We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went Swimming at Palmilla Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach)

Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach)
Highway 1 Km 24, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$112*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful white sand beach with calm, sheltered waters perfect for diving and snorkeling.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Went Swimming at Palmilla Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Not sure if it makes a difference, but my husband and I went to Palmilla Beach on a Sunday and it was so crowded with locals that we could hardly find a place to set our towel down...no other Americans there and we had some teenagers eyeing our stuff so we both couldn't get in the water at the same time...left after only 25 minutes ther, but the beach is beautiful...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best playa out of San José”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There is no better place to spend the day, check the club 96 for good aperos and dining out. Very cool and charming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The one and only....? Not really!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a tourist beach in a very old and established hotel. If you're the kayak, jet ski, sail boat activity tourist it is a good place to go. For a private beach experience go to Santa Maria, las Vaiudas or even Chilleno bay early when the water is calm. Adventurous? 80 miles to todos. Santos or better yet Cabo Pulmo, the only living reef in North America. Go when there are no waves or wind, check before you go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
“Nice Beach, but No Services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Liked: not crowded; mostly locals; beautiful; plenty of palapas; pelicans hilarious when the fishing boats come in to clean their catch; quiet.

Dislike: No bathrooms (only two disgusting port-a-poties); no restaurant or bar or anything to buy a drink.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This beach , which is open to the public but accessed by going down the room past the resort , is lovely .The are thatched areas for shade, if you prefer that , and an expanse of beach that provides swimming and snorkelling . This also seems a location where local fisherman bring in there catch so the day we were there, they were cutiing up a swordfish which was interesting to see. The beach is a little busier than some of the others we visited but still we had no problem finding a place to sit down .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach) also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Palmilla (Palmilla Beach), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.