We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
High Level, Canada
1 review
“good trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

went for 7 days, staff were very attentive and helpful.There were 24 of us and no troubles.Walking distance from shopping and little bars which was great, 35 minute ride to marina by taxi or shuttle, all staff worked hard to please us.Luiz at the pool bar was funny and very personable.Our weather wasn't great for the firsr 4 days, down-right cold at night, the beach is impressive but the rip-tide was pretty strong and on our second last day some of us braved it and it was fantastic. Just don't go too far out. Over-all we were happy with the trip, would do it again. Oh you got to do the zip-lining with Cabo adventures, that was spectacular.

Room Tip: Ocean view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We had a couple of large parties over the last few weeks daleh1963, glad you had a good time with your peeps! I have to confess we didn't make the last sunshine fee payment and thus we encountered some really bad weather for the season (for anyone else who stayed with us last week, how 'bout that wind? Terrible!). But we paid the overdue charges and we're back to normal, sun & fun! And you know what never dimmed? Luis's smile! He takes a lot of pride in his job and always appreciates when our clients go back home happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    749
    378
    187
    103
See reviews for
451
765
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Holiday Inn. We're in our mid 50's and are frequent travelers. My review is to give my thoughts on the hotel and some of the most talked about areas on Trip Advisor. We had patio rooms in building 1. The sunrise from here is amazing!

Prior to our trip to the Holiday Inn, I read all of the reviews and received advice from the Holiday Inn's number one guest Anita, an2jo2. If you need questions answered on the Holiday Inn, she's your best source. Thanks Anita!

Overall, I would say the Holiday Inn is a good 3+ star hotel. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't the place for you. The Holiday Inn is a beautiful place with an incredible staff, clean rooms, nice pools and average food. A vacation is what you make it, I think sometimes people go to places and just look for the bad and focus on the negative. The Holiday Inn has way more positives than negatives!!

Beds – Yes, they are hard but we found them fine to sleep on. If you don't enjoy a VERY HARD bed, this probably isn't the place for you.

Staff – The staff at this hotel works harder than anywhere I have ever stayed. They're all pleasant and did I mention how hard they work? They remember you and always speak with a smile! I know when you book at an All Inclusive, it says Tips Included but these people go out of their way. We tipped housekeeping, room service, servers and bartenders. Raul, the front desk manager is so helpful and accommodating. Greggorio from room service remembered what we wanted each morning and always delivered with such a smile. Alma at the adult pool bar is awesome and mixes a wonderful drink.

Housekeeping – Rooms are clean, there's a fridge and a safe. Bottled water and sodas are replenish daily. There can be a little of a musty smell, I've found this before in rooms in beach climate. A little room spray will take care of this. Jacky our housekeeper did a great job!

Bugs – There's moths but they don't seem to bother anything. There's a few other flying small bugs but honestly much less than I would even have at home.

Grounds – beautiful! Clean and neatly manicured!

Timeshare People – Yes they are in the lobby, beware anyone that has a Club badge is a timeshare person, just say no thank you!

Schedule – I'd read people saying they don't give you a schedule of daily events. We were given one upon check in but did talk with some people who hadn't gotten one. If you don't get one, ask!

Food – I am a foodie, having read the reviews, I came here with lower expectations knowing I might be disappointed in some of the meals. Overall the food is good, not great but you won't go hungry.

Room Service – There is a charge of 50 pesos for this service, except when you want just ice. It's well worth it for your morning coffee, especially if you want to watch the sunrise. Also, nothing better than the freshly baked muffins.

Breakfast was my favorite meal. The baked pastries are delicious and the hot entrees consistent.

Dinner – Every night there's two choices, the buffet or the a la carte. You need to make reservations for the a la carte but not the buffet. From our experience the buffet is better than the a la cart.

Wines – There's two reds and two whites. The guys drank the reds and said they were both okay. The chardonnay is the better of the two whites. If you're a real wine connoisseur this probably isn't the place for you either. I am a wine drinker and found the chardonnay to be acceptable.

Desserts – Okay but not great! Most were traditional Mexican desserts, flans, puddings etc. They're just different than the desserts I am used to and like.

Drinks – The beers are XX and Tecate, served on tap or in cans. The liquors, for the most part are not brands you would recognize but are acceptable. I didn't see where you could, for an upcharge, get call brands. I didn't drink one but my traveling friends all said the margaritas were good.

Sunrises – Amazing! Not to be missed!!

Snacks – If you're a snacker, bring along some nuts or trail mix or something along those lines. That's one area I think could improve is to have a bar area with snacks.

Bars – At night there's only one bar open, the Cantina. It's not very big and there's not a ton of seating. This is an area that could improve. If you're looking for a hotel with nightlife, this is NOT the hotel for you.

Crowd – All ages but tended towards older.

All in all, we found it to be a great value for what we paid. You won't find a better staff anywhere!!!

Room Tip: Patio rooms are the best! Building 1 is a great location, quiet and close to the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
lakegirl16, the first thing I want to say is thank you for the shout out to Anita! She's our number one fan and has been coming to the Hotel for over three decades! She's always there when you need information or tips about the Hotel, we've tried hiring her as our PR Manager but haven't been able to convice her! I liked your quote about how a vacation is what you make of it. It's true that we're not perfect, but we try very hard to make sure all of our guests have a good time! For example, we opened the Cantina recently (just three months ago, it's where our Patio restaurant used to be) and are still working out the kinks (will add the trail mix and extra seating to the to do list!), but it's something we developed to offer an better service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good news first: Beautiful grounds, great pools with swim up bars, very helpful staff, clean, well run theme nights. I liked the food better than my husband, but he is not a buffet person. Walking distance to local town. Not so good news: rooms were dated, towels were threadbare, tiles in rooms and hallways were cracked, sink with cracks. They just need to invest some $$$ in some basic upgrades. While we were there all rooms received new sofa bed-but it was the same exact design, style, color as the old one!! Also a frig with soda was delivered halfway through our stay. Sad that an all inclusive didn't include some basic liquor in room-a few cold beers in frig would have been cheap nice touch.

Room Tip: Had an ocean view on second floor-but not a balcony! Appears balconys located on first and 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Barbara! Thank you for your comments. We're very happy because we had a very good 2012 and starting last year our parent company has been investing in refurbishing the property. Some of the most recent upgrades to the rooms have been the sofa beds and the fridges. For the sofa beds they are very different actually. Before it was a blue (can't-yet-be-named-vintage...) model and now those have been replaced by beige futons, which are really cool and easier to use. And for the fridges we restock them with sodas every day free of charge. If any of our guests want some cold beers they only need to call Room Service and an ice-cold six-pack will be delivered for only $5 USD. Not too shabby right?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our 4th and last resort of a 3 week stay in Los Cabos. We only stayed for 2 nights, but we enjoyed it very much! We did upgrade to an ocean front lower level room, from a ocean front balcony room which was worth the price. Our outdoor area was very large with a regular table and a hammock to relax in. This resort was very large and and the beach was extremely wide and large and expansive! Horses are right there to ride on the sand. There are a few restaurants, but they didn't know what was going on, we went to make reservations for one night, but didn't like the menu offered that night, so we asked if we could make reservations for the next night, and they said we had to do it the next day. We went the next day to find out that they were closed that night! Also, they knew the football playoffs were on, and they had signs up to watch the game at a certain place, but it was locked up tight. They didn't know what time the games were on, so that first day they kept their regular bar schedule. I met with the restaurant manager and told him the correct times of the games, since the next day the games were even earlier, so he did have the place open, but no bar service and the game wasn't on in time to see kick-off. Not sure what time they actually had the game on, since we weren't planning on watching the games that day. We just talked to a couple people that did try to watch the game. We spent most of our time at the adult pool and bar, Alma was the bartender and she was great! Also, I want to say a big Hola to Luis in the El Patio. This hotel is older, but it was cute, the rooms were a decent size, although there is a step up to get to the patio which if you miss it you can get a big jar. Overall, my first impression when we checked in wasn't so good, but after a couple hours, I was wishing that we planned more days to spend there. Will I return? You bet!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi WegaGal! I remember you guys! I'm the restaurant manager you talked to about the playoff times! We made the mistake of thinking we were on Eastern time when our timezone is two hours earlier... What a busted play right? Wild card weekend we had a rough start but for the next weekends we did open the Cantina at the right time and with full bar service! And come February 3rd we'll be ready for the Super Bowl! When you come back next year and stay for a full week (at least!) we'll talk shop and have everything ready for you to enjoy the games!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Even if I didn't love the location, food and my room I would rate this place a 5 stars based on the hospitality of the staff alone
Even the grounds keepers, who work so hard, will throw you an hola or Buenos dias in passing. From Santiago and Raul at check in to Ricardo and Luis in the lobby for activities (talk to these guys rather than the aggressive time share folk to get the best experience) Francisco in the snack bar is your man for beach side drinks/snacks and maybe even a magic trick if you're so lucky. I cant forget Alma, she is such a darling. One day sitting around her bar we made a group of amigos and were inseparable the rest of our trip. This was our favorite hang out, a good place to make friends if you're travelling alone or for entertainment because Alma is such a sweetheart


The food was absolutely excellent except for one night (out of ten) we always did a round of the buffet before we ate and ordered room service that one night instead. 50 pesos an order no matter how much you order (get the chicken soup especially if your not not feeling well)

You know how a morning walk on the beach is dreamy but its kinda hard to walk? Walk along the estuary next door with a morning coffee and you're set.

Went into cabo san Lucas for the day to see the arch and I wouldn't go for any other reason. 50 pesos for two for the bus and 60 bucks for 5 to see the arch, (American) which we negotiated.

No ocean swimming in front of the hotel but there are three pools. There's also Puerto Los cabos to the left of the resort an easy 20 min walk on the beach and theres a lot to see on the way.

Bottom line good price GREAT value couldn't beat the locaton. You are in good hands at this resort. Just make sure to tip. These guys make $5-$10 American a day and work so hard that they deserve your $1's.We brought 150 in America ones and everyone earned our tips. Bring the tip money with you because you can't get them down here. The rooms aren't the most modern but If you want matching tiles pay the extra and stay further away from the estuary. Your choice.

If we decide to do the all inclusive again SD wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words christensenmariel! You're very nice to recognize so many people from our staff, especially the lovely and irreplaceable Alma! She's an institution within the Hotel and has been working here ever since we opened our doors in 1981! And you know what's the most amazing thing, she has the same energy as on day 1! We may not be the new kid on the block compared to our neighbor Hotels but we try to deliver the best experience to our clients, as well as a value vacation. Hope you can come back and make even more friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After paying for an upgrade when we walked into the room a Cockroach greeted us from the middle of the floor! Not a good start! We got another room thankfully and did a sweep for bugs. Only a few. I am not sure if they are in the vents or what as we were very careful not to leave the patio door open. We went to the mega down the street to get bug spray. Just bring some! The pools were always nice and clean. No kids activities at the pool very inadequate entertainment team. They seemed to be having a great time amongst themselves with the exception of a few cougars around the pool. Major disappointment in this department. Usually the best part of our trip at other hotels. The food was plentiful we could always find something yummy to eat. We made reservations each day The staff at this hotel is its biggest asset with the exception of the entertainment team. The rest are amazing very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We sincerely apologize pookie100calgary for the uninvited guests to your room. We had a horrible moth problem recently all around town and thankfully now with the colder weather it has subsided. Regarding the entertainment we have a team who's in charge of activities for all of our guests, there's a Kids' Club which has indoor/outdoor options. We're sorry we weren't able to exceed your expectations. But we value feedback and will be working very hard to make sure all of our clients, no matter the age, have a good time while they're staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

So I want to admit that I have been to this hotel many many times (an average of 3-4 times a year sometimes as many as 6 times a year for 31 years) and have always considered it my other better home with the staff being my other way better relatives. When the brand name changed after 30 years of being El Presidente to Holiday Inn I was worried that it would become something less than the grand ol' lady it was. Having said that, if you hadn't been there before you wouldn't know the difference. Our last trip was over the Christmas/New Year holiday and quite frankly it wasn't the best trip we ever had there, although for the most part that is not through any fault of the hotel. In all the years of going at this time of year I expect the evenings & early mornings to be cool and always bring a hoodie or wrap to off set that but this year it was overcast and cold with rain on several of the days which didn't allow for much tanning and it did put a bit of a damper on the New Years Eve party.

I really like the idea of new Cantina and can't wait till it is completely decorated and has the pictures of the guests hung up. The concept is great as there needed to be a place where adults could go without kids running around. I do hope they reopen the lobby bar so there is a place where families can go as well. I heard talk about putting an area in for teens and there is suppose to be some playground stuff put in by the familypool for the kids to enjoy as part of the chique club, that would be a very nice touch for families.

As to the food...I am not a big foodie kind of person but have to admit to missing some of the menu items that Napa and El Patio use to have. The Napa alternates their menu and one of the nights is"comfort food" I really didn't like that at all if I wanted KFC or Pizza I could stay home for that, other then that menu I think the food is ok especially the Mexican Fiesta night. The biggest issue I think was they were extremely understaffed, the servers did a remarkable job given that there just were not enough of them for the amount of guests at the hotel. The hotel was at full occupancy for over 10 days that equates out to over a 1000 people that had to be taken care of by a much smaller than usual staff. Max (the chef) cooked up some fish my husband & grandson caught and it was fantastic. He also made some incredible cerviche for us that we shared with other guests at Alma's bar (the adult pool bar) which by the way is our favorite hangout.

As always the best part of our stays at the hotel are seeing the staff they are such incredibly special people, from Oscar, Carmen & Salvador who remembered my birthday and brought a stack of pancakes with candles on it and sang to me, to Pedro the best ever restaurant supervisor to of course my friend Alma the best ever bartender and Elva, Paulina, Liney, Luis, Cruz, Guadalope in the snack bar and Jaky our housekeeper and Lorena too and Miguel in security and all the gardeners who always say hola and keep the grounds so beautiful what can I say but thank you for working so hard and for always smilling and doing what you can for us. The staff of this hotel is the reason we come back they are truly the heart and soul of the hotel.

Bottom line as I said this trip wasn't the best. Will we come back....as long as the building still stands and the staff is still there we will always come back!

Room Tip: Lanai rooms are worth the upgrade charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello my friend! First off I wanted to thank you for your loyalty. As you say, the grand ol' lady had a rough patch over the last couple of years but she's ready to make a comeback! Trying to keep the magic alive while having to adjust to many new factors isn't always easy, but we've tried our best to make sure that everyone who walks through our doors has a pleasant stay. We'll have your picture in the Cantina for the next time you come (which hopefully will be soon!) and as you say we have a few new tricks up our sleeves for 2013. The change is always coming, but the grand ol' lady always stands proud and ready to welcome our old friends as well as our new ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you’ll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.