We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, clean and friendly hotel with a few issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Creemore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, clean and friendly hotel with a few issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed one week at this hotel. Check in went smoothly, stayed in building 6, nice and quiet. Room was clean and maid service was great. The main swimming pool, water is freezing, not heated. Bad service was good. Breakfast buffet is fabulous, lunch was good but the dinner buffet needs help. First of all, itis an outside buffet. Very windy and cold to eat outside. Food was not good and was cold. Thank goodness for the salad and bread. Never could get into the alacarte rest until 8 or 9 at night. It would be so much nicer if they had the dinner buffet inside as its a lovely place for the breakfast. Entertainment, well not so good. I would not go back to this resort but if you are looking for a cheap vacation, why not?

Room Tip: We had a room in building six. Nice and quiet. Close to buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Although I agree with you Cynthia005 that the Napa restaurant is an excellent place for the breakfast and lunch buffets, sometimes for dinner it's a little complicated allocating this space because it's smaller than our Esplanade, where we also have the stage set up for the shows. Depending on the restaurants' schedule sometimes we do have the buffet inside, but other times we have to switch it to the outside. A recommendation for all of our guests during winter is to bring light jackets (a hoodie is a must have!) so you'll be more comfortable at the outside buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    704
    362
    177
    95
See reviews for
411
718
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our large family group ranging in ages from 10 to 75 stayed for 14 days in January 2013 and had nothing negative to say when it was time to leave. The hotel and grounds were spotless, the service was excellent and the food was fresh and delicious with an abundance of choices. We were more than pleased with our rooms and found all staff friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel is ideal with beautiful beaches in both directions and within walking distance of San Jose. We plan on returning next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
That's great Trink V that you and your family had a great time! We've had a lot of families like yours over this vacation season who come all together for some R'n'R. It's fun to see parties up to 15-20 people going around together and enjoying their time in our Resort. We'll be very happy to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Butte, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a very nice resort. Here are few thoughts:
Rooms: we loved our room. Ground level facing the pool. The cleaning services was hard to figure out. One day we forgot to leave a tip but our room was well stocked and clean. But several days we left tip sometimes extra we had no water, no towels and the fridge wasn't stocked.
Pools and bar staff: always clean always friendly. But they really need to look at the towel return system. Didn't understand looking through a book to find where you signed them out. Two towels to cards pretty simple!

Grounds: Wow! Very nice the best we have seen

Food: we always found something to eat but would agree with others that it could improve. But room service clubhouses were awesome when the menus for buffet and al carte didn't offer what we preferred.

Airport/timeshare: OMG very very aggressive and rude. Trying to ignore them and get away was an experience. We travel every year and this was the first time I was shaken and up set by their approach.

Room Tip: Ground level with patio the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the compliments about the grounds PBGal09! Our gardeners work very hard to keep the entire property well manicured. I hadn't commented before on the timeshare people. They can be persistent, I give you that. But a simple "no thank you" will suffice to get them off your back. And I'll definitely look into the housekeeping issue because it's not right that you get a one-day-yes, one-day-no attention. Thanks for the heads up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Definitely exceeded our expectations. Spacious rooms, very clean. Never heard any neighbours ever. View from our "garden view" room was of the pool and ocean. Wonderful friendly staff with great senses of humour. Lots of activities and entertainment. Food was good (maybe not 5 star, but definitely never went hungry). The breakfast buffet has everything imaginable, the snack bar is perfect for an afternoon snack by the beach and the dinner buffet always had new items/themes every night. It is outside, but they have patio heaters which is nice . Drinks were awesome! Never a long wait. Thanks Luis! (wine wasn't the greatest though - bring your own). One thing we hadn't counted on was that everything seems to be in american dollars. We are Canadian, so converted our money to pesos, but wish we would have taken American dollars (especially $1 bills for tipping). Tipping doesn't seem to be expected at all, but is very much appreciated by the staff. They work incredibly hard. Quite honestly, we didn't find anything lacking and for the price we paid, I feel we got incredible value for our money. We had a wonderful holiday and will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Excellent cctravel171! We're so happy you had a great time at our Resort! An overall good experience, that's really good! And you're right about the garden view rooms, our property is shaped like the letter W so there are very different views from all corners of the Hotel, but you'll always get something green (our beautifully kept gardens), something blue (the pools or the ocean), and something great (because you are after all in our little piece of paradise!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here for one week in 2011 and another week in 2013. The hotel is right on a beatiful sandy beach with plenty of space to spread around. Several nice pools with other amenities provide for a relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are nice, light and spacious and add to the realxing feel of the hotel. The hotel location is also very good, with a 20-minute leasure walk to the nearby lovely town of San Jose del Cabo. A quick taxi ride costs 7 USD one-way.
What is lacking is the food: it is trivial and totally repetitive. I coud not stand it for more than one day. I cannot imagine vacationing on this kind of food. Due to the proximity of the town, you could go there for food, but then you have to add $50-$100 a day to your room cost. It may still be worth it.
Couple other uisances made me rank it a 3-star: at the arrival they give you some "towel card" wchih you must retunr or ou will be charged $35. This is even though you nver asked for this card and never used. The rooms are nice but the sound insulation is poor: you can hear your next door neighbors speak.
Overall, a nice hotel, especiall in the winter when the weather is still nice but prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I get where you're coming from axc4466 regarding our food. We've had recent feedback from our guests about it, and we're working with our Sous Chefs team to improve our culinary experience. Breakfast is OK. The snack shack and our new taco stand have been getting good comments. Lunch is doing better. We have new a la carte menus which our clients have liked. And what we're focusing on now are the dinner buffets so we can offer more variety and a different experience every day. Hope we don't have to wait until 2015 for you to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When we first got there, there was a little bit of a wait because everyone was checking in. Raul was very accommodating and upgraded us to an ocean view in the 7th building on the second floor. We had no balcony which we were fine with that. Dinner outside and shows were very entertaining. Food was more than adequate based on the value of this trip. ...we weren't expecting a five star! The staff from maintenance to housekeeping to servers and bartenders including front desk staff were all so friendly and helpful. Our favorite bartender was by far Luis who became more of a friend to us and made the best sangrias! Gracias Amigo!

On another note...beware of fares for taxis as the say they are making their pesos even exchange with US money. Our taxi was suppose to be 250 pesos to the airport but charged us $25 US which should've been $20 US.

Room Tip: The 7 building was close to the beach and the family pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It's great when you're able to make a new friend during a vacation Starbritte, so we're happy that you got to hang out with Luis. He's a very stand up guy and very fun to be around with! Alma at the Adult Bar has some serious competition this year for Best Bartender!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pros: Beautiful stretch of beach and lovely grounds, great location , wonderful staff
Cons: too much smoking in public areas such as the pool and buffet area

The grounds - GORGEOUS - palm trees and cactus and beautifully manicured trees.. It was so pleasant to walk from one space to another while taking pictures and enjoying the resort.

The pools - The three pools are beautiful and clean - all with their own personality . We really enjoyed the adult pool the most. Usually a lot more quiet, a little warmer, no kids screaming and running around and the bartender Alma, she made great drinks and was happy to talk with everyone while doing her job.

The rooms - Spacious enough (three adults sharing) we were in room 3309 (building three) with a partial ocean view and balcony as well as a small table and three chairs. Great location as it was central to everything and we had the lobby elevator just steps away. The balcony was small but nice just the same to have some outdoor space and fresh air. The bathroom while in need of a reno worked well and maid service was fine too - we usually got extra towels and water if we requested some.

The food - we had read all the reviews so knew what to expect , not gourmet but tasty enough most nights.. Breakfasts were excellent, everything you could want including made to order omlettes, and fresh fruit as well as many fresh pastries. We did get confused however as to where breakfast was served, there are two places, Napa which is inside with an open air area - and Frutas y Flores- a small indoor/outdoor restaurant near the lobby. It was also an A La Carte one night.
We had the impression that Napa was the buffet for all meals , but the day we got there it turned into an A La Carte for the dinner hour. We ate dinner there once, choices were few, presentation not great - I would stick with the buffet which was themed each night and served outdoors where they do the shows at night.
Buffet was decent most nights - however make sure to check both buffet lines as we missed the pasta bar on Italian night as we thought both lines had the same food. The night we had looked forward to the most - Mexican - we didn't really enjoy most of what was served - ended up having a wonderful mexican meal at Shooters in San Jose the next night. Desserts were repetetive but if you only choose one a night you can easily have something different every night. Coffee, tea was also served at the buffets as well as drinks. We did wonder however, what would happen in really cool weather or rain as the buffet at dinner was always outside.

The beach bar had tacos, chips/guacamole , burgers and fries, ice cream cones and drinks of course.

Staff - they were ALWAYS helpful as long as they could understand what we wanted - language is a barrier as some know little or no english.

Location - GREAT - a 15 minute walk to San Jose - either through the Estuary or a little longer down the road; long long strip of beach great for walking although the ocean is too rough for swimming. A half hour bus ride to Cabo San Lucas - $2.00 each way - a lot cheaper than the taxi at 40 bucks. To catch the bus you have to walk down the road about 20 minutes or so to the Mega store.

Entertainment - I am sure a lot of work went into the dance routines and fancy costumes however after one or two shows it all seems the same, There was one night there with live music we really enjoyed. Give the shows a chance though, everyone likes something different. I think there was also a singer at the sports bar later at night although we never did get there.

Activities - make sure to get a schedule from the front desk, it tells what and where things are happening such as mexican bingo, volleyball, a morning bike ride and several other fun things to do including gambling tables near the buffet on Vegas night. .

All in all a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your attention to all of the details lainey2010! To avoid confusion we highly recommend making sure you get a restaurant and activities schedule for the week when you check in. There you can find which restaurants open when and what kind of service (Napa for example can switch from a themed buffet to a comfort food menu depending on the night). And to be completely honest we have to be very ingenious for really cold or rainy days, but we always have a plan B and we appreciate when our guests are good sports and accept the last minute changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Intercontinental
Presidente Inter Continental
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo
Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you’ll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.