We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Friendly Stay for Christmas and New Yearss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marina Inn

Save Saved
You added La Marina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marina Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Apdo, Postal 437, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly La Playita Resort )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and Friendly Stay for Christmas and New Yearss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the inn for a total of 4 weeks this December thru January 15 2014 and we had a great time. The Manager and Staff are very helpful pleasant and friendly. Especially Kelly who is a great front desk person. We think that this hotel could be even better with a few improvements, even though El Ganzo has blocked most of the beach view in front its a way better place to stay. The Restaurant in the courtyard serves great food and the music from several bands provides good ambiance.
We think the overall maintenance could do with a full time maintenance guy and some training for the housekeeping staff to keep those corners and behind beds a little cleaner. The owners don't operate the business and live elsewhere.

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are on the third floor and provide great views of the beach, but its a good climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were checking out the marina and we decided to stop for a drink. What a great surprise! We sat down, ordered and proceeded to meet people enjoying there time in this great place. Bob, a friend of owner George told us "you have to meet this guy". He was so right. George is a great guy, when he told you the stories and history of his place he made you feel like you should stay or come back. When we mentioned getting a cab back to town George said he would drive us. Then a friend of George's came in, Freddie. He said he would take us. We were overwhelmed by the kindness and feeling we got of being like we had been there many times before. A great big thanks to George, Freddie, Bob, Mary and Gunner. With meeting you guys we will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is the place---GREAT people (George, Kelly, the kitchen / bar staff) the food is the BEST!! local atmosphere:)
We will be back. Don't waste your time at Hotel Ganzo--MUCH BETTER atmosphere here at La Marina!!!!!!
Fishing was GREAT!!!

Carmen from Minnesota

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

No elevators. Balcony view is good, but there is a newer hotel partially blocking the water view. Very close to the beach & marina. Nice place with a restaurant & bar, music. Very casual, friendly people running the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were 10 days in Puerto Los Cabos at El Delfin Blanco resort, that we highly recommend!
Osa the owner of El Delfin Blanco recommended to eat at La Marina Inn.
First of all the place is very beautiful, and the music, the athmosphere are perfect...
The kitchen area is in front of the tables so that you can watch the cookings.
We first received a beautiful plate with chips, salsa...
I ordered a fresh white tuna with a tomato sauce, rice and vegetables.
Excellent.
My wife and the children ordered vegeterian plates that were delicious too.
All that at a reasonable price and with a warm and sweet service!
Definitively the best place to eat in La Playita!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We had the best time here- great margaritas, and the food was delicious. Prices were affordable. Great live music, and very close to the beach. Once you'be been here, you will want to come back again and again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not stay at La Marina Inn, but we had a delicious lunch there one day. That grill is so amazingly seasoned, I think you could put anything on it and it would come out YUMMY. The atmosphere was nice. Their view is being obstructed by a new hotel though...bigger, who knows about better. I would love to go back and check out the hotel sometime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marina Inn

Address: Apdo, Postal 437, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly La Playita Resort )
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Marina Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playita Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
La Marina Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.