We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They tried but could not ruin our trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
East Bay California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They tried but could not ruin our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We found a very good rate to spend our Spring break at the Weston, it was our first trip to Los Cabos. When we arrived from the airport we were stunned by the beauty of the resort and it's location. They struggled with service for the entire trip though. We had to wait over 1 1/2 hours to have our bags taken from check-in to our room. This was particularly hard on our jeans wearing teens who could look over the veranda from our 9th floor room and see the blue green ocean a 7 pools teeming with kids. The front desk was always under manned and the valet was never there and we had to ask the front dest clerk to get our car twice.

Still, the location was outstanding and they were very kid friendly. The beach out front was a bit frustrating and the high surf caused it to be closed most of the time., but the pools were surf side and offered immediate relief from the sun. Of course drinks and food from the very good beach bar and grill were very over priced, it was an outstanding experience. Only a few minutes from both San Jose and Cabo San Lucas, the location was perfect.

One tip though. The hotel quoted me a price of $900 for a day of deep sea fishing. I went to the Cabo Marina on my own that afternoon and found the same boat and Captain and he offered me the same trip for $380.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    301
    120
    62
    55
See reviews for
189
410
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

The hotel is fabulous. The service is great. The beach is wonderful. We saw whales from the beach. The pools are awesome. The food is great. The price for the food is ridiculously over-priced. The seafood buffet was $55. It was good, I ate three lobsters; well maybe it was worth it. Beers @ the pool/beach were the equavalent of $7 a piece. We took a cab to the nearby Mega grocery store in San Jose & bought a six pack of Pacifico beer for the equavalent of $6.

Cabs to Cabo are about $35 each way. You can walk to the highway @ the hotel entrance and take the local bus for 17 pesos which equals about $1.50/person.

Watch the surf and water. It can be very rough & rouge waves are possible.

Wonderful family vacation. If you eat @ the hotel, bring a money chest.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed at the Westin Casuarina Los Cabos in Feb/March this year and were not disappointed. The photographs on the website although good do not do justice to this magnificent setting. We were very well looked after being Starwood platinum members and all the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. I was a bit hesitant about going back to Mexico as many years ago stayed in another resort and found everyone always to be hassling you, this certainly was not the case.
The beach is stunning and we almost became blase about seeing whales from our balcony morning and evening. We were so sad to leave after 13 days but will be back.
We had a junior suite which had a very good layout as it was just a large open plan bedroom with a comfortable sofa/seating area. Our balcony was wonderful with a jacuzzi in the far corner which I only used once as was a bit worried I could be seen taking a bath once dark, but I think it was tucked away so this would not be the case.
Housekeeping could be a bit hit and miss on timing sometimes not having our room cleaned till late afternoon, but a quick phone call to housekeeping remedied that and for the latter part of our stay was carried out in the morning.
My only complaint would be that the restaurants did not have much atmosphere, Cascade the main restaurant where they featured buffets (both the steak and lobster buffet were amazing and good value) faced a wall outside, it would have been so much nicer to face the pool or gardens and we never got to try Arrecifies the fine dining option as each time we went to look at it it was empty and we did not feel like being the only diners in the restaurant (of course this is not the hotel's fault). We took taxis most nights into San Jose del cabo and ate very well in town.
I would recommend this hotel highly, you wont be disappointed.
A particular thanks to Martin in the Royal Beach Club who plied us with margharitas - and always made us feel special and welcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Excellent customer service, Had a wonderful experience, great food..........

Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh-Durham, NC USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I was in Cabo for 7 days with my family both for Spring Break vacation and a bit of work on my side largely inspecting golf courses for my company, CORK & TEE Epicurean Golf Travel. In my line of work, I inspect a significant number of hotel properties. Our stay was courtesy of Starwoods points.

The headline for me is that our experience exceeded the expectations that had been set by previous TripAdvisor reviews. Property highlights: 1) the combination of the dramatic exterior architecture and the desert mountain setting (the hotel literally is built into the mountainside). is quite stunning. I was pleased by the secluded location. There are not adjacent hotels anywhere in the vicinity. The rock-strewn beach is larger and more attractive than I anticipated. The property lighting at night is quite attractive. We saw grey whales virtually every day from the pool, beach, breakfast, and our room. Sometimes, the whales were quite close to shore. This is not advertised as a five-star property. It is a four-star property and a good value within that category. 2) Service generally was quite good. Absolutely everybody (staff) we encountered was quite friendly. My only complaint was that it often took quite some time for anybody to pick up the Service Express phone line. Usually, it took about 7-8 rings and one time, I just had to give up. 3) We found The Royal Beach Club to be a great. While the breakfast buffet was the same each morning, it was quite substantial and we really didn't need lunch. When we did have a full lunch one day, we found that that Beach Club happy hour options were enough for a light dinner. 4) Rooms were sizable enough. We were five and had a roll-away bed that didn't take up too much space. The bathroom was quite big and we liked the walk in shower and large shower head. The decor was pretty basic and, of course, Mexican in styling. We didn't find the furniture to be overly dated or worn out, but do understand that the Starwoord Preferred Guest rooms will be getting updated later this year. Otherwise, the common areas were in acceptable shape. The central landscaping was nice, but not spectacular. 5) Meal prices were in line with resort pricing. We had very few meals on property. 6) The location is quite good. You can be into the center of San Jose del Cabo in about 10 minutes. There are plenty of restaurant options there and plenty of shopping options. We liked Tropicanas and a place called Jazmin's (good value located behind the church..very, very casual - you won't hear about it at the hotel). Cabo San Lucas is about 20 minutes away. We were less charmed by it, but did do the swim with dolphins and took a water taxi to El Arco. We spent parts of two days at Chilleno Beach which is a snorkeling and swimming beach located about a 10-minute drive from the hotel. The hotel does not rent snorkeling equipment. We were told that one could rent snorkeling gear at the beach. The kids were very disappointed that there were no rentals available. I asked the parking lot security guy if there ever snorkel gear rentals there and, as it turns out, he's the guy who rents equipment out of the back of his pickup! $15 per set. This compares to a $70 snorkeling trip that you can take from Cabo San Lucas that goes to the very same beach. The snorkeling right off the beach was pretty good. We actually climbed over to the beach to the right of the main beach and pretty much had it all to ourselves. I couldn't imagine visiting the area without renting a car. The tourist corridor highway is quite convenient and there really wasn't much traffic at all. 7) The pools were quite nice..infinity pools right on the beach. I'm not wild about huge pools with tons of seating, water fountains, etc. The pool setting was relatively quiet which was nice. The property was nowhere near capacity, so I suspect the pool area could get a bit crowded, but there are plenty chaises longues on the beach. 8) Used the fitness center once. It was relatively sizable and full of generally up to date equipment.

That's it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
velvet84, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you for you comments.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

love the architechture. It was beautiful, heated pool- awesome. View was outstanding!

Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette,Il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Having just spent several weeks at the Westin Cabo we are saddened to leave as the hotel has become our home away from home in every way. Perhaps most memorable is the attitude, quality, and graciousness of practically every employee, those in sight and those working behind in service areas. Always a smile, always a hello and after a while name recognition, leaving you with a wonderful feeling. In every department the hotels employees have gone overboard in making your stay a wonderful experience and wanting you to want to return. This is not the first time my wife and I have experienced this at the Westin Cabo and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at The WESTIN difference.Our Dedicated Staff will do the Utmost to be at your best and Feeling renewal. With the Goal of sending guest home feeling better than when they arrived, Westin has developed a wealth of refreshing signature products and invigorating sensory experiences.If there is anything you may need, just ask!Where the rugged desert meets the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez lies The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.A celebrated rendition of the Arch in Cabo San Lucas and nestled into the cliffs overlooking the intensely blue Sea of Cortez, this strikingly imagined resort offers both architectural majesty and a supremely relaxing vacation of renewal. The desert, the pacific and the sea of Cortez meet at the tip of Mexico’s Baja peninsula –Land’s End – a destination of sharp contracts echoed by the award-winning architecture of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.Leave the world behind and step into our desert Oasis. Live the good life as the white sands and soothing surfwash your cares away.Awaiting your arrival are luxurious Ocean view rooms featuring the heavenly bed® a Westin Signature, a Private Beach, Three Pools, A full service Spa including Westin Workout® and Plenty of Sunshine.Choose from four distinguished restaurant, each offering it’s unique cuisine and atmosphere from the informality of the food and view of the beach at La Cascada and La playa or indulge at our fine dining El Ciruelo and Arrecifes our 4 diamond award Restaurant.As Leader in the Market Segment, Westin is an icon of high hospitality in Los Cabos. Stunning remarkable contemporary architecture and combining both our experience and intuition will help you to create personal and memorable events.Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish.A full menu of relaxation and recreation is always within reach, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.