We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Encanto Inn to your Saves list
El Encanto Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Summerland, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our second visit to this inn. This time we upgraded to a pool side room which was very nice but a little pricey. The gardens are beautiful and it was great to sit by pool and relax. The location is great- five minutes walk to the square and lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. Lots of upgrades going on the nearby streets but easily negotiated and avoided. Many art galleries and shops in nearby streets. Feels very safe and is quiet most of the time except when Thursday night artwalk is on.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are nicer than standard rooms but a bit more expensive and the downstairs rooms woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank You for your return visit. All the art/historic district renovations are complete and the area is crowded with people enjoying all the safe and easy walking streets. We have added a pool service from Voila which is available all afternoons. Room service is also available.
You thoughtful comments are very much appreciated and help all of us at the El Encanto to provide better service.
We a glad you enjoy the area and have found some of the great spots visit!
Safe Travels and best Wishes from all of Us.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    85
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
37
100
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Yukon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here one night before checking I to our condo in Cabo San Lucas

It is as beautiful as the photos suggest. We had a ground floor pool suite with French doors opening to the pool

We had one night only, but we could easily have stayed a week. The front desk was very friendly and helpful with everything

I spent 3 hours at the attached spa and it was amazing! One of the best massages I have ever received

If you want to stay in San Jose Del Cabo, and don't mind not being on the beach, this place is lovely and tranquil. Definitely try the spa!

Our room was huge and well appointed with a king sized bed, fridge, TV with English channels (some) and a large gorgeous bathroom with a walk in tiled shower. There are lots of places to eat right outside, within just a few minutes walk. We went to the Baja Brewing Company and sat outside near a gas fireplace

Awesome place!

Room Tip: The ground floor pool rooms open right into the pool courtyard and are beautiful. Very short walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
ThankYou for mentioning the Spa. Many of our guests add to thier relaxing visit by taking a time out to enjoy one of the very fine services provided. Our staff has been very apprecitive and motivated by all the kind words. We appreciate your time to review.
Safe Travels and please visit us Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I adored the Elcanto Inn. Once we were there I regretted not staying longer than one night. The rooms are comfortable, stylish and airy. It's right in the town so you can easily access great restaurants. We did the Thursday evening Art Walk, which was great fun. From the moment we arrived, I felt welcome and relaxed! Really looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Art Walk is a great way to spend Thursday evening! We are very glad you enjoyed the downtown and got to see some of the new Historical renovation work that was just completed.
Best of Travels from all of Us and we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great hotel for exploring San Jose del Cabo. Convenient location, beautiful rooms and courtyard, gracious staff and free parking. No restaurant on site, but plenty nearby. Include a Thursday night for the Art Walk; weekends can be a bit slow. But the hotel is lovely We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank You for your time to review. We have just added Room and Pool service from the Restaurant next door "Voila" Thier staff will be providing service and taking orders. The owner "Roberto' is an excellant chef and will be a very appreciated addition to our service.
Thank You again, Best Regards and Safe Travels from all our Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went up to San Jose from San Lucas for the Thursday Night Art Walk and didn't want to drive back until Friday. This hotel is perfectly located in the art district. Comfortable and with a lovely garden and pool in the courtyard. Parking, wifi, and breakfast up the street at Jazmins restaurant included.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Now that the new street work is completed. The entire Art District is busy with daily guests as well a evening diners and people simple enjoying the historic town atmosphere. It is a beautiful time to visit the City. There is also the estuary and Cactus Gardens in Puerto Los Cabos. We enjoy hearing from our guests and try to keep improving our service.
Thank You for your kind review and please visit us Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a great little place that offers so much of the charm of Mexico that people are looking for! We had asked for a recommendation from our tour guide in La Paz for a place to stay in San Jose del Cabo, and we were so glad we stayed at El Encanto.

We stayed in the part that was a block away, and were amazed with how quiet and quaint the place was. We arrived earlier than the check-in time, and they let us leave our luggage while we went for lunch and put a rush on getting our room ready for us. We were only there for one night but we sad to leave.

We booked on Expedia and had no problem with the rates, additional charges, or any booking problems.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms would be nice, but we liked the adjacent property down the block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are very appreciative of all our guests and try and provide you the ease of traveling while on vacation. Our front desk says thanks for the compliments.
Thanks Again and Safe Travels from all the staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that offers, privacy, casual and elegance all in one location. I loved everything about this hotel. It was perfect. The hotel has lovely gardens and quiet places to hide and relax. It offers a great breakfast at a local resturant that was delicious. Next to the hotel is a little church that offers a timeless place to relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Higher floors have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Our owner is responsible for the Hacienda design and Gardens. She has a passion for making things beautiful and an eye for detail in design. The gardens have been her mission since 1997, when she started this project. Your thoughtful words are very much appreciated by all our staff.
Please visit us again and best of Travels for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Address: Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn Hotel Spa & Suites, is located in the heart of historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, just steps from Mission San José, surrounded by craft shops, galleries and restaurants, less than 500 meters from the road (Transpennsular hihgway). The beach is a 5 min drive. It also has a Holistic center, which is comprised of a professional team in the fields of: Acupuncture, Chiropractor, nutritionist and wellness facilities (spa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.