We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adios Holiday Inn !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adios Holiday Inn !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Spent over 4k and traveled 5 hours by plane to this "All Inclusive" only to be given upon arrival a sheet of paper with all the things NOT included. These things are exactly why you book an All Inclusive vacay. So steak, shrimp, lobster and wine are NOT included. Gee thanks !
never again would I stay here. The same dirt on the stairs remained all week. The canopy directly above the restaurant (which you couldn't help look at from our balcony) had the words "Clean me" and someone's fingernail clippings - looked like it'd been there for months....
The food is very limited with only approx 5 containers of different foods, most of which were potatoes, rice and beans. Since my wife and I don't really drink they must've made a tonne of money from us....
The beach is fairly good and you CAN actually swim in the ocean, but the pool had a layer of grease in it (due to sunscreen) and seemed like they'd never cleaned it.
Everyone in our party got sick (no doubtedly from the air conditioning ducts not being cleaned)
The staff were slightly friendly at best and tips didn't seem to get them to move any faster.
Do your self a favour and pay a few more dollars for Melia or the Riu. This place isn't worth your time or money.
The bar fridge had nothing in it upon arrival and it took many calls to get them to bring extra bottles of water (only 2 per day supplied as standard...)
The one bed we had was in the shape of a banana and upon closer examination underneath the springs were all shot on it. woke up with some serious back pain.
"Glad to be back home"

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Nick R,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason, your comments about the cleanliness of our hotel as well as the service you have received during your stay have been n documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    824
    420
    201
    114
See reviews for
525
842
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week. As per the title the location is really goon in San Jose del Cabo, but the overall experience within the hotel is average. Buffet food is bad and choices are poor, we decided to eat out even we have already paid for the All-Inclusive. Pools and other facilities are OK, nothing out of the ordinary. We will not be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Victor O,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay. I am happy to read that you found our hotel location convenient. However, please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the disappointment you experienced with the buffet food that was served and some aspects of our hotel facilities. Your comments have been forward to the appropriate departments so that any necessary improvements can be made.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next trip the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Due to our flight being canceled we booked this place due to being close to airport and price. We had to spend 3 nights here and I would not recommend this place to anyone. Check in was prompt and our room was ready, however no one helped us with our luggage and we was just pointed in which way to go. I had never had that happen to me at check in, we had no idea where we was going and just had to figure it out as we hauled all of our luggage. We checked into room and it smelled awful and we immediately could tell our air wasn't working. We thought we would give it a chance, so we went to the beach. When we came back the smell was still there and the air was definitely not working. I called and told someone would be right up after a couple hours I walked down to front desk and told them our room stunk and the air was not working. We could deal with the smell, but we had to have air! Well to make a long story short, after numerous times of telling them our air didn't work, it never got fixed! No one ever showed up and we kept getting the run around! I do not think it was to much to ask to have an air conditioned room in Mexico. Let's just say it made for a miserable hot stay!
Breakfast buffet-was terrible, I have seen a better selection at a free continental breakfast hotel.
Lunch-the only good meal we had. The taco stand was excellent and the beach restaurant was good too. Our waitress Stella was GREAT and remembered our drinks always!
Dinner-was absolute chaos, the first night all they had open was a Italian buffet for the whole entire resort to eat. We had reservations for the next 2 nights and it was also chaos, being told it would be 5 minutes to us having to wait 1/2 hour to be seated and then having to get our own drinks and water, and being served raw meat on my surf and turf skewer. We left both nights and went down to restaurant in town and ate.
The pool, beach and grounds were very nice, however there was so many horses on the beach and after you walked past the flags there was horse dung everywhere. This totally disgusted me! Yes, they did have a pooper scooper guy, but he didn't get even half of it. I realize this isn't the resort's fault, but it was still so gross!!
I have stayed at the Holiday Inn in MBJ and I would recommend it to anyone, but this place I wouldn't recommend to anyone!!!! It is such a shame that this place is ran like it is because it is absolutely a beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear beachvacationgirl,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. If you have future concerns, please let the Duty Manager know so an alternate room could be offered if available.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The location and gardens are beautiful. Breakfast and lunch really good but evening buffet needs attention. Spent Christmas and New Year there so hotel was full but there were always chairs available at the pools. Nice to have 3 pools with different activities. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden rooms with hammocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks at this resort over Christmas/New Years and was pleasantly surprised. I had booked it through Hotwire and wasn't sure what it would be like.It is an older resort, does not have the shiny tile floors(still terra cota tiles). It was clean,well kept and the staff were very friendly. The beds are hard but after a few nights you get use to it. We stayed on the ground floor and had a patio with a table and chairs plus a hammock. There are 3 main pools and they are all a good size. Activity staff were a lot of fun. Swim up bars were nice. I read some negative comments about the food but didn't have any complaints. There was a wide selection at the buffets and the a la cartes. Front Desk staff were very helpful. I found this resort to be great value for your money and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Right from the time of booking I was pleased with the service provided by the Holiday Inn Los Cabos resort staff. I contacted the front desk manager, Raul, to confirm some of our requests pre-travel and was met with a very energetic and accommodating response. We then stayed in contact in the months prior to travel and upon check in was greeted by the Front Desk rep Jorge, who upgraded us to a room with a hammock by the adult pool as per my request :) We were amazed and so thankful they were able to do that for us. Jorge and Raul remained a large part of our experience after that, ever helpful and always with a smile on their faces. My first impressions of the resort were based on those first experiences, so thank you to you both for making them great ones!

Staff: We were blown away by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Luis, the bartender at El Patio left a great impression. He really knows his drinks! Leaving the housekeeping staff a tip everyday also helps ensure that you are taken care of, although I suspect even without it we still would have enjoyed a very high cleanliness standard. We never once had a bad experience with any staff on resort and were never harassed by timeshare. We were taken after check in by someone for 5 minutes and explained some of the activities they offered, but it was so subtle that we did not realize until afterwards that it was actually a timeshare rep. After that we were not bothered.

Resort: The Holiday Inn is an older property but to be honest it doesn't affect the quality of experience in any way. We knew this going in and so knew what to expect. Our bathroom was re-done, which was very nice (room 2104). The grounds were immaculate and well-tended, there was no litter or garbage, no critters to be seen anywhere. I think we saw one gecko the entire time (could have been due to the time of year, Jan). The resort has a more authentic Mexican feel to it then your typical modern high rise type of resorts that are nearby, which we loved. The pools were crystal clear, there were chairs galore both at the pools and on the beach every day. The resort was at about 50% capacity, perhaps lower, and we preferred it that way. This is not a party resort by any means but they do play some music during the day at the activities pool and try to get people involved. You cannot swim in the ocean but there are other beaches further down where you can. The resort lies next to a bird estuary which is lovely to walk through. You are also a 5-7 minute walk from the small town of San Jose where there are a few modern shops and cafes, otherwise you are a 25 minute drive to Cabo San Lucas which is a lot bigger and busier.

Food and Drinks: We found the food plentiful and nice tasting. There are 3 a la carte restaurants which offer a menu which is also included on top of the nightly buffet, as well as more special dishes for an extra cost. We tried all three and were most impressed with the one with fruit and flowers painted above the door (sorry, I don't remember the name!). It was AMAZING authentic Mexican food. Too bad it was only open one night that we were there. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausages (sometimes cut up hot dogs, other times real chorizo, other times breakfast sausages), soup, fresh fruit, an omlette bar, cakes and tarts and breakfast potatoes. We loved it. At the Cabina you could get hot dogs, burgers, french fries and all the toppings you could ask for (gauc, cheese, salsa etc). We created "Mexican Poutine" - french fries covered in hot cheese, guac, salsa and jalapenos. Yum!
We found the drinks were not watered down at all and that they could pretty much make anything you asked for. I was SO happy when I discovered that they made a pretty decent Caesar with real Clamato!

It's obvious that the Holiday Inn takes all their reviews very seriously and tries hard to improve guest experience. After reading the reviews I had zero qualms about what I was expecting and was only pleasantly surprised at every turn. 100% would book again!!!

Tips: Register for an IHG rewards card prior to travel. It's free and you get a special wrist band which affords you some extra perks on resort. Tip your housekeeping staff well. If you want, go to Mega which is a 20 minute walk away and buy a few jugs of bottled water but we found that housekeeping refreshed ours every day any way so maybe it was unnecessary. Bring your own cup with a lid and the bar staff will fill they instead of giving you the smaller cups that they use. Bring your own towel so you can have that in addition to the ones you get from the resort. If you choose to do an activity, try swimming with Whale Sharks and book through Cabo Expeditions and ask for Pablo as your guide. AMAZING ADVENTURE and totally worth the $145 it cost for the 8 hour excursion, lunch and gear included. This is not offered through the hotel, we found the office in Cabo San Lucas.

If you are a couple on a budget looking for some peace and quiet, look no further then the Holiday Inn Los Cabos. Ask to be by the adult pool and you won't have any problems.

Room Tip: Adult pool, hammock, room 2104. You have a partial ocean view and look out onto the bird estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is nicely located, walking distance from San José de los Cabos, 20 min. from Los Cabos Airport and right on the beach. The buildings are older, but in excellent condition, with a nice layout that fronts onto a big beach. The beach was not swimable in December/January because of currents, but was lovely to sit on, walk on, or bathe in. A selection of pools provided some diversity, a reasonable number of restaurants, including a nice big open one with a stage, right on the beach. We don't normally do "all-inclusive" (maybe the second time in my life), but the selection was reasonable and the food and drink generally good. The price for the hotel was good value.

My main complaint was the room. It was clean and reasonably large, but was on the second floor (of three) and did no windows that could open, or balcony. The balconies on the upper floor were full and the terraced rooms on the ground floor were unreasonably more expensive. Next time, if in the same hotel, I would get a room on the third or ground floor.

San José de los cabos is quieter than Cabo San Lucas (a $50 taxi ride away), with a quaint colonial centre with lots of art shops. It generally closes at 10 pm. If you are after the party life, stay closer to San Lucas.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has windows that open when you book. Best is the third or ground floor, and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear bwtropical,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. Please allow us to apologize you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you had. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you'll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. Two restaurants, one Buffet and one a la carte, room service, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.