We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small resort with a great attitude.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Real Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Real Los Cabos to your Saves list
Posada Real Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small resort with a great attitude.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Posada Real is a small resort on the ocean. The Climate is great.Not as humid as areas like the Caribean . The staff here are genuine and very friendly. I think they enjoy working here. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Walking distance to some big stores if you happen to need anything during your stay. Great place for families. I have seen allot of young families here having a great time. Take the bus to Cabo Wabo Cantina and enjoy the music of Sammy Haggar along with allot of guest rockers. The food here is great and fresh although I didn't like the breakfast that much. If you are all inclusive you can order room service for a mere $3.80 U.S dollars. It arrive freshly cooked. Overall a great place for the price.

Room Tip: Ask an ocean view room on the third floor to get a nice view from the balcony. You can upgrade to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    258
    113
    39
    35
See reviews for
128
251
32
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed for a week on an all-inclusive package deal and loved our time there. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Highlights for us included:
- the pool, which was perfectly located near the beach and had a swim up bar;
- there was heaps of food and there was lots of variety;
- the rooms were clean and quiet;
- it was located near a mega centre, so we could easily wonder up and buy anything we needed;
- they have table tennis, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, tennis and a few other activities.
- the gardens were really well maintained.

All in all, i would say it is an ideal place for families or couples, especially if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a small resort that probably caters more to nationals than the mainstream North American markets. It was very clean, relaxing and quiet. The grounds feature a cactus garden rather than a large pool, and it was very pretty, plus it attracted lots of birds so there was birdsong. Our room was large, comfortable, clean, and the balcony was a lovely treat - unlike some hotels the balcony is decent sized and pleasant to sit on. Beds and pillows were pretty hard. We were given a third floor room, and it was niiiiice, gorgeous view. Housekeeping was early, friendly, very efficient and helpful.
Never had any problems finding a palapa and loungers on the beach - each palapa had 2 adirondack type chairs and 2 loungers so that was really nice. There was drink service on the beach too- very attentive and pleasant. If you like walking or running on the beach you'll be in heaven - there is a bit of a slope down to a very flat and packed beach that goes for miles in either direction - very comfortable and happy to walk on. You can wade in the water but it was too rough to play in, and due to riptides and undertows it is not recommended anyway. There were gorgeous huge rollers coming in, and in the afternoon you can see fish literally jumping out of the water. We saw some dolphins one day, which would explain the fish jumping. There are some very upscale resorts sharing this beach in either direction.
Front desk staff were just amazing - super friendly, super helpful, super speedy service - gracias mujeres! Food at the beach and main restaurant was decent to darned good - the fish tacos and tuna salad at the beach bar were to die for, as was the fish every night in the main restaurant (and I am not a fish lover!) The rest of the food was OK, better than some places I've been. They also have excellent chilaqueles and papaya at brekkie, so who could ask for anything more?

The only downer were some of the waiters - slow, inattentive, absent, occasionally unfriendly. At least they were this way to everyone, so it wasn't just us, but they could spoil a happy buzz pretty quickly. We had to get our own coffee some mornings, and stopped by the lobbly bar to get drinks on our way in to dinner,as a way to deal with them. But there were some great waiters too - Freddy at the beach bar, and Lucio and Angel in the restaurant were wonderful, gracias amigos.
We found the Posada to be a very charming, peaceful and nice place to stay - great value and more authentic feel than some bigger places. We would be very happy to come back here again, and recommend it to people who are practical and unpretentious.

Room Tip: higher up rooms have more ocean view. there is an empty lot on one side of the building so rooms ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

There is no way to sugar coat it. Either you are going to hate the Posada Real or you are going to love it. It all boils down to what you are looking for.

If you want a mega resort with glitzy entertainment, several restaurants and all the bells and whistles, keep looking. If you want simply want to enjoy a killer view of the Sea of Cortez without fighting crowds of people for a lounge chair the Posada Real is a bargain. You just have to overlook a few things. Well quite a few things.

The Posada Real is a small property by Cabo standards. There is a single pool with a swim up bar. It has a small section roped off for smaller children. There is a spa, but the jets don’t seem to function and the temperature ranged from lukewarm to mildly hot. The pool isn’t heated, but in a climate that usually averages in the mid to upper 80’s, who cares.

The advantage to being a small property is that you don’t have to stake a claim to lounge chairs or umbrellas early in the morning. There were always plenty of places to sit. Adjacent to the pool and bar was one of the two places at the Posada Real where you could get food – the Wahoo Poolside Taco Bar. From 11 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. you could order nachos, fish tacos, quesidillas, club sandwiches, French fries, hamburgers, onion rings and ice cream. Most of the food is heavily fried but goes well with the cold Cerveza or Margaritas that poolside servers readily provide.

The Posada Real offers various “all-inclusive” options when you book a room. You can opt to pay as you go or for all-inclusive drinks only or all-inclusive drinks and meals. If you choose an all-inclusive option you are required to wear a wrist band throughout your stay. You are provided a warning that if you lose the wrist band you are subject to a $50 fee. You are also warned about abusing your “all-inclusive” privileges by trying to order excessive amounts of food or drink or ordering food or drinks for people not staying at the hotel. The only time this came up was when we would order several food items at a time from the Wahoo Taco Bar (I was ordering for my family of four). I was asked what my room number was and how many people I was ordering for.

The other eating option is the Cactus Restaurant. The website bills it as a full service restaurant, but essentially it is a buffet. And although the hotel literature refers to it as a “lavish” buffet, it is pretty much your basic buffet. They vary the food slightly from day to day with different themes. We arrived on Tuesday night which was Prime Rib night. That was followed by Caribbean night, Mexicano night, Americano night, International night and a couple other themes I can’t remember. We only ate at the Cactus Restaurant for breakfast and dinner so I can’t speak to the lunches.

Don’t expect gourmet food, but there is plenty of it. And there is enough variety that you can eat there daily and not get overly bored. My kids loved the fact that they could get cereal at every meal. One thing lacking was anything creative for dessert. Service was also spotty at best. You could have wine with dinner if you could get a server’s attention. And they seemed non-existent until you were ready to leave and they came by for a tip.
The restaurant offers both inside and patio seating. Most of the food is located on the patio. Be forewarned that there is an aggressive bird population that bypasses the hotels makeshift efforts to deter them and feasts off the buffet at every opportunity. We passed on more than one dish that we’d witnessed a bird sitting on.

We booked a double room with a partial ocean view, but I upgraded to a suite when we arrived at the hotel. The suites are essentially two adjoining rooms, each with a separate entrance and balcony. One room has a king bed and the other a sofa sleeper. Our sofa sleeper was permanently opened as a bed and couldn’t be closed. It was fine because our children like to lay there to watch television in the mornings. Both beds were extremely hard.

The room with a sofa sleeper also included a small wet bar with a refrigerator. The catch was that you had to pay an extra fee to actually use the refrigerator. I think it was 40 pesos a day. There was a coffee pot, but on a couple of occasions the housekeeper didn’t replenish the coffee packets.
The sitting room also had its own bathroom with a large shower. The sleeping room had a combination shower/tub. Hot water was practically non-existent in the shower. They provide a limited number of towels and they are on the thin side. Both rooms were equipped with overhead air conditioning units with remote controls that didn’t seem to work so you either boiled or froze during the night.

The rooms have safes, but you have to request a lock and key from the front desk and there is yet another fee if you lose the key. They also provide bottled water in the room, but there is a fifty cent charge per bottle if you don’t refill them yourself from the bottles located in the hallways on all floors.
The hotel has three floors and no elevators, so if you can’t do stairs, opt for the first floor. The bonus for having a suite is that they overlook the beach and the Sea of Cortez (although the view is blocked a bit by palm trees. Although we had two balconies, we only had two chairs between them. And the balconies have very short rails so if you have small children you need to be very careful.

The Posada Real offers a limited room service menu with a small fee even if you are on the all-inclusive plan. It is about $3. I wouldn’t recommend it. We ordered breakfast one morning. It took several tries to find someone in the kitchen who spoke English and when the food finally arrived it looked very much as if it was simply dished up from the breakfast buffet.

Entertainment is pretty much non-existent. There was a keyboard player one evening and a singer another night. I think they had karaoke one night as well. Other entertainment options include a ping pong table, a tennis court, beach volleyball and a miniature golf course.
The hotel does have a “mini” gym if you want to work out while you are on vacation. It is so small that they don’t include it in their virtual tours on the hotel website. It has a single treadmill, an elliptical machine and a stair climber. I think I was the only person who had used the gym in quite some time.

The gym is located next to a small business center that has two computers with Internet access. The hotel offers free wireless access in rooms and public areas, but it gives only spotty service at best.
The Posada Real is located within walking distance of a small shopping center that includes a Mega Store. It is a grocery and department store so it is a great place to pick up just about anything you may have forgot to pack. The hotel has a small store, but the prices are extremely high and the selection is limited. There is also a Starbucks and a McDonald’s located in the same shopping area. The McDonalds has a large, air conditioned play area for smaller children.

Across the highway from the Mega Store is where you can catch public transportation to Cabo San Lucas. It costs about 23 pesos per adult each way (just under $2). A cab will cost you about $50 USD. It only took us about 20 minutes to get to Cabo on the bus. It drops you off by the central shopping mall in downtown Cabo.

If you want to check out downtown San Jose Del Cabo from the Posada Real, I recommend taking public transportation as well. The bus stops on the road right in front of the hotel. It costs about 10 pesos per adult and will drop you off right in the center of the town where there are some nice restaurants, shopping and a historic church.

With all of the quirks of the Posada Real, you probably get the impression that I didn’t like it. But in reality I found it quite charming and authentic. It offers a taste of Mexico and a chance to get to know locals without the pretense of a larger resort. It’s location is fantastic and all it took to forget about some of the minor glitches was to step out onto the balcony and listen to the waves crashing on the pristine beach.

Room Tip: If you want the best views, opt for the suites. The first floor suites offer easy access from your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were greeted warmly when we checked into the hotel...within 5 minutes of being in our room we realized our daughter had lost her passport. We went down to the lobby and the staff was instantly on top of it. The were making phone calls and trying to track down the shuttle we rode in. They told us not to worry...made us 2 strong strawberry margaritas and sent us to the pool...1 hour later they came down and had the passport! They truly went above and beyond what they needed to! We felt like we had been greeted as family members and can't wait to go back! The view from our room was great! The food was great. The sit down meals were more on the authentic side and good! The food area by the pool had everything! The beach was so clean I couldn't believe it. Also...the vendors stayed behind the ropes and did not bother us while we were sitting at the beach. Can't wait to go back and take the whole family!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and was facing the cactus garden. It was a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Wow, if your looking for a place to stay that still has a more local feel, This is not for you if you are wanting a 5 star resort or perfect interior. but if you are ok with decent accomodations, free wifi, nice pool, great service from the servers.. Fransciso, bartender, Benito and Freddy were are beach servers... always there to get your drinks with a smile. Also Free drinks who could ask for more, this allowed us to try alot of drinks and booze or no booze.
Pool towels always readily avaialble, wifi was great for being in contact with home, Breakfast buffet was perfect, fresh fruit, pasteries and diferent dishes, People who complain about the little birds need to go pay 500.00 a night for the Hilton, the birds barely come in and they have nets up to try to keep them out. so get real people. We met alot of very nice people mostly from Canada , Becca and Gavin, whom we hope to visit someday. : )
I ate fish tacos from the snack bar daily. I loved them, fresh guacomole, and salsa..
I will do my best to visit Posada year after year now, this year was our first stay.
If you have any questions feel free to ask.. our bathtub was perfect, cleaned nicely everyday.
I hope this place doesnt change !!! Loved it..

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We just returned from a 2 week stay Apr 13-27 at the Posada and to say we were delighted by the place would be an understatement. We found San Jose del Cabo to be a delight, the laid back atmosphere suited us to a Tee. The beaches are wonderful and the climate was fantastic.

From the moment we checked in we were made to feel as if we were at home. The girls on the front desk were always polite, friendly & professional and went out of their way to help. Urbano(?) impressed me with his management skills upgrading our rooms when all my wife did was ask if we had a view of the ocean as we didn't. He also greeted us the rest of our stay whenever our paths crossed.

The restaurant - we found there was always something that we enjoyed. The theme nights were great and as we were there 2 weeks we went through the cycle twice & found that even on the same night, eg International Night, the food was different each time. The quality of the food was good and at times very good. It was what we expected. There was a variety and some things were better than others. There was always ample salads, fruit, drinks & desserts in addition to the main courses. Breakfast, lunch & dinner were all buffets but exceptionally good buffets - I would rate the overall quality of food 8.5 out of 10. The service in the restaurant was first class, form the two Captains Jose & Gabrielle (who also hosted Karaoke night & did a fine job) to all of the waiters especially Jose, Juan, Lois,Ezekial.

The Lobby Bar - while it was only open until 11:00 we found this suited us again. We found the service very good and especially when Angel, who also prepared delicious flaming desserts in the restaurant, was serving.

The snack bar & pool bar - the food from the snack bar was very good, quesidillas, tacos, fries and other things. The quesidillas were the best. This is where the service really excelled Bonito and Freddy, what a pair! With temperatures reaching 34C they were still hopping and went about their job in a professional manner. How they could keep up the pace in that weather I will never know.

The maid service was good and again they were always friendly.

The hotel itself is older but well maintained, we had a leaky tap the day we arrived but once we mentioned it to the front desk it was fixed withing 30 minutes. As this is a small hotel approx 140 rooms it gives you a chance to meet people both guests & staff and this is what really sticks in my mind. We met some very nice people who we hope to see again (and that includes the staff), had this been a mega hotel we would never have had the chance to meet these people.

Overall we would have to say our experience was excellent, we enjoyed the food, the staff, the other guests, the location and the atmosphere. I was particularly thrilled to watch whales breaching from the beach in front of the hotel after we had been told by locals they had left long ago - this was the icing on the cake. I'm already checking into dates for next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view of the Cactus Garden, 2nd & 3rd floor rooms get a partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Real Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.