We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went out of their way to make us comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto Inn

Save Saved
You added El Encanto Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Encanto Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Casey, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Went out of their way to make us comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I found this hotel by reading tripadvisor reviews. We always stay at a smaller hotel or B&B before heading to our timeshare. We were not disappointed in El Encanto Inn. Right now, there is road construction going on at their entrance and therefore between the Pool Suites and Garden Suites. We had reserved a Garden Suite so they upgraded us to a Pool Suite (and I think this would be my preference next time). The pool area was lovely. There is also a little church and a reception area if you desire to have a wedding at this location. It is near the art district - just opposite the entrance is a plaza that has a lovely restaurant inside that opens to the sky --- worth checking out even thought we didn't eat there but other diners said it was GREAT (Voila is it's name). We love to walk and we walked all over San Jose del Cabo, down to the sea of cortez, down the hotel zone, etc. ... during the day, evening, and night and felt safe as we always have for past four years visiting this area.

Room Tip: I liked the Pool units that opened to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for the thoughtful review. The downtown Art District remodel is almost complete and has indeed created a friendly and enjoyable easy walking area weather you are going to the local restaurants/galleries and shops or off to the beach. This time of year the downtown is alive with families and children coming out to enjoy the downtown holiday festive enviroment with live music and performances in the town square. Safe travels to all our guests and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    77
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
31
91
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were delighted to happen upon El Encanto. The rooms are lovely, service is friendly, helpful and professional and grounds are lush and peaceful. We were so surprised such an oasis in San Jose del Cabo. The small city itself is worth a visit for sure. Don't spend all your time at the beach. Venture in for a day or two to visit galleries and see how nicely the historic center has been restored. While there, stay at El Encanto. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool suite. I can guarantee that you will enjoy the location and the setting. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank You for your considerate and informative review. We get many travelers from Canada this time of year and enjoy hearing all the winter stories. The downtown historical district is alive with Christmas and the spirit of the New Year. Great to Visit!
Best of travels and holiday greetings from the El Encano staff. Thanks Again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a quite pleasant stay at Encanto Inn at the end of our recent Baja trip.
Encanto has a lovely garden surrounding a pool. People at the front desk were
helpful and friendly--quickly getting us into rooms even though Expedia had not forwarded
our reservation and payment information to them by the time we arrived.
Encanto Inn is well situated-- near the center of town but not in the center where
open air restaurants seem to play music at all hours of day and night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank You for your kind review, Our staff much appreciates the comments. We are located in a very beautiful part of town , in walking distance, to the Art Center,Restaurants and Town activities. The City is just completing our part of the historic downtown restoration. It is beautiful.
Safe Travels and Thanks from all of us wishing you the best of these Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for nine days this September. Even we had a 'rough start' - arrived just after midnight, but no nightwatcher to open the door (tip: if you arriving late, let them know). We had a lovely stay. Our room was very spacy and clean. Our room was at the pool, which was surrounded by an amazing garden. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is just five minutes from the -quite- city center. For beachlovers I would'nt recommend this place, since it's not very close to the beach. But, renting a car solves this problem and you can park 'm free and safe behind the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
ThankYou for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. As you suggested please let us know whenever one has a late arrival and we will accomodate. The downtown Art district is really starting out in a great way this year with new streets in the historic center and designated walking no traffic areas. We have enjoyed the best seson and it is thanks to guests like you that keep us trying to do our best to make your stay enjoyable.
Great travels to you from all the staff at the El Encanto Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed overnight and were assigned the room "Besame Mucho" this detail of naming the rooms as famous songs was a very cute touch after seeing the simple charm of the hotel in the middle of the downtown area.
The view of the gardens and candle ligths set you in a romatic relaxing mode...the service makes you feel at home....just love it, you can;t go wrong if you want to get the true feeling of the town.

Room Tip: Those facing the garden are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We always enjoy hearing from our guests and it puts a special meaning when guests get the time to enjoy the romantic side of our small hotel. all the staff says Thankyou for your kind words and please take the time to visit again.
From all of us at the El Encanto Inn, Safe and pleasant travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona, Utah
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Last year we toured El Encanto hotel and made a note for future reference. This year we needed a room for one night between time shares, having just spent the worst week ever at a high dollar property on Medano Beach. What a surprising difference in attitude and services. The front-desk clerk showed us the room first to make sure we would be pleased, then she allowed us to check in early because one of us was ill. The temperature and humidity were almost unbearable, but because of the clerk's kindness and overall positive attitude a bad situation was turned into the most memorable stay so far of the entire the Baja peninsula. The grounds are beautiful, the room was decorated with the most charming Mexican art items, the new Panasonic A/C worked beautifully, the shower was huge and had good water pressure, they had bathrobes for each guest, the bathroom was beautifully decorated, the toilet handle didn't need jiggling and the seat was screwed on tightly, the free wi-fi worked consistently, there is a small refrigerator and coffee pot in the room so we had a place to keep our beverages cold and to heat the water for hot tea. Since the room rate was so low - around $65 - I could afford a massage in the equally excellent on-site Spa. The spa is a scaled-down version of the nicer spas in Cabo, very clean and professional but best of all, it was cool even with the open windows that made for a fresh air massage. It was charming and relaxing and affordable. The pool area was very relaxing and quiet, and there were no loud parties or music nearby to spoil the mood. We were not double charged, and nothing was missing from our room, so it seems the problems of four or five years ago have been addressed. We are in love with this place, and will remain it's biggest cheerleaders in America.

Room Tip: The walls are very thick here so all of the rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Public Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Our guests have given us the best summer in 3 years. We are pleased you were able to take
advantage of our anniversary specials that we ran this year. Baja has had some of the best rains in 4 years, and all the country side is green. The birds in the estuary are abundant and the desert is alive. We thankyou for your considerate review and all our staff says thankyou for your visit and letting us help you to enjoy this wonderful part of the planet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hola - we just returned from a 4 night stay at El Encanto Inn - what a beautiful treat in the heart of san jose del cabo but just far enough out of town to feel secluded.. The gardens - Oh the gardens are so perfectly manicured and beautiful! The staff - also the most gracious - giving people ever. Dominica was a gem - you will be really lucky to experience such a gracious human being - and Eduardo is a superb host - very helpful with an amazing personality. We had such a fantastic stay there we will definitely returning:) If your looking for the most amazing service in the most well taken care of establishment (away from hotel zone and uber touristy spots) you'd be missing out a true hidden treasure. Will follow up with some photos soon. Muchas Gracias El Encanto. Asta la Vista. xo

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Manager at El Encanto Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Our staff is very grateful for your kind remarks, we have enjoyed a wonderful spring and summer and it is thanks to Guests like you. This year has delivered some of the best rains in several years and our gardens and the wild desert are incredible. All of southern Baja is in bloom, what a beautiful time of year!
Thank you again for you thoughtfull comments, everyone here sends thier Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Address: Morelos 133, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn Hotel Spa & Suites, is located in the heart of historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, just steps from Mission San José, surrounded by craft shops, galleries and restaurants, less than 500 meters from the road (Transpennsular hihgway). The beach is a 5 min drive. It also has a Holistic center, which is comprised of a professional team in the fields of: Acupuncture, Chiropractor, nutritionist and wellness facilities (spa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.