We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and wonderful people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Senor Manana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Senor Manana to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Senor Manana
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Alvaro Obregon 1, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Texcoco, Mexico, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place and wonderful people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived at San José del Cabo only to realize that our first hostel had been unexpectedly shut down, and that is when we came across Hotel Posada Señor Mañana. Hernán and Cyntha (owners) are wonderful people who not only gave us great tips about places to visit, but also were very generous, allowing us to borrow their snorkel gear and keep our things stored when we spent the night in a neighboring town. The hostel has an outdoor kitchen, hammocks, and outdoor seating (It is like a tree house). It is centrally located in San José del Cabo and the facilities are clean and comfortable. Just bring bug spray if you like to sit outside.

I would definitely come stay here next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the moment Hernan greeted us at the airport, I knew immediately I had made the right decision when choosing our accommodation!! Right away I felt he was about to become a dear friend to us.
Upon arrival at Señor Mañana, Hernan led us up a series of pathways thru his super lush yard (*coconut trees, vines, aloe vera!!*) and showed us to our room on the 2nd level. He immediately offered another choice, concerned that we might find the street traffic too noisy. Not in the slightest!
Not only were we thrilled at the king size bed (*which was super comfy!*), but sitting outside to watch the sunrise and hear the ocean (*some distance away, but gives you an idea of how peaceful it is in the morning!*) and the birds in the sanctuary across the street was amazing. Traffic noise was NOT an issue as the street doesn't actually get busy until the morning commuters head to work, then return home. Other than that, it was relatively quiet.
I will HIGHLY recommend that you indulge in Hernan's morning coffee! By far the best java I have had in years! Better yet, we looked forward to our morning chats with Hernan. Waiting patiently to hear him whistling, indicating he was up & about :)
Although there are ample tourist books and magazines available if you haven't already arranged your itinerary, Hernan knows the area extremely well and is very happy to point you in the right direction. For us, it was the non-tourist areas. On Hernan's recommendation of vehicle rental companies, we rented a Jeep to further explore and our venture to the waterfall made for a fantastic morning.
The location of Señor Mañana is perfect. Just a 1/2 block from the plaza. We were fortunate that we arrived right when the children began their Easter break so there was generally something happening there in the evening. Perfect way to round out the day, get an ice cream, find a bench and wind down while watching the activities.
If you do not want to take advantage of the outdoor kitchen, you are well within walking distance of some great places to eat. Again, Hernan will recommend some awesome little places that are not expensive and the food is fantastic.
Generally we walked everywhere, however there are plenty of bus stops very close to Señor Mañana and super cheap.
During our brief week in what we felt had become our second home, we were extremely comfortable and felt completely safe.
So whether you are looking for a quiet little place to relax and catch up on some reading or writing or just seeking a comfy bed at the end of your day, I highly recommend a stay at .Señor Mañana.
We had not left yet and were already planning our return stay and hopefully the next time we will meet Hernan's lovely family.
You will not find a friendlier host.

Room Tip: Our corner room had two large windows allowing for a great breeze at night and bright during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was a very noisy place. It is really close to a busy street. The hotel needs some upkeep. Not too clean. Level of safety was an issue. Kitchen was really gross and needed cleaning. The host was friendly and helpful but we decided to leave early due to the inability to get some sleep.

Room Tip: forget it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breitenbush Hot Springs
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you're traveling on the cheap and headed to southern Baja, you could hardly do better than to land in this fabulously funky posada. Herman and Cynthia (not sure I'm getting the spelling right here) are a treat and gave my family some of the friendliest service I've seen anywhere in my 20 years or so of world travel. A couple of times Herman helped us get a good taxi and rental car deal, and both of them were always ready to help us with anything we needed, day or night.

One fabulous feature for me was Herman's espresso machine, which he worked with gusto every morning we were there. Having good local espresso right there in that beautiful courtyard every morning was possibly my favorite part of my stay.

My wife and I came with our three-year-old daughter and found the courtyard populated with tons of toys and even chickens (which our daughter loves) - not to mention Herman and Cynthia's own kids, who were a great bonus for our daughter. She had a blast and that was a great relief to us. Definitely a family friendly place.

One safety issue that parents should keep in mind: the railing that surrounds the upper terraces is not altogether stable, and a small child like ours could fit underneath the bottom rail and slide out - so keep an eye on your kids when they're on the upper levels and make sure to keep them off those railings.

Some things to be aware of on the not-so-positive side:
Potential guests should come with appropriate expectations - think budget hostel, not luxury hotell. The group kitchen is kinda dumpy - like a frat house kitchen that only gets minimal attention - but is still a great place to hang out and have a group meal or a party. Also the plumbing in this place is...bizarre. You can probably get a hot shower, but don't count on it being consistent.

We found these to be minor inconveniences though. Our room was clean, we had everything we needed and the service was top notch. Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texcoco, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We got to San Jose del Cabo, found the hotel, and the owner (?) led us to our room. We then went to get stuff from our car. When we got back, he told us he might have a nicer room for us if we want to check it out. The first room was perfectly ok for us, but we thought it was great that he actually cared.
It's a really nice place, nice garden, clean...
The next morning, before we hit the road again, we got awesome tips on where to go, where to camp etc. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When I entered the lush tropical grounds from the street, I entered into another world. The owners, Herman and Cynthia, welcomed me with a fresh espresso and kind smiles. They are a fountain of information regarding the town. The series of leafy green walkways to the outdoor kitchen, covered deck, and rooms give you a rain forest feeling in the middle of this arid landscape.

The rooms are large, not fancy, but clean and decorated with some Mexican artwork. There is plenty of hot water.

The outdoor kitchen, with its couches and chairs, are a great hangout place where we cooked our food and/or played music into the night. I quickly bonded with the cast of characters who were there at the time: ages 25-73. There are hammocks in the ground level courtyard to take a snooze or read a book. You can get a free bike to tour the "less than a minute walk or ride" to the beautiful town.

Herman arranged an early morning taxi for me as I sadly said goodbye to this "once or hopefully twice or more" lifetime traveling experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel Posada Senior Manana was and is still possibly the best bit of travelling i've done in my 40 some years. It's mostly the family that runs it, oh yeah and its amazing tree filled central hang out or the other ones in the trees where we cooked our food or played music into the night. No it was the amazing traditional Argentinian/Mexican feasts that the gracious hosts put on for us. The greatest experience traveling ever no BS!

Room Tip: bottom left has been my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada Senor Manana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Senor Manana

Address: Alvaro Obregon 1, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Senor Manana 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Posada Senor Manana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Senor Manana Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Senor Manana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.