We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Restful, Sleep & Clean enough.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Novato, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, Restful, Sleep & Clean enough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

By reading other reviews, I know what to expect. This former Presidente Intercontinental, now Holiday Inn, resort is certainly not at all glitzy or the best of what Los Cabos has to offer. Head South a bit and you will find plenty of that, along with higher densitity, more noise and a higher price tag. We were happy with what we had. We got a complimentry upgraded room (request made by Cheap Caribean), We had a great ocean view, firm bed, large shower, though the bathroom itself was small, a little fridge, and bottled water each day. It was clean-not perfect-but clean.
The downfall is the food. Nothing was great. Every dessert was a disappointment. However, if you go in knowing this, then you won't be upset. We managed to find something at each meal to make us satisfied. If you are a "foodie"; don't go. If you look at food as a necessity to keep you alive, you will do fine.

The only activity offered at the resort that we joined in on was the morning bike ride. Unfortunatley the bikes were not so good-but we made the best of it. And you can only take them out with a guide. That was disappointing, as I thought we can use them as our transportation to get around. So a couple of mornings we went out at 9:30 to San Jose center, the marina, the organic garden, and such. It was always spirited and fun with our guide, KEVIN, who kept a good sense of humor about our bikes and getting into (and out of) construction zones from time to time. He was quite enjoyable.

I would recommend going kayaking and snorkleing with HITIDE. It is expensive, but worth it. We went to the Arches (Arco), which was beautiful in the morning, and not too crowded. I think the snorkleing at Chileno Bay & Santa Maria is better, but never having been to the Arches before, we decided to do that.

We plan to return to this same resort, but next time rent a car, go to more beachs & go horse bakriding in the moonlight.

Room Tip: First floors have hamocks, with a surcharge, but you are too low to get a good view. I like the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    875
    443
    209
    117
See reviews for
579
897
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

First time back to Cabo for fishing in 15 years - finally got the chance to go back and take my boys, everything's changed and I was at a loss. But Enrique, the resort concierge was perfection. He went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was top notch. He was more than helpful in everything we needed. I had a lot of questions, and he had all the answers, was extremely patient, and not once did he hesitate to help out.

The resort itself is self contained. You have everything you need within the resort. Your vacation is what you want it to be. If you want to relax and stay on the property you can. If you want to explore outside the resort you can. We felt extremely safe. They employees were always pleasant, and helpful. If you've been thinking about making a trip out, do it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we were there nov 26 to dec 3 we really enjoyed our stay. so quiet . we were looking for that food was so so never hot only warmee but we really appreciated that we didn't get any entertainment so no loud music ....yessss real quiet week we really needed...we changed our room and Santiago and the reception desk was very pleasant ...thanks to him so we sere closer to the beach . temperature is simply wonderfull...building 7 is the best .

thank you to Kevin for the bike tour very patient with people always smiley ...with that kind of cycles we needed a patient guide and he WAS thanks Kevin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The place used to be called the Presidente Intercontinental and we were hesitant to try it since Holiday Inn sounded more like a domestic destination, but thanks to upper managment that the name is the only thing that has changed, because nothing was broken. We enjoyed the casual laid back atmosphere and the staff was as always like an extended family. Shout out to Luis Ocampo at the bar. He always has a smile on his face and keeps the energy and conversation going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went for a quite get away and we found it! The grounds are beautiful you couldn't ask for a better location! If you want a five star hotel with five star meals you don't want to go here. However, if you want a clean, friendly, beautiful place to relax and have some fun...this is your place! We even got to release baby sea turtles into the ocean. If you do go be sure to check out the quiet pool with the best bartender, Alma! Make sure to tip her well and tell her hello from Bob and Kathi :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have a hammock on your lanai...it is wonderful! Building 1 it the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is my 2nd time at an all-inclusive resort and 1st time to Los Cabos. I chose this resort because I had a couple of free nights with Priority Club, and we were looking for a lazy, laid back kind of vacation. I read a lot of the TA reviews beforehand, so I knew what to expect.
Hotel: Our room was very clean. The shower was large (my boyfriend is a big guy, and he commented on it!). The water pressure in the shower was good, and the temperature was hot. We did not find any mold or dirt in the bathroom. The bed was firm (again, my boyfriend, who always has back pain at home, had no back pain while we were there). As a Priority Club member, I was upgraded to a balcony room, which was nice.
Food & drink: As expected from other reviews, there isn't a huge variety of food. But what we had was decent. Some things are very good, and some are bland or a little overcooked. I think the Mexican dishes were better in general than their forays into other cuisines. It also seemed like a few of the dishes were revamped for the next meal. I could see how the meals would become monotonous if you were here for a long stay. We tried the a la carte restaurant one night. My boyfriend had the fish, and I had the steak. He didn't like his, but mine was delicious - tasty and tender!
Entertainment: Not a lot going on here. Some pool activities. We played bingo one day. There is a singer at night during the week. We only watched her one night. Then on Saturday, there was a show by the pool. It was nice. I don't know if the lack of activities is due to the low season or if that's how this hotel always is. It would be nice if they'd add a little more in the evenings.
Staff: Very friendly and accommodating. No complaints at all. I had a complicated reservation (points, promotion, and payment), and they handled it with ease.
Beach: There's a large expanse of beach, with nice, soft sand. Not rocky at all. You do have a feeling of having the beach to yourself. It's great for walks, but you can't swim here - the undertow is strong.
Location: This hotel is the last one in a this line of hotels. It's closer to San Jose del Cabo than to Cabo San Lucas, so it's pretty laid back. We walked into San Jose one day. It's about a 15 minute walk. Then we took the bus back. The public buses look like old school buses, but they are white with an orange, yellow or red stripe. They say "Colectivo" on them. It's 8 pesos to ride it each way. There are some bus stops, but we were told that you can just flag them down, and the driver will stop for you.
I completely agree with Harmony59's review of this resort. Overall, this was exactly what we were looking for. We wanted a vacation where we could sit by the pool and relax and read and not have to plan or think much. We wanted it to be reasonably priced. We wanted an adult crowd. We wanted decent food and drinks. We wanted nice weather, scenery, and convenient location. We were satisfied with what we got.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The front desk staff are extremely helpful and very kind. The housekeeping staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Our AC worked fine, and housekeeping brought bottled water promptly whenever we asked. Some of the food is really yummy, and most of it is just fine. It's an all-inclusive deal - if you expect it to be spectacular, you'll be disappointed. For the price, the experience was great!

There are giant moths that reside on the outdoor walls (naturally) in the corners but they just stay motionless where they are and mind their own business. They just look like giant butterflies that are all one color - brown or black, and they just stay still, wings fully spread out. Occasionally we saw one moving, trying to get into a bright light. No problem. Just nature. There weren't mosquitoes so I was happy about that.

The hotel is situated right by the beach, and also next to an estuary for the many species of native birds, and that was nice to stroll through to get to downtown and walk around at the Art Walk, an event going on while we were in town. They don't advise swimming in the ocean from the beach where the hotel is situated because the undertow is too strong for it to be safe. That was no problem too because we just played in the water and didn't go far out enough to swim anyway. And a few paces from the beach itself there are three pools to choose from with swim-up bars and plenty of space.

Alma, the bartender at the outside bar near the smallest pool, was great! Her bar is close to the protected sea turtle egg nests that the biologists check daily for newly hatched turtles, and because I was so interested in seeing the baby turtles she kept an eye out on that for me! She also made the yummiest drinks of any of the other bartenders.

The baby sea turtle release that happens whenever the biologists let the hotel staff know (you have to check for it) made the hotel location optimal, and made the experience there worthwhile. I was about to pay (over a hundred dollars for two adults) for a tour that would include an hour drive just to get to and from the other location where baby sea turtles would be released, and luckily this hotel had the option for us to stay and enjoy it here (for zero charge)! I got to hold and release seven baby sea turtles into the ocean! It was an amazing, priceless experience, and this hotel has it.

My boyfriend and I had a great time here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#25 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
#28 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#23 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 4,097 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#19 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you'll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. Two restaurants, one Buffet and one a la carte, room service, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.