We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for Thursday evening Art Walks...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Encanto Inn to your Saves list
El Encanto Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient location for Thursday evening Art Walks...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The charming Encanto Inn is made up of 2 facilities - the pool area rooms are in the main building while the garden rooms are down the street. We stayed in a clean, comfortable pool suite/room - lovely gardens, inviting pool area and quiet spaces. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast options were provided by Jazmin's Restaurant - a short walk up the street. Vouchers were available at the front desk. A new hospitality area is being constructed so that in the future, guests may have their breakfast at the pool area facility. The Art Walk on Thursday evening is a great way to explore the Old Town galleries - there is something for everyone plus a festive air as you stroll through the streets made into pedestrian walkways for the evening. Restaurants abound in the area. We chose to dine at "Voila" in the Plaza Paulina complex - good food, good drink under a star studded sky. Parking is free and located just behind Plaza Paulina.

Room Tip: If you have mobility concerns, request a ground floor room - pool side facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
You have said it all! Thank you so much for taking the time to review but more importantly
thank you for the time to enjoy all the beautiful sites in Historic San Jose.
The restaurant should be open in less than a month, we can all enjoy great pool service
and a traditional Breakfast or Lunch on the property.
Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    77
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
31
92
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I chose to leave the hotel two hours after arriving because of surprisingly inadequate security.

I have stayed at many hotels, hostels, posadas, what have you throughout Mexico, and lived for more than a year in Mexico City and have never come across a hotel that is three stars (or others much less elegant for that matter) that have no form of common security for guests.

I have stayed at $10/night hostels in Mérida that lock their doors after a certain time, three-star posadas in Oaxaca that give guests a code to enter when the hotel is unattended, and basic forest inns in Chiapas that have an entry guard (or at least a camera) 24 hours.

It is completely unacceptable in 2014 Mexico to have an unattended block of rooms with no external access barrier, even if it's just a locked gate that guests can use their key to access after hours or a passcode. When walking around San José one notices many iron grills on locals' first floor properties, don't guests deserve the same?

I know SJ is sleepier than most towns, but I found this to be really unacceptable. I left and ended up staying at another nearby property offering an adequate level of overnight coverage.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, do not accept a room in the bizarre annex building. It's like a cheap mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank You for your time to review and constructive comments.
We take our guests comfort and security very seriously
and will review with management your comment's.
We hope you enjoyed the balance of your stay in San Jose
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the cheaper art of the hotel across the road. You can still use the lovely pool.
Central location, if you go up to the laundry and turn right and left you get to a great Taqueria. Make sure to go for walk across main square in eveningforatmoshere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are very glad you were able to enjoy the downtown, Art District events and activities.
The downtown area is full of public free activities as well as great restaurants and galleries
Thank You for the visit please come back!
Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Really liked the location of this hotel, right off the main downtown area, walk to everything you could possibly need! The pool area is really nice! And gives you the "garden" feel in both buildings!

It came up short by being separate buildings. If you have a standard room, you are down the road and across the street from the main building. Awkward for going to the pool. When we got there we had many bags, our taxi dropped us off at the main office and then we had to shlep all our stuff one by one (with someone having to stay back with the rest of the luggage to stand guard) down the street and across the road to our room.

On the good side, the building was really cute!! I loved the atrium area outside the rooms! Beautifully decorated and the atrium area keeps the downtown area noise to almost nil. It has a cozy fireplace I could see using on a cool night. Very romantic and cozy area!

The rooms were very basic, for all the outside cute decor the rooms were basic and bland. We used the ceiling fan with the window open and slept like babies. No noise and the beds were very comfortable!

I really liked the bathroom. The shower was huge, the shower head needs to be cleaned or replaced as it sprayed in awkward directions, but plenty of hot water and roomy counter space.

There is a TV with cable. We don't really watch TV on vacation but it seemed to have all the channels one would need. Was good for checking weather.

Front desk is very helpful and can get you a taxi or arrange places to go for you. I am glad to see that they were able to expand, but really wish the 2 building set up was closer together.

I would stay here again if we come back. Depending on what the trip was for and who it was with. If you have kids, you are better off staying at a bigger more convenient place.

But for a romantic, fun couples getaway it really is a pretty good deal. The price is not bad and I really loved being so close to the main street area. You would not need a car and you can spend a whole week doing close by things.

I felt very safe walking around town and all the nearby restaurant staffs were really helpful and friendly! There is a locking gate for the building make sure you find out what time the gate locks. There is a way to open it, but I am not sure. We were pooped by 10pm anyways!

We really enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are basic, but while they are separate from the main building, I think that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the great detail in talking about the area and the fun of spending
some time downtown. We appreciate your comments on the hotel
and will share them with staff.
Thanks from all of us at the El Encanto
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

As I stated in the title, we really wanted this hotel to more like the excellent reviews than the poor reviews. Objectively I can say I wouldn't stay here again, but I can see why others like it. Some of the things that went wrong weren't the fault of the hotel, but one must really explain what the entire package is like so you can make a more informed decision about where you stay.

Pros:
- Yes it is right downtown, well, it is on the north end of downtown, but only a couple blocks walk to the plaza and restaurants, art, shopping etc.

- Very cute, the main building is definitely charming, lovely garden and the rooms are well appointed.

- The manager was helpful in explaining the town and called a taxi for us too

Cons:
- 4am wake up call by dump truck backing up directly outside our room on the street. Bad luck I guess...

- 6am wake up calls every 30 seconds by cars driving by on busy road to the north, our room was closest to the office (south) and we could hear them quite easily, all the other rooms are even closer to that road, so they have to be even louder. Some small water fountains could be purchased for each room to help drown this out...

- Toilet handle broke after two flushes, the rest of the night and morning we had to use our hands to manually flush from inside the tank, gross... I did not report until check out, not much that could have been done to resolve in the night/morning, we wanted our rest. Room maintenance/back luck...

- Shower head literally hanging from the wall, squirting water in your face no matter how hard you tried to avoid it... Yes it is a shower, but I prefer to not be force fed water. Room maintenance issue for sure...

- Didn't see a hot tub, this is a must for us in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank You for your very detailed constructive comments.
We will discuss and correct the issues that are in our control.
Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I and another couple shared a 2 bedroom suite upstairs, overlooking the garden and pool area. We only stayed one night, having arrived late in the afternoon with plans to drive to La Paz the next morning. The room was lovely and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were helpful and accommodating. We were given passes for a complimentary breakfast at Jasmine's, a nice restaurant 2 blocks up the street. The El Encanto Inn location was perfect to explore the neighborhood art galleries and boutiques on foot. There are many wonderful restaurants nearby. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting our City and Hotel. The downtown Historic committee and the Art District Association have worked very hard the last 3 years on the remodel and renewal of the Historic Center. We will have a restaurant on the hotel grounds your next visit.
Thanks for your comments and Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I called about 2 months ahead and reserved a 2 bedroom suite. There are the Suites and then they also have the regular hotel rooms across the streets I asked for the "Internet Special" and told them I would pay in full that day. I believe it was about 200.00 for a 2 bedroom, kitchen, dining, living room. It is an older hotel but everything was clean including the courtyard and pool. About 2 blocks from the town square which was a lot of fun in the evening. Many restaurants in walking distance. We also received a free breakfast for 4 at Jasmine"s which we have eaten at many times in previous years. I think check out time was like at noon...have to love that. We only stayed one night because we flew in one day early before check in at our resort for the week. I will stay at El Encanto Inn again if I am in need of a nightly. They were beginning construction for a small restaurant on site while we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for the time to review, the restaurant will be open first week in March
and we are excited to provide our guests a new service.
Taking the time to visit the Historical Center and Art district before heading to the beach
is a great idea and we have a lot of guests that do just that.
We love Austin also you live in a great city.
Best to You from all of us at the El Encanto and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Address: Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn Hotel Spa & Suites, is located in the heart of historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, just steps from Mission San José, surrounded by craft shops, galleries and restaurants, less than 500 meters from the road (Transpennsular hihgway). The beach is a 5 min drive. It also has a Holistic center, which is comprised of a professional team in the fields of: Acupuncture, Chiropractor, nutritionist and wellness facilities (spa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.