We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem when in San Jose!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Sanchez Restaurante

Don Sanchez Restaurante
Blvd. Mijares s/n Edificio Eclipse Int 3, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
+52 (624) 142 2444
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Over the last year, Don Sanchez Restaurant has “re-defined” itself both in design as well our approach to your fine food and wine experience. Our food, service and quality are consistent with the same standards found in North America as we strive to constantly improve and innovate.Proudly, the majority of our high-quality produce is grown and harvested from local organic farms. Our seafood comes from local fisherman ensuring the best, freshest quality. Fresh oysters and clams are delivered 3 times a week and our fish daily. All of our produce and seafood are environmentally sustainable and checked regularly for consistency.One of our standards is to only serve “grass-fed” beef from Sonora or American choice beef, which is aged to perfection, and consistent with the same processing standards found in the U.S.A. All salt used in Don Sanchez Restaurant is natural un-iodized Sea salt from Guerrero Negro in the Northern Baja Peninsula.
Melrose, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem when in San Jose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I just finished dinner here, and it was fabulous! We were staying at the Tropicana Inn, so it was just a few doors down from us. The entrance is very deceptive. From the street you can't imagine how beautiful and huge a place this restaurant is!

First, you walk down a hall and enter the wine bar and store. You then go down a flight of steps to the open-air restaurant that is beautifully decorated. The tables are all hand-painted, very colorful. The light fixtures looked like either golden or multi-colored stars. There was a dance floor and a Cuban band that was very good. We were there early, so no one was dancing, but I imagine it gets going later.

Our food was really good. I had the filet mignon, that was perfectly cooked, along with a mole sauce, and grilled asparagus. My husband had the black and white sesame seed crusted yellowtail on a bed of mashed sweet potatoes. We were both too full for dessert.

Our waiter, Jose, was great. Very nice, helpful and professional.

We both highly recommend this restaurant whenever you are in the San Jose del Cabo area! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    80
    16
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponca City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner for 17”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had dinner at Don Sanchez our last night in Mexico. A group of 17 was accommodated gladly. We were seated outside under their newly constructed Palapa. It was a beautiful spot with a small stage and dance floor with a live combo playing. Food was excellent from soup to salads to steak and lobster. Staff was very attentive. Would definitely want to return here on our next trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Surprised!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When you walk in to the new Don Sanchez you will be very surprised of how big and beautiful the new restaurant is. We went for dinner at the soft opening and had a great dinner. The music was an added touch and the service was fantastic. The Owner/Chef Tad Chapman stopped by our table and suggested some items on the menu and we had such a nice conversation. We felt at home and we will definetly be dining here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A HAPPY NEW FACE:-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don Sanchez has always been a friendly and fun place in San Jose'.... Gr8 drinks, Salsa Dancing, Good food and Fun People...... BUT, they have completely remodeled for this Season, and I was fortunate enough to have been there for the Grand Opening!!!
They have completely transformed the place!! A new Sports Bar with Burgers n Wings...and Lots of Big Screen TVs..... upstairs..... But the Big News is the new Wine Shop and Fine Dining Courtyard.....filled with live music and a gorgeous new decor!!! The Manager, Sal, and his lovely Hostess , Elke,,,,,,filled us in on all the new happenings and details of the new expansion and Decor!!!
You can shop for your wine in the retail store, then have it uncorked at your table!! Very fair prices for a Resort area, and a Gr8 selection of wines from all over the world!
Dining is Alfresco, in a beautiful courtyard, filled with giant palms and colorful lighting.....and a very nice and cozy bar area...
The center of the courtyard is reserved for dancing to the live band..... They band was outstanding.....
Our waiter, Israel and his companion, Miriam did a fine job of explaining the new menu, and taking our orders..... The cuisine is described as "Baja", not Mexican! Indeed....the food selection was very eclectic and offered some wonderful varieties of local fish, beef, and chicken.....as well as a few local specialities!! The breads are all home made, and served with a nice pesto oil blend....The Tortilla Soup and Seafood Bisque were excellent...... We ordered the Shrimp Dish and a Stuffed Chicken Breast...... Both were fresh, and wonderful!!!

Sal offered us some desserts that were outstanding as well...... I especially loved the Glorias....
A delicious pastry stuffed with nuts and sweet things....similar to Baklava, but not as sticky n sweet. Very subtle with a dollop of Vanilla Ice Cream.......

If you are fortunate enough to visit the San Jose area......Be sure to stop by and enjoy this outstanding new creation...... Say Hi to Sal and Elke.....and be sure to ask for Israel and Miriam too:-) A Gr8 evening, wonderful experience, and a fond memory!!!

Gratias.....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Decor & Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Don't let the outside of Don Sanchez fool you. When you enter through the doorway and pass a short hallway, there is a large wine cellar/store to the left with a bar and bartender, As you enter through glass doors you are in for a surprise. As you go down the winding staircase you see a very large beautifully decorated dining room and bar with a dance floor and stage off to the side. The color of the tables are pretty hues of orange, red, green, blue and yellow and they are hand-painted in good taste, and there are a couple of fountains around the room. I was told by the manager, Sal Bakkar, that they opened only a few days ago after a complete renovation. Shortly after we sat down and ordered our food, a two piece combo started playing some soft danceable jazz music. It added to a very nice experience. The service was great and the only regret we had was that they did not offer any Mexican food which we were hoping for. It was a Continental menu and the food was good, but not excellent, but it could be that they had just reopened. However, I wish they had a selection of Authentic Mexican food as well. The manager Sal was very hospitable and he talked about the restaurant. He said that there is salsa/jazz music for dancing on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. It looks like a good restaurant for family and friends. We would certainly go back there the next time we visit, and hope they add some authentic Mexican offerings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Sanchez Restaurante also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Don Sanchez Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Sanchez Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.