We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area of Cabo, but some recommendations...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Kids Eat Free
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Area of Cabo, but some recommendations...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love Cabo and visit frequently. Chose the Westin Cabo because it seemed to have an amazing pool and this is where we spend a lot of our time when we are at the resort. The Adult Pool is not heated! There is a bar at the pool and it was extremely hard to even get into the water. I was really sad about this because the pool and the ocean view are so beautiful. The rooms were a nice size and clean. We purchased the Royal Beach Club for $80 for two people which gives you access to "breakfast" from 7-11:00 and "snacks" and drinks from 5:00-7:00. Save your money. The food is not very good and you can get much better food and cheaper drinks downtown San Jose. At the pool during the day they have a "Special Drink: 2:1" So you basically get two drinks for about $10 or $14, depending on the day ;) You are much better off drinking all day at the pool. Also, the food variety from the various restaurants within the hotels is basically the same menu. If you order something at the pool it is the same menu as if you walk to the beach side restaurant. Also, with the Royal Beach Club it is the leftovers from the buffets. For example, the day after Thanksgiving you have ham for breakfast. The one day there were these pieces of bread with beans and shreadded beef for breakfast, evening snack and then again the same beef the next morning. Lots of it left I guess. Things are not kept at the proper temperatures, such as milk, etc.. So be careful. I got really sick a couple of times. The good thing is the facility is nice and there are several nice people that work there. The cost for the rooms and food is high. I think staying at an all inclusive resort closer to San Jose is a much better option. There was no entertainment at the resort. The cab ride into San Jose was between $14-$18 each way. We went into town several times for food or drinks. I recommend a burger from Teo and a fresh basil mojito. While at the Westin go to the beach, take a right and walk down a mile or so. You will get some amazing pictures. Beautiful beaches and homes. That was one of the best parts.

Room Tip: We were in 1930. Ocean View and in the center section. I would say to get floor 7,8, or 9 in the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel in Trip Advisor.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for the inconveniences you may have experienced. We never want our guests to leave disappointed and we would like to look further into this matter. This is not indicative at all of the level of service we aim to provide and that our guests deserve.
As you no doubt noticed when reading our reviews, hundreds of past guests have focused their reviews on our excellent customer service.
Thank you again for bringing these concerns to my attention.

Best Regards
Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    299
    120
    62
    55
See reviews for
187
407
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

My family of 6 stayed at the Westin over the Thanksgiving holiday. Family vacations are very precious with 3 of our 4 kids off in college so I was hoping for a spectacular time with my family. While the property itself is stunning and has many great amenities, it does not make up for the terrible service that we experienced during our stay. With Platinum status with SPG, we had hoped for an upgrade for both of our rooms but would have been fine if they could not accommodate our request. The mess that happened with our two rooms was inexcusable. Having to move rooms twice during a 6 night stay is outrageous. While the front desk manager tried to make it right, the beginning of our vacation was already ruined. It was going to be hard for them to recover.

And then the rude service that we encountered from the bar staff, and the waiters at the main restaurant and the sports bar didn't help the situation. They were slow, appeared to be annoyed by our presence and couldn't care less about our dining experience. One night in the sports bar my daughter asked if they had pasta with marinara sauce. It wasn't on the menu but she asked. The waiter said they did have pasta with red sauce. After waiting at least 30 minutes, the waiter brought pasta with red sauce and cheese baked all thoughout the dish. My daughter is lactose intolerant and pointed this out the the waiter and asked if she could get it fixed to the pasta with marinara she had asked for. He was rude, told her that they always make it with cheese and indicated that we might have to pay for the dish with the cheese. My daughter was almost in tears because how poorly the waiter handled this situation. We also attempted to have dinner at their fancier restaurant Arrecifes. But when my kids saw that the menu only had 3 entrees to choose from and only 6 total itmes on the enitee menue, we had to leave for the main restaurant which at least had more choices.

But the beach restaurant, La Playa, is the exception. The service there was always great and the food consistently good. The rooms are all very nice with great bathrooms. The pool area is beautiful and we very much enjoyed the beach too. And having access to the Royal Beach Club lounge was a real plus that we took advantage of. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the architecture of the resort is stunning.

Ultimately we did have a great family vacation despite the terrible service that we encountered. But we will never stay at this resort again. No reason to go back when there are so many other options in the area. I do highly recommend renting a car for your stay in Cabo. This gives you the freedom to explore the area and the restaurants instead of being stuck at a resort.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
Hotel in Trip Advisor. First of all I would like to apologize again for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We have given you the best available rooms with ocean view we had available at the time and the same we had offered for your whole family. I am certainly disappointed that your room assignment was not as expected. I am happy we could clarify your situation on property.
I also would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for the inconveniences at the restaurants and I can assure those comments will be addressed to the responsible staff in order to improve any inefficiency and better service for any other guests with similar requests.
We never want our guests to leave disappointed and we would like to look further into this matter. This is not indicative at all of the level of service we aim to provide and that our guests deserve. As you no doubt noticed when reading our reviews, hundreds of past guests have focused their reviews on our excellent customer service.
Thank you again for bringing these concerns to my attention.

Best Regards
Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Tranquil, excellent view and access to beach. Very helpful staff, always ready to assist.
Beach is rough - so they are not swimmable.
Hotel has interesting choice of colors all bright and very typical of Mexico I heard. But I realized it was really more unique to Westin.

All inclusive has a decent set of options to eat at. Typically buffet type meals with plenty to choose from. Staff went out of their way to assist with our vegetarian meals. Chefs prepared special vegetarian meals when requested.

Very helpful Activities desk agent. Baja Outback activities (hiking/sailing/kayaking) were amazing.

This is a family friendly hotel. So several families with kids were present.
20 minute drive to San jose and Cabo.
Driving a car works out most economically unless planning to stay in the resort for the entire stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It's a wonderful hotel with awesome swimming pools, very nice rooms and a great staff. We chose this hotel because we didn't want to stay in an all inclusive hotel with partying college kids and this hotel worked out great.

Room Tip: Tip the front desk receptionist and they will hook you up with a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Los Cabos is beautiful, the infinite blue of the Sea of Cortez is one most beautiful settings you can imagine. The setting for the Westin Resort & Spa is spectacular - and the architecture of the property is stunning. We came for the relaxation and Heavenly Bed - it's a quick getaway from San Francisco - and it was well worth the trip. Set your expectations - it's a large Westin property with good staff and nice rooms. The bed... well... if you've spent any time traveling, you know the Heavenly Bed can turn a bad trip into a good one :-)

Because the property is so large, it is a bit overwhelming and impersonal - but in the best way possible. Really the architecture is stunning. Be aware of how it is laid out - ALL of the rooms are in the large, 9-story rounded structure, and all have private balconies. There are three wings - one to the left and right, and one in the center. The center wing is called the Royal Beach Club. From what we can tell, at least one of the side wings is completely closed (it's off-season in November). There is an adjacent time-share property with smaller adobe-style low-rise buildings called Club Regina. If you are booking Westin you WILL NOT get a room in Club Regina. You will, however, likely receive an upgrade to the center section of the 9-story Royal Beach Club.

The view from the 8th floor is breathtaking. Every room has it's own balcony, marble floor, and open bathroom. The Sea of Cortez is like an infinite blue horizon and you can hear the waves from any room in the hotel. The beach is stunning - flanked by rocks with a strong tide in between - dip your feet in the warm water or venture past the wave break to soak in the beautiful water. We saw a school of grey whales blowing and splashing 400 yards off the shore - magical. The gym is well-kept, fresh-filtered water is always available, and we found the lunch menu to be the most tasty and reasonably priced. The ceviche is to die for, and the shrimp tacos with a side of guacamole and pico de gallo... well... why else did you come to mexico? Oh, yeah, the margaritas! Once you make it past the mixed lot they serve on arrival you can expect top-notch margaritas at all the restaurants :-)

The infiniti pools that front the property are brilliant - they're part of the architectural brilliance that makes this such an amazing property. A nice breakfast is included for platinum members - else the buffet is $25/pp. This is where the charm wears a little thin. I'm okay spending $100 for lunch each day for two for great shrimp tacos, teuila, and ceviche, but when you really can't get out of any of the hotel restaurants for less than $200 for two people you expect the food to be a little better. It's not BAD - it's just kind of mass-produced hotel food dressed up to look fancy. It's good, but it's NOT fresh-catch. And when FRESH-CATCH can be had for a $15 cab ride to Nik San or $30 to Mi Casa or $35 to El Farralon - you need to just bite the bullet, remember you're getting a great price on a beachfront front room with a Heavenly Bed, and GET OFF THE RESORT for some of the MOST AMAZING FRESH FISH and flavors you've had in your life. Mind you you'll still pay >$200 for two - but at least the food will be BRILLIANT.

On the whole - if you can get here for a long weekend or short week - AND YOU GET A GOOD DEAL (i.e. we used $$ and points) then this one is worth the trip. SLEEP like a baby, listen to the waves, see the whales, doze on the beach, awe over the natural beauty, and DON'T FEEL TRAPPED - some of the most amazing food and lively atmosphere is awaiting you 10-20 minutes away by cab.

Kudos to Westin for finding the balance. This property is beautiful and well run. It's also affordable provides a welcome jumping off point to experience the FOOD and culture of Los Cabos. Oh and those heavenly beds... really must get one for home... Good night... it's back to reality tomorrow :-)

Room Tip: There are three, 9-story wings - left, right, and center. The center (known as the Royal Beach Club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had an amazing stay at the Westin. From check in to check out, we experienced amazing hospitality and friendly service! The entire staff was great, but especially, Daniel, at the front desk!
He even surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. Needless to say, there's nothing like sipping champagne, eating strawberries and watching the sunset from the balcony of an ocean front room! Thank you for making our 4 days so relaxing, and I am looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Westin is very reasonably priced and represents a very nice value in Cabo. In the spirit of full disclosure, I am somewhat biased, as I receive an automatic room upgrade because of my Starwood Preferred Guest status. I booked their least expensive room category and received an upgrade to an nice ocean view room on the 6th floor. However, even if I had stayed in my original booked room category, I would recommend this hotel for its value. I enjoyed their large breakfast buffet and the rooms have very comfortable beds and surroundings. It is not my favorite hotel in Cabo, but for the money it is a great value. My only real complaint is the ridiculously long walk to the rooms from the lobby, which is unavoidable because of the design of the resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at The WESTIN difference.Our Dedicated Staff will do the Utmost to be at your best and Feeling renewal. With the Goal of sending guest home feeling better than when they arrived, Westin has developed a wealth of refreshing signature products and invigorating sensory experiences.If there is anything you may need, just ask!Where the rugged desert meets the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez lies The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.A celebrated rendition of the Arch in Cabo San Lucas and nestled into the cliffs overlooking the intensely blue Sea of Cortez, this strikingly imagined resort offers both architectural majesty and a supremely relaxing vacation of renewal. The desert, the pacific and the sea of Cortez meet at the tip of Mexico’s Baja peninsula –Land’s End – a destination of sharp contracts echoed by the award-winning architecture of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.Leave the world behind and step into our desert Oasis. Live the good life as the white sands and soothing surfwash your cares away.Awaiting your arrival are luxurious Ocean view rooms featuring the heavenly bed® a Westin Signature, a Private Beach, Three Pools, A full service Spa including Westin Workout® and Plenty of Sunshine.Choose from four distinguished restaurant, each offering it’s unique cuisine and atmosphere from the informality of the food and view of the beach at La Cascada and La playa or indulge at our fine dining El Ciruelo and Arrecifes our 4 diamond award Restaurant.As Leader in the Market Segment, Westin is an icon of high hospitality in Los Cabos. Stunning remarkable contemporary architecture and combining both our experience and intuition will help you to create personal and memorable events.Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish.A full menu of relaxation and recreation is always within reach, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;