We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Mexico!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Encanto Inn to your Saves list
El Encanto Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Las Vegas, Nv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This is Mexico!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Late review, we stayed at the El Encanto Inn over Memorial day weekend. It was exactly what we were looking for, a small hotel, a throw back to the old Mexican charm, El Encanto did not disappoint. The room was beautifully appointed, air conditioned and a comfortable king size bed. The room had french doors that opened up to the garden with flower beds, palm trees and a nice little pool. If you want peace an quiet this is your place. There are no tourist type business you find at the large resort hotels. You have to pay for all your meals around San Jose but that is one of the charms, finding all of the interesting places to eat. We did not have one bad meal, we took advantage of the free breakfast coupon offered by the hotel, the breakfast was good, but with so many place to try we only had it one day. We stayed for 5 days and ate at a different place every day with the exception of the (English) Blonde Bull a local seafood restaurant a short walk from the hotel. If you have never had fresh thin sliced scallops with lime it is a must. Plenty of shopping and small grocery stores within walking distance. Book the Elencanto you will not be disappointed. One tip taxis are exspensive from here to Cabo San Lucas if you plan on going there go early and stay late to make the cost worth the trip 25 to 35 USD one way! Also make sure to book airport taxi before you go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review and thoughts about SanJose.
We can also help with transpotation by recomending a reasonable rate/service from the
airport. It is alway a good feeling when our guests enjoy the spirit of SanJose
Thanks Again and Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    92
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
42
114
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very charming and whimsical hotel. I visited just this past weekend. Well appointed, spacious rooms for the cost, very pleasant and accommodating staff (special thanks to Domenica, provided assistance for a requested room upgrade). The grounds are very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Our staff really appreciates your thanks and we make a point to read the reviews at our morning meetings. This has been a great June and July thanks to our many great visitors as yourself.
Summer's here, Surfs Up! and Fishing is great! Visit Soon.
Safe travels to You from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel offers 100 % free international calls. Very good business hotel; whole 3rd floor provides as conference bedrooms. However, did not offer fully free wireless in rooms, and only one computer in entrance hall for public use. Fast and 100 % free wireless service at the entrance hall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, We all appreciate the comments.
We try to provide quality signal for travelers with their own equipment and flexible hours for Guests that want to work in the lobby.
We would enjoy having you visit again, in the meantime, Safe travels on all your journeys!
The best from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This travelers oasis is truly a relaxing get away. Step into the arched entry behind the yellow and white exterior walls adorned with vibrant bougenville climbing to the roof and you enter another world. A garden that in it's center has a beautifully maintained pool and padded lounge chairs to escape to. Double doors to the ground level rooms open to an exterior arched terrace walk and give you a sense that you're IN the garden. Larger rooms are across the street, accomodating small to medium sized families with small kitchen facilities. Why eat in when great restuarants are just steps away. Like others have said, the location is in the heart of the art district and very quiet. We've extended our timeshare week with a night or two at El Encanto either on the front end of the trip or the back, taking advantage of cheaper air travel. Squeezing in another day or two of relaxation and spending the money saved on travel at El Encanto. It's a formula that has worked for us.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are available at the annex across the street. Very lovely garden area there as well, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We have the pleasure of meeting many travelers who chose to add a day or two to visit and enjoy downtown San Jose. We realize that this is either your introduction to the area or your last couple of days visiting our part of the world. we try to make that experience enjoyable as possible. Thank you for the time to share your review. All our staff sends there regards.
Safe Travels, from All of us, to You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelseyville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I got married at El Encanto Inn this past April. I can't say enough about this charming boutique hotel. The service was top-notch (Eduardo is a true gentleman and a master at hospitality), the rooms were clean and decorated beautifully, the pool and landscaping were extremely well-kept and the spa was amazing! Almost everyone in our group got a massage in the spa, and everyone that did said it was the best massage in their entire life!!! Keep in mind we all live in northern California where some of the best spas in the USA are located (we live right north of Napa). Most of our family and friends stayed on-site and it was the perfect size for an intimate celebration with our closest friends and family. The chapel on-site is absolutely magical (Capilla Josefina) and was the perfect venue for us. Not to mention you are right in the middle of the art district in San Jose del Cabo...just walking distance to the best shops downtown. If you want to experience the true culture of this amazing city - this is a great place to stay!
Thank you El Encanto for a perfect experience:) We will be back!!

Room Tip: Stay in La Mexicana or the Honeymoon Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Weddings are one of the times at El Encanto when we have the pleasure of providing our best to a very special Bride, Groom, friends and family.
We have the benefits of all that great energy that goes into sharing a special time!
We all send you our best and look forward to your return.
Thanks for the kind Words.
Safe Travels from all of Us to You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Right in the heart of the Art District in San Jose Del Cabo, this charming hotel offers a quaint and comfortable stay. Extremely clean, accommodating, friendly staff and a beautifully tranquil central pool area and gardens make this Inn a 'must stay' if you yearn to be away from the thick of the busy touristy area's. The grounds are shared with a beautiful chapel and large outdoor terrace and Palapa that serve as a great place for a destination wedding and reception. All that you need is within walking distance of the Inn, from a famed Tequila Shop to a French bakery to the many galleries and the wonderfully authentic Mexican Restaurant, Jazmen's. Don't forget to check out the art walk on Thursday evenings!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to enjoy the downtown SanJose del Cabo historic center and art district,
Our staff very much appreciates the compliments and we review these comments in our meetings.
Our guests have helped us in identifying the importance of always working to keep service at a high level by giving us your comments to share.
Thank you again for your visit and we look forward to your return.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel has a great, central location just a few blocks from San Jose center. Find within the same quaint block several restaurants, including the Baja Brewing Co., Thai, Italian, and a wifi-enabled coffee shop; as well as a few art galleries.

You can prob acquire more details about amenities at the hotel's site, but the place offers parking, a pool, and even a cute, little chapel.

Room Tip: Note that the hotel has two separate buildings across the street from each other. The pool section i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, General Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank You, we do have info on our Spa and other amenities on the website.
You were here at my favorite time of the year when the fresh morning air is filled with all the morning freshness of the local estuary and local farms. When any time you can walk in the area and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of SanJose del Cabo.
Safe Travels and our Best to you from all of us at the El Encanto
Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Address: Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn Hotel Spa & Suites, is located in the heart of historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, just steps from Mission San José, surrounded by craft shops, galleries and restaurants, less than 500 meters from the road (Transpennsular hihgway). The beach is a 5 min drive. It also has a Holistic center, which is comprised of a professional team in the fields of: Acupuncture, Chiropractor, nutritionist and wellness facilities (spa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.