We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical and Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Natalia

Save Saved
You added Casa Natalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Natalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Mijares N. 4, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Oxford MI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Magical and Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Trying to live up to my responsibility of being a senior reviewer on Tripadvisor and because of my adventurous nature, I decided to stay a night in a few different hotels while we were in the San Jose del Cabo area. While visiting San Jose del Cabo last year we had walked past the Hotel while on the "Art Walk" and commented that we should give it a try if we ever returned. This year we booked a Thursday night in the "Jacuzzi Suite" so we could enjoy dinner and then go out for "Art Walk". From the moment we went to check in you could tell that this place was something special. We were met at the front desk by Eduardo who could not have been more friendly or professional. He quickly checked us into the Suite and gave us the grand tour of the room.

I will attach a number of pictures of the Suite but they will not do it justice. This place and the room were absolutely magical. Upon entering the front door you are actually entering the terrace area that contains a large Jacuzzi tub, hammock, lounge chairs and bar area that overlooks the pool area. The room has a large king size bed, seating area with tv, which we did not turn on once, large bathroom with two robes, which we did use! The entire property is meticulously maintained, with multiple levels that make it feel much larger than it is and very exclusive. It is almost hard to believe that you are just steps away from the center of town and that is one of the best parts of staying here, it is an oasis in the heart of the action.

The pool area is very secluded and very quiet with a lower level that has a number of hammocks. For those of you who would rather spend some time at the beach, the hotel has a shuttle that will take you to the beach club in the Puerto area. You can read my review of the Beach Club in my review of the Hotel El Ganzo. We of course had a few margaritas at the bar with the best barman in town, Placido. During our many "Cantina Crawls" Placido's margarita won hands down. We decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant, Mi Cocina, and found it to be very good.

During our stay we met Natalie, the owner, and she could not have been more welcoming. If you are staying in one of the hotels or condos down on the beach, I suggest you book at least one night here to experience something very special.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Suite on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Public Relations Manager at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
hank you for such a glowing and detailed review! We cannot be any more pleased that you enjoyed so many details of the property, as well as the service you experienced. The hotel is meant to be an oasis to relax and unwind, and we are delighted that you were able to take advantage of all that downtown had to offer, as well as access the Beach Club. Our bartender will be happy to hear that you liked your cocktails, and the Chef of Mi Cocina will also be pleased that you were able to dine at our in-house restaurant.

We hope you come back to San Jose Del Cabo and that we have a chance to be of service to you once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    48
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
16
153
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Don't even think twice about where to stay in San Jose del Cabo. Casa Natalia is a gem that deserves a five star rating in every category. From the moment we arrived, we were charmed by the welcoming staff who made sure we felt special. Our room with private balcony (where we had breakfast) was quiet and the gurgling waterfall into the pool kept out any street noise. Morning walks to the estuary, a quick taxi to the nearby 'beach club', exploring the art galleries, and dinner at Mi Cocina are a must. Make sure to say hello to owner Nathalie-she is the most gracious host.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Public Relations Manager at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
It was a pleasure to read your review - Thank You so much! We are delighted you enjoyed the customer service from our staff, and of the local area. We designed the hotel to be a sanctuary within the plaza of San Jose Del Cabo, and your wonderful review validates our efforts. We are proud of our location and of our delicious onsite restaurant. We hope that you come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We love this place! Our second time here. It is a quiet hotel with caring staff. The rooms are well dressed and you feel authenticity in decor and amenities. I feel like I'm in Mexico! This is not always the case in the bigger hotels or glitzy resorts. I love being part of the town, walking around, going to Church and enjoying great food and margaritas!

Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Public Relations Manager at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are delighted you had returned! We also are pleased you noticed our commitment to being part of the local atmosphere of the town. And, of course, our bartender and our margaritas are some of the best in the area. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

There were so many positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we were very confident about making a reservation and we certainly were not disappointed.

When we arrived we especially enjoyed the fresh flowers on the bed. Our room was always cleaned and smelling so nice after if was cleaned. We had plenty of towels, hot water and good water pressure in the bathroom.

Our room was very comfortable as was our bed. Although we didn’t use it very much the hammock did come in handy once or twice for an afternoon nap. Nice touch.

No review can go down unless you thank the staff...

Eduardo at the front desk is a great asset to the hotel. No matter what question or issue we needed to have help with he went out of his way to help us. If he didn't know, he knew someone who did and was able to get the job done. He went above and beyond the call of duty and he did so always with a smile, a joke and no task was too difficult nor a problem for him to tackle.

We would also like to say a special thank you to Cesar who is also a fine example of how outstanding the customer service is at Casa Natalia. He too was very helpful, friendly and always there with assistance and offer suggestions and advice on activities and restaurants.

We could not forget to mention Arturo who we also got to know during our daily happy hour (every day from 12-5 2x1) as we got happy each day. He is a super bartender and certainly knows how to make good drinks as well as good chatter. He enjoys what he does and it shows through and through. He likes to listen and he also is fun to share with. He too is a fine example of your wonderful staff.

This review would not be complete unless we mentioned how awesome the food was at Casa Natalia. We ate at the hotel almost every meal during our stay. We did this because the food was THAT good. We never had a bad meal, not once. Our favorite dinner, by far, was the grilled prawns with the potatoes. I, also had the fettuccine with the clams and it was, by far, the best I have ever had. Delish.

All in all, Casa Natalia is one fine outstanding hotel. Based on our experience and the experience of others, don't even hesitate to make a reservation to stay here.

Room Tip: Every room at Casa Natalia is a suite starting with the Deluxe and goes up from there. There are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Public Relations Manager at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind and detailed review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and the small details that you enjoyed. It is also very satisfying to know our staff was helpful and friendly to you; we take great care and pride in training our staff and will certainly pass along your compliments. Our Chef will also be pleased to know you enjoyed your food in the restaurant. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again if you return to San Jose Del Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed there between Christmas and New Year's. The hotel is small and located off of the main square in San Jose del Cabo with a tiny, not very heavily trafficked side street on one side.

The hotel has a lovely albeit rather narrow courtyard with 3 (maybe 4) levels reached by stairs. It's really a very nice layout for which the design, seating and pool make great use of the available space. The overall effect is pleasant, relaxing and inviting.

Our room is one of the most spacious I have seen in the price range with a small couch, a chair and a large bed in the main room with an extraordinarily spacious bathroom with plenty of storage space. In addition, each room has an outdoor sitting area complete with hammock! The room is wonderfully set up to create cross ventilation. The shower area in the bathroom is relatively large and you step down two steps into it. The overall effect is very inviting.

We didn't have a chance to dine at the hotel however the seating area looked very nice. The bar was lovely and overlooking the courtyard. Staff was uniformly pleasant and friendly. The bartender kept the bar open for an hour after closing time simply because my wife and I were there.

A great value and I would definitely stay there again! The hotel is small and has no fitness center. If that is important to you, this may not be your hotel.

Room Tip: After considering it, I would suggest a room on the lower floors. They're shady and easy to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Public Relations Manager at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your positive review! We are a small boutique hotel, and admittedly, we do not have an onsite fitness center, due to the choice of larger hotel rooms versus fitness space. Our concierge often recommend the Nature Estuary that is close by for jogging or walking options. We are very pleased that you found your stay relaxing and inviting. If you choose to return, we hope we have the opportunity to see you in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ditto on all the other reviews that praise the people and hospitality and ambiance and food and location of this property. But what was really nice is that we felt like we actually travelled to Mexico. The resorts on the beach from San Jose del Cabo to Cabo San Lucas seem to all strive to make it feel like you didn't even leave the US or Canada. Same ole same ole. And what a mess Cabo San Lucas has become over time. San Jose del Cabo still gives you a feel of lay backness and I do hope that things don't progress towards the manner of Cabo Wabo craziness.

Room Tip: Do plan on city noises as there is a main road next to the hotel. Bring earplugs if you sleep lite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Public Relations Manager at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Your review was so refreshing to read! We are encouraged that people do enjoy the authentic experience of being in a colonial Mexican town. We also feel that San Jose Del Cabo is a charming town that offers a diverse, yet relaxed, atmosphere for our guests and visitors. Thank you for mentioning that tip about noise from the traffic. It is an uncommon occurance and our staff is willing to help anyway that they can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our travel agent suggested Casa Natalia, a small boutique hotel in the middle of the historic district of San Jose Del Cabo and since we were coming for a short period and wanted a central location to explore, we agreed. The Trip Advisor reviews I read all mention the staff as a major plus and I couldn't agree more. Cesar and Eduardo at the front desk were patient, answered our endless questions and helped us make our trip a true success.

The facility is nicely designed and private for something in the middle of an urban area. The hotel is located on the main square of the City. There were tons of interesting shops and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the front door of the hotel as well as the charming and historic church across the way. I was impressed by the quality of the art and goods for sale. There was very little of the junky things you might find in other tourist areas. You can stroll around in a safe environment and buy or not buy at your leisure. We found the shop owners friendly and fun to talk with.

More about the hotel.....very nice room design which provided more storage space than is typical of most hotels. It appears that all rooms are of a standard design and we enjoyed being on the ground floor across from their charming pool. The hotel has a water feature which flows from the front of the hotel to the back as the property is graded downhill. This hotel is not a good fit for anyone with a disability as climbing stairs here is essential. The rooms have two overhead fans and numerous windows which allowed air to flow through. We were never cold and never too hot while evening temps dropped into the 50's and day temps got around 80.

PS....San Jose Del Cabo is a gem and I totally would never stay in Cabo San Lucas. My wife and I honeymooned there in 1978 and had not been back since. SCL is messy and feels unfriendly.

Room Tip: Liked the ground floor which avoids another series of steps....the hotel has quite a few just to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Public Relations Manager at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for the detailed and kind review! We also agree with your assessment that the shops and items for sale in the plaza of San Jose Del Cabo are of a higher quality. We are proud to support the local businesses. Our hotel is only a few stories tall and we have attempted to minimize any steep elevation gains as much as possible. Our ground floor suites are very comfortable and can certainly be requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Natalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Natalia

Address: Boulevard Mijares N. 4, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Natalia 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Natalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Natalia Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Casa Natalia Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Natalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.