We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort at a great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Real Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Posada Real Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Stanford, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great resort at a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I live in NorCal and decided to take a break from work for a few days, my plan was to just go down to Cabo, check it out and spend most of the day relaxing at the beach.
Posada Real was the best 3+ stars option I was able to find: located on the beach, breakfast and free drinks included with my stay, with pretty decent reviews.
The hotel is located in the "zona hotelera" of San Jose, with a few restaurants and coffee shops not far. Also not far is the Mega store, which is a quite large grocery store and around it there are a bunch of fast food places and shops, like Starbucks, McDonalds, Subway and so on.
The hotel itself is nice and clean. Quite small compared to the other huge resorts you'll see around it, but still with its own bar by the pool, a tacos bar next to the pool, and entertainment every night. The staff is attentive and friendly. The hotel provides you with filtered water dispenser all around the property and two water bottles that you can refill on your own. Next to the beach there's a beach volley field as well as ping pong tables and a tennis court.
I was alone staying in a double twin room, with a medium sized TV set (you can see some channels in english, but most are in spanish - nonetheless they had CNN in english, as well as FOX and ESPN2 in spanish) and a very small patio with garden view. A desk and a table inside the room, as well as a large closet next to the front door - in front of the bathroom. The bathroom consists of a WC, a large sink (I could even wash my shirts a few times there, it's extremely hot in San Jose and you're gonna get drenched in sweat in 10 minutes as soon as you leave the hotel) and a bathtub. AC works great in the room but it's not installed in the corridor to get into your room (and you can feel it).
Drinks by the pool are served quickly and are good. The selection is not that large (maybe also because it's low season so they may not keep as many bottles as they usually do) and they barely put some alcohol in them but that was ok with me. The breakfast menu was quite variegated instead, and the quality was pretty good.
All in all a very nice stay and I'm looking forward to come back. The missing star is due to the fact that it's not a 5 star Hilton, so don't expect brand new furniture or a hundred channels TV or jacuzzi in your room. But it's still a steal for the price. The hotel is very family-oriented and clientele is mainly Mexican but still with quite a few Americans. In general if you're looking to party till dawn you should check out Cabo San Lucas, not San Jose.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    242
    106
    38
    33
See reviews for
120
234
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on one night of a longer vacation in San Jose del Cabo. And it is definitely a hotel, not a resort. For the price, it's average. The rooms, decor and bathrooms were outdated, but at least they were clean. Very noisy. Lots of children and walls seemed thin. Bellman and front desk service were helpful.

Pool had a layer of residue on it, so I did not venture in, but the cabanas and beachside chairs were nice. Okay for a day or two stay. Do not stay here if you're looking for a resort experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Elizabeht;

I really appreciate your comments about the hotel.

I have taken notes about the cleanliness of the swimming pool in order to demand more supervission to our Maitenance department.

I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todos Santos
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Chose this place for a night to feel like a typical tourist visiting San Jose del Cabo, just for kicks....since I had an engagement that evening and didn't want to drive the 50 miles home at night. I was given an upgrade to ocean view room, and everyone on staff was super nice, no matter what job they had. They were all very attentive and seemed to genuinely care about your being pleased. The room was very clean and simple, no frills. But I wasn't expecting any either. The bellman turned the fridge on for me. There were two bottles of water on the desk. Grabbed my laptop and headed to one of the many available beach lounges...wifi and all. Blue bracelet meant I can have anything to drink...so I had a couple of margaritas and a couple of shots of tequila later on....at the swim up bar. Great breakfast included, too. It was very nice to see mostly Mexican guests....not a gringo crowd at all.
Fish tacos were good and my beach server was a doll. I will definitely stay there again whenever I need to crash in San Jose. For the same money as an inexpensive motel, this is quite the bargain for all you get! And you can park your car right there, too. Only drawback is no elevator, or ramp to 2nd or 3rd floor to roll your own bag....but just call a very helpful bellman to be there to assist.

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing stairs, try to get a room as low to the ground as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read that you had a great time in Posada Real Los Cabos.

We will let our staff to know your comments in order to encourage them to continue with the same level of service.

I really appreciate your comments and we hope to serve you again.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We visited in early July for 4 nights. Upon first impression I thought it was old and not very well kept. After inspecting more thoroughly it was old but clean. The food was good and the staff would cook orders to your liking. The ribs were very tasty as well as the fresh quesadillas prepared as you wait. The pool was nice and clean and the view was wonderful. The staff was very helpful and cordial. The concierge was also extremely helpful. Esteban, the bartender at the pool was wonderful. When we showed up at the pool the next day he greeted us with our drinks. The waiter at the pool also provided excellent service. We loved our stay there and had a great relaxing vacation. You cannot swim at the beach because it is facing the Pacific side, and the waves are big and rough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

When we first arrived I didn't like the hotel, it didn't seem like a good price - quality relation, the first room we looked at was a little dark but then we saw the next room with sea view and it was nice, so we stayed with it, during our vacations we got out a lot to a different places but when we stayed at the hotel the waiters were nice to us, like Don José at the buffet or Benito who was in the restaurant near the pool, the hotel is calm just for relaxation, if you are searching for that I really recommend this place, the hotel is not big but that is what it makes it different.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Im from Monterrey Mex. We stayed at the hotel a month ago, everithing was ok for the price we paid, I just think the bartender was very ansious to get tips , thats what i didnt like, Everytime we had to give them a dollar or two, i had a good time but i wont go back .
Soy de monterrey y lo que no me gusto es que el mesero le ponía más atención a los gringos que le daban tips que al que no le daba, había un bartender un poco mamón, pero bueno fue un gusto conocer su hotel, aunque no regresaría

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sergio,
Le agradecemos mucho sus comentarios.
Vamos a investigar quien de los cantineros no está dando el servicio adecuado y platicaremos con él.
Nuestra intención es siempre brindar un buen servicio tanto para nacionales como para extranjeros.

Le ofrezco mis mas sinceras disculpas y ojalá nos de la oportunidad en el futuro de atenderlo nuevamente.

Sinceramente.

La Gerencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband & I went to spend a Saturday afternoon at this hotel last week.
The hotel from outside look quite ok, nice garden with beautiful flowers & cactus.
The food was very good. We ordered Tacos but one thing you should consider on their menu, DO NOT TAKE FRENCH FRIES this is not their especiality.
Staff was very friendly as well

The bad: They only have one pool and 1 Small Jacuzzi.
If you are a couple looking forward to have a romantic vacation, this is not the place to go.
There are kids everywhere and some parents who reacts like kids as well.
Kids even poo in the pool...
The lobby need a good renovation.
Swimming in the sea also I would not recommend as there are too many dangerous waves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Christell;

We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve and keep attentive about our service.

I will talk with our Chef in order to demand him to check over the recipe of the french fries.
As well I will talk with our Maintenance Supervisor about the improvement of the supervision of the pool area.

Due we have promotions with free kids, we have kids in the hotel, but not as many as you are suggesting. This hotel is a Familiar Hotel.

I apologize for the inconveniences you had with us.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#29 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Real Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.