We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice swimmable beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach)

Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach)
Highway 1 Km 24, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$112*
and up
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful white sand beach with calm, sheltered waters perfect for diving and snorkeling.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice swimmable beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Not as scenic as the other side of Palmilla, but you can swim here. The water is pretty clean and safe on the public side just a few feet away. You can reserve a private palapa with pillows and table service or grab a coupld of lounge chairs with umbrellas. No bathroom down at the beach though, so be prepared to traipse back up to your room or the restaurant a couple of times. Complimentary boogie boards, SUP board, kayaks, towels. There are a few merchants who will come up to you on the beach selling silver jewelry, and braided bracelets, etc., but they are very nice and not too aggressive. I actually liked shopping on the beach ;)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Went Swimming at Palmilla Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Not sure if it makes a difference, but my husband and I went to Palmilla Beach on a Sunday and it was so crowded with locals that we could hardly find a place to set our towel down...no other Americans there and we had some teenagers eyeing our stuff so we both couldn't get in the water at the same time...left after only 25 minutes ther, but the beach is beautiful...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best playa out of San José”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There is no better place to spend the day, check the club 96 for good aperos and dining out. Very cool and charming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The one and only....? Not really!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a tourist beach in a very old and established hotel. If you're the kayak, jet ski, sail boat activity tourist it is a good place to go. For a private beach experience go to Santa Maria, las Vaiudas or even Chilleno bay early when the water is calm. Adventurous? 80 miles to todos. Santos or better yet Cabo Pulmo, the only living reef in North America. Go when there are no waves or wind, check before you go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
“Nice Beach, but No Services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Liked: not crowded; mostly locals; beautiful; plenty of palapas; pelicans hilarious when the fishing boats come in to clean their catch; quiet.

Dislike: No bathrooms (only two disgusting port-a-poties); no restaurant or bar or anything to buy a drink.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach) also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.