We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Los Cabos get away.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful Los Cabos get away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location between San Jose and Cabo. Beautiful views and beach. Multiple oddly-configured pools. Beach Club served superb breakfast buffet. Our room had phones that didn't work and a shower that had virtually no temperature control. Staff was very accommodating, but the signature restaurant had lousy service and mediocre food. Get ready to pay for lots of cabs if you want to venture off property.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we took your comments seriously and we have taken actions with our F&B and Engineering Department to improve quality and service. On the other hand I appreciate the nice comments about the Staff. Regarding transportation outside of the hotel, please notice that besides the taxis we feature our car rental desk in the lobby, where you can find a great variety of options and prices for you to choose.

Be well,

Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    301
    121
    62
    55
See reviews for
190
411
23
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I traveled to the Westin with a friend (two girls traveling together) and found it to be much more of a couples or large group resort. I was surprised by how far away the resort was from both Cabo San Lucas and San Jose Del Cabo. The hotel did not offer a shuttle downtown like some others in the area and cab rides were pretty expensive. We ate a few meals at the swim up bar and found it delicious. The hotel was nice enough, but there really wasn't much to do at the property and nothing nearby. It might not have helped that the sun did not come out during our stay so a day at the hotel at the pool, while ordinary more than okay, was not fantastic due to the weather. Next time, I would stay closer to Cabo san Lucas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TM1087, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments about the food. We are sorry to hear about the weather situation, usually we only have sunny days. In addition to the taxis which are available 24/7 another option would be to rent a car in case you would like to explore the surroundings.

Warmest Regards,

Tlaloc Monsivais
Rooms Division Manager i.c. Hotel Operation
The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

So here I sit by the pool 5 days into a 7 day vacation with my family. My wife and I travel extensively for work and we are both multi-year SPG members and long-time owners at Starwood resorts. Last year we had a great experience. We booked with the exact same amount of Star Points for two rooms connecting and were put in the main tower with a great view of the ocean and full access to the Royal Beach Club facilities.
The staff was very attentive across the board.

This year has been a shocking experience which will most likely eliminate the resort from our future travel destinations even if we come back to Los Cabos.

Where to begin!

1) Check-In - Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff to be told that our rooms would not be ready for 60 minutes. Not a huge issue and fully expected given the time of year. What was a surprise was the fact that we were not residing in anything close to the accommodations we had last year. Our rooms were not connected even though in correspondence with the hotel prior to our arrival we were assured that they would be(a huge issue given we have small children), we were not booked into rooms with access to the Royal Beach Club facilities (again we were told in correspondence with the hotel that we were), we have a room on the ground floor with a view of grass.

We are here with friends who paid for their rooms vs us using points, booked many months after we did, are in rooms in the main tower on a high floor with connecting rooms and full access to the Royal Beech Club. I guess paying cash is considered a higher priority than loyal SPG members. Our friends never travel for work and are not SPG members. So much for SPG points being the same as cash.

2) Room accommodations - Again we are in ground floor rooms with a view of grass! But that is not the worst of it. Being on the ground floor we are also at the bottom of the sewage stack. After not using the shower for a 24 hour period the drain in the shower ran dry. WOW what a stench. When I inquired I was told there was nothing they could do. The only way to solve it was to run the shower, with no one in it, until the smell went away since the water seemed to "cap" the sewage line smell, and repeat that process 2-3 times/day.

3) Service - We only have one option for breakfast - La Cascada. Service - Non - existent. The first day we were seated and no one came to serve us or ask what we might want to eat or drink for close to 20 minutes. We obviously were not going to eat the buffet since we asked for menus and specifically told them we were going to order from the menu but alas no one came. I finally found the manager of the restaurant who took personal ownership of our experience and bought us breakfast the first day. The following few days have been slightly better but on numerous occasions I have had to get up and get coffee for my wife and I off the service tray and refill our water glasses ourselves rather than waiting for the staff to figure out they actually need to return to a table after the initial trip. After the meal was over and my family went to the pool I waited for close to 20 minutes for a check after asking for it from 3 people. Not until I went to the checkin stand looking for some assistance, the waiter realizing that we had left the table, did he run over with the check.

4) Activities Desk - What a scam. Again - Last year it was a great experience. This year we booked a trip with them to go sailing, kayaking, and snorkeling. We woke - up early, paid for a cab into town, only to find the boat was booked on a private charter and the only option was for us to get on a different boat that was a motor yacht with no kayaks, and a sea of people due to the larger boat size. We declined the option, addressed it with the "tour" operator upon our return to the Westin, received apologies and a refund from them but wasted a morning and early afternoon having to deal with the situation. Quite disappointing. The hotel has little control or desire to correct the situation by having their own staff handle these types of duties so they unfortunately take the chance of these issues affecting the overall experience of their stay at the hotel.

5) House Keeping Staff - While they have done a good job each day cleaning the room the 9:30 - 10:00 PM turndown service when we are dead asleep, with the door locked and latched they pounded on the door until I finally came to the door to tell them we were sleeping. 2 nights in a row this occurred.


One of the few highlights of our experience to date has been the hotel staff by the pool. Rudolfo and staff have been spectacular in making sure that whatever we needed by the pool was taken care of promptly inclusive of finding a needle to inflate a soccer ball we had brought along to use on the beach.

Again - what a difference a year makes! This review would have been 180 degrees different if I had written it last year on this site.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ground floor rooms on the left tower of the hotel. They have a view of the grass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TM1087, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, as SPG member you know the up-grade is subject to availability at the check in, last Christmas as we had the hotel fully booked we were not able to honor this benefit. I am very sorry to know the service at La Cascada restaurant and Housekeeping were not satisfactory at all. The activity desk operation is managed by an outside company and your recommendations have been passed on to them. Finally I thank you for the nice comment about Rodolfo’s performance. Please be so kind to contact me directly within your next reservation to assure proper handling regarding your request.

Warmest Regards,

Tlaloc Monsivais
Rooms Division Manager i.c. Hotel Operation
The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Westin resort was incredible. Beautiful beach view from every room, gorgeous soft sandy beach (but not swimmable), great pools. The food in all the restaurants was amazing, especially Arrecifes. We enjoyed every bit of our stay here. Nice to be away from the crazy crowds in downtown Cabo San Lucas. I rated the sleep quality a little poor just because it gets very windy here (maybe just in winter?), and it was hard to sleep for us because we weren't used to the sound of the crashing surf. But I'm already planning to come back in summer!!

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We just returned from two nights at the Westin. I booked using Starwood points and cash so the room only cost about $75 a night, I don't know if I would've have been happy paying any more. The room was a double partial ocean view, nothing special about it. The exterior door to the room was more like one you'd find on the interior of a house. The wind was whipping both nights and through all the gaps in the door - it was freezing in the room. The views were great, the staff was accomodating. The buffet restaurant was so overpriced. We paid $38 per person for a Mexican Buffet night (we paid the same at the Playa Grande for an all you can eat, all you can drink Fiesta night with entertainment). The second night we walked over to the hotel next door and enjoyed a lovely dinner with drinks and dessert for the same amount at Inizio's. WiFi was expensive but the computers in the business center were available at no charge. I didn't like being so far away from everything, $16 cab to San Jose and $26 to Cabo...overall not our favorite

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable comments I must admit that those days you stayed with us where very windy and extremely cold and low temperatures down to 45 F in the night. The cold weather front has passed and we are back with sunny and warm 82 F during daytime and 60 F in the night.

The WiFi is an added value for free for our SPG Platinum members, however we offer a special rate of 15 usd per night.

Warmest regards,

Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. Beautiful setting, great pools. Just a warning, waves and undertow frequently make the ocean unsafe for swimming. Also, cab fare is about $25 each way to get into town for shopping or dining.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This resort is right on the ocean! Had an amazing time! Even caught a Marlin deep sea fishing! Every room is ocean front as well. Down town Cabo has great night life and dining!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. The resort features only ocean view rooms and suites with breathtaking view over the coast line and the Sea of Cortez. Congratulations to the “big catch” I am sure you had great fun!

Warmest regards,

Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at The WESTIN difference.Our Dedicated Staff will do the Utmost to be at your best and Feeling renewal. With the Goal of sending guest home feeling better than when they arrived, Westin has developed a wealth of refreshing signature products and invigorating sensory experiences.If there is anything you may need, just ask!Where the rugged desert meets the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez lies The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.A celebrated rendition of the Arch in Cabo San Lucas and nestled into the cliffs overlooking the intensely blue Sea of Cortez, this strikingly imagined resort offers both architectural majesty and a supremely relaxing vacation of renewal. The desert, the pacific and the sea of Cortez meet at the tip of Mexico’s Baja peninsula –Land’s End – a destination of sharp contracts echoed by the award-winning architecture of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos.Leave the world behind and step into our desert Oasis. Live the good life as the white sands and soothing surfwash your cares away.Awaiting your arrival are luxurious Ocean view rooms featuring the heavenly bed® a Westin Signature, a Private Beach, Three Pools, A full service Spa including Westin Workout® and Plenty of Sunshine.Choose from four distinguished restaurant, each offering it’s unique cuisine and atmosphere from the informality of the food and view of the beach at La Cascada and La playa or indulge at our fine dining El Ciruelo and Arrecifes our 4 diamond award Restaurant.As Leader in the Market Segment, Westin is an icon of high hospitality in Los Cabos. Stunning remarkable contemporary architecture and combining both our experience and intuition will help you to create personal and memorable events.Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish.A full menu of relaxation and recreation is always within reach, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.