We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun, feet in the sand but no Ocean access?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Dalas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun, feet in the sand but no Ocean access?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Everything about the Westin was great with one exception. Can this hotel really advertise being beach front "where the waves wash your cares away" when they don't allow you to get into the ocean? We spent a lot of obey to go on a beach vacation but couldn't get in the water at the resort? We had to drive off property to go the beach. If you plan on letting the ocean wash your cares away, you can't so it at the Westin Cabo. Should have given us a credit back for this false advertising. The property is beautiful, food great and the staff was friendly thought.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the scenery of the resort, as well as the friendliness of our staff. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the beach during your stay with us. The safety of our guests is a top priority at The Westin, and for this reason we discourage swimming in the ocean during rough surf. We offer several pools throughout the resort for guests to enjoy. Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    304
    122
    62
    55
See reviews for
191
413
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Westin seems about half way between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo, but in my case that was a plus. Spent 4th of July weekend there (three nights) and never felt the urge to leave the premises. The resort is beautiful, the fitness center has completely up-to-date equipment in great working order, restaurant choices are good. I had an ocean-view room and utilized the balcony every morning for coffee while I watched the resort come to life. The sound of surf (this is not a swimming beach) was with me always even with the doors closed and AC on. Lunch beachside was terrific the two times I visited that spot and, actually all the restaurants were good. Arrecife's was outstanding and what a wonderful spot to enjoy encroaching darkness while enjoying a great martini and then a lovely meal. One night while I was there, the hotel had a private cocktail party for guests who were Starwood Preferred Guests and they really did a nice job with good drinks and excellent appetizers. All in all, it made for a great, restful three day weekend and I'd like to do it again.

Room Tip: Paying a little more for oceanfront is definitely worth it, if one enjoys coffee and/or cocktails on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. We are delighted that your stay with us during Fourth of July weekend was an enjoyable and relaxing experience. We are so glad that the number of amenities, including our fitness center and onsite restaurants did not fall short of your expectations. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the SPG cocktail party, and that our level of hospitality provided you with a memorable trip in Los Cabos. Thank you for choosing The Westin, we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I had a long trip for business, we got to stay in 3 different hotels within 2 weeks. The Westin was the last one, for leisure, as Gold SPG members we've got to see many, if not a lot of Westin and Sheraton hotels in America and the rest of the world, this one stands out for an extraordinary staff, friendly, helpful, with a great sense of excellence.
While we were staying at another hotel down the road, I read some reviews about construction at the Westin, we were concerned that precisely this, our relaxing part of the trip was going to be ruined with noise and dust every day. I called the hotel and contacted Relos, (?) it turned out to be Daniel, the concierge, who went out of his way to make sure we got all the answers to our inquiries, no matter how petty they seemed. At the point we were thinking of booking the Sheraton instead, after making sure there was no construction (and really, there was not at all) we ended up going to the Westin, this was by far the best of all 3 we stayed in Cabo!
great margaritas upon check in, spg members preferred booth, amazing architecture, breathtaking views, newly renovated pools, clean and lush gardens, awesome!! but what it really blows you away is SOME staff members, our maid, Adriana at cascada, Rigo at the bar, Ivan at the cabanas site, it's easy to find Daniel and other managers by the pool, at the Club Lounge or even at the fine dining restaurant talking to their clientele, making sure everyone is enjoying the stay without any trouble, and if there is, you can be sure it will be fixed right away.
there are some I need to mention, this is the only hotel in Los Cabos that charges for parking! other than this, I'd say the food is just fine, a little overpriced for what you get but let's get over it, it's Cabo, it's not for everyone, phone operators need more training.
we'll definitely go back, thanks to the Westin for a great stay, and your customer service superstars!

Room Tip: go for the Club upgrade, a nicer room also gets you breakfast and drinks for $$80 a night, completel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your trip with us at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our friendly staff made a lasting impression on you throughout your stay at the resort. At The Westin, we strive to provide all of our guests with a quality of service that exceeds expectations. We are so glad you enjoyed a number of amenities that we have to offer, including the pools and restaurants. Thank you for choosing The Westin, we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First, if you've read the most recent reviews and are about to go - the pools are all now in working order, no construction!
We travel often and have visited Cabo once before. This is a pretty resort, definitely very nice. It is aging a little, but still beautiful. No, families will not want to swim in the ocean - there are black flags daily, but it's really fun just to walk in the surf along the beach. The pools are a lot of fun and very pretty. We would start the morning in the lower pool close to La Playa restaurant and eventually move up to the top level pool, which is the most shaded and much cooler.
We had dinner/lunches at both La Cascada Buffet and La Playa. Food was great at both. Our favorite night at the buffet was actually their Mexican night, and we eat a lot of Mexican food being from San Antonio. The shrimp fajitas were very good. They also had a night when they grilled outdoors at the buffet, also very good. La Playa's quesadillas and shrimp tacos were great.
Service is pretty perfect. There is always an attentive waiter nearby. Most speak excellent English if you're from the states. We had a couple of dinners with my husband's company and our teenage daughter and preteen daughter had dinner at the buffet on their own. The next night with us the waiters knew the younger daughter's name and had been very sweet.
We'd go again. We liked the actual rooms better at Fiesta Americana years ago, but the restaurants and pools here are nicer. :) Enjoy Cabo!

Room Tip: Try to stay in the center tower. We stayed in the very last room in the right tower and could stil s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your whole family was able to enjoy many of the pools and restaurants offered at the resort. We are also glad to learn that the hospitality of our staff did not go unnoticed during your visit. Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The place was amazing. Daniel, the Concierge, could not have been a bigger help. Starting with the driver that picked us up at the airport and wished my wife a happy birthday - to the bell hop who did the same. Then the cake to the room, personalized with my wife's name. Great room, great view. And I have to say - you need to visit El Ciruelo Restaurant if you are in Cabo. Could be one of the best dining experiences we have had. Very relaxing vacation and 5 star service. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Daniel helped to make your stay that much more memorable. Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho mirage
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

So we surprised our friends by flying in and joining them in celebrating the big 50! We were also celebrating our 10 year anniversary. We emailed ahead of time because we wanted it to be very special. We were positive the westin could deliver. They have a great beach side romantic table for two that you can reserve but only with two dinner menu options. All which include fish. I don't eat fish so we requested a menu without. They could not give us that. Was disappointed.

Check in was a breeze. We are corporate spg members that include an upgrade. We asked the guy who checked us in if he could help us out for our anniversary. He did not. Again was disappointed. We checked in on a Monday btw and the hotel seemed empty. He promised us the best room they had avail. It was ok. Only on floor 2. You would think that a better room would have been avail on a higher floor. Keep in mind, we were on the all inclusive plan. I kind of think that is why we didn't get the service we are used to at a Starwood property. Bad excuse.

Pool bar called margaritas, rigo was amazing!
La playa restaurant, service was great! The female bartender knows how to make the best marg on property. Sorry forgot her name. Arricefes fine dining. What a beautiful view and the Decor was nice too. Service was pretty good. A little slow.
La cantina sports bar. They were so accommodating to set up a table for 14. Service was good.
The guy who works in the gift shop had absolutely zero personality and doesn't fit in a Starwood property. I actually needed something and saw that he was working and decided to go back when the lady was working. She was a bit more friendly
Claudia, one of the managers was very nice and tried her best to meet the needs of the guests.
Martha in the spa was such a sweet heart and gave a great massage

We are not very picky but you expect a certain level of service at a westin. For the most part it was pretty good. All in all, looking back we didn't let those small things bother us so it ended up as a great trip. Having friends there helped.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us, and that many of our staff, including Rigo and Claudia made such a lasting and positive impression on you. We are also delighted you were able to enjoy many of the amenities and restaurants available at the resort. Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We just recently returned from our first stay in Los Cabos and at the Westin Resort, which is situated between the two cities of Cabo San Lucas and San Jose. The extraordinary was the norm. The entire hotel staff from Eduardo, the front office manager to Elizabeth, the spa manager, routinely treated us like we were special guests. They were consistent at remembering our names, even the bell staff. That is a very nice feeling. The room we had was spectacular overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We had a Royal Beach Club room, which entitled us to a full breakfast buffet each morning and a happy hour with hot appetizers in the late afternoon. The staff in the Royal Beach Club lounge (especially Karina) could not have been more welcoming or more attentive. The room was very clean and quite large! Before we left home, I had some concerns about our personal safety, given the recent history of violence in Mexico. Once we arrived, all those concerns were washed away. I never had any feeling of uneasiness the entire time we spent at the resort. The resort is so nice, we only left on one evening. We had met another nice couple at the pool and joined them for dinner in San Jose one night. If you are looking for a relaxing place to unwind, this is the place for you. We can't wait to return to see the many friends we made during our visit to the Westin Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel so welcomed and well taken care of. We strive to offer all our guests a level of service that exceeds all their expectations, and we are thrilled that our hospitality did not go unnoticed. We love that you now consider us friends, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
2.0 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 39 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,567 reviews
2.0 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#1 of 39 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos
Marquis Los Cabos
#7 of 39 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
1.7 mi away
One & Only Palmilla Resort
One & Only Palmilla Resort
#2 of 39 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at The WESTIN difference.Our Dedicated Staff will do the Utmost to be at your best and Feeling renewal. With the Goal of sending guest home feeling better than when they arrived, Westin has developed a wealth of refreshing signature products and invigorating sensory experiences.If there is anything you may need, just ask!Where the rugged desert meets the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez lies The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.A celebrated rendition of the Arch in Cabo San Lucas and nestled into the cliffs overlooking the intensely blue Sea of Cortez, this strikingly imagined resort offers both architectural majesty and a supremely relaxing vacation of renewal. The desert, the pacific and the sea of Cortez meet at the tip of Mexico’s Baja peninsula –Land’s End – a destination of sharp contracts echoed by the award-winning architecture of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.Leave the world behind and step into our desert Oasis. Live the good life as the white sands and soothing surfwash your cares away.Awaiting your arrival are luxurious Ocean view rooms featuring the heavenly bed® a Westin Signature, a Private Beach, Three Pools, A full service Spa including Westin Workout® and Plenty of Sunshine.Choose from four distinguished restaurant, each offering it’s unique cuisine and atmosphere from the informality of the food and view of the beach at La Cascada and La playa or indulge at our fine dining El Ciruelo and Arrecifes our 4 diamond award Restaurant.As Leader in the Market Segment, Westin is an icon of high hospitality in Los Cabos. Stunning remarkable contemporary architecture and combining both our experience and intuition will help you to create personal and memorable events.Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish.A full menu of relaxation and recreation is always within reach, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.