We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi-remote location, super clean, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Semi-remote location, super clean, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just spent a week here over Thanksgiving. We really enjoyed ourselves but there were some definite highs and lows:

Highs:
Incredibly clean & spacious rooms
Great staff
Nice pools (very clean)
Beautiful, walkable beach(s)
Not a party zone - which made is very relaxing
Onsite services are nice. After day 3 of lounging by the pool, we decided to rent a car. We also did the 4 hour snorkeling/kayaking trip and it was fantastic, highly recommend it.

Lows:
Location - off the beaten path (i.e. expensive cab rides unless you have or rent a car)
No hotel provided shuttle service to Cabo,San Jose del Cabo or airport
Onsite restaurants were so so

If you want a very lazy and relaxing vacation where you stay on site the entire time, this is a perfect place. If you like a little more action, like us, you may want to consider something closer to Cabo.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Beach Club and take advantage of free breakfast and happy hour - totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    301
    120
    62
    55
See reviews for
189
409
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wow... what an amazing and rejuvenating 7-day vacation we just had at the Westin Los Cabos. I was extremely tempted to extend our stay, because this place is an absolute oasis. My architect husband was amazed at the resort structures and grounds. The restaurant (La Cascada) has an extraordinary buffet for both breakfast and dinner - excellent quality and presentation for a buffet - and soooo delicious! The breakfast chilaquiles are amazing! Ordering off the menu was just as delicous - dare I say even the oatmeal was a delicious gourmet experience with bruleed bananas and fresh berries! The chefs at this hotel are 5-star in my opinion. The music in the evenings was so pleasant - an 8 piece mariachi one night, a 3-piece harp/vocal/guitar/flute another.

Also the staff throughout the resort is so professional and welcoming - they work so hard to keep everything perfect at all times! (poolside servers are readily available, housekeeping refreshed our room multiple times per day, servers at the restaurant don't miss a beat with the refills and bussing, reception greeters are so welcoming, both concierges are incredibly helpful and gave excellent advice, bellmen opened every door at the instant and helped with anything we needed). Rental car onsite was so fun to take a couple days and just drive (with direction from the concierges). Our hotel room was super clean and comfortable. It appears that the view from every single room is equally beautiful. The fitness center is larger than expected with modern equipment and very clean. The spa just basic massage was wonderful. The sauna at the spa was awesome.

I gather there is a lot of competition among the 4-star resorts in Los Cabos. I would choose the Westin every time! We loved the location (being in the corridor). Also, I am a Starwood member, but not elevated status. And yet we were treated like royalty! The service is truly amazing, and the architecture and grounds and pools and beach and facilities really cannot be beat! This was seriously our best vacation in years! I can't stop telling my friends and family what a great place this is. And we cannot wait to return! Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and closer to the middle of the curve. Even just the 1st-line upgrade to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A really great hotel/resort on the rugged coast between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. We stayed at the Regina/Raintree timeshare apartments which is part of Westin. Raintree has its own amenities such as pools, restaurants, beach, etc. but we enjoyed the Westin pools and restaurants. The resort is built on a steep rocky hillside going down to the sea. It is great, every room has a beautiful view. The small streets are traversed by either walking or using the many golf carts driven by employees. One phone call to the front desk and within 30 sec. to a minute a cart is at your door. We walked a lot up and down steps but you can ride for free. The beach is spectacular...surf can be a little dicey, but the beach is great. The many pools were all nice with some cool, and some very warm...which would please everyone. The people who worked there were extremely friendly and helpful. Everything was done with a smile...
Would go back again and certainly rate this as one of the best places I have ever stayed. Close ride to Cabo, which is sort of touristy but fun bars and restaurants. San Jose, which is nearer, has a great Art Walk on thursdays...great artists and galleries, and fun restaurants. This is a must if you go there. Streets blocked off so no cars around and good police presence to keep away the vendors. Nice relaxing evening there.

Room Tip: Every room has a view...no problem. The lower the building or floor the less steps to deal with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin for a week in November and enjoyed every minute of our trip!
The Westin is located between Cabo and San Jose. We took the public bus (very easy,safe,and cheap!) to Cabo one day but were glad to get back to the Westin and Cabo is full of people trying to sell things to you, busy, and just wasn't to out liking.
We want to San Jose another day which was a great town, much more calm and great food! (Try the Tropicana for lunch or dinner)
All of the staff at the Westin was unbelievably attentive and friendly! From our bell hop Alfonso who gave us great tips about restaurants and services to the amazing bar and restaurant staff (Rigoberto and Jamie were two of our favorites, always ready to serve and smiles on their faces...very genuine!)
Room service for breakfast was always great, but try the buffet to(bottomless mimosas and great food!)
The food at the Westin was great but a little spendy...it's worth it if you want to just relax and be pampered.
I can't forget the pools! They are right on the beach, clean, and plenty of space for everyone!
If you want to party and have cheap booze, try and all inclusive place in Cabo. If you want a great getaway the Westin is for you!
Thank you Westin staff for making out trip great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Westin for 7 nights over Thanksgiving.

Pros:
Location - quiet and relaxing (away from touristy downtown cabo)
Beach - not crowded and the water was warmer than the pool!
Room - our water view room was beautiful and clean
Staff - everyone we encountered was beyond friendly! Great service!
Gym - much larger and newer than most hotel gyms

Cons:
Food -breakfast and lunch were ok, but dinner was terrible and over priced. I recommend driving to downtown Jose Del Cabo and eating there (Voila Bistro was our favorite)
Beach Volleyball - should be moved to spot were the san is not rocky

Recommendation:
Rent a car! We paid $60 for 8 days (taxi from airport to hotel is $28)! And ended up driving somewhere for dinner almost every night. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel has good and bad things. You should consider both sides before going there.
These are the positive things: It’s a beautiful resort, It’s super clean; the staffs are great and super friendly, it has great restaurants, great food, you’ll receive high quality customer service, beautiful outdoor pools (but the pool water is extremely cold), nice gym.
These are the negative things: All the negative things are related to the location of the hotel. It’s too far from all the attractions. If you want to drive to the city both ways it’s about 50 miles, each way it costs you about $35 USD. We had to pay taxi 70 USD a day to go to the city and come back to the resort. We tried to take the bus but the bus station is across the freeway, it was too dangerous to walk across the freeway, there was no bridge or walkway to cross so taking the bus is not practical. The hotel is very isolated and there is nothing close to it. You can barely swim in the ocean because it has very sharp waves; it’s very dangerous to swim there especially if you have kids. We were there in the best season, November, and we couldn’t go to the water. We had to use the pool all the time and the pools in this resort are too too cold. In order to swim in the ocean we had to take the taxi o go to the safe beaches, and the closest safe beach with low waves was about 25 miles (one way) to the hotel. I saw many great five store resorts close to attractions and by the safe beaches. This hotel is great for those who don’t want to go to the water, they don’t want to leave the resort and want to stay in one isolated place and eat in the same restaurants otherwise it’s very incontinent to commute.
At nights you we couldn't sleep well due to the sound of the waves, sometimes the windows were shaking, the waves were extremely sharp at this location.

Room Tip: Just look for luxary resorts close to the safe beaches, most of these resorts were close to Cabo. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel in Trip Advisor.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for the inconveniences you may have experienced. We never want our guests to leave disappointed and we would like to look further into this matter. This is not indicative at all of the level of service we aim to provide and that our guests deserve.
I would like to inform you that the two biggest pools overlooking the ocean have brand new water heater for the pools installed (December 1st, 2012) which assures a nice average water temperature of 27 C degree.
As you no doubt noticed when reading our reviews, hundreds of past guests have focused their reviews on our excellent customer service.
Thank you again for bringing these concerns to my attention.

Best Regards
Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love Cabo and visit frequently. Chose the Westin Cabo because it seemed to have an amazing pool and this is where we spend a lot of our time when we are at the resort. The Adult Pool is not heated! There is a bar at the pool and it was extremely hard to even get into the water. I was really sad about this because the pool and the ocean view are so beautiful. The rooms were a nice size and clean. We purchased the Royal Beach Club for $80 for two people which gives you access to "breakfast" from 7-11:00 and "snacks" and drinks from 5:00-7:00. Save your money. The food is not very good and you can get much better food and cheaper drinks downtown San Jose. At the pool during the day they have a "Special Drink: 2:1" So you basically get two drinks for about $10 or $14, depending on the day ;) You are much better off drinking all day at the pool. Also, the food variety from the various restaurants within the hotels is basically the same menu. If you order something at the pool it is the same menu as if you walk to the beach side restaurant. Also, with the Royal Beach Club it is the leftovers from the buffets. For example, the day after Thanksgiving you have ham for breakfast. The one day there were these pieces of bread with beans and shreadded beef for breakfast, evening snack and then again the same beef the next morning. Lots of it left I guess. Things are not kept at the proper temperatures, such as milk, etc.. So be careful. I got really sick a couple of times. The good thing is the facility is nice and there are several nice people that work there. The cost for the rooms and food is high. I think staying at an all inclusive resort closer to San Jose is a much better option. There was no entertainment at the resort. The cab ride into San Jose was between $14-$18 each way. We went into town several times for food or drinks. I recommend a burger from Teo and a fresh basil mojito. While at the Westin go to the beach, take a right and walk down a mile or so. You will get some amazing pictures. Beautiful beaches and homes. That was one of the best parts.

Room Tip: We were in 1930. Ocean View and in the center section. I would say to get floor 7,8, or 9 in the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel in Trip Advisor.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for the inconveniences you may have experienced. We never want our guests to leave disappointed and we would like to look further into this matter. This is not indicative at all of the level of service we aim to provide and that our guests deserve.
As you no doubt noticed when reading our reviews, hundreds of past guests have focused their reviews on our excellent customer service.
Thank you again for bringing these concerns to my attention.

Best Regards
Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at The WESTIN difference.Our Dedicated Staff will do the Utmost to be at your best and Feeling renewal. With the Goal of sending guest home feeling better than when they arrived, Westin has developed a wealth of refreshing signature products and invigorating sensory experiences.If there is anything you may need, just ask!Where the rugged desert meets the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez lies The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.A celebrated rendition of the Arch in Cabo San Lucas and nestled into the cliffs overlooking the intensely blue Sea of Cortez, this strikingly imagined resort offers both architectural majesty and a supremely relaxing vacation of renewal. The desert, the pacific and the sea of Cortez meet at the tip of Mexico’s Baja peninsula –Land’s End – a destination of sharp contracts echoed by the award-winning architecture of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.Leave the world behind and step into our desert Oasis. Live the good life as the white sands and soothing surfwash your cares away.Awaiting your arrival are luxurious Ocean view rooms featuring the heavenly bed® a Westin Signature, a Private Beach, Three Pools, A full service Spa including Westin Workout® and Plenty of Sunshine.Choose from four distinguished restaurant, each offering it’s unique cuisine and atmosphere from the informality of the food and view of the beach at La Cascada and La playa or indulge at our fine dining El Ciruelo and Arrecifes our 4 diamond award Restaurant.As Leader in the Market Segment, Westin is an icon of high hospitality in Los Cabos. Stunning remarkable contemporary architecture and combining both our experience and intuition will help you to create personal and memorable events.Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish.A full menu of relaxation and recreation is always within reach, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.