We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Palmilla Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added One & Only Palmilla Resort to your Saves list
One & Only Palmilla Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 7.5 Carr. Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was my wife and my first trip to Palmilla. Similar to other reviews, we were very impressed as the property is spectacular. The panaramic views of the ocean are incredible and the grounds are equally postcard beautiful. Starting with our arrival, we had opted for the hotels private shuttle. Coming through Mexican customs, it was a bit chaotic with every local person trying to offer you a ride. It was nice to see someone holding a One and Only sign so we knew where to go. The 20 min ride is $140 one way (vs $35 for a regular cab) but we felt it was worth it to get out of the chaotic airport quickly and safely, and also just a nice way to start the trip. FYI on the return trip to the airport we took a regular cab which was totally fine. We checked in to an ocean view junior terrace which is a great room. My wife loved the large soaking tub. The terrace and patio had a daybed and sun chairs, plus a dining table for 2. Amazing views of the water and beach. If you really want to upgrade, some of the beach front rooms have their own pools which looked nice. Otherwise i didnt see any benefits of higher priced rooms. The butler service was great they immediately have complimentary tequila in your room which is a fun touch. They also will help you with anything you need - food, drinks, ours even helped us chase a baby iguana out of the room one night! The beach is great and very scenic, but the only downside is there is no swimming allowed except further down away from the hotel due to strong rip tide and rocks. The pools are great we stayed at the adult only infinity pool every day. We didn't have to come down early and fight for seats which is nice. There are plenty of prime spots. Note of caution we did see 2 people slip as they got into the pool the tile floor is slippery. Poolside service is great very similar to a 4 Seasons (constant refresh of ice water, sunglass cleaning, fruit shots, foot massages). We ate lunch at the poolside cafe which has amazing views. The guacamole, fish tacos and tuna burger were our favorites. For dinner, we ate at Agua at a moonlight table, which there are only a few outside facing the water. Great view so recommend advance reservation. Steak was pretty good. Appetizers were tiny and just ok. We also did Market which we liked the best of the restaurants. Truffle pizza was great appetizer. For breakfast we did both market and Agua. I was hoping for a nice buffet like the 4 Seasons but surprised they didn't have it. That being said the menu had some a la carte options for omelettes which were quite good. Consistent theme on food was ridiculous prices. In that context, the food was pretty good but not worth the price. Considering what you pay to come here, I would have hoped not to need to spend another $100+ on breakfast for 2, $125 on lunch, and $250 on dinner. We can spend less in NYC for better food. The one night we left the hotel and went out for dinner in San Jose we went to Mi Casa which we didn't enjoy. Felt like a cheesy tourist trap in Disney Epcot instead of Mexico. I'm sure there are better local spots if we looked around more, but we were enjoying the hotel and didn't feel like venturing around too much. For activities, I played golf one day which was great. Nice course with great views. Only downside was my rental clubs were beat up pretty bad they are due for new ones. My wife hit the spa which she loved, but again I'll note prices as $350 for a massage is rough. The gym was very nice. Beyond the beach scenery, the consistent strength of the property is the outstanding service, from the folks who greet you getting out of the cab to the pool attendants and bartenders to the landscapers, everyone is super friendly and ready to help you with anything you can want. At night they put candles all over the resort, including in your room and patio areas, which makes for great setting. Check out the chapel at night it's beautiful. Overall this is truly an amazing vacation destination. Go in knowing you will spend ridiculously on food and activities, but putting that aside you will be hard pressed to find anything to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review was a pleasure to read, and we can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share it with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear that your first visit to One&Only Palmilla was a resounding success. In addition to offering quality feedback, you provide some great, insider advice to prospective travelers, including transportation and dining options. We’re thrilled that you were able to take advantage of facilities like the golf course and spa. We know that many of these activities and services come at a price, but we do everything in our power to ensure that they’re worth every penny. We hope to see you and your wife again soon. With your first visit under your belt, a return visit is bound to be filled with nothing but the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    86
    47
    27
    14
See reviews for
156
461
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I went to the One & only for our anniversary trip. It was amazing! We had wanted to stay here for awhile, so we knew it was nice, but they met every expectation and more! The grounds are so lush and beautiful, nothing else in Cabo like it! The property is also immaculant! The staff was so friendly and so professional! The pools were fabulous, they had a beautiful adult only pool which was very nice!
We have stayed in many 5 star resorts, but this place is incredible! Our suite was wonderful, the perfect place to spend 4 nights!! The butler for our room was so friendly and accommodating, he met every need we had! We felt like we were leaving old friends when we left!!

Room Tip: We had a Jr Suite on the north side of the resort, pretty shaded, but that was nice after being at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are honored that you and your husband chose to spend your anniversary at One&Only Palmilla. And we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Exceeding expectations is precisely what we aim to do for each and every guest. Moreover, we take pride in offering the world’s finest service, from personal butlers to poolside attendants. We hope you’ll join us again soon—perhaps for next year’s anniversary as well? If you’d like assistance planning a return trip, just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had our second visit to this plush and wonderful resort at the tip of Baja California. We arrived 1 day before Hurricane Paul hit the coastline and were a little concerned about the weather.

The staff made us feel completely at ease and we could not of felt more safe even when the phones, cell and internet went down.

The staff was working during the storm and shortly after it passed, the place was back together and you would have never known the storm had just went through the area.

The hotel and staff were gracious and attended to all of our needs.

The food is overpriced but you were well taken care of. The spa staff were over the top friendly and the exercise staff made the stay fantastic.

Could not of had a better place to stay while in Cabo.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel area. Great views from all the restuarant areas and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

What an interesting time to be on property! We thank you for your patience and understanding during the inclement weather. We would also like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. Rain or shine, we’re committed to providing the best service in the world. We hope you’ll return to One&Only Palmilla in the near future. We eagerly anticipate the opportunity to raise the bar again on your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a spectacular resort in a very private,beautiful setting. Service was par excellance. The "Von's" Market restaurant was only "Okay" with respect to the food. Beware of the airport! After our bags were checked in for the return flight, my wife's was ransacked. Nothing taken as they were looking for jewelry which wisely was in her carry-on.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at One&Only Palmilla. We are saddened to learn of your negative airport experience following your visit. We can only hope that the fabulous time you spent on property outweighed the events that transpired afterwards. Speaking from experience, we assure you that it is a very rare occurrence, and should you choose to return, you can feel confident in your security. We do hope you return soon. We’re happy to do anything to help facilitate a magnificent getaway in Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Had a fabulous 5 night stay in a 1 bedroom suite that was just amazing. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels but one n only has above n beyond 5 star service too. The staff here is just amazing and makes the resort. You have the services of a butler with your room who makes all your reservations and gives suggestions for activities too. The food is wonderful and does automatically include a 15% tip so read your bill. It is an expensive resort but totally worth the indulgence. If you are looking for that special resort, this is it. We were celebrating our anniversary and they had many romantic extras for us. We are trying to figure out when we can return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review of your stay at One&Only Palmilla. We are honored that you chose to spend your five-night anniversary getaway with us in lovely Los Cabos. As you found, we strive to go above and beyond when it comes to service, amenities, and dining. We love the idea of changing our name to “Everything and More,” and we hope you’ll have a chance to discover more of what we have to offer very soon. If there is anything we can do to help plan a future visit, don’t hesitate to get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Heaven on Earth....from the airport pick up in a Hummer,arrival greeting etc. website does not do this gorgeous resort any justice. Must be experienced, glorious rooms,restaurants amazing and bars very relaxing and make great cocktails. No request was too much trouble, staff friendly and always smiling. Pool side experience Amazing,with complimentary foot massage,sunglasses cleaned,oxygen shots sprayed which was cool and refreshing,ice cream, and not forgetting the lovely infinity pool and swim up bar. Kids had their own pool area and were never seen at adults pool area. Butler service for each room was simply a wonderful treat. Golf at Palmilla Golf course was a golfers dream,played both the Arroyou course and Ocean twice.We were there for six nites and experienced all that the resort had to offer and only have very high praise for the staff and management of this gorgeous resort. We will definitely return to continue our dream............

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your effusive praise; it was truly a pleasure to read. We are delighted to learn that you had such an exceptional stay at One&Only Palmilla, and we cannot wait to raise the bar during your next visit. It sounds as though you had the full One&Only experience, and we’re sure you discovered that even six nights in paradise isn’t enough. When the daydreams, reminiscing, and wishful thinking become overwhelming, simply give us a call. We’re happy to help plan a dream vacation that you’ll remember forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I went for a 3 day getaway - lovely grounds, thoughtful service, delicious food. Two highlights, the ocean front tables at Agua were amazing - private, romantic - we liked it so much we went two nights in a row. And the spa - I've been to several 5-star spas and this spa is amazing. The service, ambiance and of course the treatment. It was truly tailored to me, and I really felt pampered. Even at 5-stars you usually can see some 'eye glazing over' from tired and jaded employees, but this place was truly warm and welcoming.

Small issues. The beach was being worked on, and no one had mentioned it. We are beach people, not pool people, and the beach was a main reason we wanted to stay here. We still sat there, but it was a construction site basically, and the drills, saws and varnish dust were not relaxing:) I know they need make upgrades, but we would have loved a heads-up and would have made our trip another time. When we checked in, they also told us they had snorkel equipment at the beach, but when we went down there, the attendant said, "oh, no, its all broken."

And out in the water at about 5 feet deep there was a semi-submerged blue painted oil barrel - I'm sure it didn't have actual oil in it, it was just an odd note for a lovely resort. In general the pools were much better maintained and luxurious than the beach (pillows for your feet and head on your chairs at the pool but not beach etc)

I would still go there again in a heartbeat and 100% plan to return, but will ask a few questions first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCVevolve, Manager at One & Only Palmilla Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review your stay at One&Only Palmilla. We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed a relaxing three days on property. As you noted, dinner at one of Agua’s oceanfront tables is a truly special experience, and one we hope you’ll enjoy many more times. We do regret that you encountered some noise on the beach. We’re confident that you’ll find the beach a peaceful refuge next time. Moreover, you’ll be able to take advantage of the wonderful upgrades we’ve made! We look forward to hosting you again in paradise. If you’d like any assistance planning a visit, just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One & Only Palmilla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Palmilla Resort

Address: Km 7.5 Carr. Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Palmilla Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A verdant oasis on the tip of the Baja Peninsula. Where azure waters greet the mountainous desert and the Pacific Ocean merges with the Sea of Cortez. Where warm waves break onto a dramatic shoreline… and gray whales can be seen rising majestically in the distance. Here, the gracious style of Old Mexico - with its red-tiled roofs, whitewashed walls, and idyllic setting of exquisite fountains - is quietly nestled amidst swaying palms, bird of paradise and other tropical bloom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Palmilla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Palmilla
One&Only Palmilla Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Palmilla Cabo
One Only Cabo
La Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One & Only Palmilla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.