We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Encanto Inn to your Saves list
El Encanto Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that offers, privacy, casual and elegance all in one location. I loved everything about this hotel. It was perfect. The hotel has lovely gardens and quiet places to hide and relax. It offers a great breakfast at a local resturant that was delicious. Next to the hotel is a little church that offers a timeless place to relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Higher floors have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Our owner is responsible for the Hacienda design and Gardens. She has a passion for making things beautiful and an eye for detail in design. The gardens have been her mission since 1997, when she started this project. Your thoughtful words are very much appreciated by all our staff.
Please visit us again and best of Travels for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    78
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
32
93
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is OK but not close to the beach. The temperature of the water in the pool is good. Rooms are clean. Lots of TV channels also. There is a taco place 5 min walking from the hotel but I dont recommend it.
These days there is some construction going on next to the hotel...the drilling is extremely noisy and will wake you up around 7:30AM during the week. Not sure if they do works during the weekend but if you want to sleep after this time you better ask reception first if the company next to the hotel is done with the construction works.
I do recommend the hotel if you are ina budget, otherwise try something closer to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank You for your time to write your review. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience related to the street remodel. It has at times been a chalenge since August. The last bricks are being layed and we have new wide sidewalks. Each of the businesses in downtown had to take thier turn being part of the historic remodel. Ours is almost finished except for some "Quiet" hand work. Our staff is available to help with any assistance related to downtown and Puerto los Cabos activities and we hope we can help you to have a good, historic town visit, as well as enjoy beautiful Baja beaches.
Best of Travels for the New Year and thank you again for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you are staying in San Jose and do not want to be at a beach hotel, then this is the place for you. The staff are friendly and speak very good english, the hotel is clean and well maintained and the rooms are comfortable. We had a corner room in the Garden Area that was very large with a kitchen and the room was very well configured. Friends from Loreto Mexico recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed. We stayed there one night on our trip back to Calgary and have booked for our return trip in January. They have parking available in a fenced area. We have stayed at many hotels in the San Jose and Cabo areas and this is one that we will return to with no hesitation. They are a Pet Friendly hotel. The only negative comment would be it is difficult to get to the Garden Suites with the road construction that was taking place at that time. We are hoping that it will be completed when we return at the end of January.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden Suites that are a short distance away from the main pool area so would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank You for your time to let people know about SanJose and our Hotel. Thank Goodness the new road is almost finished. We have had quite an adventure since August accomodating the street crossing. They are placing the final hand made bricks so we are level and have new wide sidewalks.Our guests have been great abouit the inconvenience. We do get a lot of guests traveling from one part of Baja to another or returning home and like to get a flavor of this beautiful small Mexican town. It is with great pleasure we get a chance to show off all the fine qualities of downtown.
Best of Travels to You for the New Year and Thanks again for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I found this place by doing a Hotels.com search for a specific area in San Jose. I had no idea this place would be so quaint. The grounds are well-kept and the location is ideal if you want to be in El Centro (art district) of San Jose. We had originally booked the Standard room but when we checked in, Edwardo mentioned there was a pool suite available so we upgraded to the Paloma room. Very roomy and had a rustic old mexican charm to it that you just don't get everywhere. Very safe/secure grounds and the pool is very well heated...almost a hot tub. We had a fridge in the room which was super convenient and the suites included a free breakfast for 2 at a nearby restaurant. Totally worth the upgrade price. We stayed in Pueblo Bonito Rose earlier this week and while it had some great amenities, I can't help but loving this more intimate environment.

Room Tip: beds are metal frame and the floor is ceramic so they bed did squeak when we rolled over. easy fix w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
All our staff very much appreciates the compliments and they have worked hard preparing for all the travelers during the hoiidays. The downtown is almost finished with the historic remodel and there are lots of great walking areas and beautiful mexican shops to visit. SanJose has some of the best restaurants in the area and a fun Saturday market a few blocks from the Hotel.
Thank You again for the kind review and please come to visit our wonderful town again!
Best of Travels for the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I found this hotel by reading tripadvisor reviews. We always stay at a smaller hotel or B&B before heading to our timeshare. We were not disappointed in El Encanto Inn. Right now, there is road construction going on at their entrance and therefore between the Pool Suites and Garden Suites. We had reserved a Garden Suite so they upgraded us to a Pool Suite (and I think this would be my preference next time). The pool area was lovely. There is also a little church and a reception area if you desire to have a wedding at this location. It is near the art district - just opposite the entrance is a plaza that has a lovely restaurant inside that opens to the sky --- worth checking out even thought we didn't eat there but other diners said it was GREAT (Voila is it's name). We love to walk and we walked all over San Jose del Cabo, down to the sea of cortez, down the hotel zone, etc. ... during the day, evening, and night and felt safe as we always have for past four years visiting this area.

Room Tip: I liked the Pool units that opened to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for the thoughtful review. The downtown Art District remodel is almost complete and has indeed created a friendly and enjoyable easy walking area weather you are going to the local restaurants/galleries and shops or off to the beach. This time of year the downtown is alive with families and children coming out to enjoy the downtown holiday festive enviroment with live music and performances in the town square. Safe travels to all our guests and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were delighted to happen upon El Encanto. The rooms are lovely, service is friendly, helpful and professional and grounds are lush and peaceful. We were so surprised such an oasis in San Jose del Cabo. The small city itself is worth a visit for sure. Don't spend all your time at the beach. Venture in for a day or two to visit galleries and see how nicely the historic center has been restored. While there, stay at El Encanto. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool suite. I can guarantee that you will enjoy the location and the setting. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank You for your considerate and informative review. We get many travelers from Canada this time of year and enjoy hearing all the winter stories. The downtown historical district is alive with Christmas and the spirit of the New Year. Great to Visit!
Best of travels and holiday greetings from the El Encano staff. Thanks Again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a quite pleasant stay at Encanto Inn at the end of our recent Baja trip.
Encanto has a lovely garden surrounding a pool. People at the front desk were
helpful and friendly--quickly getting us into rooms even though Expedia had not forwarded
our reservation and payment information to them by the time we arrived.
Encanto Inn is well situated-- near the center of town but not in the center where
open air restaurants seem to play music at all hours of day and night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank You for your kind review, Our staff much appreciates the comments. We are located in a very beautiful part of town , in walking distance, to the Art Center,Restaurants and Town activities. The City is just completing our part of the historic downtown restoration. It is beautiful.
Safe Travels and Thanks from all of us wishing you the best of these Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Address: Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn Hotel Spa & Suites, is located in the heart of historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, just steps from Mission San José, surrounded by craft shops, galleries and restaurants, less than 500 meters from the road (Transpennsular hihgway). The beach is a 5 min drive. It also has a Holistic center, which is comprised of a professional team in the fields of: Acupuncture, Chiropractor, nutritionist and wellness facilities (spa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.