We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Daly City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Resort in San Jose del Cabo. Like other reviewers have said, the hotel grounds are well kept and on the cleaner side. The staff is friendly and everyone greets you as you walk by.

The food- while we were there they only had one restaurant open, the Napa. It's buffet style and was open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food was okay, nothing to rave about. From 11am-6pm the hotel opens the pool/beach grill that serves hamburgers, hot dogs, tacos, nachos, french fries and a couple other things. We ate lunch almost every day at the pool/beach grill. The best thing there are the nachos and tacos.

The drinks- you can pretty much get whatever you want to drink from any of the restaurants on property. The alcoholic drinks are not too strong but they were okay. The wine selection is not great and if you want good wine be prepared to pay for it!

The room- we originally had a reservation for a garden view room, but we asked about an upgrade to an ocean view room and got it for $100 more ($25/night). The view from the room was good, though the room we stayed in didn't have a balcony and the windows didn't open more than a few inches so that was a disappointment. The room is spacious with a king bed, a sofa, and an area with a small table and chairs. The bathroom is decent size with a standup shower, toilet, and sink. I have back problems so I had a hard time sleeping on the HARD bed! The walls in between rooms are thin, you can pretty much hear everything going on in the next room so if you're a light sleeper like me make sure to bring ear plugs!

The location- the resort is right on the beach in San Jose del Cabo. Though the beach is not a swimming beach, if you walk about 100 yards towards the other resorts we saw a lot of people in the water (not sure if they're supposed to be there or not). The beach sand is pretty rocky and not too comfortable to walk on if you have sensitive feet. There weren't many beach vendors selling their products, though we did see a few. There are hammocks and beach lounger chairs provided by the resort to lay on. The actual resort is about 35 mins away from the action in Cabo San Lucas, which translates to about a $70USD round trip cab ride. The resort offers a shuttle to Cabo San Lucas, but it's only for a limited amount of time (I think if you leave at 10am they pick you up at 3pm) so you really can't do much because of the time constraints. We did take the shuttle one night into Cabo San Lucas for dinner. I think next time we go we will stay in Cabo San Lucas.

The pools- There were two pools open when we were there. We spent most of the time at the Activities pool with the pool bar. The resort's activities coordinator, Rosa, is great! She does everything from water aerobics to Mexican bingo. The pool bar bartenders were really nice. I even had a staff member cut down a coconut from the tree and gave it to me to eat fresh coconut! It's so yummy!

Overall it was a nice resort. We went to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of work, and we were able to do just that.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have hammocks and a nice patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    611
    741
    373
    183
    101
See reviews for
442
754
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you are looking for a resort that offers rock slab mattresses, moldy showers, barely edible food and totally inattentive staff, then the Holiday Inn Los Cabos is the place for you. We booked (and pre-paid) 5 nights; after the 3rd night we left and checked into a boutique hotel in San Jose for the remainder of our vacation.
We have travelled extensively throughout Mexico in the past 15 years and this was our third visit to Los Cabos in the past 18 months. The Holiday Inn is by far the worst experience we have had – EVER.
All inclusive at this resort doesn’t include more than one bottle of water a day delivered to your room.
The ironic part is that even though the staff was very inattentive, we were accosted several times each day by someone wanting to sell us some timeshare or activity. In fact, we witnessed several groups getting worked over at length by timeshare sales people. Near the end of our stay in San Jose we were at a bar and noticed the Holiday Inn timeshare “closer” saunter in and greet his friends. When one asked what he was up to, he answered, “I’m at the Presidente and it’s horrible.” Horrible really cannot fully describe this place.

Perhaps the good folks who have given positive reviews haven’t experienced what a true vacation resort should be and thus have nothing for comparison. Oh, and who ever travels with an air mattress? Seriously? Do yourself a favor - spend a little extra money and avoid the Holiday Inn Los Cabos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Kathryn G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am truly sorry to hear that your room accommodation, the food, and service you received during your travel did not live up to your expectations. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Like my title suggests, this hotel is fine, as long as you know what to expect. The hotel staff is very friendly, and the food is what you would expect from an all-inclusive type hotel (just fine, not inedible). The only thing that put a damper on our stay was "The Club". These are the people who try to sell you their "vacation package" as soon as you check into the hotel. They will first stop you once you check into the hotel, and will tell you that they are going to tell you all about the different restaurants the hotel offers, and all the activities that are available to you. Once they give you somewhat false information about the hotel (the map and activities list they gave us were filled with inaccuracies), they will try to get you to agree to listen to their vacation package presentation (only "90 minutes"!) in exchange for free activities such as a dinner cruise or dolphin encounters. Unfortunately, my family and I were one of the groups that fell for this trap. At the time, listening to a 90 minute presentation in exchange for a free dinner cruise and huge discount on the dolphin encounter seemed like a good idea. The presentation consisted of someone joining us for breakfast, asking us a bunch of questions about how we vacation, then being taken to their offices for them to try to sell us their "vacation packages". After we told them we were not interested, we were taken to their activities person to book all of our "free" activities. Well, the dinner cruise they promised us ended up being a sunset cruise without dinner, and we were basically stranded at the marina for a couple of hours after our cruise, because the hotel shuttle was not going to pick us up until later in the night. After this disappointment, we decided to cancel the dolphin encounter that we had booked through them. We ended up having to negotiate with "The Club" people to cancel this, which ended up being a complete hassle.

The moral of the story is: JUST SAY NO TO THE CLUB PEOPLE. If someone comes up to you after you check in, just say no. If you want to do activities while you're there, just go up to the concierge and book it yourself. We ended up booking a City Tour with Gray Line and had a wonderful time. I just wish I could get back the time we wasted on dealing with the club people.

The actual hotel is nice, and the pools and the beach area are very pretty. There is no jacuzzi at the hotel, which was kind of a disappointment. The hotel staff were all very friendly, and our room was very clean. You can either opt for the buffet for dinner, or make a reservation at the Napa restaurant for your a la carte option (The Club people will tell you that you can make a reservation with them, and they will put you on the list. That's what we did, and they DID NOT put in our reservation. I'm not kidding, don't talk to anyone from The Club.) The a la carte food tasted better than the buffet, in my opinion. The drinks are fine, but I would stick with beer. Overall, the hotel is great, with some minor, avoidable obstacles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for almost 2 weeks, nice property lots of walking if you have mobility issues. Grounds keep very well and lots of maitenance staff doing repairs and touch ups, staff are very friendly. Food is ok, breakfast was always the best, lunch so so and supper was good however, dress warm it is served outside on the patio with live entertainment!. See if you can upgrade to a lanai room when you arrive, our room was right by the adults only pool very nice and quiet! look for a CABO PASSPORT before you come save tonnes of money on cool trips, and going to Cabo 70 US return trip and the shuttle is 10 per person each way Have Fun!

Room Tip: Book a Lanai Room the best!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean, good food, good quality service, quite few swimming pools. The location is a bit far from everything, but we took the bus to San Jose and also to Cabo san Lucas.
We had lots of fun, there is disco every night until late, people seem to have lots of fun. Also a band and once in a while they set the dinner on the patio, outside, which was great.
The only down side was that it is not safe to swim, as there are rip currents, but we walked down the beach and found some safe places to go in the water. There is also a natural reserve area where you can walk from the back of the hotel, very nice, worth to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The website is complete false advertisment. There were no 5 places to choose from, there was one open every night with a theme food. The food was terrible and made me sick. The drinks tasted like it was mixed with koolaid and sugar. A tour guide, not the hotel told us the beach was unsafe to swim in because of the under tow this time of year. Paid for a upgraded room - it was outdated and basic, the temp was terrible in the room, no entertainment most nights. Because the resort is in the middle of nowhere, no where to go unless u want to pay for a $40 taxi one way to the city. BTW - you are not near the city, you are at least 35 miles away. Hotel staff unfriendly. Checked out early to go home and still fighting with them for some kind of refund.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patricia032158, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

As you may recall and according to our previous emails,your refund for the night of the early departure has already been processed.

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos.

Cordially,
Patricia Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have been here before when it was el Presidente and really enjoy it. Still has that great charm. Only the name has changed.
The rooms are clean and modern and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are three pools and beautiful cacti gardens throughout the resort.
We sometimes hear comments about the food not being so good but we found it wonderful, a good variety, different theme every night and good price for the all inclusive. Can't get better in town for this price although it is nice to treat yourself to a Mexican meal in town now and again.
It was very quiet when we were there (Nov 29/12 to Dec 11/12) and very relaxing. Treat the locals with respect and courtesy and have a good time. For the party types and spring breakers...go to San Lucas!

Room Tip: Ground floor with hammock in 7 block was very nice and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you’ll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.