We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel on beach and wonderful food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Real Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Posada Real Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
edmonton alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice hotel on beach and wonderful food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I read a review that said this place was older...and it is...that the food wasn't that good and it was all gone within a short amount of time. the food was wonderful. amazing....and there was plenty of it...lots of variety. we got talked into going to see one of the fancy hotels overlooking cabos san lucas.....with land's end in the background. the food there was terrible at the fancy place. and it was a time share. we got stuck listening to them for way more than the hour and a half they promised.
this hotel you could play tennis or swim or walk up and down the beach or walk into town. they have a bar you can swim up to...kinda cute but we never tried it out. they have entertainment in the lobby and the staff was nice.
we even took a yoga class on the beach the last morning we were there. mexico is beautiful. it was a very nice holiday. they have a huge cactus garden in the center of their hotel. birds like it. I have lots of sunrise and sunset pictures of the beach. it felt very safe there. family friendly and they didn't party all night long and hard in the lobby so sleep was always good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    239
    101
    37
    32
See reviews for
116
230
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Posada Real Los Cabos June 30 to July 6. Three couples - we had a blast! The hotel is right on the beach and is very relaxing. We did ask for the mattress topper to soften up the bed - which I recommend if you don't like it really firm. They have palapas and lounge chairs for everyone. The pool is very nice. We really enjoyed the food - enough choices to take care of everyone. The drinks are not the greatest but we bought beer at the store nearby and walked to town a couple of times as well. It's a short walk to rock and brew where you can have a really nice cocktail or beer and on Friday and Saturday nights they have live bands. We loved it! I would recommend staying here and venturing out a bit. MIght be worth getting a rental car if it doesn't cost too much. It about $40 to get to cabo in a cab - they do have a rental car place on site for $60 a day which we took advantage of one day. If you want a quiet place on the beach, with good food and basic services, I would recommend the Posada. and the staff was great!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the ocean - it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A cozy hotel for those who want to escape the craziness of bigger hotels. This is NOT for you if you like the all-day entertainment staff ("c'mon everybody let's play volleyBALLL!"), lip-synched "shows", kid/teen camps of other hotels; there is none of that here. Instead you get one small pool, a beautiful cactus garden, one small buffet restaurant with excellent food (always at least one item cooked to order available), and pleasant service. There is live music for a couple of hours each night in the lobby. The rooms are indeed plain and could use a makeover, but why are you in your room when there is so much to enjoy outside? The pool area could use a wee bit of organizing in terms of towels (self-serve but often no towels available), and while the waiters work hard, we could only get one to crack a smile (Jeremias, super friendly). The hotel is handy in that you can walk to the nearby Mega store (but beware the timeshare sharks that will follow you around inside). A slightly further walk takes you to the town of San Jose del Cabo (a sleepy counterpart to the dizzying buzz of Cabo San Lucas down the highway), and a few blocks away is a beautiful and rarely advertised estuary and migratory bird sanctuary.

Room Tip: "outer" garden view rooms face small cactus beds and have a view of the ocean, but mostly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

travelled to the Posada Real on June 23 to 30th. I have read the reviews before going, there was a lot of good but a few bad. Thought we would make our own decision when we got there. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED!!! It's a smaller hotel and a bit older, but who cares!! I loved that it was small and it definitly didn't bother that it was a older. Rooms we nice and clean, air conditioner works wonderful. Bed was good was comfy.
Food was great. They only have the one dining area for everything. And yes there may be some same food every day, but they do try to make different food every day also. And it is very tasty. Our waiter Jerimahia was awesome. Thank you for everything!The pool taco stand is awesome! Lots of variety on everything.
lobby bar was good, a bit busy at times but still good. Pool swim up bar is great. A big shout-out to Francisco the bartender at the pool bar,,, he is such a great guy, and is always there to take care of you!! Makes great drinks, not to strong,,, just enuf. We hope to see you again soon!!
There was no nightly entertainment when we were there, maybe cuz it was pretty slow, but we didnt mind. Made our own entertainment.
All in all, it was a wonderful trip. There was 6 of us, one who was a 13 yr old. None of us had anything to complain about. We all had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: we stayed on the lower floor, so we could have 3 rooms together. our rooms were good, can't comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I would rate the property as a whole as 2.5 out of 5 stars. I would rate the room as 2 out of 5 stars. This is a place that is authentically Mexican and most of the guests were Spanish speaking. But also very accommodating to gringos. The food is solidly good, but not amazing. And somewhat lacking in variety. If you like authentic Mexican food as I do, you'll be quite happy. The beach is not swimmable due to riptides, but a few folks waded out regardless. The room was nice, but the bathroom needed a facelift. For the price and experience, I would recommend this place. If you're looking for an upscale property, this is the wrong place to stay. PS - the beds tend to be stiff - but we run into this everywhere in Mexico.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I were married in January on the beach in front of the Posada Real. We had 20 guests staying at the hotel for our event and every one of them left thoroughly impressed. The hotel staff is friendly and engaged, working to make your stay excellent. As a bride, even I managed to relax and have fun a bit before my wedding, which anyone who is married will know is no small feat! Staff like Urbano and Benito stand out and by the end of our stay they felt like friends. We missed them so much we went back four months later, and intend to continue to head down whenever we can. If the Posada Real can take on a wedding, they can take on anything. I highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I took a little drive from San Diego to Cabo San Lucas. Cabo san Lucas was way too much for us, we're used to a slower passed Mexico. Cabo San Lucas is like going to Los Angeles. Stayed our first night at a glitz and glamor condo which was not for us. San Jose Del Cabo at the Posada Real was just the ticket. The hotel is a little old as in style, but for Mexico standards it was perfect for us. The room was clean, bed was firm and had a view of the ocean from the balcony. The staff was EXCELENT; the bell boy, desk manager, bar tenders, waiters were all very kind at every request. We only stayed one night and when we left it felt like we were leaving family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Real Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.