We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vacation - Very friendly staff good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Real Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Real Los Cabos to your Saves list
Posada Real Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Leandro, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good vacation - Very friendly staff good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here from 11/16/2012 to 11/22/2012. We traveled to Cancun, Mexico 2 times before and this is our 3rd time. Comparing to the cost I would give this Hotel 5 stars. The food is good, very friendly staff and over all, it is quite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    301
    135
    45
    37
See reviews for
154
302
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I know when I booked this hotel it was a budget one and I am still rating this a 2 even on that scale. I will list all the problems that I had with the hotel first. The water smelled like sulphur every time we had to take a shower. When we went outside the front it smelled like sewage. The rooms were very loud. We could hear everything in the rooms next to us and everything that was going on outside. The food was very bad and very expensive. I booked a room with my girlfriend and they gave us a room with 2 beds and told us that they had no rooms available with a single bed.
Now for some of the good things about the hotel. The pool area was very nice and not loud like a lot of other resorts. It wasn't a party place which made it nice for us. It is right on the beach and has very easy access. It is close to the airport. The people at the front desk were nice and we had no problems with them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Everything about this hotel is good. Great staff (it really shows that they like they like working here), good variety of food every meal, clean, quieter family resort, entertainment every evening, pools, great beach, walking distance to town and Mega. Would definitely stay here again! and bring my family, have already recommended this place to many friends and family.

Room Tip: I was in a room with "partial ocean view" close to the lobby. Was perfectly fine. Will tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer, canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at Posada Real in 1986, again in 1996 and now in 2012. It has retained its authentic Mexican flavour and has the most enjoyable staff! Benito at the poolside bar is fantastic, remembers your drinks and is a great worker. Yes, hotel is older, well maintained and the garden is wonderful. Pool is fine and the best part is that you are literally on the beach...out of the pool, straight to the beach. Very helpful staff at this hotel. Short decent walk to downtown San Jose and very short walk to Mega for supplies! Small but very decent and very good buffet. You get what you pay for...you can't expect 5 star food and accommodation when you pay 3 star prices. All was great, had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Third floor has best views, all inside balconies slant so each room has a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Posada Real Los Cabos for 4 days. Our stay included breakfast and drinks. The hotel is older but well maintained. After reading previous reviews, we were aware of some of the "problems" but were pleasantly surprised to find that we had absolutely no problems during our stay. We enjoyed eating at the pool bar and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate and filling. As far as flies and birds landing on the food, the management has done a good job of installing netting and food covers. We saw maybe 2 flies the entire time we were eating and one sparrow who managed to find his way in but was more charming than bothersome. We requested a room in a "quiet location" and were happy with the location which faced the cactus garden yet was far enough from the pool area to avoid the bar noise. Other guests included all ages, including families and a group of young 20-somethings who all seemed to have a good time. Yes, the bar closes "early" for anybody wanting the "Cabo San Lucas Party Scene" so if you plan on staying out all night doing shots of tequila, plan on partying elsewhere. As older adults, we appreciated the quiet after 10pm. The staff were all charming and helpful and we are more than happy to report that we will stay here again in the future. We walked into the town of San Jose Del Cabo several times; the streets were wide with good sidewalks. We caught a taxi back after dinner for $5. Cute town, but not a whole lot to see other than some nice galleries, a few stores and several good restaurants and bars. We felt safe the entire time we were out and about.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the side facing inwards where the cactus garden was. The lobby leads directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is an old Mexican property that has the friendliest staff, good food and comfortable accommodations.
If you are looking for 5 star resort amenities, this is not the place. This place has a couple bars, one main restaurant and no elevator. The food was great! I was surprised. The cocktails lacked zip, but the wine was better than expected. We passed on the beer knowing that it is usually tap beer and not cold enough. The breakfast buffet had an omelet station, as well as all the usual favorites, both Mexican and traditional breakfast foods. Coffee was good.
We had the best ceviche for lunch at the beach and the guacamole was excellent. Dinner buffet was good as well. A different theme each night, and the entrees were really tasty and well prepared.
Our room was ok. It had everything my friend and I needed for our quick girlfriend getaway. I prefer softer pillows, but had no problems sleeping. Could that have been because of the all inclusive rate? Maybe! This place was priced right, could not have been friendlier, and I will return. The pool was large, the beach was clean and had a roped off area that prevented most vendors from spoiling my solitude. Plenty of palapas, and Benito, the waiter at the pool/beach area was superb! He remembers our drinks, and our preferred lounge chairs!
Urbano the manager was also extremely accommodating. Our ac broke and he made sure we had a room right away and we asked for an upgrade to an ocean front room. He gave us one and only added a small charge. He also let us have an additional hour at check out. The hotel was not full, but it certainly had a nice crowd of fishermen, as well as Mexican families on holiday.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for the ocean front rooms. There are huge palms blocking most of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassville, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I booked at the Pasada for a romantic getaway. Romantic was not the case at all. First of all they put us in the wrong room. Secondly the pictures are very beautiful online and taken about 15 years ago. The pool had water in it but all the beautiful fountains were empty/or had nice greenish yellow dirty water. Our package included all the food and drinks. However they dont tell you that 1 resturant is closed and the other is Buffet only. No one goes on vacation to eat a buffet the whole time. We also learned that after we arrived that the Posada Real is 35-40 minutes from down town Cabo San Lucas and that is cost 35.00US to go there, one way. It also rained while we stayed there, we woke up to a wet bed, standing water in our floor and a $1500.00 camera sitting on a table with a leak right above it. When we told the front desk they did handle the matter after a little argument. Also the pool bar closed at like 6pm too. After that you just get drinks in the lobby. Oh and in an attempt to be conservative as soon as you walk out of your room the electricity shuts off. So no air, no charging a cell phone, and did I say no air... Meaning whenever you return it is so hot you cant stand it. But the a/c unit is horrible anyhow our froze up the second night. Worst experience ever. Where I booked said it was a 4 star resort. Now I know that is because that website had 3 reviews only. No one person should be fooled like we were!!!! Please take my advice and avoid this place. We moved to another resort for our last 3 days and it was AMAZING and was the same money as this place. How crazy is that!!! Suite with air all the time, 6 bars, all inclusive, 4 resturants, 5 minutes from down town San Lucas and live music and a show every night. For the same money as the Posada Real!!! Im telling you shop around this is not the place for you!!!! HORRIBLE!!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest;

Please, accept our apologizes about the inconveniences you had with us.

Taking advantage of your complaint, we want to do some comments.
You told us that you wanted to change to another hotel because you wanted be close to Cabo San Lucas. Effectively Posada Real Los Cabos is located in San Jose del Cabo and there is 19 miles between both places. You can transport there by taxi that it cost $ 35.00 USD or by public bus that charges $ 2.00 USD.

Your camera was repaired and delivered to your travel agency representative in order to be given it to you. By the way you told us that the camera had a price of $ 1,000.00 USD, not $ 1,500.00 USD.

Unfortunately during your stay we had the storm Paul that affected our hotel, as well as affected others.

We are happy to tell you that next December we will be changing the AC equipment in one of our buildings, as well as the TV.

You are right, our hotel is small but we always try to do our best, we understand that some times we couldn't fulfil the expectatives of some of our guests. In tripadvisor we have almost four hundred comments.

Please, accept again our apologizes for the inconveniences.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Real Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.