We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was okay, but wont return.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Was okay, but wont return.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here before but many years ago. I remember liking it, but Im not so hot on it this time around.
The good: the staff were ALL amazing. This was the one stand out for us. The accommodation was good/fine. The room clean and nice. The hotel is set up well, in terms of it's structure/shape. It isnt too tall or too spread out; everything is within reasonable distance, centred around the BIG beautiful pool.
The bad: the food. We love to go to Mexico for the great MEXICAN food. Not for mediocre to bad oriental/international/sushi/you name the theme food. We ate out at a couple of fantastic restaurants in Cabo during our stay, thank goodness because the food at this hotel is (except for one night) everything but Mexican, and everything but palatable. The guacamole at lunch (NOT at the snack bar), and chips, were great. That's about it. The fish smelled bad. And, yes- the birds are all over the food.

The smoking. There are a lot of smokers who stay here, so be warned if this is an issue for you. It was difficult if not impossible to find a place to lay out at the pool that wasnt in the direct line of fire of a lot of smokers. The non-smoking area was poorly marked, small and only in the shade. It was kind of a joke. With all that we know about the dangers of 2nd hand smoke, not to mention the 1st hand (People, why continue to do this to yourselves?), it's too bad more resorts dont go non-smoking or have a designated smoking area, rather than the other way around. I dont want to be surrounded by it on my vacation.

There is loud music played at the pool all day, as well as games broadcast over the loudspeaker, so we tried to find a peaceful spot at the beach. There is a nice bay off to the side of the hotel, which is swimmable and this was great in terms of access (the beach bay is a short walk from the hotel, right in front of the Hilton) and the water is beautiful. The drawback is that to lay out on the beach is not a peaceful experience due to the plethora of vendors wandering the beach selling their wares. They are polite and they dont shout, like in some other countries we've been to, but as soon as we said no to one vendor who would approach us, the next one would amble over. This goes on all day. It is not conducive to enjoying a peaceful day at the beach/reading/writing etc.
Since Im at it, I will mention the towels. Seriously, I think replacing a towel once it has threads hanging off every side and most of the color is worn off it is not too much to ask.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear user EighthWonderDance

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our services day after day we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

On the other had we truly regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would due to the food service and other services. If you send a e mail to mexperience@meliacaboreal with more details regarding your experience we will appreciate it.

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    717
    320
    154
    86
See reviews for
546
726
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We went for a wedding and that was amazing -they did a great job! Our room was nice but the partial ocean view upgrade wasn't worth the $$$ since we couldn't see the water.

The staff were very friendly, worked super hard and were very nice.

Now the bad...

The wedding party and guests arrived on Sunday and by Tuesday at least 20 were sick from the food. I would say 40% of the people got sick from the food. This is unreal in this day and age and horrible to have this happen at a Wedding!!

The food was terrible all the way from breakfast, lunch and to the buffet dinner. We watched them leave bread, granola and many other food items uncovered. Birds ate from it and actually stood in the bowl of granola eating it and flinging it every where. They attempted to cober the bread with napkins but that was only after more people came down for breakfast and to look like they were doing something anout it. We vame down early quite a few mornings to find many items uncovered & the birds having free reign on all food. People unknowingly took bread and granola that birds ate and sat on!!! No wonder so many got sick! The eggs were always under cooked unless you stood and asked for them to be well done. They had bacon and peanut butter but it was hidden and you had to specifically ask for it.

Once you sat down staff were great but you had to deal, during the day, with big brown wasps and birds almost hitting you in the buffet area. At night it was huge bat like moths!! The buffet at most times was unrecognizable food and terrible.

Given the above we found ourselves at lunch eating from the snack stand. Greasy pizza and taco chips/dips were our only good option. Even that at times was questionable as they reused old hot dogs as a pizza topping one day. We also booked the special restaurants at dinner since our whole group of 40+ people could not handle the buffet. The Mediterranean restaurant was great with super service and food. Minus the chicken which was super salty. The Japanese one was not that great and we had under cooked chicken and fish.

Given how bad the food was and the sanitation issues - birds sharing our food and also bugs all over fruit and tomatoes. Plus the groom and others were violently sick!! Thank goodness someone had Imodium for all. We ended up eating dinner at the Westin next door and paying for meals the last night bc we could not eat the food anymore.

I would not recommend this place as no one needs to pay so much money to get so sick on a holiday. If they could clean up their food issues then this would be a top place to stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear User. CLEMartin

Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our services day after day we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

On the other had we truly lament that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would and also that you did not approached to any of our managers in order to help you. if you send a e mail to mexperience@meliacaboreal with more details regarding this matters we will appreciate it.

Also it is relevant to mention that we are part of the program Cristal Food Safety System.
The CRISTAL Food Safety System assists the hotels in producing safe and hygienic food for consumption by guests. The Cristal system is based on the recognized method of hygiene management as known as HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points)

One of our major concerns is the satisfaction and safety of our clients, we are constantly training our staff to provide the most attentive service to make our guests’ live unforgettable experiences.


Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Melia for four nights in November. The area is beautiful and we had great weather, 86 in the daytime and 70 at night with no clouds. The beach and pool area is very nice! You are able to swim in the ocean in this area, although there were some big waves. Also lobby and lobby bar are enjoyable. They have a real nice firepit area to sit with piped in music. Watching the sunrise in the mornings were beautiful.
Our room was an oceanview room with a nice balcony that overlooked pool area. The rooms are outdated and beds are hard with flat pillows. The bathrooms were nice in the room. The food was nice in the ala carte restaurants but not that great in the buffet.
It was a nice vacation and Cabo is my new favorite place to vacation, but probably would not stay at the Melia next time.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor in 2408, was queit except for one night with people yelling outside our doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear user,readyforanother

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a good experiences during your stay. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

we are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just got back from the Melia and we have to say that the service was exceptional. The staff at the Melia are amazing! The first thing I have to address has nothing to do with the resort, however, I really wish Air Transat had warned us tourists to avoid the timeshare people as soon as you go through customs. Our bus got delayed for over half an hour as a few groups of people got sucked in. Sitting on the bus in the boiling heat sucked. Plus I would have grabbed more beer. Anyways, the room itself was spacious with adequate storage. We paid the extra money for an ocean view, however it is important to note that only a few rooms have a full ocean view, so we acctually ended up with a "partial" view, but it was great to overlook the golf course with the ocean in the background. The decks were very private on the golf course side of the resort. The beds are terribly hard (and I pride myself on having the ability to sleep on the ground while camping), but I did find by the end of the week I was craving my bed back home. So yes book the extra foam! We did have issues with having access to warm water in our shower during peak times, around 4-7pm, but no problems otherwise! The grounds were well maintained and as a couple we were able to escape the noise of the resort by either going down to the beach area or renting a private cabana (they have adult only and ones for families). The Cabanas were around 25$ american and could be reserved anytime. I highly reccomend it for people who want to just chill out away from the crowd. A waiter comes and serves you drinks and you also have access to a cooler in the cabana! We did enjoy playing tennis and liked the roof top court, however, it is not lit up at night and that leaves you with only a small windows of time to play when its not smoking hot out. The food was okay at the buffets, but I was sick of it by day 4 so we took in room service on a couple of nights. It was only 10bucks each time and you could have what ever you wanted on the menu. Highly recommend this for oriental night or pasta night. The only real issue we had was having access to things like the pool table and ping pong. As they could do with a few more tables. We were constantly having to race for ping pong and I was a little peeved that at 10:30 at night we had a guy and his kid breathing over us at the pool table when we only just got there. I think that after 10 o'clock at night they should have a lounge that is more adult only. But I suppose we could have gone to an 18 plus resort. I don't think this is a resort for singles or solo travellers or those coming to cabo to party. We noticed a weening off of people at night as the week progressed (people were going into town more). On the saturday night only us and another couple were in bar after 11pm. Its a great place for families and couples wanting a peaceful week away.
The resort is closer to San Jose than Cabo and we were a quick bus ride to San Jose. We went to San Jose twice and I highly recommend it over the tourist heavy Cabo. We loved the colonial atmosphere and the more local feel to the area. Stop by at Shooters and enjoy a few corona and cheap beef tacos on the rooftop patio, while watching sports! For booze I recommend buying at the Mega, its about the cheapest you will find. Be prepared to be hassled about time shares while being everywhere in Cabo, including the Mega. Cab rides are expensive, and although my otherhalf is spanish, we still had a hard time bartering them down, so take the bus where possible. The transfers for the bus didn't work for us tourists, so be prepared to fork out the 19pesos for every bus ride, regardless of length.
We took in golf at the Cabo Real course. The prices listed on the internet by no means are what you had to pay once you got there. However, the resort will give you a voucher for 50$ off...it means nothing. We asked about prices before getting the voucher and were told 110$ for twilight (1:30 to 2:00 tee times) and it was the same price with the voucher. We paid 55$ for club rentals aswell. You also have to take a cab from the resort to the club house which despite being told by an intown taxi driver that it should cost around 5$ they want a set fee of 10$ (we bargained down to 8$). The golf was great, and there are booze vendors on the course. We brought some of own beer and booze as there are coolers on the carts! Bring lots of balls!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We just left Melia and I can not say enough about how great the staff was! They seemed truly happy to help you. The grounds were constantly being maintained, and the whole resort was very clean. The buffet was good but hard to eat by the end of the week. I would recommend making reservations for the restaurants. My biggest complaint is that there isn't any entertainment and the pool closes too early. Overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear user, KRT76

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and most important that you allowed us to be your host.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience, Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real.


We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just got back from having our wedding at the Melia. The wedding planners, Shantal and Yuleana are amazing. If you are considering having a wedding here you, you cannot go wrong. This is the place! all our guests had a great time. Everyone who worked there was so nice and made you feel welcome. Do not miss morning yoga, awesome teacher. Also, book a massage by the water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear user, rebeccaL588

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and most important that you allowed us to be your host for such an important even as your wedding.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience, Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to relax in our BY THE SEA Spa and experience our yoga classes.

Also your comments in regards to our personnel Shantal and Yuleana have already been transmitted.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

we just got back on the 24 nov and had a real good time there. the drinks were very good and free flowing. yes they will fill up your bubba keg with whaterver you want. the food was good and a pretty good variety.
the service was outstanding especially from Eduardo at the pool bar.. this guy was flying around everywhere. you will have to book for ala cartes and should be up by 830 to put a towel down for a shaddy spot.
we booked a fishing trip through air transat on the gaviota fleet.it was a 28 footer went for 5 hours and the skippers name was ceasar and his singing deck hand were very professional they got us a 250 lb blue marling and a 30 lb dorado.. and we hooked up to 3 other fish. ask for him and you will have a productive fishing expierience boy we sure did.
the expieriec of swimming in the sheltered bay was fun but could be nasty at times as they waves can get really big. at times a little dangerous. free snorkel and boogie boards at the towel exchange.. there also is a book exchange but not much reading there.
Rueben the bar tenter at the lobby lounge was also first rate. be sure to take in the contests and shows. all areas were constantley being cleaned and staff always assured you were having a wonderfull time.
as other have said the beds are a little more than firm, be sure to get your egg crate foam toppers requested early as there are waiting lists. this will improve your comfort level.

Room Tip: building one is loud, two top floor has partial ocean view three hard to get without upgrade, but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear user,Hemmingway_12

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience during your stay. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations and that you able to experience all our services.

Your comments in regards to Eduardo and Ruben have been Transmitted and they will be congratulated for their efforts because they help you live the " Melia Experience "

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Melia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.