We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday...not an amazing resort:(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday...not an amazing resort:(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I got back Feb 10th after spending a week with my two amazing girlfriends, we had a fantastic time in Cabo and will definitely go back....but not to Holiday Inn. Firstly, I'm not a complainer and have been to 3 other all inclusive resorts and never felt the need to write a review....but this experience shocked me! We booked our holiday thru the Sunquest Roulette, honestly not worth the risk and will never do again to save $100...we easily spent more than that leaving the resort to eat!!

Firstly....the best part of the resort was the other people staying there, we made some great friendships:) The beach is amazing, gold flecks in the sand wow! Some of the staff was remarkable...and all of them were overworked which made others cranky and at times made you feel invisible. Sebastien ROCKS for questions of the area, tours and general info....he grew up there and is super helpful! Gracias!!

The 3 of us shared a room, small and dingy....we did face the ocean but you had to look past hundreds of cigarette butts directly in front of our deck. No safe. No bar fridge. Disgusting fold out couch....requested a cot which we never got. Not even a towel creation ha!

Honestly, we did try and move resorts...this was on a Sat and apparently Sunquest is closed for the weekend, so we had to wait until Monday...then the good old "Mexican run around", boy do they love wasting one of your holiday days! We could have moved to 3 other Sunquest resorts at the min of $50 per person/ per night....to the max of $150 per person/ per night!! Ridiculous, so much for a cheap vacation...we decided to pass and just eat out more.

Other reviews have talked about the ala carte dinner, all true...only one restaurant open each night and if you wait till the lunch buffet the next day you can have it there. The buffet became nauseating by the end of the week, when you get excited that you found a piece of Brie there is something wrong lol!!

I fell in love with Cabo, next time we will stay closer into town....we had the most amazing meal at a restaurant in the marina (Cabo), mahi mahi stuffed with shrimp and scallops YUM!!

Good luck!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    750
    378
    187
    103
See reviews for
452
765
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was the cheapest all-inclusive I could find, and it was completely satisfactory but nothing more.

It says it has five restaurants, but basically only 1 is open at at time (plus the pool grill). They do a buffet at night and it keeps you alive. Not much variety. At 8AM they start taking reservations for what must be a TINY a la carte dinner, and even getting there at 7:45 I was too late - there was a line already and no seatings before 9PM when I got there. B'fast and lunch were plentiful and ordinary.

The pools fine. They did activities like pool aerobics and volleyball and that was fun. The rooms were clean. The beds were hard. The beach was nice, but in winter you can't go in because of the tow. The entertainment is not, really.

This is in San Jose del Cabo... very quiet area. We took a van over to Cabo San Lucas, which is a mad house, and did jet skiing ($100/hour) and lunch.

Transportation from the airport - they say the cab is $65. You can get a van for $12/each if you wait. Going back the cab was only $20 for 2.

So... it was fine... it was what we paid for... we're glad we went... we're probably not going back.

Room Tip: The "partial ocean view" has a full ocean view, but also a view of the pool. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just spent a week here - Nothing fancy or amazing about this resort, but nothing too terribly wrong with it either. The buffet dinners were usually pretty good food - the al la cartes are very hard to get reservations for and I actually found the buffet food to be better anyways. The beach is wonderful but sorta too big... its a bit of a walk to the water. The rooms are kept clean, the staff is very helpful & nice. The beds are kinda hard but you get used to it. We were originally put in a room right above the lobby which was terribly noisy, but they happily changed our room. There are 2 large pools, 1 small kids pool and one medium sized adults pool. Not much for entertainment but that didnt bother us.If you are looking for a party hotel this is not the place but great for a low-key vacation or for families.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

- Was the cheapest place in Cabo (next to Temptation Resort).
- Sunquest picked us up at the airport which was very relaxing.
- The third floor room they gave us had a nice balcony and a great view of the bird sanctuary and some of the ocean.
- Free internet - a little slow but great for email.
- cost $50/night for main floor room with hammock upgrade. - we didn't do it.
- no safe in room, but easy use of safety deposit box at front desk.
- no fridge - but one of our friends requested one and they got it.
- Fresh water in Forrest - means a few tiny Mosquitos - bring repellant.
- Beds a little hard, but come with extra pillows - you can ask for extra foam on beds.
- Did see one dead cockroach on walkway, but this is Mexico.
- US dollars to pesos no charge from the hotel.
- 8% charged on Visa card use by hotel.
- Breakfast great.
- Lunch Great.
- Buffet supper hit and miss.
- A La Carte was very good.
- pools great for both adults and kids.
- Staff great, but a little understaffed.
- Taxi to Cabo San Lucas $35
- Public bus to Cabo San Lucas $3. - we did this and found it very efficient and fast.
- Could use some remodeling but minor.
- Huge beach was fabulous. - Too unsafe to swim though.
- Lots of nature/trees surrounding resort.
- Came during Whale season - was awesome! Paid $120 for 2 1/2 hours two adults two kids.
- Great Local restaurants if you want to get away from resort - paid $127 at for 4 adults two kids.
- Get trinkets off the beach instead of stores - paid $20 for a hammock that was $70 in Cabo.
- Horse back riding right next to resort - $20 per person - takes you thru forest and beach.
- Met many friends this trip!
- Didn't see any kids club, but kids had a great time and made many friends.
- say a quick no to the timeshare salesman unless you want to spend several hours listening to them, in return for some free stuff. Although a friend Got $300 worth of tours for free.
- No regrets.

Room Tip: Pick 3rd block for peace and beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welland,ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Pros: Food Quality-always good,buffets grill and ala cartes
Well kept rooms and grounds
Very helpful friendly staff-always willing to go out of their way for you.
Heated pools
Big beautiful beach.
Room service food and booze for about $5 service charge.

Cons: Constantly waiting for buffet trays to be filled. This was a continuous problem.
Entertainment ended really early. Place way too quiet for young ppl. No disco. No food or booze after 11 pm.
Furthest resort from "action" of Los Cabos. $35 one way cab to town.
No fridge or safe in room, safety deposit available at front desk.
Sunwing rep good but gave virtually no info about resort in welcome presentation,just about available tours.
Can't go in the ocean here. Rip tides too dangerous.
Don't go here for heat. Days very warm but nights get down to low teens (Centigrade) high 40's low 50s (farenheit)

Room Tip: Ask for block 3. nice view of estuary and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear captdanb,

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. We appreciate your compliments on our helpful staff and food quality. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused due to the slow filling for buffet trays. We will address your suggestions and we hope you'll give us another chance to host you should you travel brings you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Lin S.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I haven't written a review in a while but really felt the need to share. I definetly will not be returning to this resort.

Dining:
The Holiday Inn website boasts of 5 restaurants, of which 4 were supposedly A La Carte restaurants (Frutas y Flores, La Terraza, El Patio, Napa). Not true!
You must make reservations for the A La Carte restaurants on the same day between 8am - 3pm. NOTE that they only have ONE A La Carte restaurant open per day, NOT 4. I complained about how deceiving and stupid that was to the person making the reservation, she agreed and said that it was the manager's decision. And if you show up at 8am to try to make a reservation, you run a 50/50 chance of not getting your desired time slot because guests start lining up to make reservations by 7am!!!
We dined at the A La Carte restaurants three times, so from our experience service was painfully slow. If you have young kids, don't bother . Normally resorts have a timetable to turn around guests so that they can accommodate the later time slots. We had 6pm time slots and we ended up sitting there until past 7:40pm.
Food at the A La Carte was horrible, we wished that we ate at the buffet because at least there was more variety and we wouldn't have to wait over an hour for overcooked meat. Fish had the same consistency as a pork chop. Steak was so well done that it curled. They had many courses listed on the menu that were for extra charge.
The buffet food was a tad better, I'd give the buffet 3 stars. There were frequently empty trays of food and this place was consistent about not replacing food in a timely manner.
In my 12 years of annual all-inclusive trips down south, I had never had an issue with my stomach until this trip.

Cleaniness
Incident #1 - woke up in the morning and went to the window to open the curtains, spotted a giant dead cockroach measuring L10cm x W3cm. On the same day, we were sitting by the pool when a cockroach scuttled by beside my hubby's drink which was on the pavement.

Incident #2 - While eating at the snack bar, I watched an employee refill ice cream cones, a couple fell on the ground. He picked them up and held them for a while, I was thinking that he was going to throw them away, but he looked around and restocked them.

Fitness Facility
-very limited equipment, but you could make due with what they've got. However, they kept the gym heated, which was very odd. As a result, it smelled bad, especially once you factor in other guests body heat. This was probably the warmest spot on the entire resort.

Service
-we were supposed to get a room with a king bed. "Sorry we're full but we can give you a room with 2 queen beds". Ok fine, when I get off the plane, all I want to do is check into a room, put my stuff down, and relax by the pool. I look outside and notice that every ground floor room has a hammock except our room. I called the front desk to inquire, they told me they would look into it. Received a call from front desk 5 minutes later "sorry but your wall is broken and we're not allowed to put up a hammock". I told them that I already did not get my king bed room, and now I'm not getting a hammock, I demanded that they change my room. They told me to check with them the following day. 5 minutes later an employee knocks on the door with a hammock in hand.
No cups in the room, we were provided with 1 little soap to share between the sink for washing my hands and the bathtub for washing myself. The handle on the toilet was broken off and on the ground. I felt like such a pest for having to call the front desk so many times for issues that should have never been issues.

On the other hand, all of the employees were friendly which is the only reason that I'm giving this resort 3 stars instead of 2 stars.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The staff could not have been more helpful. The food was good and the beach was close. Shuttle to downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you’ll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.