We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise once again!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Palmilla Resort

Save Saved
You added One & Only Palmilla Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One & Only Palmilla Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 7.5 Carr. Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Palmilla Retreat
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Conroe, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise once again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have had the privilege of staying and the One and Only Palmilla 8 times and each visit gets better and better. This last visit was for our son's wedding and it was truly magical. I can't express in words how each detail was so perfect. We were all given the best treatment by the staff and management during the entire stay. Our rooms were absolutely beautiful each perfectly located. The resort was completely decorated for Christmas with the most gorgeous lights that were picture perfect. The ceremony itself was on site at the chapel...and I must say it was a dream come true fairy tale! This was all coordinated and arranged by a dear manager named Betty. All the details were more than expected....from the morning of the wedding till the night of the reception. It was so hard to leave the next day as we enjoyed ourselves more than ever. We are already planning another trip to this magical resort in March! All worth every dollar!!!!!

Room Tip: Patio suites and pool suites are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are honored that you’ve chosen One&Only Palmilla time and time again, and we can only hope that each visit continues to improve upon the last. We’d like to extend a warm thank you for hosting your son’s wedding at our resort. As you found, our little slice of paradise takes on a new level of beauty during the holidays. Your time here sounds like it truly was a “fairy tale.” It’s great to hear that you’ve already planned a return trip in March. If you need anything at all, don’t hesitate to let us know. We’re look forward to your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    644
    76
    42
    27
    14
See reviews for
139
434
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently got back from a 7 night stay at the Palmilla for my honeymoon and can't speak highly enough about it. Going into the trip, I knew that it was expensive and was ready to spend the money.
To start - every part of the service you receive is unlike any place I have ever visited. I have been fortunate enough to stay at four season resorts as well as ritz's but this service at the Palmilla is head and shoulders above everything else. I don't feel that "no" is in their vocabulary. From the ease of check in where you are given a tour of the property to the hummer service that took my wife and i from the airport, it was the easiest process I have been through.
The room is spectacular with ocean views, large decks, a bathroom that is almost as big as the room itself.
The Butler service can handle any request, from popcorn delivered if we are watching a movie, to the evening snacks delivered, everything you can hope for is available. David was great.
My wife and I both chose to stay that adult only pool all day and loved every minute of it. The chairs all come with head and foot rests. The poolside foot massages (free!) are incredible and the service is impeccable. Alejandro, who we got to know very well poolside, provided us with a level of service and attention (without being over bearing) was amazing.
We ate at all 3 restaurants and it is on par with any high end meal we have here in San Francisco. The wait staff is fully accommodating and the food is unreal. Our favorite was Agua (two dinners and one breakfast).
Finally the prices. Yes, it is expensive. But the prices seem comparable to any four seasons. Poolside margaritas or pina coladas cost in the $12-15 range. While the named cocktails are $20+ (i.e. makers, bombay etc), it is what we were expecting. When looking at lunch, yes a meal for two with no drinks will cost $75+. If you are looking to eat on a budget, take a cab to cabo.

Great stay, amazing service, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your honeymoon at One&Only Palmilla. We can’t thank you enough for choosing to spend such a special time with us. You’re absolutely right about “no” not being in our vocabulary; we make it our mission to provide anything our guests desire at a moment’s notice. From start to finish, it sounds as though you experienced the best that we have to offer, be it a poolside massage or beachfront dinner. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to David and Alejandro, who, along with the rest of the staff, eagerly anticipate your next visit. If there’s anything we can do to help plan a return trip, don’t hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ok now that I've got your attention, yes the place is exceptionally nice but it better be at these prices. Complaint # 1, Our suite was positioned poorly. Our room looked semi-directly into our neighbors suite and as luck would have it; our neighbor was some big fat guy who, how shall say it, had no modesty. So here my wife and I sit in this fabulous ocean view room with the drapes drawn. Complaint #2 The beach area is unsuitable for water activity. The size of waves,the water current and the rocks made it impossible to swim in the ocean. Any parents that are bringing little ones please be careful. I suggest you keep looking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay earlier this year at One&Only Palmilla. We know you have many options in the area, and we appreciate that you and your wife chose to spend your vacation with us. It is our hope that all guests have a flawless experience from start to finish. In a situation like the one you described, we would encourage you to contact management so that we can take the necessary actions to improve your stay. Though parts of the beach on property are not suitable for swimming, our pools and nearby beaches offer plenty of options for water activities. Ultimately, we hope the positive aspects of your trip outweighed the negatives, and that you’ll choose One&Only Palmilla again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Am actually writing this review while on site. Coming over from London pre-holidays in Los Angeles, this was definitely a greatly anticipated stopover. First off, I think the actual resort is breathtaking, the rooms are spacious, and this is really and ideal location overlooking the sea. My issue here is that, when you are staying at an already $$$$ resort ~500+ a night, do you really need to have every last hard earned dollar forcibly extracted from you. Just a snapshot of what I've experienced so far: A simple lunch for two adults, two kids (sharing one bowl of pasta with cheese) no wine/beverages, two salads and 1 bowl of chips = $85. Breakfast, again two kids sharing pancakes, one english breakfast, one continental breakfast = $110. I forgot my shaving kit (remember when those were sent over free?) $15. Vodka tonic $30.... the list goes on and on, it truly feels that wherever we turn, there is someone very happy to help, but only for services that go right onto an already bulging bill. Final complaint, they bake in the 15% gratuity in every charge, and then they have the audacity to put a line for add'l gratuity. Let's be clear, if you are taking that service charge right off the top, leave out that line.... seriously find that classless. Long story short, this is a superb facility, but you know what, once you shell out for a premium room/amentities, don't gouge your clients, be reasonable, we know you are making a solid profit without the $8 cup of luke warm coffee. I will seriously think twice about booking a One-and-Only resort in the future, knowing they treat their clients/patrons as a cash machine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to review your family’s recent stay as part of your friend’s wedding at One&Only Palmilla. We’re so glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms and breathtaking scenery. However, we do understand that a visit to One&Only comes with a price. We do our best to be upfront about the expenses associated with a stay and do all we can to make these costs as transparent as possible. Moreover, we’re committed to providing the absolute best in service and amenities, so that guests leave feeling like we’ve delivered on the promise of value. For example, we now offer a wonderful breakfast buffet selection at both restaurants Agua and Market offering fresh baked pastries and homemade breads, seasonal fruit, cereal and yogurt you can also add to the base price cold meats and smoke salmon and for a complete breakfast there is the option of adding an egg course of your choice from the regular menu; for all these, price per guests is no more than 35.00 USD. As you can see our culinary options are immense and we regret to learn that your experience did not deliver on your expectations. If there is anything we can do to make things right, please let us know. We hope you’ll consider One&Only properties in the future, as we’re confident you’ll enjoy a fully satisfying experience, from arrival to departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very warm, helpful, and professional. The swimable beach and spa treatments were perfect. The room was pretty but overpriced.

The only major disappointment was the food. From reading previous reviews we were prepared to spend a decent amount on the food; however, we expected decent quality to match the prices. The breakfast at Market was nice but the dinner at Market and Agua were terrible. The food made us venture out to eat in nearby towns. The average meal in town for 2 people cost $40 (US) and was amazing. When we couldn't be bothered going into town we ordered room service which was 'ok'.
Overall we had a great time but we cant say we'd return because food is just too important to us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at One&Only Palmilla. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our service, and feedback like yours confirms our efforts and encourages us to continuously improve. We’re glad you had a chance to enjoy the spa and our on-property restaurants, but we regret to learn of your disappointment with the offerings. More often than not, guests rave about the cuisine they enjoyed while at the hotel. We are interested to learn more about your experience and where you felt your meals were lacking. Finally, we hope you’ll consider staying with us again, as we’re confident that a return visit would yield far different results. If you ever need anything at all, don’t hesitate to get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Palmilla for two weeks. The service was phenomenol. The staff to guest ratio is 6 to 1. The food was excellent. While we were there, they had a free tequila tasting and a free Mexican wine tasting, the latter which we attended and was very good. We loved the infinity pools, especially the family one. Although we did not travel with children, we found the family pool very large, and the children very well behaved. Everyone at the resort did their utmost to please their customers. We even had assistance after being driven to the airport from a staff person who assisted us with our flight. The only negative comment I would have is that in some areas (i.e. the Market and Suviche restaurants, and access to the adult pool and the two beaches) there are no railings on the stairs, which is not inclusive of disabled and elderly people. We think these are basic necessities which should have been installed long ago, considering the age of the resort. But overall, we had a wonderful holiday at this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It sounds as though you had a wonderful time at One&Only Palmilla, and we can’t thank you enough for sharing your experience. We’re happy to know that you enjoyed a full two weeks on property; hopefully you had a chance to explore everything that makes our hotel and the surrounding area so special.

As you found, we make it our mission to provide world-class service—service that extends well beyond your departure. Case in point: thanks to your feedback, we’re looking into ways to make our entire resort more accommodating for everyone. Thanks again. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the One and Only Palmilla and had a fabulous trip!!!! I am picky and expect the very best and this hotel exceeded my expectations. I'm still floored that some people on this website have negative things to say, I can't think of one. We were nervous to travel to Mexico, so we had the hotel car pick us up at the airport and we went strait to the hotel. Our driver was waiting right outside for us and whisked us away to the car for the short 20 minute ride to the property. We arrived around 11 and a golf cart took us strait to our room, where they checked us in. It was a truly flawless pickup and checkin. Every single piece of paraphernalia in our room had our names on it and the concierge had pre-delivered letters with all of our prearranged spa appointments and dinner reservations laid out. Our room was gorgeous (a beachfront suite) with high beamed ceilings, stone floors, heavy wood furniture, a seating area and a gorgeous bathroom complete with open plan rain shower and enormous bathtub. If you can think of an amenity, this room/bathroom had it. Even the bath products were luxurious, stored in beautiful large glass bottles instead of cheap little plastic containers. We had a lovely patio with a couch which opened up onto a larger area with two lawn chairs. I loved how I could walk across a grassy lawn and swing in one of the hammocks or look down at the ocean. We quickly unpacked (no, the butler didn't offer to do this, but we also didn't ask) and enjoyed the tequila presentation in the room. They even provided lime and salt. I didn't notice it then, but our room also had a Nespresso machine with everything you needed to make coffee in the mornings--definitely a nice touch!

The service at this hotel is outstanding. You'd be hard pressed to lift a finger doing anything. There were waitstaff everywhere at the pool and if you so much as glanced at them they were there to offer you whatever your heart desired. Foot massages, magazines, books, free bottled water. Both pools were great, but we found the kiddie pool quieter and more relaxing as there were no kids there and it had less action going on. We walked down to the beach one afternoon and even though it was almost deserted there was a full staff down there and a quaint beach bar. The swimmable beach was lovely and the water was nice and warm.

The food was also wonderful, as good as any here in the States. I suggest reserving a "moonlit pod" one night at Agua and do not miss dinner at Market, the food is sensational. Try the truffle mushroom pizza and grouper! Suviche was also nice, the sushi was wonderful, and that was our favorite lounge/bar up high looking out over the beach at night. (They've put spotlights out on the water so you can see the waves crashing on the rocks at night). We also loved the nachos and burger at the pool. Try the seranno margarita (SO GOOD) and the coconut margarita--I couldn't get enough of either.

The spa is a true oasis with lush plants and flowers, fountains, grottos, outdoor hottubs and showers. We didn't try the fitness room, too many margs, but it looked really great too.

A few other random things. Housekeeping was great, they did occasionally miss a glass here and there, mainly outside, but it didn't bother me too badly. I'd always hit the "service" button when we left and our room was maid up when we returned. I didn't notice a major "butler" presence, so don't think you're getting a servant for the week, but you could call and a "butler" would help you with whatever you needed. Our safe wouldn't work and they fixed it in a minute it seemed. One night someone saw us walking towards our room and helped us in, unlocked the door, made sure everything was ok. I think that was our butler. Also, a butler delivers an afternoon snack every day, which was really fun.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone--they will spoil you. The grounds, the scenery, the staff--its amazing and I'm so happy we chose it. Anyone who can complain about this place went there and something was "off" at the resort or they are just insane. The prices are high, yes, but its worth it for a splurge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing One&Only Palmilla and taking the time to review your experience. We’re delighted to know that you enjoyed your three-night stay. We make it our mission to create an inviting, relaxing, and luxurious environment for all of our guests. When you’re on vacation, we believe you shouldn’t have to lift a finger, whether at the pool, on the beach, or in the comfort of your room.

You’ve included some great tips, and future travelers would be wise to take note of your suggestion of intimate beach dining at Agua. If you find yourself craving an authentic Mexican margarita, or simply need a few days of sun-soaked bliss, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One & Only Palmilla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Palmilla Resort

Address: Km 7.5 Carr. Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Palmilla Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A verdant oasis on the tip of the Baja Peninsula. Where azure waters greet the mountainous desert and the Pacific Ocean merges with the Sea of Cortez. Where warm waves break onto a dramatic shoreline… and gray whales can be seen rising majestically in the distance. Here, the gracious style of Old Mexico - with its red-tiled roofs, whitewashed walls, and idyllic setting of exquisite fountains - is quietly nestled amidst swaying palms, bird of paradise and other tropical bloom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Palmilla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Palmilla Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
One And Only Palmilla
Palmilla Cabo
One Only Cabo
La Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One & Only Palmilla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.