We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy setting, great ambiance, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H Restaurant

H Restaurant
Alvaro Obregon # 1505 | Entre Morelos y Guerrero, Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
624 10 5 29 74
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Classy setting, great ambiance, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A couple of years ago H moved from its original location to a larger facility nearby. The restaurant lost a bit of its charm and intimacy with the move, but the larger facility is very tastefully decorated, has quality furniture and feels very classy.

Service is excellent and on the evening we dined a live guitarist played who was a very good musician---not mariachi level music, but without a doubt the best guitarist we have heard in Cabo. He took requests and played excellent flamenco compositions.

In the past we've rated food quality as outstanding at H, but on this occasion we viewed it as good, but not at the level of several other restaurants we've come to like in San Jose (El Matador, Meson Del Angel, Habanero). For appetizers we had a beet salad that was excellent and the onion gratinee which was okay. For the main course we had the pork chop which was very good and the short ribs which were too dry and appeared to have been cooked long before and reheated.

Overall still a very good choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Quality cuisine and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Located on the backstreets of the art district in San Jose del Cabo. Really nice colonial style, comfortable and inviting. The highlight here is the cuisine, classic continental with an occasional touch of Mexico. The salads are deconstructed yet authentic... whole heads of fresh lettuce with top notch ingredients and dressings. The seafood cannelloni is a favorite and consistently excellent. Steak frites is well prepared, as are more creative entrees such as short ribs and varieties of fresh fish. Service is attentive, we truly enjoy returning to this restaurant time and again. I'm not a big fan of desserts, but haven't been overwhelmed with what my fellow dinners ordered. I also think H could do a better job with the wine list... There is a bias towards California and South America, but some of the choices just aren't that good... I'd like to see some of the emerging quality wineries from Guadalupe Valley in Baja as well. Quips aside, I highly recommend H and look forward to returning!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We went for the art walk and stumbled into this restaurant (recommended by a local store owner) and boy were we glad we did! A quaint little place that was warm and inviting. Perfect after a night of shopping. The waiter didn't rush us and seemed to appear right when we needed him. The staff was on point and couldn't have been nicer. We started with the BLT salad - delicious and had the shrimp/lobster cannelloni - excellent! - and the sunflower crusted flounder over corn chowder - just as yummy! Did I forget to mention the hot rolls? Perfect for soaking up the delicious sauces leftover on our plates. We skipped dessert but will definitely be back the next time! Don't miss this little gem of a place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

What I liked about H resturant is its location in the art district. Take a walk down the cobblestone streets and see beautiful art work before or after dinner. The H Restaurant has a warm and welcoming atmosphere that gives great expectations to your dinning experience. The service is excellent and the owners are there to answer all your questions and nice conversation while explaining the next dish that arrives to your table. I had shrimp cocktail like I never had before served in a martini glass. That's it! A martini shrimp cocktail! Sea Bass with a green pea purée followed by a pork tender loin infused with Mexican and tropical flavors. It was great!!! I will confine to return to H restaurant every time I am in Cabo. I hope everyone traveling here will try it! This is a nice restaurant where you should dress for the occasion. Have a great time dinning here!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Del Cabo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“locals favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

For us retired gringos' living in SJD, H resturant has a strong reputation. Their menu selections are very consistent and well prepared. Their service has always been attentive. Located in the " art district" of SJD. I only get the flounder. Fantastic

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H Restaurant also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to H Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.