We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Real Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Posada Real Los Cabos to your Saves list
Posada Real Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Pritchard, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is my second time staying here - it used to be a Best Western three or four years ago, now it has changed hands but the good service has not changed one bit. Perhaps not the fanciest of hotels on the ocean but then it doesn't cost hundreds a night either. What one lacks in novel frills from the expensive resorts, this hotel more than makes up for in first class service. Great guests and a place where one truly feels comfortable. I will definitely stay here again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: I didn't know there were any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    244
    108
    38
    33
See reviews for
123
236
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent 10 days in this resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are large enough, though could use some TLC. Very clean and excellent service. There are so many servers to bring you wine, beer or coffee and are always appreciative of any tip you give them ;-) Breakfast is buffet PLUS there is a chef to prepare your choice of omelets.
The buffet (yes, for every meal!) is sufficient and you will always find something to your liking, be it vegetarian, fish, chicken or beef. The desserts are awesome!
This hotel is a low-rise - we stayed on the 1st floor facing the pool and had a lovely view of the ocean. You must ask for this, otherwise you may end up in the back.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 144 - Bed was extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I read the reviews on this resort before I left and I was scared. The hotel is a little dated but very clean and the grounds are kept immaculate. The staff were awesome.... Jose, Francisco, Jeremiah, Gabriel, and my man Urbano were friendly and catered to our every need. Breakfast was fantastic, I always got an omelet but there were bagels and french toast. From 11am till 5pm then beach bar served tacos hamburgers real clubhouse sandwiches and salsa to die for. Dinner was not so great but I always managed to find something. Knowing dinner may be iffy I always grabbed something from the beach bar at 4ish just in case. In all the reviews I never saw the fact that you could sit in a lounge chair on the beach and watch whale breaching twice a day without moving off the chair. For a buck you can ride into town and shop or drink. Just outside the resort is a Mega store in case you forgot something.12.00 Almond tequila at mini mart around the corner..... The resort is quiet at night ..... partiers went to town. Cool mornings but that just gave you a reason to take a walk or shop or sleep in ;) There is no reason I wont go back to this resort..... Thanks Guys for a great vacation. There is a bar owned by a Canadian in Los Cabos formerly called the Corner Bar. Write your name on the wall there .... she loves Canadian choc. bars

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 5 days. Very clean, very freindly people and staff. We were happy with the experience. The weather was not nice 73 degrees and we could not get in the ocean. Breakfast great, We did not eat any other meals except fish tacos from the bar - excellent. Great experience at the bar and good entertainment except the last night when the drunk ruined it for all by interupting the two musicians. Bartenters great, staff freindly, and very hard working people. We walked on the beach, ate downtown, took two trips to Cabo, seen whales from shore, took a boat ride to lovers beach and beyond ( great boat captain and great tour), and had a fantastic time. We took advantage of all aspects of the Posada. A few tips for people- we ate twice at Shooters great tacos and beer about $2.50. We ate Giant shrimp $28 and $2 beers at another place downtown. We ate twice in Cabo both reasonalble on the beach with beers about 2.50. We rode into Cabo twice the bus cost $3 one way taxi $40. Catch the bus to Cabo at the mega store across from the MacDonalds.Taxi downtown $7 with $2 tip. You can easiily walk downtown we are in our 60's and walked. The boat taxi to lovers beach in Cabo is $10 each but remember tips to get off the beach and tip to the boat driver to give you a tour. We paid $50 in all the tip $20 to the boat driver well worth it. At the hotel I tipped the room cleaning lady $4 each day, I gave the bartender 50 pasos to begin each night and had about 10 -8 ounce beers my wife two drinks. I tipped the breakfast $2 each morning. These are not great tips but I believe I should tip for these services. Most people are from either Canada or Mexico with very few Americans. We met more people at this resort than we have in all the other resorts 5 put together that we been to in Mexico. Very nice and interesting people. Loved it but could not get into the water except for the one time at lovers beach. The beach at Posada not swimable becasue of the current but I think you can buggy board and play around in the ocean. WE HAD A GREAT TIME AND MADE THE BEST OF ALL SITUATIONS.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I wished we could have had a King bed but so what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is not a new hotel. Its dated. The staff keep it very clean.
The layout of the buffet area isn't optimal, but the food provided is fresh and tasty. The breakfast quesadillas with freshly made corn tortillas were my favorite. But the cinnamon french toast was a close second.
The ceviche is simply amazing at the pool bar/restaurant. The all inclusive bar drinks and service were good. The made from scratch mohito's were delicious. The pool was inviting, but 70 degree high temperatures were a bit of a draw back.
Whale watching from under a palapa on the beach was a great way to spend a relaxing afternoon.
We had an amazing sunrise view over the ocean every morning from our "partial ocean view" room while lying in bed even.
If you're looking for a 5 star resort, keep looking, but if you're looking for value, good food, and friendly service, you should give the Posada Real a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunn
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our 18th visit to Posada Real. We met some old friends and made some new ones. That is the kind of place that the Posada Real is. It is not a resort nor does it claim to be. It's clean and has the absolute best staff you could ever ask for.Urbano at he front desk is the nicest, hard working man you will ever meet. He is always willing to help you out with what ever you need. People ask us all the time why do you keep going back to the Posada Real? One visit there will tell you. If you are looking for the resort type setting do not go here. We choose the breakfast only option because we like to explore the area and find new places to eat, as well as go to some of our favorite eating places in San Jose. I fish from shore every morning if I am not on a boat. This year the fishing was not as good as usual, I guess the water was cooler than normal. I try to go to the marina most afternoons to see what the boats have been catching and it was also a little slow, a few small dorados, sierra, and a couple of strip marlin. We were in Los Cbaos for 11 days this year all were spent at the Posada Real. I wish the hotel would give you a discount after 15 years. Just kidding, if you are looking for a friendly small clean hotel where you will feel like you are home go to the Posada Real, if you are into the big resorts then go some where else you won't be happy here. Thanks to ALL the staff at the Posada Real, you once again made our vacation!!!!

Room Tip: I would ask for an even number room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest;

We really appreciate your comments about your stay with us, moreover because are coming from a frequent guest like you.

We hope to see you soon again with us

Sincerely.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited the Posada Real because we have been to Cabo several times before and always stayed at the Royal Solaris. We wanted to try something new for a change and we heard from other guests that stayed at the Posada Real that the food was good.

When we arrived at the hotel, it was about noon and check-in time isn't 3pm so we had to wait. We finally got to check-in and when we booked through our travel agent, we payed for a partial ocean view room. This wasn't the case for our friends who were told by the hotel that they got a garden view room. Our friends complained to the guy at the desk that they did pay for a partial ocean view which he said "thats not our problem, you have to take this up with your travel agent". He refused to call the travel agent because it was long distance so instead our friends had to phone the travel agent long distance using their cell phone. Luckily the travel agent was still open so they were able to phone the hotel back to have them change it to a partial ocean view. We asked to see about getting a full ocean view room and wanted to look at the room first before deciding to take it or not. It was not even 5 minutes by the time we looked at it and came back to the desk where they then said "sorry, somebody else took it now" (throughout our stay we never saw anyone in that hotel room). We ended up settling for a partial ocean view by our friends.

With the exception of one, our rooms didn't have a fridge so they wanted us to pay about $4 USD a day to have a fridge. None of the bars had water bottles so we had to save the ones the maids gave to us and refill them at the water coolers. The rooms aren't very soundproof so you hear everyone walking down the hallway and the rooms next door. The room keys are very outdated and they use a piece of plastic with a bunch of holes punched in it to open the door (which can be very easily duplicated). The electricity in the room won't turn on unless you put a key in the switch and they won't give you more then two keys so you always have to take your key out and put it back in when your coming or going.

Now for our stay at the hotel. The food wasn't that great and they had a limited selection. There's no a la carte restaurants like at the others where you get better food and service. A few times we ate at the buffet at the hotel we didn't get asked once what we'd like to drink. The pool food wasn't bad, they had a menu that you could order from and they cooked it right there. The pool service was slow, it would take 45-60 minutes for someone to come by and get your drinks so we usually just went up ourselves to get them. The lobby bar had good shows and music on in the evenings which were fun. However, the lobby bar closes right at 11pm so it pretty much dies down cause everyone goes to bed. The one thing that was nice about this hotel compared to the Royal Solaris was how small and quiet this hotel is. They aren't out at the pool at 9am blaring music and screaming on the microphone. There isn't as many guys on the beach trying to sell you stuff, there isn't any guys trying to sell you timeshares and you don't have to pay $70 USD a week to use their WiFi.

Overall, this hotel is OK. It's nothing to write home about but it is a 3 star hotel so you get what you paid for. I have been to many all inclusive resorts before and it doesn't seem to matter which one you pick, there is always some way they try to get you. This hotel has many areas that they can improve on in order to get people to come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second or third floor because people can break into room and you might end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your comments. We will consider them to improve our services.
With regards the fridge, we have taken the decision to do no charge about this item, considering that we have few of them in our rooms.

Again, thank you for your feed back.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Real Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.