We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 45% off
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just returned from a week at the all inclusive Hotel Melia Cabo Real. It was an overall great experience, reading other comments I have to agree that the rooms were not ready at 3 it was more like 4 but we were sent for lunch which made the time go by a bit faster. We were given an upgrade of our room without asking. We found the front desk staff and all personnel very friendly. Internet connection was a hit and miss but staff was more than eager to rectify the problem. Hotel is clean and well kept, the food was the best we had by far from all previous all inclusive trip to various areas in Mexico. The faucet in our room was not functioning well and a lot of water is wasted. Something they can really look into as they do experience water shortages from time to time. My only real complain if you can call it that was that house keeping was done very late in the day. Our room was never cleaned before at least four in the afternoon which was a bit of a irritation as by then you had enough of the beach and swimming pool and just want to relax in your room. I would gladly return to this hotel and recommend it to other travelers. I usually find something to complain about as my husband points out regularly but I was a great all inclusive holiday at this resort. It is definitely worth four stars!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear user, ldewet

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience our services .

Also your comments in regards to our housekeeping have already been transmitted.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    770
    339
    158
    95
See reviews for
624
798
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our rooms weren't that nice - overlooking scrubs and a highway. Our rooms were not ready and missing towels, toilet paper - basically everything. The staff was a bit slow during check-in and although we were supposed to be allowed check-in at 3, none of the rooms were ready until 4. The resort itself is pretty nice though - the pool, the beach, and the food was pretty good overall as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear user Travelsalot1984

First of all Thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our services day after day we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

On the other had we truly lament that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would due to some of our services. If you send a e mail to mexperience@meliacaboreal with more details regarding your experience we will appreciate it.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We just arrived back from a wonderful vacation at the Melia on November 4th. In reading the reviews prior to booking our trip, I was VERY sceptical. However, the Melia was FANTASTIC!! Upon arriving, they saw that we had a 2 yr old and, without asking, they changed our room to a ground level room close to the kiddie pool in building 3. So grateful for that!! They were also promptly in our room putting mattress toppers on the beds as I had requested them when I booked our trip.

The first evening we were there, they were doing the baby sea turtle release (apparently, they have the authority for this). That was pretty neat! They had a bunch of baby sea turtles and took a lot of people down to the beach and everyone got to release their own baby sea turtle to the ocean.

So, some of the issues people ‘seemed’ to have with the resort:

Rooms: the beds are not that bad. I actually found them quite comfortable with the mattress topper. The pillows were really nice-I did need an extra blanket as it cooled off a fair bit at night. We did not have issues with noise from the pool as the patio doors were enough to quiet any noise in the afternoon so nap time was no issue.

Food: we mostly ate at the Palapa, the buffet, as we had a 2 year old. Breakfast and lunch were pretty standard every day. If we ever needed anything that wasn’t there, we just asked the head chef or the ‘Captain’ and they were always accommodating. The evening ‘theme’ dinners were really good. They were different every night. My two favourites were the Brazilian BBQ and the Oriental dinners. In the daytime, there is a snack bar that is open and they have hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza (surprisingly, really good), nachos, chicken nuggets and some other dishes. We usually ended up there with our little boy as he seemed to prefer that to the buffet. The only A La Carte dinner we did was the Japanese and it was fabulous.

We had Angelica come and stay with our son one evening so we could go to dinner. She is the lady that does the children’s program and is amazing with the children! The have a great setup for the kids during the day if you want to drop them off for a while in the morning or afternoon and many evenings they had something for the children as well.

Beach: There is a rock reef at the beach so that you can actually go in the ocean which was very nice. Also, in the morning only, there is a little tide pool that was perfect for our 2 year old to play in without worrying about the waves.

Staff: nothing short of fabulous! The staff at the resort was great. Things were always kept in very good order and very clean and were quick to accommodate any requests we had.
If I had to think of something that could be improved, it would be the wildlife at the buffet. It is an open to the outside buffet so during the day there would be birds inside but they did a wonderful job of keeping food covered. Also, the playground left something to be desired. We took our little boy there once and that was enough for him-he had more fun at the pool and beach.

The resort is pretty much in the middle of the Cabo San Lucas and San Jose with nothing around but there is a bus stop right out front of the resort. We took the bus to each of the towns and found lots to do.

I would definitely go back and would recommend the Melia for a wonderful family vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 3 are closest to the pool, beach and buffet. Ours was 3108 and in a pefect locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear user, MirandaC

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and most important that you had pointed them out with such a detail.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience helping the new born turtles get into the sea , it is an amazing experience. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience all our services.

Also your comments in regards to our personnel angelica have already been transmitted.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

What started out as a nightmare was quickly resolved into a great experience. Upon arrival we found our reservations had been mixed up. After speaking with the front desk manager we we're upgraded to a ocean front junior suite. The room had a great view and we appreciate the resolution in the initial booking confusion. The service was excellent and helpful when needed. The breakfast buffet is a good with a nice selection of choices. Poolside cocktails are bartenders are eager to please. I recommend going into town for dinner, or if your going to dine in try the Japanese option. Overall experience was pleasant and was perfect inexpensive weekend get away.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear user JB

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We regret that at first you had to experience a reservation confusion. Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience all our services including our Restaurant , KUJIRA.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north hollywood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently stayed at this resort (Nov.10th-16th). My experience was so wonderful that today my 1st day back I decided to write a review. Friendly staff, lovely property and over all a pleasure. I was there for a wedding Chantal the wedding coordinator along with her staff went above and beyond to make everything as seamless as possible. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Transportation San Lucas and/or the Airport can be quite pricey. $25 for 2 people by taxi or larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear user TinaH

First and before all , thank you for being part of the Melia Experience.

Your insights will helps us improve our services day after day, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had a good experience .

Also your comments in regards to Chantal have already been transmitted.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just got back from Melia and had a great time. Generally, I've no interest in writing comments. However, I just read Patti D's comment about the place and thought that I would like to say how we found it.
We returned on the 12th of November and found the place great value our money. We found tons of fruit a veggies at the buffet, good variety of offerings, morning, lunch and dinner. Some meat was a bit salty at times. White fish is available morning to nite and clamps and shrimp most of the time.
The bars provided light and dark beer and tons mixed drinks. The red and white wine can be consumed only by the hardiest of drinkers! There is a mini-mart on the premises for those who like wine.
Our room was just fine, reasonably spacious, with a nice bathroom and lots water pressure.
The staff was very pleasant and helpfull and I can't think of anything to complain about. Oh, I too had to toss a bug out. Of course, I have to do that at home as well.
Also, we have not met anyone complaining.
Melia is probably not the Hilton next door or "The one and only Palmilla" down the beach, but if you don't want to spend six or ten grand, I believe Melia offers great value for the money.

Room Tip: Don't forget the sun tan lotion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear user chearfullcamper


Thank you for your insights and for your perspective in regards to our services. It helps us improve our services day after day, we appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had a good vacation .

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Gorgeous, well kept grounds done in a xeriscaping style with cacti, yucca, sand, rocks etc. Lovely view from the main deck and buffet over the bay. Beautiful!
Food was good for an AI. Rooms all travertine tile and well done. Did not find a problem with the bed. Nice to have stocked fridge.
Bars served great drinks. Pool was a little chilly. We did walk on the beach but did not swim. It's quite a ways down from the main deck action and not a lot of palapas or chairs
Not a crazy resort with a lot of activities, so it was quiet and not too rowdy. Pool tables, salsa lessons, volleyball, shows. etc.
Took the bus to town (Cabo San Lucas.... but can also go to another in a short time as well) that picked us up across the road from the resort for 20 pesos ($2) each. We walked around downtown, hit a bar/restaurant to watch NFL and had a blast. I have to search out the name of the place. There were NFL flags hanging outside of it, lots of tvs...and a salsa sampler and veggie sampler platter that was to die for. All that food that stuffed us silly and a bucket of beers +2 cost us $26 usd. The guy who appeared to be the owner was very attentive to everyone's needs and exceedingly gracious.
Also took a glass bottom boat tour out to Los Arcos for $10 usd per person. We said that was probably the best $10 we ever spent.
All this was a 15 minute ride from the resort.
Paid extra for ocean view, but was a crappy view out over some land that was being developed and not very attractive. We were on the right hand side of the hotel as you faced the front.
The staff was fantastic, with the exception of a little sloppiness at the front desk (they made us wait several hours and did not give us info on the restaurants an amenities until we saw someone else with them and asked).
Ressies required for a la cartes restaurants, which we did not do based on our short stay.
We will definitely return! Had a great time!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear user PTZHKWorld

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience . Also we are trilled with the fact that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you able to experience all our services.

Also your comments in regards to our front desk personnel will be taken in considerations.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Thank you .

Regards.

Mario Gaona
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.