We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for the buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great bang for the buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The resort itself was fairly typical, large and open. The hotel grounds was very large and well manicured. There were plenty of wait staff and there was always someplace to get a drink or something to eat.
The Palapa restaurant was where breakfast and lunch were served. The selection was always very broad and had something to appeal to everyone. Pretty standard fare except for some of the different types of ceviche, which were all excellent.
Dinner could be scheduled at some of the on site restaurants, but the food was still variants of what was available at the Palapa.
The bartenders were are very freindly and accomodating.
The snack bar was open almost all day and served hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza, fries, salads and chicken nuggets. You never had to wait for food, everything was always pretty good.
The mattresses, as mentioned in many posts are very hard.
The rooms were clean, bright and airy.
This is a family place so there are always kids around.
The best part of the place is the balinese beds overlooking the beach. They go for $25 per day and are worth every penny. They keep a stocked ice chest full of beer and water for you and the waitress swings by about every 15 minutes. I tipped her $40 and she was there everytime I wiggled a finger.
Good trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear user, BigDaddyTex

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience our services .

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

we are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    750
    337
    157
    93
See reviews for
604
776
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Could not get our room on arrival, Room was poor, some sort of flying bugs going around all week. The meals were typical Mexican fare, but well below average for Mexico. The lay out of the Hotel didn't seem quite right, the ocean, after a long hike to get to, was warmer than the pool, the staff were very good but the front desk could have been more helpful. After one visit , to the front desk, it was obvious that they had no real concern for their guests, we just gave up after the initial visit, decided to make the best of it. I am glad we didn't book for two weeks. Met some awesome people though, this fact made the week a very good one people wise. Would I go to Cabo again yes, I would< been before> but not to this Hotel, I don't know for sure but it sure tasted like the alcohol, hard stuff had been fixed. Not a great experience. This Hotel is off my list.

Room Tip: Stay away from building #4, the staff think that because you are a senior you can't climb stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest : English101

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would., if you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.

Regards.
Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a wonderful week, the staff was amazing, always ready to help and very friendly. Great beach, there is a little bay which allow us to swim safely. The room was very nice and clean. The food was o.k., sometime a bit repetitive. The hotel is well located, about 20 mins by bus to San José. The building is not too big, there is not too much walking required, this might be interested for someone who has some physical restrictions. We plan to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building #4 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear User: SuzanneJ

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

we are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .
Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We paid less than $100 usd/day for a 2 week stay. Rooms were showing age but clean and roomy, a/c works, bar fridge always stocked, tv was older but we didn't use it much, keypad entry safe in closet, beds older but we requested a pillow top, balcony for every room. We enjoyed Kujira (Japanese) restaurant the best, La Terreza was incredibly salty but we asked for no salt on everything and that worked! Loved the omelette lady at the Pallapa and the birds didn't bother us. They even gave us take out plates so we can pack a lunch when we wanted to spend a day outside the resort. All staff were great (felt bad they put in long hours). Bring lots of small bills (usd or pesos) as we often had difficulty breaking larger ones (exchange rate was better at home although exchange rate at front desk wasn't too bad). We picked a different louge chair every time (by music, in shade, quiet area, etc) and they didn't mind us trying out the pool beds once in a while if no one was renting them. Pool is shallow and not heated but very clean. There were lots of activities on the hour every hour, snorkeling at the beach (don't forget to check out the fenced turtle egg area just down at the beach), equipment room, ceramic painting, cooking, foosball, making drinks, darts, water volleyball, water polo, etc. We even "borrowed" the tools to draw patterns in the sand gardens and requested that to be an official activity, lol! We heard they once had ziplining and rock climbing but someone got hurt. Please bring these activities back!! The outdoor ping pong table is made of concrete and a little longer than regulation (very unique to try). We brought our own ping pong rackets and balls because the equipment room closes around 4pm. Equipment room has tennis rackets, boogy boards, snorkel gear, frisbees, footballs, etc but no life jacket so bring your own if needed. The 2 rooftop tennis courts are on artificial turf and some sand (very interesting surface and works great). Again, we brought our own tennis rackets and balls (tennis balls are very expensive at the local Walmart). Would be great if there was a tennis instructor to play with, hint, hint. The activity coordinators (Fernando, Gabriel, and Raul) ran the show and were the best part of the resort! They seem to always be there whether it was yoga, or handing you a towel or playing tennis with you! Unbelievable service and dedication from there guys! Every day of the week, there was a food theme and activity night. DJ and dancing at night so get a room further away if quietness is your thing. The workout gym was decent with a/c, free weights and non-electrical machines. Family friendly resort as there were activities for kids. We walked through many other resorts in the area while we were there. The 5 star Hilton next door was dead quiet and you had to pay extra for the restaurants although some people might like that better. Other resorts catered to a loud and party atmosphere. Melia Cabo Real is a great fit for what we wanted (a mix bag of everything for everyone).

Local transit was very convenient and safe. 19 pesos per adult takes you directly into San Lucus or San Jose in about 15 minutes either way. Just tell the driver where you want to go and they seem to remember where each person wants to get off (they also provide change on the bus but use pesos instead of usd). Aguila is the coach bus that takes you to Todos Santos, La Paz, etc which you can catch in San Lucas. Every Sunday morning they close the main stretch of road in San Lucas to walkers, skate boarders and bicycles. You can rent bicycles right then and there and we used them to get around town quicker to see more things. The marina is beautiful and has shopping, Lover's beach is so scenic, bring snorkels, waterproof camera and food to spend time there. Not sure if it's legal to rock climb there but formations are nice there to scramble up or do some bouldering. We kayaked across the Sea of Cortez but you can take water taxi or local bus. Remember, everything is negotiable. We ususally rented equipment for half day so there is no time constraints (tamdem kayak was $35usd, 2 bicycles for $20usd). Cabo Wabo was expensive, not worth eating there IMO but go downstairs and check out the stage. Also check out the glass blowing art store for free in that same area while in San Lucas.

On the San Jose side, the plaza (forgot name) had shopping, kids playing and a centre stage area (they were just putting up a christmas tree). There's a church there too and we witnessed two local weddings back to back! We rented bicycles there also to check out the marina, bird sanctuary and private cactus park (believe me, well worth going), but you can also rent a scooter for cheap as it's a little far to walk to get to all these.

Room Tip: Check everything in your room upon arrival and get a different room immediately if you don't lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear user, freshairforever

Thank you, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and that you had pointed each detail.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience our services .

Also your comments in regards to our Staff . Fernando, Gabriel, and Raul have already been transmitted and they have been congratulated for their efforts.

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Melia Real Cabo all-inclusive. We were part of a wedding party with a variety of ages from 16 months to in their 70's. All had fun - something for everyone. The staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable,; can't say enough about them.

We enjoyed the food - good variety and taste.

Room Tip: enjoyed the ocean view rooms, but sometimes a bit windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear user, DaveM

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience our services .


we are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here before but many years ago. I remember liking it, but Im not so hot on it this time around.
The good: the staff were ALL amazing. This was the one stand out for us. The accommodation was good/fine. The room clean and nice. The hotel is set up well, in terms of it's structure/shape. It isnt too tall or too spread out; everything is within reasonable distance, centred around the BIG beautiful pool.
The bad: the food. We love to go to Mexico for the great MEXICAN food. Not for mediocre to bad oriental/international/sushi/you name the theme food. We ate out at a couple of fantastic restaurants in Cabo during our stay, thank goodness because the food at this hotel is (except for one night) everything but Mexican, and everything but palatable. The guacamole at lunch (NOT at the snack bar), and chips, were great. That's about it. The fish smelled bad. And, yes- the birds are all over the food.

The smoking. There are a lot of smokers who stay here, so be warned if this is an issue for you. It was difficult if not impossible to find a place to lay out at the pool that wasnt in the direct line of fire of a lot of smokers. The non-smoking area was poorly marked, small and only in the shade. It was kind of a joke. With all that we know about the dangers of 2nd hand smoke, not to mention the 1st hand (People, why continue to do this to yourselves?), it's too bad more resorts dont go non-smoking or have a designated smoking area, rather than the other way around. I dont want to be surrounded by it on my vacation.

There is loud music played at the pool all day, as well as games broadcast over the loudspeaker, so we tried to find a peaceful spot at the beach. There is a nice bay off to the side of the hotel, which is swimmable and this was great in terms of access (the beach bay is a short walk from the hotel, right in front of the Hilton) and the water is beautiful. The drawback is that to lay out on the beach is not a peaceful experience due to the plethora of vendors wandering the beach selling their wares. They are polite and they dont shout, like in some other countries we've been to, but as soon as we said no to one vendor who would approach us, the next one would amble over. This goes on all day. It is not conducive to enjoying a peaceful day at the beach/reading/writing etc.
Since Im at it, I will mention the towels. Seriously, I think replacing a towel once it has threads hanging off every side and most of the color is worn off it is not too much to ask.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear user EighthWonderDance

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our services day after day we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

On the other had we truly regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would due to the food service and other services. If you send a e mail to mexperience@meliacaboreal with more details regarding your experience we will appreciate it.

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We went for a wedding and that was amazing -they did a great job! Our room was nice but the partial ocean view upgrade wasn't worth the $$$ since we couldn't see the water.

The staff were very friendly, worked super hard and were very nice.

Now the bad...

The wedding party and guests arrived on Sunday and by Tuesday at least 20 were sick from the food. I would say 40% of the people got sick from the food. This is unreal in this day and age and horrible to have this happen at a Wedding!!

The food was terrible all the way from breakfast, lunch and to the buffet dinner. We watched them leave bread, granola and many other food items uncovered. Birds ate from it and actually stood in the bowl of granola eating it and flinging it every where. They attempted to cober the bread with napkins but that was only after more people came down for breakfast and to look like they were doing something anout it. We vame down early quite a few mornings to find many items uncovered & the birds having free reign on all food. People unknowingly took bread and granola that birds ate and sat on!!! No wonder so many got sick! The eggs were always under cooked unless you stood and asked for them to be well done. They had bacon and peanut butter but it was hidden and you had to specifically ask for it.

Once you sat down staff were great but you had to deal, during the day, with big brown wasps and birds almost hitting you in the buffet area. At night it was huge bat like moths!! The buffet at most times was unrecognizable food and terrible.

Given the above we found ourselves at lunch eating from the snack stand. Greasy pizza and taco chips/dips were our only good option. Even that at times was questionable as they reused old hot dogs as a pizza topping one day. We also booked the special restaurants at dinner since our whole group of 40+ people could not handle the buffet. The Mediterranean restaurant was great with super service and food. Minus the chicken which was super salty. The Japanese one was not that great and we had under cooked chicken and fish.

Given how bad the food was and the sanitation issues - birds sharing our food and also bugs all over fruit and tomatoes. Plus the groom and others were violently sick!! Thank goodness someone had Imodium for all. We ended up eating dinner at the Westin next door and paying for meals the last night bc we could not eat the food anymore.

I would not recommend this place as no one needs to pay so much money to get so sick on a holiday. If they could clean up their food issues then this would be a top place to stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear User. CLEMartin

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our services day after day we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

On the other had we truly lament that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would and also that you did not approached to any of our managers in order to help you. if you send a e mail to mexperience@meliacaboreal with more details regarding this matters we will appreciate it.

Also it is relevant to mention that we are part of the program Cristal Food Safety System.
The CRISTAL Food Safety System assists the hotels in producing safe and hygienic food for consumption by guests. The Cristal system is based on the recognized method of hygiene management as known as HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points)

One of our major concerns is the satisfaction and safety of our clients, we are constantly training our staff to provide the most attentive service to make our guests’ live unforgettable experiences.


Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Melia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.