We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Cabo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Encanto Inn to your Saves list
El Encanto Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

History and heart come together to create the most delightful accommodation experience of your life. El Encanto Inn is one of the oldest hotels in Cabo and the owner transfers her passion and love for the city to her business. Personal threatment will enlighten you with every step. Also great location since it is down town in the middle of all the action San Jose has to offer. Stay here and a piece of baja back will go back with you :)

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    94
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
42
115
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first time staying at the El Encanto. Originally we reserved a standard room in the annex building but were upgraded to a poolside king bed room. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and they accommodated our extra guest by putting an additional twin bed in the room.

The room was quaint as the hotel is older. Concrete walls and shelves in the bathroom. However, the room has been remodeled with tile floors, tile bathroom, good fixtures. The shower head was an older model with full flow. It was amazing to have a 'real shower head' with a wonderful stream. I had forgotten how good a real shower felt. There was also plenty of hot water.

The linen was of high quality. There was also two tables and a wood armoire containing a digital TV, with six drawers under. The TV had a good mix of American and Mexican channels although we were too busy to do any watching.

The swimming pool is beautiful. The only comment regarding it is it needed to be skimmed more frequently as there were flower petals and vegetation floating on top.

The hotel is next to the old part of town so you are just steps away from fun shops. It is also just two blocks from Jasmine's Restaurant which has excellent food. We ate there several times and each meal was tasty and LARGE. Unless you have a big appetite I recommend splitting a meal. Many other restaurants populate the area within walking distance and most offer terrific fare.

The staff speaks English and are very kind and helpful. I loved the hotel so much I am returning this fall.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are nice but the standard rooms in the annex are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
We are looking forward to your return visit.
Thank you for taking the time to provide information to other
travelers and highlighting the things you liked.
We have had a wonderful year following the hurricane and it is because
of our supportive repeat guests and new found friends.
Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at El Encanto several times over the years we've been traveling to BCS and it has never disappointed. Great staff, clean rooms and you can walk to many amenities San Jose del Cabo has to offer. Plus you're right in the heart of the Art Walk held on Thursday evenings, a must do!

Room Tip: We have stayed at both the pool side and across the street. Choose poolside if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are putting together a thank you program for repeat guests
Be sure to check the next time you visit.
Art walk is a fun street event, Thanks for taking time
to review our staff is very appreciative
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice boutique hotel in a quiet location on the edge of downtown. takes literally a minute to get to the start of anything. La Osteria is two little blocks away. Bancomer (bank) 3 blocks straight up. plaza is 4 blocks yet since they are on the edge it is nice an quiet here. Staff are very good, rooms kept clean. Miguel and Monica were very helpful.
They just opened up a new bar and restaurant and did I mention they have a beautiful historical church in the walled compound?

Room Tip: Get a floor level room for easy access to the pool or a second level for more privacy. That is the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We very much appreciate the time to review
Our staff understands the importance of your comments
The new restaurant has had a great response and we are glad
you found the local restaurants to your liking!
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansaw, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having previously stays at El Encanto, we were pleasantly surprised by the new office and the staff managing it. They were very accommodating even to the point of having wine available for sale. Since we were traveling with a physically handicapped couple, we were also provided staff to bring our luggage to the second floor. Pool area and the planned expansions and changes will certainly bring us back. Love being so close to town that we can walk anywhere.

Room Tip: First floor on pool is easiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
When you return please check on the return guest program as there will be
some benefits available.
We appreciate you noticing the offices and the work the staff has done
Thank you for taking time to review
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading great reviews of this hotel online, I booked a 7-day stay here for myself, my husband, and a friend of ours over Christmas break. I was a little nervous about committing to just one hotel for the entire duration of our trip--especially one I hadn't seen before. After staying here, though, I'm so glad we did. This hotel has it all: friendly, attentive staff; clean, beautifully-decorated, spacious rooms; gorgeously-landscaped grounds; easy access to the Malecon (boardwalk through town) and downtown; and a quiet atmosphere--all for an incredibly low price. During my time in La Paz, I was able to check out a number of other hotels around town, and El Encanto was my favorite hands-down. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Our guests have had great things to say about our work after the hurricane,
the new restaurant and the ambience of the Art District.
Thank you for taking time to read those comments and review
We are glad you had such an enjoyable trip!
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our stay at the El Encanto Inn. We were on a traveling trip so we stayed in 4 different towns at 4 different hotels and the El Encanto was by far our favorite. It is beautiful, though dated and we did have problems with the wi-fi and the hot water, but those we minor issues and the ambiance far outweighed the minor irritation. Great location for walking through the downtown district, we never used our car during our stay except to go to the dolphin exhibit. They also comp you breakfast at a local eatery the is fantastic! The service was impeccable. It's also a little hard to find if driving from the airport....I would not suggest trying to find it at night! Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms that open onto the garden are very nice but you have to close your drapes for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your time to review.
Your comments on services are being reviewed and
are very helpful.
The new restaurant is open on the property in addition to room service
and Breakfast there is Pool service.
Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Address: Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn Hotel Spa & Suites, is located in the heart of historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, just steps from Mission San José, surrounded by craft shops, galleries and restaurants, less than 500 meters from the road (Transpennsular hihgway). The beach is a 5 min drive. It also has a Holistic center, which is comprised of a professional team in the fields of: Acupuncture, Chiropractor, nutritionist and wellness facilities (spa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.