We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind and discover Baja California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Kids Eat Free
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind and discover Baja California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Baja California, and we will return for sure! Westin is located on the highway between San Jose del Cabos and Cabo San Lucas, only 1/2 hour from the airport. Our rooms had the best ocean view ever and the kids enjoyed all the pools, tennis court, mini-golf and the wonderful buffets. The service was impeccable. You can do some snorkeling right in front of your hotel while the waiter is getting you some refreshing margaritas and fresadas for the kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    285
    114
    62
    53
See reviews for
176
392
23
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Save your money and don’t go to Los Cabos, go somewhere else. I don’t get Jenifer Aniston’s unhealthy obsession with this area – it’s not pretty AT ALL, no nature, no swimmable beaches, no historic sites. Great food and a lot of emerging chefs, but super expensive.Food is prices like at US top restaurants.

About Westine:

Pros: location, more or less is OK, but beach is not for swimming, architecture is interesting and unique, but if you have little kids who like to climb things, please stay away, since this hotel has a lot of stairs and drops, rooms are OK, nothing special.

Cons: Service is slow, they forget your order you have to remind them several times and at the end they will bring you someone else’s bill for more than you ordered, please check carefully before you pay. Everyone is looking at you as you are a cash cow, they trying to overcharge you at any given opportunity. Food at the hotel is super expensive and not good at all, our $75 breakfast was terrible. Parking is limited, if you decide to rent a car, beware there are only 16 spots available, and they are taken almost all the time, valet is not free of course.

I love Mexico, but I am not be coming back to Los Cabos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
On behalf of The Westin Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for staying with us over Christmas and your compliments regarding our great food and great chefs on property. The prices are generally all the same in Los Cabos being a prestige destination. You can enjoy our Superfoods RX Breakfast Buffet at the Cascada Restaurant to a cost of 25 usd per person with a wide variety of warm and cold freshly prepared dishes. The parking lot is limited externally but we also have underground parking to an extra charge available.

We take comments of this nature very seriously as we pride ourselves on being an oasis of luxury with attentive service and genuine hospitality. If we can be of any assistance on your next return trip to Los Cabos, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Happy New Year and all the best for 2013,
Stay well,

Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We're in the midst of an excellent stay that started off quite rocky. Despite numerous emails and notifications prior to our visit, my wife's birthday and our 1-year anniversary trip started off rough at check-in, with the room not ready, the front desk staff not quite polite and generally not the welcoming an SPG Plat would expect of a 5-star resort.

The rest of the staff has been fantastic and our breakfasts and happy hours have been quite fun in the Royal Beach Club lounge. The property is pretty nice and situated beautifully in paradise.

It's really hard to complain when you're sitting on the beach here, but the general layout requires a ton of walking and stairs, and the gym is not very good for a "Westin Workout" designation. The food is pretty good at the pool or the main restaurant, but definitely comes with the Westin price tag.

Overall, we may come back in the future, but we're planning in checking out the Sheraton or Hilton the next time we come to Cabo.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

we spent 3 nights here before going onto our timeshare exchange in san jose. a massive structure, however, very attractive. lovely pool area. great beach to walk on due to all the rock formations. good food around the pool. warmish pools. quiet. fantastic view from our room, although by even 9:00 the balcony was too hot to sit on. friendly, helpful staff. only negative is that to go anywhere one needs a cab or have a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Awesome hotel and very convenient for families. A drawback is the distance of the hotel from the 2 cities making traveling difficult unless you rent a car. The hotel will also benefit by having a coffee shop on site. Food options are limited and pricey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Overall - good place to stay. Very clean, great attentive staff, beautiful location, very good high-end restaurant on location, quiet setting, heavenly crib for our 18-month old, etc.

On the negative side - a beachfront you really cant swim in since the waves are almost always too strong, very average food buffet, far from anything else - so you need to spend good bucks on a taxi or rental to see anything outside resort, not too kid-friendly in that the floors are marble and lots of sharp edges etc...so if you have a tiny one - be prepared to hover over all the time!

But as noted - a solid 4 out of 5 stars. Would go again - especially once our little one grows up!

Room Tip: all rooms are good - all have water view - though some are partial view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just spent our 4th stay at this resort. The staff from valet to front desk to pool staff and food and beverage service is consistently excellent. Architecturally, the resort is stunning.

It's located between San Jose and Los cabos on the corridor. In fact, this past trip of 4 nights, we never left the resort.

We were greeted with a few welcoming margaritas as we checked in. Every room has an ocean view. There are several pools on site. The beach is great to walk. This part of the beach is not great for swimming as the waves are sometimes 6-10 feet, but watching them crash on the beach and rocks is amazing. It's great to leave the sliding doors open at night and listen the the waves crashing.

There are several dining options. We love Arrifices. However, one of the best amenities is the Royal Beach Club. If you do not have the Starwood status to gain access, it's definitely worth paying for. Virtually a full breakfast in the morning and free booze and very heavy appetizers in the evening. The staff is awesome in there. Tip them well, they deserve it.

While there are plenty of options in Cabo and perhaps more luxe choices, the westin will always be our first choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Higher floors are preferred for the views. Must upgrade to a room with RB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at The WESTIN difference.Our Dedicated Staff will do the Utmost to be at your best and Feeling renewal. With the Goal of sending guest home feeling better than when they arrived, Westin has developed a wealth of refreshing signature products and invigorating sensory experiences.If there is anything you may need, just ask!Where the rugged desert meets the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez lies The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.A celebrated rendition of the Arch in Cabo San Lucas and nestled into the cliffs overlooking the intensely blue Sea of Cortez, this strikingly imagined resort offers both architectural majesty and a supremely relaxing vacation of renewal. The desert, the pacific and the sea of Cortez meet at the tip of Mexico’s Baja peninsula –Land’s End – a destination of sharp contracts echoed by the award-winning architecture of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.Leave the world behind and step into our desert Oasis. Live the good life as the white sands and soothing surfwash your cares away.Awaiting your arrival are luxurious Ocean view rooms featuring the heavenly bed® a Westin Signature, a Private Beach, Three Pools, A full service Spa including Westin Workout® and Plenty of Sunshine.Choose from four distinguished restaurant, each offering it’s unique cuisine and atmosphere from the informality of the food and view of the beach at La Cascada and La playa or indulge at our fine dining El Ciruelo and Arrecifes our 4 diamond award Restaurant.As Leader in the Market Segment, Westin is an icon of high hospitality in Los Cabos. Stunning remarkable contemporary architecture and combining both our experience and intuition will help you to create personal and memorable events.Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish.A full menu of relaxation and recreation is always within reach, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.