We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Amazing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This has been a fantastic vacation. Staff was great as well as the facilities. Rigoberto makes by far the best margaritas. He is genuine and has a real interest in getting to know you. If you have the chance you must visit this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Westin Resort & Spa in Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Los Cabos. We'll be sure to notify Rigoberto of your kind compliments. Our staff is eager to service you during your next stay with us. Please be sure to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    301
    121
    62
    55
See reviews for
190
411
23
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The surrounding are fantastic the exterior very well maintained. The thing they never tell you. Our room and that of two other couples that traveled with us were just tired. The curtains thread bear with holes. Our room the drain on the plumbing plugged the bed mattress felt like the original that was put in many years ago.
They do not tell you they do a auto tip to staff on your club lounge slip when you sign it. If you put a tip that is over and above the amount they have auto added to your bill.
The taxis to and from are expensive for the surrounding area. The food was off and on in the afternoon some days good and some very bad. We just ended up refusing to eat at the hotel after a few days. Some of the staff very professional and some needing more training. Had to ask to have the floors to be cleaned it was done after I asked. I will not be in a hurry to go back. Good luck.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review of The Westin Resort & Spa in Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We apologize our property did not meet your standards. We take our guests' comments and concerns into serious consideration so that we can improve our grounds and service. If you have any other comments regarding our hotel, we encourage you to send your feedback to beat.meier@westin.com so we can work hard to make things better. We hope you will one day decide to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna niguel , calif
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

German was our waiter/server at the pool for 3 days and his friendly approach, attentiveness to our requests went way beyond our expectations. He had our lounge chairs set up with extra towels each day for us and was always ready to help us have the best vacation time possible.
Good job German, you deserve a HUGE raise and a standing ovation from your California friends!
See you next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for posting such a great review of The Westin Resort & Spa in Los Cabos. So glad to know German exceeding your service expectations. We have a great staff here, willing to go above and beyond for all of our guests. Good to know you enjoyed the pool during our vacation. It's really relaxing. We will be sure to pass your generous compliments on to German for showing you stellar customer service. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Upon arrival I happen to get the check in manager, who told me the double room I reserved was not available, and that there would be an extra 50 dollar per night charge. I was told to read the fine print, that the Weston's reservation policy was to add an additional charge if they wanted to. So plan that in your budget, that they may not honor the reservation price. We we were given a single room, then after settling into our room were informed by another front desk staff that the resort was only half full and there were plenty of double rooms, that the front desk manager was just giving us a downgraded at 50 more per night as his whim. This of course put a horrible mar on the whole experience at the Weston. Being a Star wood preferred guest i am certainly not used to this type of substandard service from Weston. It will certainly make me consider my hotel choices in the future. The hotel staff with the exception of the Check in manager was amazing. From the Bellmen to the pool staff to the room staff they were all 5 star great. You want for nothing for more than 30 seconds. The hotel property is aging but well kept and relaxing. The rooms are aging as well, and probably not up to the standards of the price. There were rust stains in the tubs, badly scratched glass showers graffiti and badly scratched glass in the elevators. The hotel is in need of an over haul for sure, but was clean and relaxing. Over all the hotel is a lower standard than your average Weston but the staff is above average of your standard Weston. The eye for detail is just not there for a resort of this price. But kudos to the staff with the exception of the check in manager, they made the stay for sure.

Room Tip: The only tip I can provide is budget up to 50 more per night, per Weston policy as they are allowed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments. I am distressed to hear about your experience during your stay at the Westin. It seems to me that you have been charged for 1 extra adult staying in the same room exceeding the limit regarding the reservations policy. I apologize for any inconveniences you have experienced and I would appreciate you could get in touch with us to clarify this issue.
Thank you for staying at the Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, we hope to see you soon back.

stay well,
Beat Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

First of all friends, my 5-star review does not suggest this is a 5-star property, but that my personal proprietary and complex rating algorithm considers price, setting, convenience, service and amenities. This is a corporate-feeling hotel, which may seem sanitary to some, but to others that means clean, well-maintained and well-staffed with good people who won't steal your stuff out of your room.

Let's face it, folks, Mexico is a third-world country at best. That's one of the reasons you're going there. You are cheap like me: You want the best bang for the buck, and your cheapness has limits. You ::want:: to go to Maui, but it's a lot farther away and really expensive and now you're thinking, "Hey, why not Cabo? It's a short flight, and centuries of corruption have created a favorable economic environment for tourists. Let's risk the chance of getting randomly beheaded by a drug cartel also vacationing in Cabo and save some money." Sound like you? Then read on.

First of all, some logistics: The Westin is closer to San Jose Del Cabo than it is to Cabo San Lucas. A CAB RIDE WILL COST YOU US$65 from the airport, but that's because of the federal tax in place getting out of the airport. A cab from the Westin to San Jose will cost you 200 pesos, or about US$18. From there to Cabo San Lucas is about twice that. If you are considering renting a car to save some money, don't bother. You are already saving money because you're in a third-world country, and the last thing you want to deal with is accidentally parking your car illegally and having to deal with that, or getting pulled over after having a few tequilas. Then what? Sold into slavery by a corrupt policia federali? Seriously, stop being so cheap and just take a cab and you'll have one less thing to worry about. This is your vacation after all.

Here's SOME INFO ON CAR RENTALS: That US$10/day rate looks tempting, but then you'll get there and they'll try to scare you into buying insurance coverage, which is a total scam because it's between $25-$50 per day. Again, don't bother. You're really being cheap in the wrong way. However, if you do rent a car, the Westin has FREE SELF PARKING, which they totally tell you about when you pull up, or you can valet for US$10/day.

Ok, right. So about the hotel. I am Starwood gold for life, so when we checked in, we got upgraded to a junior suite. So the $200 I paid for my beach-front "Royal Beach Club" room turned into a $450 room twice the size with a jacuzzi on the balcony. This greatly appealed to my cheapness and started the stay out in the right direction. The room was nice and roomy, clean, and had a great view.

If you don't want to spend US$35 for a bacchanalian buffet breakfast every morning, book a room with the "Royal Beach Club" option, which is basically access to their club lounge in Starwood-speak. BREAKFAST in the RBC is free, and consists of eggs, bacon, something else that's hot, plus all the cereal, yogurt, breads and various other things that will satisfy anyone not from the middle of the country trying to maintain their obesity, and even in that case, FREE BACON. Don't be cheap and not leave a tip here. Seriously, five bucks? You can afford that.

The other good thing about the RBC is HAPPY HOUR from 5-7, featuring FREE DRINKS. Margaritas, beer and wine, ALL YOU CAN DRINK, FOR FREE, and the dude pouring the wine is aggressive about keeping your glass full. Again, leave a tip. This is Mexican hospitality at its best, and while you may have paid a little extra for it in your rate, it's something like $15 more per night and you get FREE BACON to adequately maintain your weight, and FREE DRINKS. Get some.

THE FOOD AT THE RESORT is more expensive than in Cabo or San Jose. Deal with it, or go somewhere else for dinner. Lunch at the restaurant on the beach was a bit more Americanized than I would have liked, but I had some tacos that were fine. ARRECIFES, the fine-dining restaurant, was very good.

THERE ARE SEVERAL POOLS, all of which are kept refreshingly chilly. I take issue with this. I think they think people want to sit around and get hot and will welcome a cold pool. What people seem to want instead is a moderately warm pool that they can float around in. So on the plus side, there aren't a lot of people in the pools, splashing around and making noise. On the negative side, you aren't in the pool because it's really cold. This did not detract from my stay at all.

THE SPA is simple and clean, with all the amenities you expect, like a nice steam room, sauna, clean changing room, etc. I wouldn't call it "luxurious" like at some mega spa in Vegas where attendants bring you cold towels and juice, but it is far nicer than spas I have seen at other 4-star properties. The treatments were good and well-priced, and there was a November discount, which I suspect they do for every month. The staff there is really nice and accomodating.

THE STAFF is courteous and friendly, efficient and apparently hard-working.

There was a wedding one night and so one of the restaurants was closed. On the upside, there was a mini fireworks show right outside our room. Some people would complain about this being incredibly loud and extremely close, but we saw this as a one-minute bonus.

BOTTOM LINE: If you are looking for high quality at a fair price with a great location, you will find the Westin Los Cabos hard to beat.

Room Tip: Get a Royal Beach Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this informative review of our property on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide information about the local area to future guests. We are happy to know you enjoy your stay with us and we hope that you will continue to support Starwood Hotels. Our Royal Beach Club Happy Hour is quite popular. Also, it's great you were able to take advantage of some of the other amenities we provide including the spa and pools. We can't wait to service you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Property and service were great! Our beach side server German was by far the best server we have had in all our travels. Victor at the front desk was extreamly helpful. When the kids say they had more fun in Cabo than Hawaii I call it a win!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for posting such a nice review of the Westin Resort & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback about our resort and it's great to hear the kids enjoyed the property as well. Thanks for noticing how hard our staff works to make our guests feel comfortable on their vacations with us. We will be sure to pass on your lovely compliments to German, Victor and the rest of the staff. Please come back to visit us soon with the kids. We have lots of activities the whole family will enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We upgraded to the Royal Beach Club and stayed in a stunning and spotless room on the 8th floor, in the middle of the arch that fronts the beach. This resort is spotless. The service is impeccable. Food and drink prices are high, but, it's a resort and it's fairly isolated. If you are looking for an opportunity to relax and recharge, this is your place. It's almost as if the resort is under-capacity and that was a-okay for us. The spa was excellent as well and the fitness center appeared well-appointed. The pools are stunning but unreasonably cold.

We won our three-night stay at the Westin and spent our last three days at Playa Grande, a part of Solmar Resorts. We changed locations only because we thought it would be nice to stay at a resort closer to the marina and all of the action. Upon arriving at Playa Grande after leaving the Westin, we were immediately disappointed. The Playa Grande was loud, chaotic and filled with high pressure sales tactics and we almost forfeited our prepaid three nights stay at the Playa Grande to return to the Westin. If we return to Cabo, we'll be staying at the Westin.

One note of caution is to check your bill, as you should do anywhere that you stay. We noted some discrepancies but they were immediately resolved.

Room Tip: Opt for the Royal Beach Club. It includes breakfast and a daily happy hour that is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for posting this review of the Westin Resort & Spa in Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy to hear you plan on returning to the resort in the near future. Our property is quite relaxing. Guests take advantage of the many activities we provide here including The Spa. When you come back, please try to check it out. We offer many different spa packages year-round! Sorry to hear of the discrepancy with your bill. Our management team is quick and efficient when dealing with guests concerns. Thank you for commending their diligence. We hope you will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at The WESTIN difference.Our Dedicated Staff will do the Utmost to be at your best and Feeling renewal. With the Goal of sending guest home feeling better than when they arrived, Westin has developed a wealth of refreshing signature products and invigorating sensory experiences.If there is anything you may need, just ask!Where the rugged desert meets the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez lies The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.A celebrated rendition of the Arch in Cabo San Lucas and nestled into the cliffs overlooking the intensely blue Sea of Cortez, this strikingly imagined resort offers both architectural majesty and a supremely relaxing vacation of renewal. The desert, the pacific and the sea of Cortez meet at the tip of Mexico’s Baja peninsula –Land’s End – a destination of sharp contracts echoed by the award-winning architecture of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.Leave the world behind and step into our desert Oasis. Live the good life as the white sands and soothing surfwash your cares away.Awaiting your arrival are luxurious Ocean view rooms featuring the heavenly bed® a Westin Signature, a Private Beach, Three Pools, A full service Spa including Westin Workout® and Plenty of Sunshine.Choose from four distinguished restaurant, each offering it’s unique cuisine and atmosphere from the informality of the food and view of the beach at La Cascada and La playa or indulge at our fine dining El Ciruelo and Arrecifes our 4 diamond award Restaurant.As Leader in the Market Segment, Westin is an icon of high hospitality in Los Cabos. Stunning remarkable contemporary architecture and combining both our experience and intuition will help you to create personal and memorable events.Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish.A full menu of relaxation and recreation is always within reach, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.