We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 45% off
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent a week at the Melia Real Los Cabos. The staff were friendly and I had a really good time with the animator whose name is Octavio, the rooms were lovely, comfy bed by Mexican standards, lovely sheets and pillows. The food was excellent in the reservation restaurant and pretty good in the buffet. Beach has terrible course sand (painful) and the red flag was up all the time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear user, xhanak

Thank you, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience our services .

Also your comments in regards to Octavio have already been transmitted and he has been congratulated for his efforts.

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    770
    339
    158
    95
See reviews for
624
798
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Truly a steal to be able to stay at this all inclusive resort for $95 per night. At this price it's cheaper than staying at home. Food and drinks just kept flowing from the restaurants, swim-up bar, snack bar, lounge areas and even the mini fridge in the room. Don't expect fine dining quality in the food but lots of selection even for kids. Each night would be a different theme ranging from Oriental to Brazilian.

We stayed in building 3 which is closest to the pool, hot tub and snack bar. We were upgraded from deluxe garden view to partial ocean view upon check in. But honestly it really doesn't matter where your balcony is facing since we only used it to lay our swim gear to dry. The room needs to upgrade to a flat screen TV but again, who watches TV at a resort? The shower's water pressure almost blew me back as I wasn't expecting such a blast. In some ways there was too much water spewing out that the drain couldn't keep up.

The pools were heated but won't feel like it until you dip in ASAP. By noon the water warms up just by being under the sun. My kids (2 & 4) were practically in the water from 10 to sundown if not in the pool then at the beach. The stretch of beach in front of the resort is probably the most swimmable in the area.

Also got a $200 resort credit for various services and amenities. Used the credits for the wifey's ocean front spa/massage and she loved it. TIP: buy the 80 min treatment and split it into 2 sessions if you feel like you'll be sleeping thru the last half of the massage.

Overall a very good family friendly resort especially if you can get it for under $100 a night.

Room Tip: Regardless of which building you get, try and get either the first or 2nd floor to avoid climbing up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear user, advisorLars

Thank you, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you had pointed out detail.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience our services .

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Melia Cabo Real in October for our 4th time, and as always the stay was fabulous. The hotel has the friendliest staff who always calls us by name and treats us great! We have stayed in about every level of room available and every room has always been clean and neat, along with the rest of the hotel. The fact that the Melia has a swimmable beach is a huge plus for us and we really enjoy being able to go for walks, horseback rides or just relaxing on the beach. The hotel restaurants offer a great variety of food choices to choose from and we have never had a problem getting reservations at any of the restaurants on site. It is a short commute to either San Jose or Cabo San Lucas, but it is very easy and cheap to jump on the public bus or get a taxi right in front of the hotel. The massages outside are a fantastic way to relax as well and the ladies are super friendly and professional. I will definitely stay here again and can't say enough positive about this hotel.

Room Tip: We like the ocean front or oceanview rooms the best and the master suite is fabulous. But all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear User ; Kendra K

We appreciate that once again you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you have pointed out details.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your 4th visit at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank You.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent a week at the Melia Real Los Cabos in early December. It must have been before the "season" because it was very quiet. We love it because it is a small and refined hotel. If you like the Riu style hotel...don't come here. The guests were either young with small children who were all extremely well behaved... with parents who came to spend that time with their family...or people who, like my husband and I, have grandchildren. It was never crowded. The staff were beautifully friendly and caring, the rooms were lovely, comfy bed by Mexican standards, lovely sheets and pillows. The food was excellent in the reservation restaurant and pretty good in the buffet. The little kiosk by the pool also had snack food that was fun and good.
Beach has terrible course sand (painful) and the red flag was up all the time. The salt water was not too available.
The pool is a huge, meandering stretch of lovely water. beautifully warm... the hot tub was a meeting place for great conversation. Best of all was the shower. Though tricky getting into the tub, the shower was amazing...the flow was so strong it nearly knocked me off my feet. I could have stayed in there all day. Loved our visit... will definitely go back.
If you have any mobility problems, insist on a room on the bottom floor. There is only one elevator in 4 different but attached buildings and we were up 40 stairs...

Room Tip: be careful of having to walk flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear User ; slipsett

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank You.

Mario Gaona
mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are owners at Cabo Real and have been going yearly since 1998. We love going to Cabo and the staff at Cabo Real could not be more friendly or more efficient. The grounds are beautiful and it is one of the few resorts that you can actually swim on the beach.

It has been our experience that ever since this resort became an all-enclusive the caliber of food at all the onsite restaurants has markedly declined. As owners we have the option to choose all-inclusive or not. Sadly, we never eat at Cabo Real anymore. We can walk to the Hilton or Las Ventanas on either side of Cabo Real or we take a cab to a restaurant off site for all of our meals.

Cabo Real is located in an area where there are many upscale restaurants to choose from. Both Melia and the hotel manager need to take a long hard look at the restaurants onsite and upgrade the level of food as well as the menus to remain competitive and provide quality restaurant choices for their guests.

Room Tip: The owners suites are badly in need of being totally refurbished. They are old, worn and dated. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear user,GailG

Thank you, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media..

We are trilled with the fact that we were able to enjoy our facilities, but regret that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real due to the food and beverages selection .

For any future requirements please contact us, as we trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations even more with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went there for a trip family- 4 adults and 2 kids and it was a perfect location. We took the shuttle from the airport but it was good since we got to glimpse what Cabo city looked like before heading to the property. The shuttle guide was really chatty and he shared some tips about things to do, places to visit. When asked about where to try some good mexican authentic food, he said that we were in living in the resort that focuses on some good authentic food and we realized, he was not kidding.

Staff is super dedicated and always happy to serve with a smile and never expected any tips to go above and beyond.(surely welcome). We've been to Mexican all-inclusives before and while Melia in Cabo is not a 5 star, it was more than adequate for our needs. We were on a second level ocean and pool view room, the rooms may have needed some modernizing but totally decent and cleaned. But for the amount of time in the room, seemed appropriate. this is located between San Jose and Cabo but the hotel had shuttles to both towns helping us get to both locations, hang out, do some sight seeing and be back without having to take many tours. One thing you have to do in Cabo is do the glass bottom trip to see the Arch etc, was really fun, esp since the speed boat guy let my kid and my sisters kid handle the boat (being right there of course). The food in the buffets was medium to high with lots of vegeterian options. the dinners were pretty good in the reservable restaurants, esp the Italian and Japanese ones. The kids were sometimes too tired to wait for the late slots we got for dinner reservations but they had in buffet and would just come with us and possibly have some of the good quality desserts from teh restaurants or just slept in their seats while we ate. The best part about this resort is the swimming beach but the pool and esp the kids club inflatable boats in the pool were a highlight for them. No shortage of things to do as they have tons planned for adults and kids every single day and evening.

Would recommend to a friend who doesnt need too many shiny and high end things but likes to enjoy a good trip with some local flare.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear User ; JDebWashington

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you have pointed out details.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Thank You.


Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We've been to Mex all-inclusives before (Barcelo in San Jose) and while Melia is not a 5 star by any stretch, it was more than adequate for our needs. The property isn't massive so you don't have to walk for miles to get anywhere. Originally we were put in a ground floor garden suite but it felt kind of dark and cut off. We had to push reasonably hard to change but were eventually upgraded to another room with a view of the ocean and pool area for our remaining 6 nights. Keep in mind that if you like flat screens, you might not get one. But for the amount of time in the room, I couldn't have cared less.

Location is a tiny bit challenging. Its mid-way between San Jose and Cabo. Bus service is about $2 each way and pretty regular. But its only about 30 minutes from the airport.

The food in the buffets was medium to high quality (except Asian night - what were they thinking???) I had all the papaya I could handle, plus lots of other healthy options. We didn't eat at the Japanese a la carte restaurant because we'd been warned by other guests. The Italian a la carte easily surpassed our expectations. Plus you eat slower when food is served to you, vs. the 'feed-bag' mentality people tend to get in at the buffet. The one precaution is that if you want wine, buy a bottle. The stuff they were serving by the glass was sad. Let's face it, Mexico is about Margaritas and Cerveza. That, they do well. Oh, and guacamole and salsa, and and and . . .

The best part about this resort is the swimming beach - a rarity along the coast. Plus the beach was good for barefoot running.

The service was excellent and friendly. Our favourite waiter in La Palapa had to be Marco. David and Eduardo were also excellent.

Mostly Canadians at this resort, with the usual 'drinking before 10 and not wearing sunscreen' crowd, which can be some good day time entertainment if your book is boring. It was fairly low season when we stayed there (50% occupancy, I believe) so there wasn't much competition for lounge chairs. There are signs everywhere that say you can't reserve. I did challenge someone one day (towel on 2 chairs from 7 am until 1 with no one showing up) and the staff easily backed me.

You can borrow everything from snorkels to tennis rackets. We had a hell of a Janga tournament in the hotel bar one night. No shortage of things to do.

Enjoy your time, just check your perspective before you go. If you want all out luxury and high-end everything, you should probably book at the Westin or some of the other high-end resorts along the coast. Melia is pretty down to earth. For $700 ea. all in, this was a great deal for a week.

Oh one more thing, if you walk about a km down the beach in the direction of Cabo, you'll find 2 massage tents. 1 hour - $30. Say no more. Needless to say, we did a LOT of walking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear User: cjsestan

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to Eduardo , David and Marco, those who helped build your memorable experiences.

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.