We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best small hotel in San Jose del Cabo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto Inn

Save Saved
You added El Encanto Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Encanto Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best small hotel in San Jose del Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you are staying in San Jose and do not want to be at a beach hotel, then this is the place for you. The staff are friendly and speak very good english, the hotel is clean and well maintained and the rooms are comfortable. We had a corner room in the Garden Area that was very large with a kitchen and the room was very well configured. Friends from Loreto Mexico recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed. We stayed there one night on our trip back to Calgary and have booked for our return trip in January. They have parking available in a fenced area. We have stayed at many hotels in the San Jose and Cabo areas and this is one that we will return to with no hesitation. They are a Pet Friendly hotel. The only negative comment would be it is difficult to get to the Garden Suites with the road construction that was taking place at that time. We are hoping that it will be completed when we return at the end of January.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden Suites that are a short distance away from the main pool area so would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank You for your time to let people know about SanJose and our Hotel. Thank Goodness the new road is almost finished. We have had quite an adventure since August accomodating the street crossing. They are placing the final hand made bricks so we are level and have new wide sidewalks.Our guests have been great abouit the inconvenience. We do get a lot of guests traveling from one part of Baja to another or returning home and like to get a flavor of this beautiful small Mexican town. It is with great pleasure we get a chance to show off all the fine qualities of downtown.
Best of Travels to You for the New Year and Thanks again for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    75
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
28
83
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I found this place by doing a Hotels.com search for a specific area in San Jose. I had no idea this place would be so quaint. The grounds are well-kept and the location is ideal if you want to be in El Centro (art district) of San Jose. We had originally booked the Standard room but when we checked in, Edwardo mentioned there was a pool suite available so we upgraded to the Paloma room. Very roomy and had a rustic old mexican charm to it that you just don't get everywhere. Very safe/secure grounds and the pool is very well heated...almost a hot tub. We had a fridge in the room which was super convenient and the suites included a free breakfast for 2 at a nearby restaurant. Totally worth the upgrade price. We stayed in Pueblo Bonito Rose earlier this week and while it had some great amenities, I can't help but loving this more intimate environment.

Room Tip: beds are metal frame and the floor is ceramic so they bed did squeak when we rolled over. easy fix w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
All our staff very much appreciates the compliments and they have worked hard preparing for all the travelers during the hoiidays. The downtown is almost finished with the historic remodel and there are lots of great walking areas and beautiful mexican shops to visit. SanJose has some of the best restaurants in the area and a fun Saturday market a few blocks from the Hotel.
Thank You again for the kind review and please come to visit our wonderful town again!
Best of Travels for the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I found this hotel by reading tripadvisor reviews. We always stay at a smaller hotel or B&B before heading to our timeshare. We were not disappointed in El Encanto Inn. Right now, there is road construction going on at their entrance and therefore between the Pool Suites and Garden Suites. We had reserved a Garden Suite so they upgraded us to a Pool Suite (and I think this would be my preference next time). The pool area was lovely. There is also a little church and a reception area if you desire to have a wedding at this location. It is near the art district - just opposite the entrance is a plaza that has a lovely restaurant inside that opens to the sky --- worth checking out even thought we didn't eat there but other diners said it was GREAT (Voila is it's name). We love to walk and we walked all over San Jose del Cabo, down to the sea of cortez, down the hotel zone, etc. ... during the day, evening, and night and felt safe as we always have for past four years visiting this area.

Room Tip: I liked the Pool units that opened to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for the thoughtful review. The downtown Art District remodel is almost complete and has indeed created a friendly and enjoyable easy walking area weather you are going to the local restaurants/galleries and shops or off to the beach. This time of year the downtown is alive with families and children coming out to enjoy the downtown holiday festive enviroment with live music and performances in the town square. Safe travels to all our guests and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were delighted to happen upon El Encanto. The rooms are lovely, service is friendly, helpful and professional and grounds are lush and peaceful. We were so surprised such an oasis in San Jose del Cabo. The small city itself is worth a visit for sure. Don't spend all your time at the beach. Venture in for a day or two to visit galleries and see how nicely the historic center has been restored. While there, stay at El Encanto. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool suite. I can guarantee that you will enjoy the location and the setting. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank You for your considerate and informative review. We get many travelers from Canada this time of year and enjoy hearing all the winter stories. The downtown historical district is alive with Christmas and the spirit of the New Year. Great to Visit!
Best of travels and holiday greetings from the El Encano staff. Thanks Again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a quite pleasant stay at Encanto Inn at the end of our recent Baja trip.
Encanto has a lovely garden surrounding a pool. People at the front desk were
helpful and friendly--quickly getting us into rooms even though Expedia had not forwarded
our reservation and payment information to them by the time we arrived.
Encanto Inn is well situated-- near the center of town but not in the center where
open air restaurants seem to play music at all hours of day and night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank You for your kind review, Our staff much appreciates the comments. We are located in a very beautiful part of town , in walking distance, to the Art Center,Restaurants and Town activities. The City is just completing our part of the historic downtown restoration. It is beautiful.
Safe Travels and Thanks from all of us wishing you the best of these Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for nine days this September. Even we had a 'rough start' - arrived just after midnight, but no nightwatcher to open the door (tip: if you arriving late, let them know). We had a lovely stay. Our room was very spacy and clean. Our room was at the pool, which was surrounded by an amazing garden. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is just five minutes from the -quite- city center. For beachlovers I would'nt recommend this place, since it's not very close to the beach. But, renting a car solves this problem and you can park 'm free and safe behind the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
ThankYou for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. As you suggested please let us know whenever one has a late arrival and we will accomodate. The downtown Art district is really starting out in a great way this year with new streets in the historic center and designated walking no traffic areas. We have enjoyed the best seson and it is thanks to guests like you that keep us trying to do our best to make your stay enjoyable.
Great travels to you from all the staff at the El Encanto Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed overnight and were assigned the room "Besame Mucho" this detail of naming the rooms as famous songs was a very cute touch after seeing the simple charm of the hotel in the middle of the downtown area.
The view of the gardens and candle ligths set you in a romatic relaxing mode...the service makes you feel at home....just love it, you can;t go wrong if you want to get the true feeling of the town.

Room Tip: Those facing the garden are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We always enjoy hearing from our guests and it puts a special meaning when guests get the time to enjoy the romantic side of our small hotel. all the staff says Thankyou for your kind words and please take the time to visit again.
From all of us at the El Encanto Inn, Safe and pleasant travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Address: Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.