour concierge, the time-share people, the main concierge, and car rentals. Along the main corridors are places for tour guides to sit. While this was convenient the first day when we booked much of the trips, it became quite annoying when the people kept asking if we wanted more tours. We tried to use one of the elevators, but it did not work and was shaky when the door closed. We pushed the button and went no-where so we went to another one.

Pool: was very nice. Easy access point where you can walk right in was a great touch. The bar-keepers for the wet bar were very nice. There are 2 islands in the middle to swim around. Other than that, it was very crowded and crammed with people who "staked out" their lounge chairs early in the morning and were not anywhere to be found. This was quite annoying. The hot-tub was consistently crowded with more than the 10 people it states are maximum. The water was warm and never cold. You could definitely tell when it needed cleaning, as at times there was oil and dirt floating on the top. I would expect this since it was a busy weekend.

Beach: IF you want to walk down a HUGE flight of stairs (my wife is handicapped with MS so this was VERY difficult for her) then by all means go down to the beach. The water was warm, there were TONS of fish..although the hotel staff refused to let us use their snorkeling equipment. The main issue: MORE street sales people...literally every 10 minutes just as you would doze off another person comes up and asks for you to buy stuff. ANNOYING. Then there is a person renting water equipment..hounded us the entire way down to rent his things...ANNOYING. After a half day at the beach we never went back since we wanted to relax more and not be bothered by the constant annoyance of the street vendors.

Dining: not bad for a buffet. There was a good variety for the most part. We were able to eat at least 1 thing every meal. My wife doesn't eat fish or seafood and neither of us eat pork...so that limited our variety quite a bit. The "brasilian night" and "italian night" were the best. Breakfast was very good. They even had soy milk to use..especially grateful since we don't drink milk either. My MAIN issue is their deserts. EVERY desert was a gelatin based desert (OK..not the little cakes)...there was even a pecan pie gelatin flavored desert. They were cut into little squares to eat...got very boring, unoriginal, and not very flavorful. You have to book your visit at the a-la carte restaurant the day of the dining, otherwise good luck. There is also a small grill available, which wasn't bad. Mainly burgers and nachos.

Drinks: again, we are not partiers by any means, but we do enjoy drinks at times. I would suggest going off of their main menu. I asked for an amoretto sour and something came out ...no idea what, but it wasn't an amoretto sour. Other than that, it was hit or miss...too much alcohol or not enough.

Entertainment: as an all-inclusive, we were hoping for great entertainment. WOW was that a disappointment! On Friday night they had KARAOKE...and another night a local band came in, and another was some dancing. There were no shows, no other options. We ended up going to bed at 9 pm every night because we were so bored. IF you want an all-inclusive with things to do all the time, this is not the place to go.

While the guest relations was great, they were always attentive and listened to our questions...the hotel itself is average. Nothing "wowed us" like you would think a 4 rating hotel would. The beds were hard (from what I hear and talk with other people, this is normal for Mexico), but the rooms were clean and well kept. There was no cold water to speak of to make a steaming hot shower bearable. There is a small shop downstairs if you need any toiletries or other items.

Overall, nothing special about this hotel. If I had gotten better sleep it may have been better...or if we were allowed to go to the beach without being heckled...or if we could have just "relaxed" without so much noise it would have been a better experience. Would i go back? Probably not to this hotel. The Riu Paradise from what I hear is a much better experience and since this beach was inaccessible due to the constant barrage of sales people, I would go somewhere with a great pool and tons of entertainment.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the main eating facility, get into the "4th addition" or the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear user, Akiva1974

Thank you, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you had pointed each detail.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience our service. on the other hand we sincerely regret not being able to be more accommodating, we acknowledge that we were unable to fulfill your expectations, as far as room accommodation and activities were concerned.

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Travelers:
Me and my wife (both 32) and our infant daughter. We are very easy travellers and just love being away which we do quite often. We would rather travel nicely several times a year then travel in luxury one or two times a year. We very rarely have anything to complain about whether it be food, rooms, etc. We travelled with family including two nieces (5 and 7).

Date: 12/17-12/24

Price- About $160/night for all inclusive

Pre-Check in- I e-mailed customer service to see if we could get an adjoining room with family we were travelling with, to get mattress toppers, and to inquire about getting a crib for our room (we were told that they were available upon availibity at check in- which for the parents out there just means to bring your own pack and play!). I received a response a few days later and when I responded back it took over a week to get another response. When we checked in we had no mattress topper, and we were on opposite ends of the property from our family. Very unimpressed with customer service before check in.

Room:
Stayed in the lowest category room (Garden View King- Room 3124) and it was nothing special. Typical Mexico/Cabibbean room with hard flooring (no carpet) and basic funishings. Location was PERFECT in that it was very close to the pool which made going to/from quite easy. Bathroom also nothing special and flooded pretty easily. Never used the balcony but had a couple standard chairs. Refrigerator offered varying levels of cold/cool/warm temperatures throughout the trip. Door lock had to be replaced as it stopped working. Bed is REALLY hard even with the mattress toppers. Haven't stayed in any previous Mexico holels so I don't know how it compares, but definitely the least comfortable hotel bed I've slept on so if you're sensitive this would be a big concern. With an infant, we could've slept on the floor so it didn't matter much!

Food:
Buffets: Plentiful and good. Breakfast buffets with Mexican selections was always quite good with omelette and mimosa stations, lox/bagels, fruit, other breads, and plenty of other hot items. Lunch/Dinner buffets were ok with a nice salad station but nothing remarkable. Desserts across the board were really weak with random little cakes, stale cookies, etc. If you're a dessert person (like my wife) this would be disappointing Ice Cream was quite good.

Snack bar by the pool was just perfect with made to order hamburgers and quesadillas with fresh pizza/french fries constantly being made. Great hit with kids (our nieces loved it!) and people who just want to stay by the pool and eat casually.

Reservation restaurants (2) were below average. If you want reservations, plan on getting there before 9AM when the concierge desk opens and even then you may not get one as we found out. My brother in law found tipping the concierge created new reservation time openings. Asian place was a salt fest. If it was a restaurant at home I would never go back. The Mediterranean place, albeit better with nicer fare like filet, lamb skewers, seafood pasta, etc offered higher quality dishes BUT the meat was very tough and the Italian food was really poor. I really liked the flavor of the meat there but you got to work it!

Service:
Fantastic. Across the board the people in the buffets, front desk, pool bars, housekeeping, etc were all very nice and service oriented.

Other notes:
Gym- No treadmills, ellipticals, or any electronic cardio equipment. There were 5 bikes using your own resistance and a bunch of very outdated weightlifting equipment. Decent for a quick vacation workout but if you're in the middle of a serious exercise routine you will have to take a break from it!

Wifi- Free in lobby area and ~20 bucks a day to use wifi throughout the property.

Pool Chairs- Outside was packed by 9:15 between towels being saved on chairs and people actually outside. If you like to sleep in, you won't get a chair by the pool. If you have babies and are up early, go lay your towles out early for the best selection. Sucks you have to do it, but well, you do.

Kids Club- Our nieces really loved it and met some friends. They seemed to have activities for the kids to do and they looked forward to going every day.

Overall, we ate and drank to our stomachs content. Had plenty of time by the pool and had a great trip. I wouldn't expect the trip of your lifetime at the Melia but it should hold you over until the next one.

Room Tip: Get a room by the pool (Building 1) for closest proximity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear User. ScottySunDevil

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media and that you have shared them with such a detail.

thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , on the other hand we have no record of advance requests or contacts to the hotel we apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you.

We are at your service as you mention you will come back to the hotel next year. We trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My partner and I traveled here from Dec 17th-23rd and it truly exceeded our expectations, After reading mixed reviews on the resort we decided to book it anyways ( because of the insanely good price for the week) Once we arrived we were immediately impressed with everything. The service was phenomenal, the food was outstanding ( Asian restaurant in particular), everything was clean ( The maids do an amazing job..be sure to tip them well! They deserve it)..The rooms are your standard Mexican style rooms but trust me when I say that you will not want to be in the room for long when the resort is as amazing as it is. Be sure to order a cappuccino for breakfast, they are to die for. Johel at the front desk is always very accommodating if you have any questions. We took the bus in and out of town and found that to be the cheapest and easiest way of transportation ( only $2 a ride) The only recommendation we can say to the hotel is to remove the mini fridge from the cupboard as it has no ventilation therefore the fridge does not cool properly. As for the beds..they are not the most comfortable but we honestly didn't find them THAT horrible..But they definitely could be better. Other then those small things, we have no complaints and are already planning our trip back next year! Thank you Melia & staff!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3101 and loved it, right by the pool and short walk to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear User: Taelore R

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We are at your service as you mention you will come back to the hotel next year. We trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank You.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We chose this hotel for the amazing price that was offered for an all-inclusive. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for....
First the good........location is good, with nicely manicured grounds and a great view. The hotel staff were generally good, with some exceptions. The 2 a'la carte restaurants were actually very impressive. Entertainment on some nights were pretty decent. The main lobby and bar area is also quite nice.
Sadly, this is all let down by poor house-keeping, a mediocre buffet, a very outdated, poorly maintained guest room that you would usually find in a budget motel, and not 4stars as claimed. The bedding, towels, bathroom and ancient poorly-functioning tv, belong to a budget motel. We never had a decent nights sleep for the entire week. Dirt in our bathroom sink and toilet, were still there after a week of so-called daily room servicing. The beds are extremely hard. Does not reconcile with the bright, modern-looking rooms with LCD tv's seen on various websites.
I have stayed at several all-inclusive resorts in Mexico, the Dominican, Cuba and Jamaica, and have never seen such mean-spiritedness shown by hotel management(compounded by the fact that it was so close to Christmas). The day prior to departure, we all received a note from hotel management requesting that we vacate the room by a certain time, or face a $600 US charge and to also surrender our wrist bands, even though we had to wait another four and a half hours for the scheduled hotel transfer. We were told that we could eat at the buffet for another $50 per room; otherwise we were expected to wait in the lobby and not use any of the hotel services for the 4 and a half hours! This was also in contradiction to what our Transat Vacation rep told us at her presentation, which I believe is primarily to sell you costly tours, and not just for getting your names on the return transfer list. She also demonstrated mean spiritedness at the airport, when she refused to let us join the "shorter" family line, even though we were traveling with a 10 year old, and it was after midnight.
Overall, it was an average holiday, that could have been a great one with better customer service and proper room maintenance. To conclude, I would strongly advise that management refurbish the desperately outdated rooms, and not nickel and dime patrons for services.

Room Tip: Insist on getting a refurbished room, otherwise it is not worth staying here. I also later realized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear User ; JPS183462

It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you have pointed out details.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would due to the check out procedure and some other services.


We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations

Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spent 6 days here. We booked this hotel cause it was the cheapest one available for the dates we wanted and was still 4 star. The hotel was standard nothing fancy, its a low rise hotel with only 5 floors, so ocean view which we had in room 4215 was ok. One thing we noticed it the hotel had a lot of bugs. There was so many mouths flying around it looked like it was infested with them. In our room we found these beatle like bugs in our room almost everyday. We had new bites on our legs everyday. I over herd other guests say the same thing about having bites all over their legs. Customer services i would say is 6 out 10. So above average. Food was 5 out 10, but thats to be expected in 4 star hotel considering what we paid, it was ok. Entertainment was 4 out of 10... Lobby bar, 5 out of 10.. Check in process 6 out of 10 was pretty fast. Activities 7 out of 10. Beach 6 out of 10. I would say overall this is more a couples or family style hotel, and was generally pretty quiet. I would not come back to this hotel, because of the out of control issue they seem to have with bugs, and the location is far from downtown cabo. Overall i had a good time, they get the job done, but just barely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear User. Nolimitz29

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would due to the bugs you mention above. A relevant fact regarding this matter is that a general problem in Los Cabos was caused by the excessive rain that took place months ago. The rain we experience was the worst registered in 6 years, causing a excessive fauna manifestation.

If you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very happy with our stay at this hotel. They have a kids club and quite a few activities for kids. The food was not bad at all. La Terraza has good steak. Japanese restaurant is good too although the portions are a little small. The buffet restaurant's breakfast and lunch are not bad. I would not eat dinner there unless there's a theme night though (Mexican or BBQ).

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have great view. Order a mattress topper if you don't like extra firm bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear User :VannesaM

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank You.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Melia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.