We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel with lots of freebies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Suites Las Palmas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Suites Las Palmas to your Saves list
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Transpeninsular KM 31, Col. Magisterial, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel & Suites Las Palmas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Richmond, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great motel with lots of freebies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in February 2014. We chose this motel based on the reviews and the great Priceline deal we got. I wasn't expecting a lot for the low price but I was truly wowed! The motel has free Wi-Fi that works really well. This is priceless in Cabo. We were able to walk nearly everywhere. Walmart is one block away, there are several sushi place (check out Mi Sushi), a bakery next door & across the street, bus stop very close and downtown is about a 15 min walk. The rooms are large with a daybed that has a trundle in the living area, a microwave, small refrigerator and 2 stove burner. The bedroom is completely separate with a door. The downsides are the breakfast (very minimal choices, not even bagels), the shower head is terrible, we only had two bath towels and no additional towels were added (we borrowed some from the maid cart) and the noise near our room (we were next to the pool). However, the exceptional service by the employees and the low cost make up for these minor issues. Keep in mind that the majority of excursions are out of Cabo, which is a 30-45 min bus ride for $3 each. There are few things to do in San Jose. However, I would not hesitate to stay here again and just take the bus to Cabo.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio N, Manager at Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing you experience with us, we appreciate it.

For your convenience we are improving our breakfast menu: and we will also check with our maintenance department about you issue with the shower head.

All your comments help us to consider the ups and downs we have and better yet, it help us to improve our services, thanks again.

Hope to have the opportunity to serve you in your next stay in Los Cabos.

Sincerely,
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
12
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This little motel comes with breakfast in the morning and is ideal for business people,small families and anyone traveling to Cabo on a budget. It is not located on the ocean side of the highway, but does have a nice pool that is partly shaded. You can walk to two different sushi restaurants, an italian place and a couple of fast food type places, as well as an Oxxo for convenience items and liquor. My room was very clean and comfortable, had a kitchenette and a small couch to lounge on. The finishings were new adn contemporary. The staff was very helpful, friendly and welcoming and I found my one night there quiet and restful. Don't expect that during spring break though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio N, Manager at Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear Shari,

Thank you, we appreciate your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comment will help us to improve our service and to keep us all working hard to serve you as you deserve, we will forward your very informative info to all our staff and congratulate them in their good job.

We are looking forward to have the opportunity to have you with us in your next stay in Cabo.

Sincerely,
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are of the idea that a hotel shouldn't have to entertain you, then this place is for you!
Located very close to the beach, and extremely clean!
Rooms are small and tvs are tubes but if you traveled to los cabos to admire the size of your room and watch tv, then you came to los cabos for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio N, Manager at Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel, we always strive to make our guests feel comfortable during their stay.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

When arrived to the hotel, they told me that I didn't have any reservation. So, as soon as I got back home called them to make a complain and said that they did have a reservation and I was the one didn't show up when that was a lie!... they offered me to find another hotel but I said no... luckily I had family there so I stayed with them . They still charged me with the full price!! I will never go there and will provide information to all I know what they did!..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My purpose for booking this particular hotel was for its proximity to the bus stop - as I flew in to San Jose del Cabo and planned to catch a bus north the following day. This hotel was simply an overnight for me and not a vacation stay.

The walls/windows were a little thin, the fixtures were a little outdated, the wifi was weak. The people were very nice and professional and the room was clean. Quite clean. In fact, it's been a while since I've walked on a tile floor and picked up *nothing* on the bottoms of my bare feet.

Breakfast is a voucher for a limited menu at a real restaurant - no skimpy stale bagels and thermos coffee here!

Overall, I got what I needed: a clean bed, a good breakfast, and a short walk to the bus stop the next morning. I will most likely stay here again for an overnight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio N, Manager at Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the compliments. Our talent is dedicated to ensuring each of our guests have a comfortable stay.

We have been improving our services, so next time you come to Cabo can give us the opportunity to serve you again, so you see we can do better.

Regards,
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's kinda like the motels you'd find in a small town along the highway in North America... Fine for an overnight stay for us. We arrived early evening and wanted to explore San Jose the next day before we headed to Cabo San Lucas. The room was clean enough, beds fine, everything worked, no real complaints. We, family of 4, shared two queen beds, had to pay extra for my 14 yr old, but only got vouchers for two breakfasts, which was just scrambled eggs, tortilla and coffee. The little pool area was a nice touch but we didn't use it as it was too cold when we were there.

Room Tip: They all face the main road but it wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio N, Manager at Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want you to know that we have been improving our service and the Complimentary American Breakfast, has a whole new menu!

We look forward to seeing you soon and to prove you we can do better!

Best,
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros:
Excellent price
Good location - only 15 min walk from centre
Nice pool area
Good food in the restaurant
Excellent restaurants within 5 min walking distance

Cons:
Not enough seats at breakfast
Very indifferent service in the restaurant

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio N, Manager at Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your compliments, we understand your discomfort and can only hope that in the future you change your mind and give us the opportunity to serve you again and have a better impression of our services.

We can assure you that we have been improving our services and we also have a brand new menu!

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Suites Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Las Palmas

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular KM 31, Col. Magisterial, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel & Suites Las Palmas)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Suites Las Palmas 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Suites Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel And Suites Las Palmas
Hotel Las Palmas
Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.