We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place for food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
1 review
“Worst place for food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If u want to stay at a hotel that has terrible food and lack of staff than look no more this is the one u want!
I was just here for a week and honestly this place is a dump don't waste your time booking here!
I went out for dinner more than I ate at this place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Food is an issue Sand101, I can't argue with that and as stated we're working constantly to improve our culinary offer. However as I've explained to other reviewers, we're more than happy to assist our guests while they're still on property, but once they check out it's difficult for us to correct the things that are bothering them. We're always available for when you want to reach out to us, I'm sorry we weren't able to deliver on your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    827
    422
    201
    114
See reviews for
525
845
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

First, this was not a budget resort. It was the most expensive I've been to in a while and I have been to a lot of resorts all over the Caribean and West Indies. People who loved this place probably havent been to many resorts.

The room was average in size, partial ocean view with balcony, building 7. It overlooked the family pool but most of them do. Pretty quiet there actually compared to the adult pool which was noisy with loud music and megaphone commentary. The bathroom was cramped. The balcony was disappointing. The "railing" was a concrete wall 4 and 1/2 feet high so we had to stand to see out. Bad design. The bed was very comfortable.

The grounds were amazing as other have stated.

The food was mostly average. Sometimes poor and sometimes good. Holiday Inn advertises 2 ala carte and one buffet resaurant. Well the Napa is ala carte but the "carte" never changes, same 4 entres every day. The Napa is indoor and only open every other day.

The Terrace is outdoor and also open evey other day so there is really only one ala carte on any given day. The menu has four entres and this never changes either although I think one night a week both resaurants offer a different theme.

You need to make reservations at the Napa and Terrace.

The big buffet is in front of the stage and is also out doors. The entertainment starts at around 6 pm and goes on throughout the meal so it wont be a quiet dinner. Same food every night.

We watched a little of the entainment on one night only and it was garden variety so we didnt go back. No comment there.

The big family pool was warm and quiet. The adult pool was noisy as stated.

The ocean is not recommended for swimming at all every day.

There is only one really bar open by the Terrace and it is small but we always managed to get a seat for a couple of night caps before bed. It had the same lounge singer every night.

The other 2 bars were adjacent to the food areas and basically catered to them.They were brightly lit and had no music so nobody used them. And they close at 10 pm anyway.

My biggest complaint was the lack of staff. There was literally one bartender per bar including the pool bars. They had to serve line ups AND wash glasses when they ran out. They were very good at their jobs but clearly harried. I talked to a manager Raul one night when the line up at the main " bar " by the Terrace was particularily busy with a long line and he said he fix it tomorrow. Apparently "tomorrow" really does never come. It never got better. I heard alot of complaining about all of these issues from other guests as well.

Thanks to staff who were pleasant dispite having to do the work of three people.

We wont be back to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I apologize because apparently we didn't do a very good job at explaining the lay of the land dave s. The pool you mention as the adult pool is actually the activities pool, the adult pool is on the other side of the property and is very calm and serene, no megaphone. Also, for our dinners we have as you mention the a la cartes (alternating between 2 restaurants and 3 menus) and the buffets (alternating over a dozen theme nights). Thank you for the compliments on our staff, they really do work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just returned (February 18-25) from a week at the Holiday Inn Resort. It is hard to understand why others have been critical of this resort. We have only great things to say about our vacation. Our two daughters (20 and 22) accompanied us and we were treated very well by all the staff at the resort.

Mario, Francisco, Alma, Rosita, Ariel, the concierge staff, David at the front desk and everyone else working at the resort were some of the friendliest people we have ever met! The food was great and plentiful, the entertainment was wonderful (we especially liked Saturday night when the resort highlighted the costumes and culture of each of the Mexican states) and unlike others, we LOVED eating outside every night where we could enjoy the ocean breeze and the moonlight. The gardens were beautifully looked after and so pretty in the evening.

We felt welcome and safe everywhere and ventured off the resort several nights, as well as enjoying a local bus ride to Cabo San Lucas and a 6:00am fishing charter from the San Jose del Cabo marina, out into the Sea of Cortez. Whales, pelicans, so much sea life all around us to take in and the lovely estuary right beside the resort. Now that we are home we are still talking about our visit to the beautiful Baja Peninsula and hope to return soon. We really thank all of you at the resort for welcoming us and making our family vacation everything we could have hoped for...

We have travelled to Cancun, the Mayan Riviera, Puerto Vallarta, Mazatlan, Jamaica, Barbados, Cuba, the Florida Keys and the Cayman Islands. I can't say I would return to all of these places but will return to the Baja.
The Vancouver Flavs

Room Tip: We recommend Building One, third floor balcony, ocean view. The rooms were quiet, the ocean view nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much Vancouver Flavs! We're very happy you enjoyed your family vacation so much! I really don't have anything more to say than thank you! And we hope we can see you again next year! Mi casa es su casa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at this resort. I did my homework and read many of the reviews before selecting this destination. I must admit that the biggest selling point was the great deal that was offered through Sunwings for their Los Cabo area destinations as usually we go to The Mayan Riviera or Puerto Vallarta - that and the fact that they offered a direct flight from Victoria for the first time. We got a ground floor room with a terrace and hammock. It looked out over some desert vegetation (cactuses etc) that attracted many beautiful bird species that don't occur in BC = as a birder, this was awesome as every morning I fetched coffee and we sat on the terrace watching Costa's Hummingbirds, Gila Woodpoeckers, Cactus Wrens, and Hooded and Scott's Orioles...oh yes, and beyond the vegetation we also had an ocean view - very nice. The bed was hard as advertised, but my wife and I like hard beds and slept very well there, especially since the evening temperatures didn`t require the use of a noise air conditioner. The food was better than expected as the reviews were not flattering. The diversity and quality wasn't up to the standards of other 4 and 4+ resorts we've stayed in, but it was plentiful and of good quality - neither one of us had any stomach issues during our stay. On the plus side, salad options were better than other resorts, and surprisingly, the three things we care most about (red wine, champagne and the coffee) were better that at most other resorts. The resort is well maintained with many staff constantly cleaning up all areas including the beach. The beach was awesome! We are active and love resorts with extensive beaches we can walk on. We walked as far as we could to the SW one day - it took us over an hour to get to a cliff we couldn`t pass - which happened to be beside a small beachside restaurant where we rewarded ourselves with a couple of cervesas. To the NE we walked as far as the marina (half hour) but one could continue past that if desired. We also walked into San Jose a couple of times. It only takes 15-30 mins depending on your route and speed. We preferred to walk into town along the estuary bird sanctuary immediately adjacent to the resort - again an exciting place if you like birds (5 species of herons and egret, Ospreys, Purple Gallinules and many other waterbird and songbirds). Then we`d walk back down the main street as it afforded a bit of shopping opportunities. San Jose seemed like a very safe town - we were very comfortable walking around, shopping and eating there. We went on the resorts bicycle tour the first day to familiarize ourselves with the town`s layout. This is a popular ride - it starts at 9.30 am but you need to get your name on the list in the book by the activity centre by 9 am. We also enjoyed a horseback ride along the beach - if you approach the guys with the horses on the beach it only costs $25 per hour - much less than if you book it elsewhere. Oh yeah - it didn`t rain for a single minute... this is desert country so it only rains in the fall - when they get floods, so you can count on a dry vacation. The weather was a bit cooler than PV and the Mayan Riviera, especially in the evenings, and the dining areas are often outside - so bring something for cooler evenings and try to sit beside a heater. That said, during the days when the sun was out, it was more than hot enough and we managed to burn a bit in the beginning. Personally, I enjoyed these temperatures more than the sweltering heat of PV as it enabled more outdoor activities. All in all, a very enjoyable vacation and I would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patios and hammocks and you can still see the ocean - the patio has the effe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I didn't know we had an ornithologist in house mykechutter! As you experienced we're very fortunate to be situated next to a natural preserve, as most of the birds fly freely around the property. I love the little hummingbirds and there was even one time when a pelican landed right in the middle of the family pool! He felt just like another guest, and I think I even saw him pulling up to the pool bar for some ceviche! We'll be happy to be your hosts for next time so you can keep exploring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and the grounds well kept. The food at supper was OK to poor. You won't starve but it was not great. Nice area around the estuary and walking into the historic town centre was nice (took about 15 mins). The bike tour was fun but also dangerous as the hotel bikes are falling apart and very old. Chains falling off, gears not working and bikes just falling apart. If you do take the tour, go on Saturday when you get to also go to the organic farmers market. The stop at the farmers market is only 20 minutes - try to go back later for a longer stay - I wish we had.

This resort is great is your ideal vacation is to sit by the pool with your jumbo mug and drink all day. We prefer a more active vacation so left the resort everyday after breakfast and either explored the area or went to Cabo,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
The bike tour is one of our signature activities Tracey C, our advantageous location helps because the circuit goes through the estuary and back from downtown San José. I agree that our bikes aren't what they used to be, being so popular has taken its toll. That's why the Hotel's investing in new equipment, so more guests can enjoy this activity. If and when you come back we'll have a couple waiting for you guys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. Within a day many of the employees of this resort were calling us by name! They were extremely friendly and helpful in all respects, making sure we had sufficient bottled water in our room, giving us our preferred tables at the lunch and breakfast buffets and generally just very gracious. Food here was average on the whole but adequate. The desserts and fresh fruit were the highlights of our buffets and were better than average. We never had any language issues, and whenever we did encounter someone who did not speak english they always found someone for us who did immediately. The setting was outstanding, and it made for a very quiet and private stay. Take some time and explore the estuary, and bird sanctuary as they are very idyllic. Also of note is the artist walk in San Jose del Cabo most every Thursday evening. It's a great gathering place and has some excellent art Galleries.

Room Tip: This resort is laid out in such a way that almost every room would have a good view. If you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I have to say CalgaryABtraveller, that I'm amazed at how our staff does indeed learn most of the names of our guests! Be it Alma at the adult pool or José Luis at whichever bar he's tending for example, they make a connection with our clients during their stay. Or Raúl and his team at the Front Desk, they see many faces each day but they remember most of them. And making our guests feel welcome is a pivotal part of our job, so glad to know we succeeded with you guys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from a 2 week stay and it was a beautiful resort with many options for all types of travellers.The resorts location is what brought us here and it didn't disappoint.The beautiful estuary with many migrating birds was like being on our waterfront at home,only with palm trees!It was very peaceful and made the short walk to San Jose a pleasure!The beaches are great with lots of room to roam.The service throughout the hotel and San Jose is the really the best in the world !!
We weren't expecting much when it came to the food and restaurants in the hotel and they really weren't great but not the worst either.Breakfast and lunch was very good.The evening buffet is outside every night and at this time of year the evenings are cooler and made for a cold dinner by the time you got a seat. We did try one of the speciality restaurants but were not impressed at all.The food at the buffet was better I think.We did try room service and it was great!So we ate out at some of the wonderful restaurants in San Jose.

Room Tip: Choosing a room should be easy at this resort given the layout.They offer a kids pool area(busy,scre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the shout out to all of the staff RosandPaul! We're all very happy to be hosts to many guests during this winter season, and as I always share with our reviewers we try to do our absolute best to make sure they have a pleasant stay. 4 goods out of 5 for the food and beverage options (good - breakfast, lunch, dinner buffet when not cold, and room service; bad - or more accurately not impressive, dinner a la carte) isn't bad, but I want the perfect batting average, so we're working on it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you'll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. Two restaurants, one Buffet and one a la carte, room service, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.