We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Palmilla Resort

Save Saved
You added One & Only Palmilla Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One & Only Palmilla Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 7.5 Carr. Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Nights, Pay for 3
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food and wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family stayed at the O&O Palmilla the last week of March and had a wonderful time. The food far exceeded our expectations and we are real foodies! We had reservations in town for dinner on several occassions but cancelled because the food at Palmilla was so fantastic! The butler service was somewhat disappointing as we only ever saw him twice but all of the other staff was extremely gracious and helpful always. The level of service is truly excellent. Our room on the lower level of one of the complexes close to the family pool was extremely noisy because we could hear everything in the room above us. The family pool was very busy so you had to get up very early (by 6:15am!) to make sure you could reserve a chair.
I would definitely recommend the hotel for the food and service and the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level can be noisy if the room above is occupied. Footsteps are easily heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, General Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. March is a fantastic time to visit. The weather is simply perfect—we’re glad you could take advantage. It sounds like you had several fantastic meals with us and we’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed. There’s nothing quite like authentic Mexican food made with the freshest ingredients. We apologize for any concerns you had about noise, we do our bests to ensure all our guests are comfortable in their rooms. We sincerely appreciate your compliments to our staff and your recommendation. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch next time you’re planning a warm-weather getaway!

Peter Bowling
Managing Director
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    86
    45
    27
    14
See reviews for
152
451
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This review is long overdue. Our family spent Thanksgiving week 2012 at the One & Only Palmilla and I have to say it was the most relaxing, enjoyable trip we have ever spent together.

The resort is beautiful and service is superlative. What really made the trip special for us, though, was the kids club. The kids club is almost like a super fun preschool/ activity center. The things that they planned for the kids were so fun and memorable. The kids went to the restaurant one day and made sushi; they made pinatas; guacamole; so many things. They had movie nights with beanbag chairs and popcorn. My kids were in heaven. The kids club was NOT the typical dreary dumping ground that I have seen at other hotels. It was just fabulous. We also used several different babysitters and they were all fantastic. Since the kids were so well taken care of, we were allowed to truly relax and enjoy the beauty of the resort.

Other things that made the vacation so special:

turtle release into the beach!
sunrise/ sunset
exercise classes
spa
service

We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, General Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
 
It sounds like you and your little ones had a blast! We’re so glad your children enjoyed their time at KidsOnly Club. We’re always happy to see the smiles on children’s faces when they partake in all the fantastic activities our staff organizes for their little guests—it is certainly a good time had by all. Our aim is to teach children something new and different so they can learn yet have an unforgettable time in an unforgettable environment. Best of all, our programs continue to grow and evolve. With both of our TeensOnly and KidsOnly programs, we can guarantee fun activities for the kids as well as the young adults. Family vacation time is valuable, so we’re always eager to help make a trip special. Thank you for all your kind words. We can’t wait for you and your family to join us for another getaway very soon.
 
Peter Bowling
Managing Director
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshafen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are divine - complete with your own butler, the staff is amazing, and the food is incredible. The street tacos served at the pool restaurant were so remarkable I had them every single day I was there!

The poolside service is exceptional...including Evian spritzers, popsicles, sunglasses cleaning, and foot massages (all complimentary)!! Not to mention a swim-up bar! And the cabanas by the beach are just as beautiful as they are relaxing. It is absolutely picturesque so DO NOT forget your camera!!

The rooms are decorated in an authentic Mexican flair and come equipped with a telescope for star-gazing.

I'm not generally a huge fan of Mexico....it feels like an unsafe time to be a visitor there, but if you stay at your resort and only visit the town of Los Cabos during the daylight hours I think you'll feel very safe.

If you decide to head into town DO NOT miss Lover's Beach. You have to take a water taxi to get to it but it's the most amazing natural wonder and an incredible photo opp!

The summer months are unbearably hot, I would avoid Cabo or most Mexican beach vacations from June to September.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, General Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We’re always so impressed by how knowledgeable our guests are on matters of travel—thank you for sharing your tricks of the trade! You hit on so many fantastic points like the tacos, poolside amenities, and gorgeous views. Those are all definitely a few of our favorite things. As for your safety, One&Only Palmilla is easily surrounded by one of the safest and most gated community in Mexico.

Thank you for all your kind words. We love seeing familiar faces lounging by the pool, so we hope you’ll think of us the next time you plan a getaway!

Peter Bowling
Managing Director
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I spent a delightful few days in this sprawling resort. It has 2 really nice pool areas although the one labelled "children's pool" was bigger and better appointed than the adult one, where the beds were crammed around a smaller area. The restaurant and beach staff were excellent and the restaurant manager, Israel, went out of his way to ensure that my husband's birthday dinner was special - organizing an especially written menu with his name on and ensuring we had the perfect table, right at the cliff edge. He even worked on his day off for us. Our room was spacious and with every amenity and our bathroom was huge and fabulous. My only concerns were the same as other reviewers: the rooms can be noisy as children from next door rooms can play in front of your patio doors from early morning till late at night. Also the housekeeping staff were poor. We were asked what time we would like turn down and 3 times we returned to our room after dinner to find either the room hadn't been started yet or was in the process of being prepared. Overall, we enjoyed our stay ( helped by the wonderful weather) and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by pelican beach as the resort is big and the nicer pool is on this side of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, General Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Your couple’s getaway sounds truly splendid! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy the pool areas in the gorgeous weather. Back-to-back sunny days really are the icing on the cake. It sounds like your husband’s birthday dinner was a delight for you both and we plan to pass along your kind words to Israel!

We do apologize for your concerns about noise and the housekeeping staff. We are very happy to host many repeat and new families over Easter that it can be a little noisy in some family areas of the resort. We pride ourselves on having the most effective and accommodating staff so please do not hesitate to bring such issues to the attention of our management staff, so they can promptly address your concerns.

Be in touch the next time the desire for vacation calls! We’d love to show you more of the signature, One&Only hospitality.

Peter Bowling
Managing Director
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This resort has thought of everything and he best way to enjoy all the many aspects is to make sure you are given a full custom tour upon arrival (as you are supposed to) Each night Your butler should place in your room a guide outlining the next day's events,festivities. classes, et al.
as this is the only way to plan on site activities, special events, classes,, restaurant options, complimentary airport pickup and much more. We missed out on much of the Paalmilla experience because (we think) the hotel was very busy attending to an opulent private wedding the same weekend we we there and communication was not good.

We were not made aware of the luxury airport transportation provided to hotel guests and hence rented a car which was a big waste time and money.

Otherwise you will love the place!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, General Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your kind words and your special tips for travelers! We place an event calendar for the Spa and Kids programs in each room, but there’s so much going on at One&Only Palmilla that we also make sure our butlers keep guests apprised of all the activities, we thank you for your recommendation of sending a reminder note, we will take it into consideration. We apologize if there was any confusion with your transportation to the airport. We ensure you that we treat each and every guest as an absolute priority. Please keep us in mind when planning your next vacation, we’d love the opportunity to show you even more of what makes our hotel so special.

Peter Bowling
Managing Director
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If I could pick a place I could go that was conveniently located from our home, beautiful and had excellent service, good weather and food, PALMILLA fits the bill. Truly, I love it there. I could go on and on, but the basics are; beautiful, clean, top notch service and expensive but worth it! Although the beach is not a swimmers beach, the pools are nice, so sit back and be pampered. As a mom of four, it it how I want to spend my vacation; nothing but relax. The restaurants at lunch are delicious, or just eat by the pool. I am actually sad to leave, and always looking forward to going back for our annual stay.

Room Tip: all rooms we have been in are lovely, but I prefer to be upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, General Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We simply love to hear our guests say they could “go on and on.” Please do! We think you hit the nail on the head when you said, “sit back and be pampered.” It’s our goal to help our guests truly relax and it sounds like you were able to do exactly that. Since you and your family are One & Only regulars, I hope you had the opportunity to spend some time at Pelican Beach where we now offer complimentary Non-Motorized Water Sports Activities, a Small menu at Pelican Grill and full bar service to enhance your family moments. We’re always thrilled to see a familiar face at the swim-up bar! Please be in touch about planning your next getaway we will be happy to assist you and keep you updated on new programs. You may want to bring the entire family next time to utilize both our KidsOnly & TeensOnly programs!

Peter Bowling
Managing Director
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This resort is clearly in a league of its own.
The attention to guest comfort, relaxation, pampering and every dietary request is the focus of each staff member on this exquisite resort property. Teenage guests, aspiring singles, old guests, guests newly in love, famous guests, the not so famous guests, guests with young children and the returning guests just looking to leave the busy world of business behind to simply enjoy the amazing sunrise at 6:15 all have a special fondness for this spot of heaven carved out on the Baja Peninsula. Is this really earth? As a satisfied returning “Palmiholic” with 3 of my family members and for the 6th year, we were concerned that with the new Managing Director in place that the treasured values of guest comfort, world class pampering and seamless performance of every staff member would no longer be in place. How wrong we were. Peter Lewis Bowling the new Managing Director of this property has raised the bar even higher. Our experience was outstanding on all fronts and firmly etched in memory. Edward Steiner the former MD would no doubt be so proud of the solid foundation building that he had done with the loyal staff of Palmilla and the exceptional DNA that he had created for this award winning property and for Mr. Bowling to enjoy perfecting it even further. This resort is in a league of its own. Even for the most demanding traveler. Perfect weather guaranteed in March. Don’t take the risk anywhere else!

Room Tip: If you need to be away from younger kids and families let the management know. They have a formula j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOPalmilla, General Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful, kind words—especially “Palmiholic,” which we absolutely love! We embrace the opportunity to get to know our guests with each visit and we’re glad your most recent experience did not disappoint. I also personally appreciate your kind words—it is my pleasure to uphold the sterling reputation of the One&Only group, I feel very honor to work with an amazing team that every day brings their best smile, professionalism and hard work to ensure each guest’s expectations are carried out from arrival to departure. We cannot wait for your next family visit, so we can show you even more of our signature hospitality.

Until next time,

Peter Bowling
Managing Director
One&Only Palmilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One & Only Palmilla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Palmilla Resort

Address: Km 7.5 Carr. Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Palmilla Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A verdant oasis on the tip of the Baja Peninsula. Where azure waters greet the mountainous desert and the Pacific Ocean merges with the Sea of Cortez. Where warm waves break onto a dramatic shoreline… and gray whales can be seen rising majestically in the distance. Here, the gracious style of Old Mexico - with its red-tiled roofs, whitewashed walls, and idyllic setting of exquisite fountains - is quietly nestled amidst swaying palms, bird of paradise and other tropical bloom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Palmilla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Palmilla
One&Only Palmilla Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Palmilla Cabo
One Only Cabo
La Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One & Only Palmilla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.