We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Palmilla Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added One & Only Palmilla Resort to your Saves list
One & Only Palmilla Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 7.5 Carr. Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Pay 3
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had an amazing time on our honeymoon at the One & Only Palmilla. From the minute we got to the resort until we left, the service was absolutely excellent. All of our questions were answered and our needs were met from booking spa appointments and surf lessons (Martin was a great instructor!) at the property to a scuba/snorkel trip in Cabo San Lucas. Our butler, Margarita, as well as the Concierge staff, was always so helpful!
The restaurants were all delicious. Market went above and beyond for a special honeymoon dinner and Breeze (by the pool) had great fish tacos.
The spa was wonderful and relaxing, and all of the staff were great. Also, the fitness center was spacious with a lot of equipment.
Overall, we were extremely impressed and would definitely stay again or go to other One&Only resorts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, Hotel Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your honeymoon at One&Only Palmilla. It was an honor to help you celebrate your marriage, and we wish you the very best in your new life together. Though your stay coincided with a special occasion, you can expect the same dedicated attention and service with each return visit. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay special. With many beautiful venues for romantic dinners and spa villas perfect for couples’ treatments, you’ll always discover something new to love.

We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Martin, Margarita, and the rest of our staff. They will be delighted to hear from you, and we all look forward to serving you again soon.

Sebastien Arnaud
Hotel Manager
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    87
    47
    27
    14
See reviews for
161
468
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

From the minute you step into the Palmilla resort, you feel welcome. Top service, beautiful location. Had a great dinner at the Suviche restaurant. Our butler Margarita was the best! I would say this is so far the nicest resort I have ever been to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, Hotel Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at One&Only Palmilla. We’re pleased to hear you had an exceptional experience, and we hope to continue welcoming you back to our resort for years to come. You can always expect exceptional service from arrival to departure, including one-to-one attention from your personal 24-hour butler. If there is anything we can do to assist in making your next stay even more special—a custom menu at Suviche, perhaps—please do not hesitate to let us know. On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Antonio Bugarin
Hotel Manager
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I decided to have our wedding at One and Only Palmilla. We at first were a little indecisive and had two other hotels as possible options. The way the staff treated us when we had small, probably annoying, email questions we knew Palmilla was the spot.

The moment we stepped off the airplane we were treated like royalty. The car, the driver, the amenities in the car were all extraordinary. Theres wifi in the car! The second we got dropped off the staff greeted us with popsicles and took us directly to the room. No check in, no waiting, no hassles at all. We step into the room to be met by a bottle of Vueve Clicquot, a bottle of tequila, fruit, snacks, welcome gifts, and our own private butler!

Arriana Campo was our wedding coordinator and she made us feel like we were the most important people on the planet, and helped us with anything we needed. She was so friendly and never once left us with unanswered questions. She made our special day the most perfect it could have possibly been.

Our wedding was very simple. Reverend Marco Arechiga did our ceremony and I am telling you he was the best! Everyone at the wedding loved him! Bradley Frasier was our wedding photographer and he listened to our every word! He made us feel so comfortable and we couldn't have dreamed of better photos!

I could go on and on about how much I love this hotel, but this really is the most beautiful hotel I have ever been to. The staff is beyond amazing! Every single person that works there.
On our departure we were surprised to look up from our car to see the entire front staff waving and saying goodbye. They made us feel so special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, Wedding Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Let me begin by offering our warmest wishes and sincerest congratulations. It was an honor and a pleasure to assist in making your wedding special, and it is truly wonderful to know you felt like royalty throughout the experience. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of the staff, who will be delighted to hear from the newlyweds!

Along with breathtaking views and luxurious accommodations, personalized attention is one of the signatures of One&Only Palmilla. It is our priority to provide exceptional service to all of our guests, whether they are celebrating their new life together or just getting away from the daily grind; you can expect the same royal treatment with each subsequent stay. If there is anything we can do to be of service, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We look forward to seeing both of you again soon.

Arianna Campo
Wedding Manager
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I visit Cabo every year and alternate between Palmilla and Ventanas. This year Palmilla was our choice. WOW! We were greeted with an upgraded room complete with Birthday balloons and a cake! (It was my husbands birthday). The service was outstanding, the food is delicious, and the staff is excellent!

My only complaint is the Mosquitos...we vacationed in April and during our stay they were spraying pesticides right outside of our room. The fumes were intolerable and made it difficult to return to our room until the pesticides dried.

That will not keep us from returning next year! Cannot wait for another poolside foot massage!

Room Tip: We prefer the building called margaritas. It is the prime location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, Hotel Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and what an honor to help you celebrate your husband’s birthday. We aim to provide genuine, personalized attention, and I hope that the amenities and warm Mexican hospitality made for a most memorable birthday. It is wonderful to hear that we will be seeing you again next year! Whatever the occasion, our butlers are at your service 24 hours a day. Upon your arrival, they would be happy to arrange chaise lounge foot massages at the adults-only pool—perfect for couples. We very much look forward to your next visit, and be well!

Antonio Bugarin
Hotel Manager
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I wanted to enjoy a vacation with the family and some friends. The resort is nice and the service is great. The room is assigned to a butler to attend your needs. It is a great place to rest and relax.
I did not pay attention to prices. The rooms are nice and spacious. Our balcony had a spacious and comfortable lounging sofa which my son used as his bed instead of using his bed inside. He really enjoyed it. We enjoy the spa which offers a variety of massages and treatments, it is really worth it. The hotel has a yacht you can rent. The two families decided to take a 4 hour tour. This experience will be a lasting memory. The crew was great. The lunch aboard was nice, filet mignon and sea bass. The fish was great.. While the ladies went shopping into town, the guys went for a round of golf. the course is challenging and fun.
In summary this place is very nice, and the service is great.

Room Tip: Spend some time with the reservation agent to get a good description of the different rooms. Price m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, Hotel Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for recounting your visit in such detail. I am pleased to see that you were able to experience so much of what this resort has to offer. As you mentioned, One&Only Palmilla creates an atmosphere of total relaxation; our world-class spa by ESPA helping to renew and rejuvenate with each treatment. Furthermore, you chose a wonderful way to tour the surrounding area—via yacht. I hope that the memory does indeed last a lifetime. As for our Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course, striking the perfect balance of “challenging and fun” was just what we hoped to achieve. It is the first course of its kind in Latin America, and I thrilled that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again soon!

Antonio Bugarin
Hotel Manager
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

From the very beginning, this experience was almost perfect. Immediately upon arriving, you'll experience the two best parts of the resort, 1) the setting and grounds and 2) the service.
Immediately welcomed by some of the most friendly employees, with their signature hand over the heart, which is a balance between somewhat awkward and softly genuine. We were impressed with the service from the very beginning and it continued throughout the entire stay, with little exception.

The great, the good and the inconsistent:

Grounds-
The best part of the resort by far. Situated on a picturesque area in Los Cabos, the landscaping, beaches and pool areas are impeccably maintained. There is also a complete turnover from day to night, inclusive of lighting, candles and incense, which seeks to impress your every sense.

Service-
The second best part of the experience. From the beginning, a personal service with employees who continuously remember your name and take great notes to remember your preferences as well. We had a great experience after arriving and being given a tour of the grounds and our room. The exceptional service continued throughout our trip from the pool area attendants, restaurant service personnel and the concierge and front desk employees. They attended to each request and worked to remedy any concerns we had. The butlers were attentive and always available to take care of our needs. The only issue with service was at check out where we experienced the most unpleasant employee, Jessica. While the rest of the service was great, it was what I'd expect at a resort such as this, yet wish some of the managers had more presence, making the total experience feel more special. Turndown service was exceptional and we loved the flower design laid out on the bed, as well as the notes from the team ensuring our stay was satisfactory.

Rooms-
We were very pleased with the rooms. However, there were a few issues. The good were the appointments and the views, especially in the original building. The bad....these rooms are showing some signs of wear as our drapes did not work, the closets were very small and had a very cheap rod which would bend when placing hangers on it and the bathroom was small and had a skylight which caused a very hot bathroom in the afternoon as the sun beats into it with no way to cover...this should be fixed. Also, a room with two queens forces the outlets by the bedside table to be behind the very heavy beds. We had the opportunity to experience a junior suite and those rooms are spectacular and near the swimable beach area.

Food/Restaurants-
This is where it gets inconsistent and honestly, disappointing. While we travel extensively and often stay at exclusive resorts, the food was subpar for the value. We did have the opportunity to take part in the first surf and turf night, with private tables set under four pergolas/cabanas and was the highlight of our food experience...it was simply perfect. What they didn't mention, was the set up fee on the invitation to join, which was a bit deceptive, but honestly still worth it. The rest of the meals were good, but exceptionally expensive. The burger was bad at the poolside restaurant. The tacos and guacamole were great, but also expensive. We ate dinner at Agua and the view was breathtaking...and so was the bill...they just simply take advantage of you here with food expenses. Breakfasts at Market were also very good, but it will be easily $50/person.
BE AWARE, the food is subpar for the value...it's just plain too expensive for what you get.

Misc-
Overall, the experience was exceptional, however, our first and last impression left some things to be desired. The first room was not to expectation at a resort such as this and small details were missed. They did however fix our room concerns and did everything they could do to resolve, which we greatly appreciated. It's just the first and last impression that usually stays with you and this is where the opportunities existed for us. The girl at check out was just plain rude.

The managers should be more present and work to create more individualized and genuine experiences. While we were impressed with the overall service, it could be a bit more genuine and less robotic in nature. We were extremely impressed with the grounds and that is the highlight of the resort!

If we were to come back to Cabo, we'd still consider One&Only, but think we'd look to stay at another one of the high end resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older buildings have a great view, but the rooms at each end of the resort overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, Hotel Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We hold ourselves and our resort to the highest standards, and your honest feedback is greatly appreciated.

Please accept my sincere apologies for what sounds like uncharacteristic service during the checkout process. I will be looking into the matter to ensure it remains an isolated incident. Additionally, I will have our maintenance staff investigate and remedy the issues you’ve raised regarding your accommodations. You deserve exceptional comfort, and we remain committed to providing nothing less in every aspect of your experience.

Lastly, as the manager of One&Only Palmilla, let me personally apologize for not being more visible during your stay. On any given day, I can be found speaking with guests and ensuring total satisfaction, and I regret that our paths did not cross. I hope you’ll return again someday soon so that I can personally see to an improved experience.

Antonio Bugarin
Hotel Manager
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

5 stars doesn't even do the one & OOP justice. My husband and i eloped on the beach at OOP and it was beyond romantic and perfect!! Adrianna our wedding coordinator was SUCH a doll & made our wedding flow seamlessly. All of the food was delicious throughout the resort & i was shocked to read low reviews about it! Above all, the staffs customer service and hospitality was as good as it get. I can't wait to return & it is a dream vacation location. A special thank you to our FABULOUS butler Jose whom was so much fun & took excpetional care of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, Managing Director at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

On behalf of all of us here at One&Only Palmilla, I would like to offer warm wishes and heartfelt congratulations. We are so thankful to have been a part of your wedding and truly appreciate your kind words about the experience. I will be sure to personally pass along your compliments to Adrianna and Jose, who will be thrilled to hear from you. We look forward to welcoming you two back someday soon.

Peter Bowling
Managing Director
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One & Only Palmilla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Palmilla Resort

Address: Km 7.5 Carr. Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Palmilla Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A verdant oasis on the tip of the Baja Peninsula. Where azure waters greet the mountainous desert and the Pacific Ocean merges with the Sea of Cortez. Where warm waves break onto a dramatic shoreline… and gray whales can be seen rising majestically in the distance. Here, the gracious style of Old Mexico - with its red-tiled roofs, whitewashed walls, and idyllic setting of exquisite fountains - is quietly nestled amidst swaying palms, bird of paradise and other tropical bloom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Palmilla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Palmilla
One&Only Palmilla Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Palmilla Cabo
One Only Cabo
La Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One & Only Palmilla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.