We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Resort. It was what I had expected from the reviews and for the price that we paid. The location is superb...an easy walk into the center of town, close to a nature preserve. The food was better than I expected. Everything was clean and the service was. very good.

Room Tip: The ocean view room is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    823
    420
    201
    114
See reviews for
525
841
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I read many reviews prior to arrival at the Holiday Inn and I have to say I really don't have any complaints about my stay. This is a wonderful facility with great people at an amazing price. The food was good and a good variety. I think we were probably there during a slow week but I felt there were still many food options. Loved the night on the beach with the buffet. Make sure to try the taco stand, wonderful!

Room Tip: We had a Lanai room with an ocean view. Would not want pool view as I think it could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple ridge, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This review is based upon our travels around the world to which we have stayed at about 20 different resorts. We are average Canadian blue collar workers. This is based on what we saw during our 10 day stay in November 2013. This is not written to whine or complain; it is written to help you decide on whether this is the experience that you want to pay for. We personally will not return to the Holiday Inn in San Jose del Cabos. The resort as it stands is maybe a 3 star resort at best.

I will start by saying that the staff at the Holiday Inn were very friendly and helpful when needed. The servers, bar tenders, entertainment staff and cleaning staff did what they could to make your stay enjoyable. My wife and I felt that some of the staff were in training and were not offered enough training or enough time to learn the ropes from the more experienced staff.

The rooms (3 star): The rooms do not have a bath tub. Our shower curtain in our room did not hang all the way to the floor. Every time we showered the bathroom would flood. The curtain rod needed to be lowered three inches. The room decor was dated and some of the lights did not work. The T.V. was a LCD flat screen that worked well and served its purpose. The cable was limited to 3 English channels’. This is about average for a hotel in a Spanish speaking country. The air conditioner was awesome, probably the high light of the room. It ran well and was easy to set; it did not leave the room feeling damp which was a bonus in comparison to other resorts.

Garden View Room, this means that you do not get a balcony (The rooms without balconies feel claustrophobic). They include a partial ocean view.

Superior Room Partial Ocean view Balcony: This means that you do get a balcony (this option was not available to us when we booked through our agent). To upgrade to this there is a charge of $15 per day. We did the upgrade and felt that it was worth while

Oceanfront Room: these rooms had a great view of the ocean. To upgrade to this there is a charge of $50 per day if not booked in advance through your agent.

The linens (2 star): The sheets in our room were ripped, and stained with mold spots. The beach towels ranged from brand new to very old and tattered. When I say tattered I mean the towels should be thrown out as they had long strands were the fabric had separated from the towel. Some of the other towels had noticeable stains on them and needed to be bleached back to their original white color. Each room was provided two face cloths. If you want a clean one, good luck getting a replacement. They are like gold, we ended up cleaning our own face clothes as it was too much of a hassle to get a clean one through the resort.

The food (3 star): I will start off as saying that we are foodies and have above average taste when it comes to food at resorts. We found the selection at the Holiday Inn to be quite limited. The food is basic but flavourful. The food becomes quite repetitive after a few days.

Breakfast: Was fairly good; however, we were accustomed to a larger variety of food options at other 4 star resorts. If you wanted an omelette or a fried egg be prepared to wait in line as there is only one prep station. We were lucky because the resort was not near full capacity. If you want bacon (who doesn’t want bacon...mmm) you have to ask the server. We did not know this, so we went several days without bacon. If they want to claim to be a 4 star put the bacon in the buffet. Why should guests have to ask a server for bacon?

Lunch: Once again the variety was not there from one day to the next. I will say that the soups were amazing at the Holiday Inn. My wife and I ate most of our lunches at the beach restaurant. The fish and chicken tacos were very good.

Dinner: The dinners were a little disappointing; we ended up eating outside the resort on three occasions. The Italian buffet dinner was pathetic. Of course this was the first day we arrived at the resort. If you are going to cook pasta, you have to put some onions, mushrooms, peppers, garlic and other spices in the sauces. The sauces offered tasted like they came from a can. The outdoor seating at the buffet seemed really cheesy. Spend a few dollars and get rid of the plastic tables and plastic Dos Equis chairs. Once again, nowhere near a 4 star dining experience.

They claim to have 5 restaurants. Let me explain this to you; this does not mean that you have a choice of five different dining experiences every night. This means that most days you will only be able to eat as a large group in one area at a time. On a few days they gave you the option of the buffet or an additional eating area at dinner time. They called the one night a steak barbeque. This menu was quite limited; however, the food that we ate there was quite flavourful. The steak they offered was a flank steak (chewy). If you wanted to upgrade your steak there was an additional charge (rib eye $30.00 US, add 7 shrimp for $20.00 US and there was another option that I cannot recall.)

The Bars (3 star) : They claim to have seven bars, this would include the bars at the restaurants which are not always open. All of the bars are closed at 6:00 PM except for the main bar. The main bar has limited seating. The alcohol that was offered was not of a premium calibre (well known brands); however, was a descent alternative. They had two different varieties of beer and they were great (no amber). The main bar closed at 12:00 PM every night. If you are a late night partier, you will be disappointed. They claim that it is a night club, it is more like a pub or lounge atmosphere.
Some of the bar tenders looked as if they were barely 15 years old. They did not even know how to make a rum and coke. Come on Holiday Inn give these poor guys some training.

Activities (3 star): The day time activities were quite good but very limited and repetitive from day to day.

Night entertainment (1 star): They claimed to have nightly entertainment, this was not the case. In 10 days we experienced two different acts (one act twice) and quite honestly they were pathetic. Either revamp the entertainment all together or scrap the program because it is not worth the time and effort that is put into it.

The Gym (2 star): there is not a lot of equipment in the gym, there is no change room or shower facilities available at the gym. They do not offer a hot tub, sauna, or steam room experience.

To sum this up we will not return to this hotel and will hesitate to stay at any holiday inn in the future.

Just to add to this, one day 200 school children showed up to the resort (between 8-12 years old at a guess). We had never seen this before It was explained to us that The Mexican Government sponsors underprivileged children and gives them the opportunity to stay at a hotel for a couple of nights. Don’t get me wrong this is a great opportunity for the children; however, the children lacked parental guidance. They ran around the hotel unsupervised at times. They wasted a lot of food. They had total disregard for other paying guests at the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: do yourself a favour and upgrade the garden view to a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Ian_worldtraveler,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities that we provide particularly with the room condition and food choices. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.



Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We just arrived home from a 10 day vacation. We were impressed with how friendly the staff was. The food was very good as there was something for everyone. We spent a lot of time at the pool playing volleyball, bingo,music trivia, etc. with Rocio and Carlos who kept it fun and entertaining. Cruz and Luis were also appreciated for their bar tending skills. TIP order a few beer from room service to keep in the fridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a week at the Holiday Inn, during the last week of November, and had a very nice time. We were looking for a quiet relaxing holiday and that was exactly what we got. Because it was still the off season there were not a lot of guests, and we never had any difficulty getting a lounger by the pool. We prefer the quiet pool where you can go for a cooling dip, and get a drink without the music and pool games. This pool is around the corner from the stage area, and is also a quick trip down the hallway to the lobby bathrooms. We also ate well. Although a bit repetitive, the food was always good. No one in our group suffered from the common gastrointestinal afflictions that sometimes accompanies buffet dining. The fine dining restaurants were open several times during our visit, allowing us to sample their menu items, and we were never disappointed. This hotel is one of the older ones, but it is still comfortable and pleasant. The beds are hard, but I managed to get enough sleep. The rooms are clean and well stocked. The staff are pleasant and helpful. There is a children's pool and play area if you are a family traveller. I am recommending this hotel for the budget all-inclusive traveller.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provost, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I really loved this resort! Such nice people and great service. The food was awesome! Overall during the day it was exactly what I wanted! The entertainment was awesome during the day - especially the pool volleyball! At night - I would rather of went somewhere with 24 hour service. The bars here closed at Midnight here.. We went to Mexico for a friends 21st birthday - turns out we were staying at a family/couples resort... not what we wanted but definitely made the best of it. I would suggest this place to people traveling with a family - resort is very very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear ascam_7,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I appreciate your compliments regarding our awesome food, customer service and amenities exceeded your expectations. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

November is a great time to visit Smiles Holiday Inn, the sea turtle safe nests are right beside the resort. Volunteers organize the release of the baby turtles with opportunity for guests to learn and observe! No problems with room/food/pool fun! Staff all go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need! Only thing missing is a couple cans of cerveca in the room bar fridge. No big deal, just go the convenient bar locations! Town of San Jose in walking distance. Estuary next door great for walking and observing all the wild life and fresh water lake! Loved it all!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor ocean view Block #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you'll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. Two restaurants, one Buffet and one a la carte, room service, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.